Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.01

Awesome: 32.52%
Worth A Look: 17.18%
Just Average: 7.36%
Pretty Crappy: 4.29%
Sucks38.65%

5 reviews, 133 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Hangover, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by brianorndorf

"Todd Phillips returns to his goofball roots"
4 stars

I’m just going to quietly regard the 2006 feature “School for Scoundrels” as a bad dream. While shooting itself in the foot with a cast of such world-renown, gut-bustin’ jesters like Billy Bob Thornton and Jon Heder, “Scoundrels” more importantly wasted the talents of director Todd Phillips in a major way, casting serious doubts on his developing abilities as an ace comedic filmmaker. “The Hangover” restores faith in Phillips and the vulgar passions of the R-rated comedy, assembling a smutty epic of irresponsibility that handles with a certain amount of routine, but still delivers huge on laughs and knowing cringes.

On the eve of his wedding, Doug (Justin Bartha) is heading to Las Vegas with friends Phil the school teacher (Bradley Cooper), Stu the whipped (Ed Helms), and Alan the insane (Zach Galifianakis) for his bachelor party, planning a night of drunken debauchery. The next morning, Phil, Stu, and Alan awaken to find their suite trashed, no memory of the previous night’s events, and Doug missing. Staggering around town, the trio attempt to piece together their rowdy celebration using the clues left behind: a stolen police car, an infant, a hospital admittance wristband, and Mike Tyson’s pet tiger. Finding themselves in big trouble with an Asian gambler (Ken Jeong) and Doug’s confused fiancée (Sasha Barrese), the guys scramble to locate their pal before their extensive path of destruction is discovered by their high-maintenance loved ones.

With “Road Trip” and “Old School,” Phillips perfected a unique frat-boy/absurdist touch to his simplistic plotlines. He found humor through pitch-perfect performances and massive layers of ridiculousness, virtually unafraid to get a little weird on his audience through discomforting sexual exploits or raunchy circumstances of male bonding. After testing the romantic comedy waters with “Scoundrels” (and rewarded with lousy box office returns), Phillips returns to his dude comedy binky with “Hangover,” and it’s a lovely reunion. A spastic, whirlwind trip through blinding-daylight revelations and throbbing-headache disbelief, “Hangover” is a perfect vehicle for Phillips to run amok with hilarious disasters, casino misfortune, and extensive stupidity, rebuilding his wounded confidence with material that cherishes the art of the surprise.

It’s Vegas; it’s copious amounts of booze, women (Heather Graham shows up as Stu’s new stripper bride), and troublemaking that comes to haunt our heroes when all they wanted was a night of freedom from their suffocating lives. The concept is wide open for the production to head anywhere it can possibly imagine, and through spirited performances from Cooper, Helms, and Galifianakis (perhaps playing uncomfortably close to his vacant stand-up comedy persona), “Hangover” profits from a fearless attitude that straddles the line between crude and nightmarish. The path to Doug frantically motors the trio all over the city, dealing with Tyson’s animal demands (The Champ nabs big laughs playing his Phil Collins-loving self), random flashes of unlikely gangster violence, and their own bewilderment as they can’t quite grasp the enormity of their evening, frequently stumbling over immeasurable trouble the mild-mannered guys can’t believe they caused.

Actually, I think the less written about “The Hangover” the better. It needs to be experienced, not recalled. It’s a film best valued as an extended surprise, with hilarity greatly enhanced by an atmosphere of the unanticipated, beautified by a soundtrack of goofy, ironic tunes to underscore any and all ludicrousness (though Phillips deserves a bravery medal for a forbidding Danzig opening title track). “The Hangover” is a hilarious adventure that makes Las Vegas feel reckless again (you don’t sense that when Ashton Kutcher and Cameron Diaz are there, believe me). The film also recharges Phillips’s creative batteries, reinforcing him as a top voice for silliness, especially when it comes to the dark fates of emasculated men.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=18120&reviewer=404
originally posted: 06/05/09 09:20:21
[printer] printer-friendly format  
Trilogy Starters: For more in the Trilogy Starters series, click here.

User Comments

3/06/17 Louise (the actual one) Funny, why do so many hate this? It's typical US humour. I enjoyed it. 4 stars
5/06/13 Charles Tatum Dark and funny 4 stars
3/26/13 Liz Great movie... If you like crap 1 stars
11/18/12 Sean Harrison Stupidly Hilarious 4 stars
2/19/12 meep Utter shit, makes America and those who like this worthy of nothing but contempt 1 stars
6/25/11 John Airey Very funny...Who thinks of this stuff? 5 stars
3/14/11 Ionicera I expected it to be better, but it had a few funny moments 3 stars
11/28/10 funk best movie ever people really gotta lightin up they get offended if some on breathes 5 stars
7/17/10 Dwight Bradley Cooper is always angry, not funny 1 stars
6/21/10 RLan It's good, but not great 3 stars
6/08/10 Flathead King There are some funny parts in this film but overall, I was disappointed with it. 2 stars
3/26/10 Jiz Unfunny bullshit. Oh yeah and Friedberg and Seltzer are the real Uwe Bolls of comedy. 1 stars
3/08/10 PAUL SHORTT FATALLY UNFUNNY STUDY IN MEAN SPIRITED MEDIOCRITY 2 stars
3/05/10 Joe How does it feel to be laughably wrong? 5 stars
1/16/10 RobertJ Disgusting, Disgusting, Disgusting..Producers should be investigated for child abuse. 1 stars
1/09/10 Derek If you're the kind of person who does nothing with their life but drink alcohol, maybe 1 stars
1/09/10 jeramie Well, obviously, this movie isn't for everyone, but it's one of the BEST! 5 stars
1/07/10 lexee balllsss 1 stars
1/04/10 Spiral Architect If you thought this film was funny, please do not reproduce. 1 stars
1/04/10 Monday Morning This really has its moments - quite a bit of laugh-out-loud stuff. 5 stars
1/02/10 Jacques Just plain moronic, brain dead, crude, vulgar, stupid....I 1 stars
1/01/10 turnthe best comedy in years, reviewer is a lame 5 stars
12/27/09 tom pathetic! will be big hit in college drunk circuit. 1 stars
12/27/09 Mike D Worst movie on the planet. The guy who wrote this review liked it a lot more than I did. 1 stars
12/25/09 chloe douches will love. everyone else will wish they hadn't bothered. 1 stars
12/25/09 Todd Gak Simply not funny 1 stars
12/16/09 Jason People need to lighten up! This movie is hilarious! 5 stars
12/08/09 Bettie The Hangover - worst movie I have ever seen. No laughs, no brains, just garbage. 1 stars
12/02/09 Andrew Johnson Lighten up David. The genre is the best Ive seen. Shock humour at it;s best! 5 stars
11/23/09 Jake Maybe this movie wasn't for you but you don't have to be a conceited douche bag about it 5 stars
11/10/09 gary i'v seen way too many classic comedies to like this. just not funny 1 stars
11/08/09 Mohammed While watching the film, the writer nevr forgot for a second that he had t review it later 4 stars
10/12/09 Roy Smith Solid shit dunked in liquid shit 1 stars
10/03/09 Fahiem critic is spot on and why all the chidldish remarks? 3 stars
10/02/09 whistler you obviously have issues with your dead father 5 stars
9/28/09 Richard This movie was LAME! I left half way through! 2 stars
9/19/09 theone Hilarious. 5 stars
9/11/09 Kevin 4-year-old humor, don't ever pay for it, punch yourself in the face you'll save money 1 stars
9/07/09 Bob This movie sucked hard. Terribly unfunny 1 stars
8/28/09 Boo underlying message is revolting- if any women found it funny, they're a bit thick 1 stars
8/24/09 foobar Absolutely pathetic. Total Crap. 1 stars
8/13/09 John spot on review, wanted this movie to rock, but it was a box of rox 1 stars
8/03/09 sam good 5 stars
8/03/09 SooS Ed Helm's character is Stu, not Phil dumbass.... 5 stars
8/03/09 David A. It has a few funny bits, but the "f" word gets boring after about an hour. 3 stars
8/02/09 bono Erik Childress sucks donkey ass. Good summer comedy. 4 stars
8/02/09 todd this reviewer is 100% correct. the hangover is bad. 1 stars
8/01/09 Roy Smith "You are too stupid to insult" - no, the movie is. 1 stars
7/31/09 theultimate You are not a movie critic! 4 stars
7/30/09 Brandon funnies movie? 'Todd Phillips' Ubowel. Alright I think that settles it. 4 stars
7/29/09 Robbie Lewis 80% Rotten Tomatoes. The film is funny and works. You are the odd man out. live with it 4 stars
7/28/09 Jr 247,000,000 million so far, enough said. 5 stars
7/28/09 rottencargo I just found it boring. Seen all those jokes before, presented blandly. And I love stupid. 2 stars
7/27/09 Gordo Hope you enjoyed your cup of tea and biscuits when you watched this. 4 stars
7/25/09 Lori Bad writing, acting directing. Old jokes, plot that went nowhere, unlikeable characters. 1 stars
7/23/09 Toni It was stupid but oh so funny! 4 stars
7/21/09 JB Did you see the movie. I don't think the baby flips the bird, just jacks off. 5 stars
7/20/09 Zach Don't listen to this pseudo-intellectual tightwad, this is a superb comedy 5 stars
7/20/09 Pete Thin,formulatic plot that broke no new ground and made me cringe with it's offensive humor. 1 stars
7/20/09 Johnny Fartsalot la la la la la la la la la 5 stars
7/19/09 Thom It was just the best comedy pest 5 years. Absolutly perfect I think Loveable chars 5 stars
7/18/09 mr.mike Lots of laughs. 4 stars
7/16/09 JK Jones Hilarious, David you cost yourself a good time being way overanalytical. 5 stars
7/16/09 max power everyone i know though this was one of the most hilarious movies they seen. 5 stars
7/16/09 correction mike tyson actually does own a tiger, he's not pretending 5 stars
7/12/09 The Game Just saw the movie. Hilarious. 5 stars
7/12/09 Derrick this movie made me laugh out loud a lot very funny critic must have eggplant in stuck inass 5 stars
7/10/09 michael mann very racist and repugnant 1 stars
7/10/09 Shaun Repetitive and boring, i feel like the movie expects me to laugh 2 stars
7/07/09 JonB Yes, it was kinda stupid and the script wasn't very witty, but it was definitely funny. 4 stars
7/06/09 zipper The 100+ people in the theater I was at would disagree with you. Almost constant laughter! 5 stars
7/06/09 pete sampras total total vile crap horsehit, white american comedy fucking bullshit 1 stars
7/05/09 John I'm glad to see the plethora of 5 stars. We're right; reviewer is wrong. 5 stars
7/04/09 Shallow Hal Maybe laughed 3 times the whole movie. Awful. 1 stars
7/03/09 roger federer worst piece of shit movie ever 1 stars
7/02/09 Joe Figures, the people who like this slop get mad and insult someone who doesn't like it 1 stars
7/02/09 samtk you aren't reviewing a "film". funny ass movie though. 5 stars
7/02/09 Solus Unfair to women? It's a movie about a stag party, it's about chauvinist culture. 5 stars
7/01/09 lori vought awful movie; disgusting, mean, and stupid 1 stars
6/30/09 Marc Worst movie. Trite, sadly predictable, and boring. GREAT REVIEW!!! 1 stars
6/30/09 AP I like movies with shock value and quoteability. The Hangover had neither. Purely awful. 1 stars
6/29/09 JBaby Dude is jealous of fat Jesus 5 stars
6/29/09 blackberry terrible, terrible unfunny piece of shit 1 stars
6/28/09 David Not highbrow -Either you think someone mocking a baby jerking off is hilarious or you don't 5 stars
6/28/09 will tenner disgusting shit ass comedy 1 stars
6/27/09 gandalf a terrible terrible sexist film, terrible, terrible 1 stars
6/26/09 Benjamin Barkas all i can say is my wife even loved it and the ENTIRE theatre was cheering at the end 5 stars
6/26/09 Matt Oh noes! The film has confusing gender politics! 5 stars
6/25/09 Svelt The beauty, and humor, of this movie was in the performances, not the plot. HYSTERICAL. 5 stars
6/25/09 Matt Good review. I haev a sense of humor, but making raunchy jokes is just not funny. 2 stars
6/25/09 Mark This review is utter garbage. You are entitled to your opinions,but learn to write a review 4 stars
6/25/09 luke some critics need a sense of humor 5 stars
6/25/09 Robert One of less than a handful of movies that I've walked out of in a total of thousands! 1 stars
6/24/09 kristof68 Clearly Mr Cornelius doesn't have a sense of humour 5 stars
6/24/09 Grace Fun movie ideas, didn't follow through, and slow ending. Best comedy this summer, though. 3 stars
6/24/09 David If this is considered comedy our society is in a world of trouble. Complete crap. 1 stars
6/23/09 Kailee Funniest movie i've ever seen. DEFENETLY a must see 5 stars
6/22/09 Coachie Ballgames Spot on Review. Formulaic crap for wanna be frat boys. Where were the jokes? 1 stars
6/22/09 Amanda There's always a critic who thinks every movie needs to be "8 1/2" so he can get attention. 5 stars
6/22/09 Jay Kay Good Lord man....did you even WATCH the film? Asian guy in the police car? Really? 5 stars
6/22/09 spongekill I'm glad The Hangover is not the movie this critic wanted it to be, would've been horrible 5 stars
6/22/09 jurisprudence this film sucks period 1 stars
6/22/09 nthg2say review: FAIL (im emarassed for u.) 5 stars
6/21/09 g. these critics are reTARDS. excellent, hilarious movie. 5 stars
6/21/09 Micah Bromance that can't be beat! 5 stars
6/20/09 anon good thing you dont have enough talent to actually be in a movie you idiot. BEST MOVIE EVER 5 stars
6/20/09 Swoop Go back to your PG-13 comedies and next time go watch a movie with an open mind. Bias POS. 5 stars
6/20/09 Anonymous Fantastic. Bravo bravo bravo! Expresses my sentiments better than I could. Well-said. 2 stars
6/19/09 Roger Smith The critic is a DICK, he is promoting the movie advertisement through an amazon ad 5 stars
6/19/09 Mase "An ironic beard" !!! - Idiot! 5 stars
6/19/09 jonathantstorm one of the stupidest pointless films ever made 1 stars
6/19/09 James Madision This guy obvioulsy doesn't like good films 4 stars
6/18/09 Joe I agree with the reviewer 100%; this flick was pathetic and stupid 1 stars
6/17/09 Steve Buscemi Watch...this guy will love Transformers. Hack! 5 stars
6/17/09 jurisprudence this film sucked and its on the fucking imdb top 250, what a fucking joke 1 stars
6/16/09 Luisa Super funny movie! 4 stars
6/16/09 Julio Terrible review clearly a great film which everyone likes so get over yourselfs 5 stars
6/15/09 John John this review sucks, just relax and enjoy the laughs 4 stars
6/15/09 Maria B Unfunny and disgusting movie. 1 stars
6/15/09 Bob If you think Old School and the Hangover are Uwe Boll quality, find a new profession 4 stars
6/14/09 Ke We Why attack this movie loser - nit picky idiot 5 stars
6/11/09 Kat As much I loathe to agree with the idiot hack, brian, and disagree with reviewers I respect 4 stars
6/10/09 Ming it is the most funniest film of the year 4 stars
6/08/09 Justin Black Doug has a point about the Roofies, They should be the Floors. 5 stars
6/08/09 Biosci I, along with the whole audience in the packed theater - laughed like hell. Chill! 4 stars
6/07/09 jon its brave to point out that the movie was far from perfect....Ubowel comment over the top 3 stars
6/07/09 Azzam I think you need to stop attacking a good movie 5 stars
6/07/09 Fred Did we see the same movie? 'Cause this one was hilarious! 5 stars
6/06/09 Matt Funnies Movie I've seen in years! You're an idiot! Enjoy movies for movies!!! 5 stars
6/05/09 Nick This is CRAP. Period. End of story. 1 stars
6/05/09 Greg Biased review. U could already tell he doesnt like 'Todd Phillips' in the first paragraph 5 stars
6/05/09 Joe Did the makers of the film not give you the gift bag you asked for?? Smug alert!! 4 stars
6/05/09 Andrew Whether the film was good or not, this review reeks of smug. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  05-Jun-2009 (R)
  DVD: 12-Oct-2010

UK
  N/A

Australia
  05-Jun-2009
  DVD: 15-Dec-2009




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast