Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.01

Awesome: 32.52%
Worth A Look: 17.18%
Just Average: 7.36%
Pretty Crappy: 4.29%
Sucks38.65%

5 reviews, 133 user ratings


Latest Reviews

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

Endless, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Hangover, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by David Cornelius

"Sex, drugs, and shoddy comedy."
1 stars

“The Hangover” is a woeful pile of such shameless cliché that it almost comes across as a knowing, winking send-up of the whole “wild weekend” genre - except it’s just not clever enough to pull off something like that. This is a gratingly dumb picture, the sort of thing that mixes frat boy midlife crisis drama with tourism board sloganeering and thinks it’s being deep.

Screenwriters Jon Lucas and Scott Moore (“Ghosts of Girlfriends Past”) and director Todd Phillips (“Old School”) pretend every joke is market fresh, and so we get: a beloved classic car belonging to the bride’s father that will undoubtedly be totaled by the credits; a self-deprecating cameo from a celebrity, playing himself; kooky foreigners with funny accents who act all macho and stuff; kooky foreigners with funny accents who act all gay and stuff; a running gag about a dentist who keeps saying he’s a doctor so everyone else can point out he’s “only” a dentist; a bitchy girlfriend who’ll get told off in the final reel; and a little kid who flips us the finger. Comedies have rarely been as lazy as this, nor have they been so adamantly stupid.

The film tells the tale of four jerks who head off to Vegas for a bachelor party, get seriously plastered, and wake up the next morning with no memory of the night before and no clue where the groom went; it’s up to the trio of buzzed losers to retrace their steps and find their pal. It’s excitingly new, assuming you’ve never heard of “Dude, Where’s My Car?” or “The Night Before.”

Actually, that’s not fair - it’s entirely possible for a movie to take a worn-out premise and give it new life. Lucas and Moore, however, are not the guys for the job. They plaster their script with uninspired revelations, half-baked (and often easily forgotten) subplots, and generic characterizations, and not even lively performances from a cast that’s smart about comedy can dampen the dumb.

But let’s start at the beginning. Rather than open the picture with the guys waking up (which would create a great sense of comic confusion for us), we instead get twenty or so minutes of labored backstory, where we’re subjected to a series of the most sitcommy of lame set-ups. Doug (Justin Bartha) is a smarmy bastard marrying into an absurdly wealthy family; we spend more time with the father of the bride (Jeffrey Tambor) than we do the bride herself (Sasha Barrese), all so we can set up how much dad just loves his vintage convertible, which Doug can take to Vegas as long as he’s careful, and holy cripes does the movie really need this much set-up for a dumb-ass wrecked car joke?

There’s also the matter of the bride’s brother, Alan, played by Zach Galifianakis. Galifianakis is one of the brightest, funniest, most daring and original stand-up comics working today - and he’s one hundred percent wrong for the role. Alan is supposed to be a socially awkward weirdo, equal parts stupid and creepy. But Phillips is too content to let Galifianakis work in his own winkingly clueless stage persona into the mix. Alan shouldn’t be the one to deliver snarky comebacks, nor should we see Galifianakis sneaking in his own “isn’t saying things like ‘Vegas, baby!’ stupid?” attitudes in the margins. Yes, saying “Vegas, baby!” is stupid, but Phillips and company don’t realize it, making Galifianakis’ snarkiness completely out of place. He’s too self-aware in the role, tossing off jokes about Godzilla and the Jonas Brothers and Indiana Jones. When he names a baby they find “Carlos,” we don’t see Alan being stupid; we see Galifianakis being sarcastic about stupidity. (Plus, Alan’s not the kind of guy to have an ironic beard, which Galifianakis has sported for years.)

Then there’s Phil (Bradley Cooper), whom we first meet stealing field trip money from his students to fund his vacation. And we think, OK, this movie’s going to get deliciously dark with its comedy, bravely making its leading man an irredeemable asshole. Except no, not really - this is the only nasty thing Phil does, which makes it completely out of place. Phil spends the rest of the movie being utterly generic, starting off as the guy who warns Doug about how crummy married life is, turning out to be the guy who cracks wise but otherwise has no personality, and ends up, inexplicably, being granted a “tender moment” where he realizes married life isn’t so bad after all, never mind that nothing about this realization pops up anywhere at all in the story and was only clumsily tacked on to make sure the audience leaves liking him, or something. It’s a mess.

But not as messy as Phil (Ed Helms), who fills the formulaic role of “straight-laced buddy.” He’s the dentist who keeps calling himself a doctor, and he’s the one with the shrewish girlfriend (Rachel Harris) who bosses him around with the furor of a character created by male writers that have never spent more than fifteen minutes with a real woman. She exists so we can have a woman to hate (we can’t hate the bride-to-be, since our heroes’ best pal much wind up with her by the credits), and so we can have the inevitable scene where Stu tells her off. She’s here because the movie doesn’t have room for a stuffy college dean we can boo and hiss. (Phillips also made “Old School,” which went out of its way to wiggle in a stuffy college dean subplot.)

Stu discovers he married a stripper (Heather Graham), a woman who enters and exits the plot repeatedly, the writers using her as a storytelling crutch they can bring in and dump without a thought. Needless to say, Stu ends up liking her, and why not? I shudder to think of the film’s gender politics, in which strong-willed women are presented as bitchy and evil and maybe a little dykish, while big-titted, clueless bimbos are presented as awesome. But then, I don’t think the script is clever enough to have an opinion that goes beyond formulaic plot points and the no-dimensional characters that can fill them.

Finally, we come to Mike Tyson, who plays himself as the celebrity the guys must meet along their journey. It’s about as awkward as a celebrity cameo has ever been in a movie like this, with the characters repeatedly praising Tyson, as if the heavyweight wouldn’t take the role unless it came with a constant ego boost. It’s sort of what someone without a sense of humor would think of as self-deprecating: “ha ha, I get to pretend I’m a really nice guy who owns a tiger, and then everyone tells me how terrific I am.” Celebrity cameos like this are supposed to be the point of the joke - someone famous sending up their image - but here, there’s no image to send up (unless you count a bit where Tyson punches Galifianakis once), and no punchline.

The rest of the film is just as sloppy, and just as tiresome. When not filling his picture with visible gaffes and who-cares? plot holes, Phillips is working on barely providing the bare minimum. He’s content with underdefined characters, go-nowhere guest spots (this is the first time I’ve ever been tired of seeing Rob Riggle, who adlibs his way through a lousy scene involving Tasers and crotches), and half-assed jokes that obliviously confuse “four guys getting drunk in Vegas” with “daringly raunchy.” “The Hangover” is as lifeless and as trite as the dopey tourism slogan that it thinks inspired it.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=18120&reviewer=392
originally posted: 06/19/09 05:19:19
[printer] printer-friendly format  
Trilogy Starters: For more in the Trilogy Starters series, click here.

User Comments

3/06/17 Louise (the actual one) Funny, why do so many hate this? It's typical US humour. I enjoyed it. 4 stars
5/06/13 Charles Tatum Dark and funny 4 stars
3/26/13 Liz Great movie... If you like crap 1 stars
11/18/12 Sean Harrison Stupidly Hilarious 4 stars
2/19/12 meep Utter shit, makes America and those who like this worthy of nothing but contempt 1 stars
6/25/11 John Airey Very funny...Who thinks of this stuff? 5 stars
3/14/11 Ionicera I expected it to be better, but it had a few funny moments 3 stars
11/28/10 funk best movie ever people really gotta lightin up they get offended if some on breathes 5 stars
7/17/10 Dwight Bradley Cooper is always angry, not funny 1 stars
6/21/10 RLan It's good, but not great 3 stars
6/08/10 Flathead King There are some funny parts in this film but overall, I was disappointed with it. 2 stars
3/26/10 Jiz Unfunny bullshit. Oh yeah and Friedberg and Seltzer are the real Uwe Bolls of comedy. 1 stars
3/08/10 PAUL SHORTT FATALLY UNFUNNY STUDY IN MEAN SPIRITED MEDIOCRITY 2 stars
3/05/10 Joe How does it feel to be laughably wrong? 5 stars
1/16/10 RobertJ Disgusting, Disgusting, Disgusting..Producers should be investigated for child abuse. 1 stars
1/09/10 Derek If you're the kind of person who does nothing with their life but drink alcohol, maybe 1 stars
1/09/10 jeramie Well, obviously, this movie isn't for everyone, but it's one of the BEST! 5 stars
1/07/10 lexee balllsss 1 stars
1/04/10 Spiral Architect If you thought this film was funny, please do not reproduce. 1 stars
1/04/10 Monday Morning This really has its moments - quite a bit of laugh-out-loud stuff. 5 stars
1/02/10 Jacques Just plain moronic, brain dead, crude, vulgar, stupid....I 1 stars
1/01/10 turnthe best comedy in years, reviewer is a lame 5 stars
12/27/09 tom pathetic! will be big hit in college drunk circuit. 1 stars
12/27/09 Mike D Worst movie on the planet. The guy who wrote this review liked it a lot more than I did. 1 stars
12/25/09 chloe douches will love. everyone else will wish they hadn't bothered. 1 stars
12/25/09 Todd Gak Simply not funny 1 stars
12/16/09 Jason People need to lighten up! This movie is hilarious! 5 stars
12/08/09 Bettie The Hangover - worst movie I have ever seen. No laughs, no brains, just garbage. 1 stars
12/02/09 Andrew Johnson Lighten up David. The genre is the best Ive seen. Shock humour at it;s best! 5 stars
11/23/09 Jake Maybe this movie wasn't for you but you don't have to be a conceited douche bag about it 5 stars
11/10/09 gary i'v seen way too many classic comedies to like this. just not funny 1 stars
11/08/09 Mohammed While watching the film, the writer nevr forgot for a second that he had t review it later 4 stars
10/12/09 Roy Smith Solid shit dunked in liquid shit 1 stars
10/03/09 Fahiem critic is spot on and why all the chidldish remarks? 3 stars
10/02/09 whistler you obviously have issues with your dead father 5 stars
9/28/09 Richard This movie was LAME! I left half way through! 2 stars
9/19/09 theone Hilarious. 5 stars
9/11/09 Kevin 4-year-old humor, don't ever pay for it, punch yourself in the face you'll save money 1 stars
9/07/09 Bob This movie sucked hard. Terribly unfunny 1 stars
8/28/09 Boo underlying message is revolting- if any women found it funny, they're a bit thick 1 stars
8/24/09 foobar Absolutely pathetic. Total Crap. 1 stars
8/13/09 John spot on review, wanted this movie to rock, but it was a box of rox 1 stars
8/03/09 sam good 5 stars
8/03/09 SooS Ed Helm's character is Stu, not Phil dumbass.... 5 stars
8/03/09 David A. It has a few funny bits, but the "f" word gets boring after about an hour. 3 stars
8/02/09 bono Erik Childress sucks donkey ass. Good summer comedy. 4 stars
8/02/09 todd this reviewer is 100% correct. the hangover is bad. 1 stars
8/01/09 Roy Smith "You are too stupid to insult" - no, the movie is. 1 stars
7/31/09 theultimate You are not a movie critic! 4 stars
7/30/09 Brandon funnies movie? 'Todd Phillips' Ubowel. Alright I think that settles it. 4 stars
7/29/09 Robbie Lewis 80% Rotten Tomatoes. The film is funny and works. You are the odd man out. live with it 4 stars
7/28/09 Jr 247,000,000 million so far, enough said. 5 stars
7/28/09 rottencargo I just found it boring. Seen all those jokes before, presented blandly. And I love stupid. 2 stars
7/27/09 Gordo Hope you enjoyed your cup of tea and biscuits when you watched this. 4 stars
7/25/09 Lori Bad writing, acting directing. Old jokes, plot that went nowhere, unlikeable characters. 1 stars
7/23/09 Toni It was stupid but oh so funny! 4 stars
7/21/09 JB Did you see the movie. I don't think the baby flips the bird, just jacks off. 5 stars
7/20/09 Zach Don't listen to this pseudo-intellectual tightwad, this is a superb comedy 5 stars
7/20/09 Pete Thin,formulatic plot that broke no new ground and made me cringe with it's offensive humor. 1 stars
7/20/09 Johnny Fartsalot la la la la la la la la la 5 stars
7/19/09 Thom It was just the best comedy pest 5 years. Absolutly perfect I think Loveable chars 5 stars
7/18/09 mr.mike Lots of laughs. 4 stars
7/16/09 JK Jones Hilarious, David you cost yourself a good time being way overanalytical. 5 stars
7/16/09 max power everyone i know though this was one of the most hilarious movies they seen. 5 stars
7/16/09 correction mike tyson actually does own a tiger, he's not pretending 5 stars
7/12/09 The Game Just saw the movie. Hilarious. 5 stars
7/12/09 Derrick this movie made me laugh out loud a lot very funny critic must have eggplant in stuck inass 5 stars
7/10/09 michael mann very racist and repugnant 1 stars
7/10/09 Shaun Repetitive and boring, i feel like the movie expects me to laugh 2 stars
7/07/09 JonB Yes, it was kinda stupid and the script wasn't very witty, but it was definitely funny. 4 stars
7/06/09 zipper The 100+ people in the theater I was at would disagree with you. Almost constant laughter! 5 stars
7/06/09 pete sampras total total vile crap horsehit, white american comedy fucking bullshit 1 stars
7/05/09 John I'm glad to see the plethora of 5 stars. We're right; reviewer is wrong. 5 stars
7/04/09 Shallow Hal Maybe laughed 3 times the whole movie. Awful. 1 stars
7/03/09 roger federer worst piece of shit movie ever 1 stars
7/02/09 Joe Figures, the people who like this slop get mad and insult someone who doesn't like it 1 stars
7/02/09 samtk you aren't reviewing a "film". funny ass movie though. 5 stars
7/02/09 Solus Unfair to women? It's a movie about a stag party, it's about chauvinist culture. 5 stars
7/01/09 lori vought awful movie; disgusting, mean, and stupid 1 stars
6/30/09 Marc Worst movie. Trite, sadly predictable, and boring. GREAT REVIEW!!! 1 stars
6/30/09 AP I like movies with shock value and quoteability. The Hangover had neither. Purely awful. 1 stars
6/29/09 JBaby Dude is jealous of fat Jesus 5 stars
6/29/09 blackberry terrible, terrible unfunny piece of shit 1 stars
6/28/09 David Not highbrow -Either you think someone mocking a baby jerking off is hilarious or you don't 5 stars
6/28/09 will tenner disgusting shit ass comedy 1 stars
6/27/09 gandalf a terrible terrible sexist film, terrible, terrible 1 stars
6/26/09 Benjamin Barkas all i can say is my wife even loved it and the ENTIRE theatre was cheering at the end 5 stars
6/26/09 Matt Oh noes! The film has confusing gender politics! 5 stars
6/25/09 Svelt The beauty, and humor, of this movie was in the performances, not the plot. HYSTERICAL. 5 stars
6/25/09 Matt Good review. I haev a sense of humor, but making raunchy jokes is just not funny. 2 stars
6/25/09 Mark This review is utter garbage. You are entitled to your opinions,but learn to write a review 4 stars
6/25/09 luke some critics need a sense of humor 5 stars
6/25/09 Robert One of less than a handful of movies that I've walked out of in a total of thousands! 1 stars
6/24/09 kristof68 Clearly Mr Cornelius doesn't have a sense of humour 5 stars
6/24/09 Grace Fun movie ideas, didn't follow through, and slow ending. Best comedy this summer, though. 3 stars
6/24/09 David If this is considered comedy our society is in a world of trouble. Complete crap. 1 stars
6/23/09 Kailee Funniest movie i've ever seen. DEFENETLY a must see 5 stars
6/22/09 Coachie Ballgames Spot on Review. Formulaic crap for wanna be frat boys. Where were the jokes? 1 stars
6/22/09 Amanda There's always a critic who thinks every movie needs to be "8 1/2" so he can get attention. 5 stars
6/22/09 Jay Kay Good Lord man....did you even WATCH the film? Asian guy in the police car? Really? 5 stars
6/22/09 spongekill I'm glad The Hangover is not the movie this critic wanted it to be, would've been horrible 5 stars
6/22/09 jurisprudence this film sucks period 1 stars
6/22/09 nthg2say review: FAIL (im emarassed for u.) 5 stars
6/21/09 g. these critics are reTARDS. excellent, hilarious movie. 5 stars
6/21/09 Micah Bromance that can't be beat! 5 stars
6/20/09 anon good thing you dont have enough talent to actually be in a movie you idiot. BEST MOVIE EVER 5 stars
6/20/09 Swoop Go back to your PG-13 comedies and next time go watch a movie with an open mind. Bias POS. 5 stars
6/20/09 Anonymous Fantastic. Bravo bravo bravo! Expresses my sentiments better than I could. Well-said. 2 stars
6/19/09 Roger Smith The critic is a DICK, he is promoting the movie advertisement through an amazon ad 5 stars
6/19/09 Mase "An ironic beard" !!! - Idiot! 5 stars
6/19/09 jonathantstorm one of the stupidest pointless films ever made 1 stars
6/19/09 James Madision This guy obvioulsy doesn't like good films 4 stars
6/18/09 Joe I agree with the reviewer 100%; this flick was pathetic and stupid 1 stars
6/17/09 Steve Buscemi Watch...this guy will love Transformers. Hack! 5 stars
6/17/09 jurisprudence this film sucked and its on the fucking imdb top 250, what a fucking joke 1 stars
6/16/09 Luisa Super funny movie! 4 stars
6/16/09 Julio Terrible review clearly a great film which everyone likes so get over yourselfs 5 stars
6/15/09 John John this review sucks, just relax and enjoy the laughs 4 stars
6/15/09 Maria B Unfunny and disgusting movie. 1 stars
6/15/09 Bob If you think Old School and the Hangover are Uwe Boll quality, find a new profession 4 stars
6/14/09 Ke We Why attack this movie loser - nit picky idiot 5 stars
6/11/09 Kat As much I loathe to agree with the idiot hack, brian, and disagree with reviewers I respect 4 stars
6/10/09 Ming it is the most funniest film of the year 4 stars
6/08/09 Justin Black Doug has a point about the Roofies, They should be the Floors. 5 stars
6/08/09 Biosci I, along with the whole audience in the packed theater - laughed like hell. Chill! 4 stars
6/07/09 jon its brave to point out that the movie was far from perfect....Ubowel comment over the top 3 stars
6/07/09 Azzam I think you need to stop attacking a good movie 5 stars
6/07/09 Fred Did we see the same movie? 'Cause this one was hilarious! 5 stars
6/06/09 Matt Funnies Movie I've seen in years! You're an idiot! Enjoy movies for movies!!! 5 stars
6/05/09 Nick This is CRAP. Period. End of story. 1 stars
6/05/09 Greg Biased review. U could already tell he doesnt like 'Todd Phillips' in the first paragraph 5 stars
6/05/09 Joe Did the makers of the film not give you the gift bag you asked for?? Smug alert!! 4 stars
6/05/09 Andrew Whether the film was good or not, this review reeks of smug. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  05-Jun-2009 (R)
  DVD: 12-Oct-2010

UK
  N/A

Australia
  05-Jun-2009
  DVD: 15-Dec-2009




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast