Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.01

Awesome: 10.34%
Worth A Look43.68%
Just Average: 8.05%
Pretty Crappy: 12.64%
Sucks: 25.29%

14 reviews, 90 user ratings



U-571
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Kelly Palma

"'U-571' edge of my seat.I don't think so..SNOOZE in my seat is more like it"
1 stars

For all the money they spent on special effects....what happened to the script?? Could it suck anymore?? I don't think so!!!

For as much as I love Matthew Mc"Hottie"Conaughey, this movie stinks. No wonder Tom Cruise and George Clooney turned it down, they read the script before they signed on the dotted line. The script stank..did they really say "Lock and Load" back then..I don't think so. That was writer, Jonathan Mostow's not so suddle kudos to other **better** armed forces movies - Top Gun and Independence Day - both of which use that quote!! This movie left so many stones unturned...there was so much they could of done with this script..but yet they didn't...They could of played up the best friend dying so much more...and when exactly when did Jon Bon Jovi character die..they never showed it! When the captain dies, he sinks into the water at the same time the submarine capsizes and begins its descent into the deep as well..I thought this was very good....very poetic and poignant to have them both dying at the same time..kudos to the make-up team...his half-burned face looked great....however my nit-pick about this was when they resurface in the german sub..there is the captain floating away...so did he sink or not..what gives??? how about some continuance people!!! Let's see other things....why didn't they kill the german captain the first time they had the chance...that was dumb...how many times does someone have to f you over before you blow them away?? Not realistic at all...in a reconn mission..that is supposed to be secret...they would NOT..I repeat..NOT take on german survivors...Also there were some shots when you could definitely tell that minitatures were used..so poo on the fc department..the best thing about this movie was Harvey Keitel's performance..it really was A-one all the way..it's too bad the rest of the movie wasn't on the same plane as him..

This movie left me looking at my watch from the very beginning..it left me with too many unanswered questions..and it wasn't very believable...edge of my seat..I don't think so..snooze in my seat was more like it...two thumbs way way down on this one...BOOOOOOORRRINNNNGGG

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1812&reviewer=88
originally posted: 04/25/00 01:03:06
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/15/12 Ding Dong Awesome actioner with good production values. Who cares about accuracy. 4 stars
9/30/08 Shaun Wallner I really enjoyed this film. 5 stars
6/17/07 al smith fucking shit it was the brits who got the enigma not the fucking yanks 1 stars
4/18/07 Stevo UK America did a lot in the war. But the way some directors on its as if no-one else fought... 3 stars
11/24/06 David Pollastrini great action 4 stars
9/07/06 Thomas Semesky Nothing really exciting here. 3 stars
6/11/06 Dave Webber Nice little drama - if you don't take it too serious 4 stars
1/08/06 Steven Lewis Lots of goofs, it still has a strong message and a power fictional story. Great film. 3 stars
6/09/05 JD Distorting history for this lame movie, they should be so proud. 1 stars
4/24/05 Quigley an awesome story with suspenseful action. I'll never enter a sub, and that's OK with me 5 stars
8/27/04 Aaron Smith best sub movie I've seen 4 stars
6/18/04 Denise Duspiva wanted more story 3 stars
5/22/04 Monster W. Kung I piss on this movie. 1 stars
5/21/04 Idiot's Mouth This reviewer seems to be saying he WANTS McCaunaghey to try a British accent. ? . ?. 1 stars
12/08/03 john I hate to agree with an antisemitic moron but this movie just badly ripps off DAS BOOT 1 stars
12/03/03 tom MAy not be historically accurate but good movie!! 4 stars
8/28/03 Ameray Coland This move is FALSE about ENIGMA History. Jewish David Ayer do NOT KNOW history !!! 1 stars
3/31/03 Jack Sommersby Predictable, but it works. 3 stars
3/20/03 May Q. Horney Decent Submarine movie, not as good as CRIMSON TIDE or K-19 THE WIDOWMAKER. 4 stars
2/25/03 y2mckay nothing special, but an enjoyable sub action flick. It ain't DAS BOOT, but what is? 4 stars
2/15/03 Angolmois Shamelessly rips off both history and other sub-movies. A bit better than a lobotomy. 1 stars
1/04/03 freewaygl great testerone flick for women who like men in action!~! Yah! 4 stars
12/02/02 R.W. Welch Good actioner though somewhat overblown and historically inaccurate 3 stars
10/26/02 Ollie Charles The best movie so far since Schindler's List 5 stars
7/25/02 Cizin IthoughtitwasCanadianswhocaputerdthesubbutwewereunderbritiansruleatthetimeright 4 stars
6/30/02 Fredrik One of the very best WWII-films ever!!! 5 stars
4/29/02 Monster W. Kung Sucks. 1 stars
4/23/02 Charles Tatum Clicheed but enjoyable. 4 stars
4/08/02 Plexo movie blew monkey nuts. Writers apear to have been retarded. 1 stars
3/31/02 Marcus Did anyone else fight in WW2? So much for the true heros of the Royal Navy & the truth... 1 stars
2/20/02 Nevz Yet another example of the Yanks trying to rewrite history 1 stars
2/20/02 Xaver Quite clever. Nice special effects. 4 stars
11/27/01 sdfr kick ass! 4 stars
11/26/01 Jake Intense and thrilling. 5 stars
8/28/01 Phil M. Afficianado Not bad, really, but don't you get tired of the same chaotic scene 10 times over? Skip it. 3 stars
8/08/01 badfish Excellent,great story,great picture,awesome sound. 5 stars
7/31/01 Matthew Bartley No suspense, no accuracy...no anything 1 stars
7/03/01 Piz Ultimate guy flick complete with load bangs, action, and underdog rooting 4 stars
6/07/01 Peter Brook Good sense of timing from Mostow, nice special FX, it's a very predictable story, though. 4 stars
6/06/01 destney you are awsome not you suck 5 stars
6/01/01 sabrinacardin she thinksyour cool 2 stars
5/27/01 Dean Like Hollywood didn't insult the UK enough with The Patriot. This movie is pure feces. 1 stars
3/25/01 Big Blackie Fuckin' cool movie!! Depth changes were awesome! A must see!! 5 stars
3/12/01 Stuart Wright Is it just make up history time. Shall britain make a film saying we droped the atom bomb. 1 stars
2/24/01 jeroen Saw it yesterday......it's about boots or somethin,isn't it? 1 stars
2/05/01 Classicdog Suspense,action, depth charges, what a great sub. film. 4 stars
2/02/01 Matthew Bartley Think I'll make a film about the first moon landings starring Hugh Grant and Jude Law... 1 stars
1/23/01 scorekeeper Great movie, but can be very confusing. 4 stars
1/08/01 Jessica it was sooo good. Matthew McConaughey is do fucking hot!! 5 stars
12/10/00 BrittenysPears I wasen't looking for a history lesson here - the movie is very entertaining!!! 5 stars
11/30/00 Winston Churchill You know it was the U.K. who retrieved the Engima? This was like a bad A-Team adventure! 1 stars
11/19/00 Nick Exciting, Suspenseful, Rent it You wont' regret it 5 stars
11/05/00 Dave Great movie! McConauhey gives an exceptional performance 5 stars
10/18/00 Gremlin Kick ass movie, ther were a few parts that were a little fucked up but over all very neato 5 stars
10/16/00 Jack Laller great movie 5 stars
10/11/00 Monday Morning So you like "made in El-Kabong Hong Kong" action flicks better? This is great. 5 stars
8/14/00 Chickiepoo Long live Jon Bon Jovi!! Too bad he ws in this waste of film. Stoners SUCK! 1 stars
7/18/00 Matthew Bartley The USA did steal an enigma-but not until 3 years after the film! Utter shite 1 stars
7/11/00 pancreas great movie, i docked it one star because there were no naked chicks 4 stars
5/22/00 Obi Wan Defn8ly a guy flik!! Action,shit blowin' up, death...what more could you want? 4 stars
5/21/00 gwalla Top-notch suspense.The USA stole an Enigma too. So it's not 100% accurate, it's fiction!!! 5 stars
5/20/00 Steve Kelley I'm a guy. Bombs, water, fear, heroism, loudness. The formula works for a reason. 4 stars
5/13/00 JJF Falsifies history without batting an eyelid. Don't support this crap. 1 stars
5/12/00 Add It shits on the good soilders who died for our freedom. I urge u not to c this! 1 stars
5/09/00 Travis good action, predictable story 4 stars
5/04/00 tony just wanted more at the ending. there wasnt enough closure. 4 stars
4/30/00 Heather Another titanic movie that pisses around with the truth 1 stars
4/29/00 Ayesha Cross Regardless who actually happened, America always won the war - what bullshit! 1 stars
4/26/00 Matthew Bartley Fucking disgusting. This was a British operation it was 7 months later when USA entered war 1 stars
4/26/00 Marcus West Does abyone care for historical facts in this BS of a movie? 1 stars
4/26/00 XT Wanna see this one on DVD. Maybe it'll make a li'l more sense. Very interesting, though. 4 stars
4/24/00 PhilmPhreak A bit obvious, but damn good - excellent sound! 4 stars
4/24/00 Captain Highcrime Good for action but don't be basing any college history papers on this one. 4 stars
4/24/00 Matt Sabian Excellent!!!! A Das Boot contender! 5 stars
4/24/00 Maclay01 85db volume required the director - the theatres listened and the audience covered our ears 4 stars
4/24/00 Obi Wan Best flick I've seen in a awhile...it did entertain and had it's moments. Worth admission 4 stars
4/24/00 bobber Not a bad movie, but didn't know who Jon Bon Jovi was either. 4 stars
4/24/00 Negative Much better than given credit for. That says alot. Good film. 4 stars
4/23/00 Kevin Cho, movie-buff Absolutely NO character development - everything else was ripped off. POOR. 2 stars
4/23/00 Becky Read the book. All the heart and humor was cut out with Pete Emment's lines (Jon Bon Jovi). 3 stars
4/23/00 Matt It kept me in suspense. The acting was a little wooden at times, but overall it was good. 4 stars
4/23/00 Gavin Moore Any good American will love this, a throwback to 80's action films 4 stars
4/22/00 photogeek did they steal actual footage from Das Boot and make it suck? 2 stars
4/22/00 Z hey, it's more realistic than mission 2 mars... 4 stars
4/22/00 Matt Sabian Brilliant film, perfectly brought to life. End was a bit disappointing 5 stars
4/21/00 Joel Harwood is in tha house the peeps have spoken 1 stars
4/21/00 Joel Harwood Action with a predictable ending but what movie isn't 4 stars
4/21/00 Danny Sykes Predictable at times. Good twists in the plot 4 stars
4/18/00 Tony D'Amoto Pretty good action movie 4 stars
4/17/00 cofemug I laughed and laughed at the overall bad quality of the movie. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  21-Apr-2000 (PG-13)
  DVD: 24-Oct-2000

UK
  N/A

Australia
  20-Apr-2000 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast