Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.46

Awesome31.86%
Worth A Look: 28.32%
Just Average: 13.72%
Pretty Crappy: 5.75%
Sucks: 20.35%

14 reviews, 142 user ratings



Charlie's Angels
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Erik Childress

"Too Much Fun To Be Over-Analyzed"
4 stars

There’s a trend in the film world that’s been becoming more commonplace these days. It’s a trend that always makes me angry. It’s the one that allows anyone with a pen, a computer, a newspaper column or a slot on the evening news to tell you anything and everything about every movie that’s coming out and every person associated with it. Sometimes they blow the whistles on important plot twists. Sometimes they tell you who’s sleeping with whom. A lot of times you will hear about the troubled production of a big-budget film. These stop-the-presses-like bulletins have catapulted a nation of tenth-rate writers from the journalistic integrity of a National Enquirer gossip column to early-breaking mainstream news. And more often than not, these special reports create an unfair stigma among the nation’s critics and moviegoers planting a superficial brainwashing chip of info into our heads that these movies suck. Charlie’s Angels is the latest big-budget film that’s been talked up to death on Internet sites and gossip columns for months. All signs point to a disaster, they say, with feuding stars, a $92-million budget and a screenplay that took writers in the double-digits to fix. But at the end of the day, when this film opens, audiences will discover that they are all wrong and that Charlie’s Angels is as fun a movie as they come.

The kind of fun I’m talking about where you sit back, relax, eat your popcorn, amaze at some of the action and laugh your head off. Laugh, you ask? But the television show wasn’t a comedy. Oh, no? Did you take it seriously? Did anyone? Three hot chicks going on secret missions? Were you watching it for the drama or the reality? Exactly. Over the years, the original rotating Angels back from 1976-1981 were Farrah Fawcett, Jaclyn Smith, Kate Jackson, Shelley Hack, Cheryl Ladd and Tanya Roberts. The big-screen version gets the pleasure of Cameron Diaz, Drew Barrymore and Lucy Liu. And what a pleasure it is.

They play Natalie, Dylan and Alex, respectively; three young enthusiastic secret agents all recruited by reclusive billionaire Charles Townsend to help out clients in distress. Their link between themselves and the speaker phone carrying Charlie’s voice is Bosley, played by the perfectly cast Bill Murray. Their assignment (yes, there is a plot) is to rescue kidnapped computer expert, Eric Knox (Sam Rockwell), who has resisted selling his company to rival Roger Corwin (Tim Curry). Overlooking the detail is Knox’s partner, Vivian Wood (Kelly Lynch) and trying to avert it is the henchman known as the Creepy Thin Guy (Crispin Glover, again, perfectly cast). But, who cares about the plot? We’ve come to see action, comedy, stunts and babes. And you will not be disappointed.

The director of the film is Joseph McGinty Mitchell (who goes only by “McG”), who belongs to a group of people that every once in a while breaks through to make a quality film, but usually falls flat on their narrative faces. That group is the graduates of music videos and commercials. Mitchell has done both, and luckily for him (and for us) that the narrative is not where our attention is focused. From the opening style of the skydiving sequence, we know that we’re in for a good time. With a razor-sharp pace and editing that is just quick enough for its own good, Charlie’s Angels never lets up for a second.

Fight sequences owe a great deal to The Matrix (although I still say the Gap commercials), as everyone in the film seems to have superhero-like powers, defying gravity with the greatest of ease. Even Kelly Lynch resembles Carrie Anne-Moss’ Trinity in the later scenes. The first battle, which should have you laughing uncontrollably and strangely excited at the same time, pits the Angels against George McFly with the Kung-Fu Grip. You would swear you were watching some all-female gang of the X-Men and with the series’ original premise, they might as well be a group of superheroes. Anyone who looks at the way the girls fight and says “no way” is clearly missing the point. Their never-ending stream of aerobatics will increase your awareness of how ridiculous Mission Impossible 2 actually was. That was a film that took itself so seriously with its slow-motion kicking (and walking) that it became laughable as opposed to Charlie’s Angels which knows its supposed to be laughable and never taken seriously. And the actors are fully aware of that.

Someone once said that you could tell a good performance by witnessing “the joy of performing.” That person must have had foresight to see Cameron Diaz strut her stuff in Charlie’s Angels. I don’t know if I’ve ever seen anyone on film before who looks to be having as much fun as Diaz is making this movie. I didn’t think it was possible to be more in love with her – especially after There’s Something About Mary, but after Charlie’s Angels, I’ve already put a down payment on a ring. With a smile that could warm the Grinch’s heart, Diaz portrays Natalie with a childhood glee, managing to be both sexually charged and flirtatious, yet sublimely innocent at the same time. This is never better portrayed than in the moment she is happy to get a call from her boyfriend while attempting a rescue. The overall material may seem beneath an actress with the caliber of Diaz, but when you look past whatever cheesiness you may see, you’ll understand that she’s delivering a first-class comic performance and is one of the best, most diversified actresses working today. Bill Murray as always, is a comic force to be reckoned with and he always looks to be having fun with a role, especially as he parodies classic moments from prison films and whimpering to be saved. Drew Barrymore and Lucy Liu get their moments in the sun too in the undercover guises of a racecar temptress and boardroom dominatrix and all three are a ball to watch, but my heart belongs to Cameron. A splash of water and I’ll be fine.

The television show into movie form is a genre that will not die out soon. After a pitifully sad batch of Saturday Night Live flicks and wretched big screen adaptations of The Mod Squad, My Favorite Martian, Wild Wild West and the aforementioned sequel to Mission Impossible, Charlie’s Angels breaks into that rare mold. The tongue is planted more firmly in the cheeks of everyone involved than in any film I can remember. Those looking too deep will discuss a whole female empowerment angle as three unbelievably sexy women run around in the outfits of male fantasies yet still manage to beat the bad boys and come out on top. But, Charlie’s Angels doesn’t exploit the idea of girl power the way Coyote Ugly falsely did. Sure the guys here are all a little bit affable, but other than the villains, none of them are presented as jerks or uncaring the way many aptly named “chick flicks” do. This is an action/comedy, not a statement on the war of the sexes. Anyone who accuses it of that, doesn’t even belong in the theater in the first place. Charlie’s Angels is not going to join the ranks of the pre-labeled disasters like Batman & Robin, Wild Wild West or Waterworld. At least, I hope not. Thanks to a snappy pace, some exciting action and a joy-ridden cast, this film is too much fun to be overanalyzed and scrutinized under the microscope. I laughed and smiled through all 98 minutes of Charlie’s Angels (including the closing credits) and I’m still smiling because nothing gives me more pleasure than seeing the gossip columnists passing themselves off as journalists proven wrong.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1819&reviewer=198
originally posted: 10/31/00 23:01:24
[printer] printer-friendly format  
TV to Screen: For more in the TV to Screen series, click here.

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell fun imo 4 stars
6/08/10 Flathead King Don't waste your time watching it. 1 stars
5/10/08 drydock54321 not too good 2 stars
12/05/07 no one must kill one 1 stars
4/09/07 bluelights Lucy Liu is beautiful 5 stars
3/19/07 dude really stupid 1 stars
3/18/07 Austin Wertman STUPID 1 stars
3/06/07 johnnyfog Sam Rockwell is pretty cool, but I wanted those bitches to die 2 stars
2/16/07 David Pollastrini didn't think much of it 3 stars
10/29/06 paula Who would give this movie a half of a star, A STUPID man named ROGER EBERT 5 stars
10/08/06 isis cool movie! 4 stars
6/05/06 Anthony Feor One of the greatest pairs of action stars 5 stars
6/04/06 chris cameron diaz is a babe, especially in those spiderman panties 5 stars
5/25/06 William Goss Fun doesn't come more shameless. 4 stars
9/27/05 Jonathon Holmes dumb, but fun 4 stars
3/02/05 Laurie Le Blanc I thought Drew Barrymore and Crispin Glover made the movie worth watching. 3 stars
12/22/04 Jason Kaul This is what it would look like if MTV played action movies instead of music videos. 3 stars
12/08/04 Kristina Williams Cameron Diaz needs to EAT. Skinny bitch 1 stars
10/22/04 Asif Ali Memon well its nice movie I watched it 5 or 6 times.I really enjoyed and waiting for new part. 5 stars
7/31/04 DM Scary - This movie got made. Scarier - It made enough money to warrant a sequel. 1 stars
6/11/04 DJ ERIC 88 one of my fave movies! Full Throttle was better though! 4 stars
12/30/03 suck my cock fuck you nazi punx! 2 stars
12/26/03 vkvashisth movie full of wonder but i see only drews 4 stars
12/23/03 Luke How can you like this! shiet 1 stars
12/07/03 lilcutie a good film 4 stars
11/28/03 john painful in its stupidity - tries so hard to be exiting that turns out rather dull 1 stars
11/24/03 Thiago Cool. Cameron and Drew are perfect; Lucy is ok. Fun movie. 4 stars
10/28/03 Vicki Not so bad it's good; just REALLY, REALLY painfully awful. 1 stars
9/05/03 Dimitri Aubert Can they make a movie any worse? The sequel maybe will be! 1 stars
9/01/03 Kitty B. only good part-bill murray 1 stars
7/15/03 Lil' Angel baby Great moovie! I luved it SO much 5 stars
7/10/03 Eloise make it stop, please make it stop!!!!!!! 1 stars
7/09/03 a girl The movie was cool 3 stars
6/28/03 john one of the greatest films ever made 5 stars
6/15/03 Lush Try not to be bothered by the film's brainlessness and you'll find that you'll enjoy it. 3 stars
5/28/03 leon %%0qwe OH THE MISERY......... OH THE MISERY ...OH MISERY.....NO MORE!....NO SEQUAL PLEASE!!!AHHHHH 1 stars
5/23/03 Mr. Hat (I'm Back, Mo'Fos!) AAAHHH! THE cheesiest shit ever: awful directing, script, action scenes.I agree w/ Ken 100% 1 stars
3/23/03 Jack Sommersby Charmless actresses; ho-hum action; and a wasteland of failed gags. 1 stars
11/15/02 Big Ted Fun, Fun, Fun. 4 stars
9/29/02 Flick Chick the movie sucked, but Drew's cleavage looked so good, almost converted me into lesbianism 1 stars
9/07/02 jimbo The film is a laugh 5 stars
8/07/02 J Not a bad movie but the anime film "Burn Up!" was better & Curry was wasted. 3 stars
6/20/02 Ken My brain hurts. 1 stars
6/15/02 Jim Three hotties, no plotties 3 stars
5/14/02 Blake The 3 girls were hot and kicked butt 5 stars
4/14/02 Film Guy Hot Ass women. Stupid ass movie. 1 stars
4/05/02 spacecowboy loved the Angels...woooo go Angels.... 5 stars
4/04/02 Michael Pham its good 5 stars
4/04/02 Edfink Lombardo Complete shit 1 stars
3/30/02 Jeremy its ggggggreat 5 stars
2/27/02 Alan Smithee Ms. Diaz shaking her ass in the camera was nice, but the rest of the film is atroucious. 1 stars
2/20/02 Xaver Fun. Cute. Plot is slow and predictable. 3 stars
2/09/02 hhjj ranks with movies like crouching tiger,hannibal,unbreakable,pearlharbor,andscarymovie. 1 stars
1/31/02 Kirsten Abercrombie Wrong angel does nude scene - to see prettier butt than Drew's all I need is a mirror. 4 stars
1/27/02 Rosie Finch amusing melodrama, but Natalie should reallly study birds &learn what a pygmy nuthatch is! 4 stars
1/15/02 David A. Alex was not convincing as a dominatrix--she didn't have the buns for it. 3 stars
12/30/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) One of the cheesiest movies ever. Only watch for sexy chicks...and Bill Murray & Tom Green. 2 stars
12/21/01 mnour oh oh 3 stars
12/10/01 dominik Duprelle Not much to hate, just lightweight, lip-glossed sillyness with Lucy Liu and my girl drew... 3 stars
12/03/01 Andrew Carden Fun Movie, Enjoyable Performances, but The Movie Is A Major Rip-Off Of The TV Show. 3 stars
11/27/01 hilary this movie kicks ass 5 stars
11/12/01 Tam Kick-ass! Female viewers can admire girl-power stunts while guys can ogle Lucy & Cameron. 4 stars
10/01/01 Phoenix The girls are sexy, the movie is garbage. 2 stars
9/05/01 Butterbean Watchable movie for college frat boys with action scenes done in a cheezy manner 3 stars
8/14/01 hilary awesome 5 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk Stupid fun with great effects, action, and beautiful women. It's supposed to be cheesy! 5 stars
8/09/01 Mr. Hat Except for 3 choice pieces of ass, this is one of the cheesiest movies I've ever seen. 2 stars
8/06/01 ted v. the story is crap, but it was a lot of fun!!! 3 stars
8/05/01 badfish Barely watchable 2 stars
8/03/01 sarah Its about boobs & stupid & desperate women 1 stars
7/06/01 Simeon Briggs Atrocious, sub-matrix, unoriginal, giggly in an irritating way, burn all copies 1 stars
5/28/01 ntwrage What the fuck were they thinking making this movie. Its retarded! 1 stars
5/26/01 Connoisseur this was a movie...?!? 1 stars
5/22/01 I love movies I'm getting REALLY sick of MATRIX-worshipping directors (Tom Green was not funny) 2 stars
5/18/01 XX The 'movie' SUCKSSSSS way too much to decribe. Don't waste your rental $ or your 1.5 hrs. 1 stars
4/23/01 X It was fun, not insulting and silly. Perfect for Saturday morning. Enjoyed Lui alot 4 stars
4/22/01 joh yeah Tom Green! 5 stars
4/11/01 Gary This is a really good film, although boring at parts and a little confusing. 4 stars
4/09/01 Monday Morning Fluffy fun. 4 stars
3/26/01 Mia This movie was worth seeing! 5 stars
3/14/01 Adam Voorhees Awesome Hamilton, totally awesome. Lighten up and love this no brainer! 5 stars
2/22/01 yUp Typical modern flick - chicks beating up men. 2 stars
2/17/01 perverted pixie I want to live in Crispin Glover's pants... 5 stars
2/12/01 Richard Wright The client was blown away.. but I wasn't. Fast camerawork can't disguise a shoddy script. 2 stars
2/10/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi Again, EAT ME!! If you're too uptight to dig this for what it is, just go ahead and die!! 5 stars
2/02/01 brentley Lucy kicks ass! 4 stars
1/30/01 Kerry-Ann Wonderful, great action,the comedy timing is great! Fun all-around movie!! 4 stars
1/28/01 Nic From a fan of the TV show, this movie was EXCELLENT! 5 stars
1/26/01 Hamad great 5 stars
1/22/01 Diego Romero You know it sucks 1 stars
1/14/01 Yoshi This is a great, fun movie, go drew! 5 stars
1/13/01 Avenger Girl Give me the original anyday. Dont even think about seeing this movie 1 stars
1/05/01 fifu come on 1 stars
1/05/01 Kealoha Who says only 007 can be a ass-kicking babe and still funny!!?! 5 stars
12/10/00 irwin Possibly the worse kind of Hollywood money grab - one that thinks it's actually good. HAHA 1 stars
12/10/00 Sexton Hardcastle Dude! Sweet! That was very fun, no particular part that I could refer to,I enjoyed it all 5 stars
12/10/00 T.Smith Lucy Liu is one ugly bitch. She made this movie suck won ton 1 stars
12/08/00 Viking Not as bad as it sounds !!!! 4 stars
12/08/00 Fathom Menace This brings women back about 30 years. Morons will make this a $90Mil Flick!! 1 stars
12/08/00 Boy In The Designer Bubble Hey cutie, don't shoot, just sit on my face and I'll surrender. 1 stars
12/07/00 Erika yeah it was about the worst movie I have ever seen, which is really sad because I LOVE Drew 1 stars
12/05/00 Matthew Bratley Ok so it's not Shakespeare but it's so much fun 4 stars
12/04/00 William Bell Anyone who doesn't enjoy this movie is an ass-hole. I mean it. 5 stars
12/03/00 Susie Wickedly entertaining 5 stars
12/03/00 Bob Nice T&A for the Brain-Dead 1 stars
11/26/00 FrayLo An entertaining movie that should NOT be taken seriously...all in good fun. 5 stars
11/24/00 HIgh School Janitor Bob THAT WAS FUN ! and it was a thinking movie...made me think of how to get into Lucy's pants 5 stars
11/20/00 The Bill Head This is one of the worst movies of all time!!Sure, the three are nice to look..but come on! 1 stars
11/19/00 popo Lucy Liu was amazing and not to mention, fionne 5 stars
11/19/00 Leon Trotsky <sniff>...is that...cheese? Not terribly bright, but a lot of fun. 4 stars
11/19/00 Bob Fugate Great movie for people who don't like to think 1 stars
11/18/00 YelloMiata@AOL.COM All of the women I know, who have seen it, love it. It's NOT just a guy flick. 5 stars
11/17/00 Edward A Leonard Boring, I mean nice T&A, although it would have been nice to SEE some :), but too corny 2 stars
11/15/00 MiS^DeMeAnOr I loved it! Absolutely hilarious! 5 stars
11/13/00 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi Tongue-in-cheek romp with outstanding action sequences and likeable heroines. 5 stars
11/12/00 poetchuck Good fun and action 4 stars
11/09/00 The Bomb 69 true fun, not much of a plot but I laughed throughout 5 stars
11/09/00 Ground Zero should have been called Charlie's Chicks (LOL) 3 stars
11/08/00 Spetters Great entertainment. I saw this in a cinema and even they laughed! 5 stars
11/08/00 Boy In The Designer Bubble Stupid movie for stupid minds. 1 stars
11/07/00 Caleb Toby kick ass 5 stars
11/07/00 Ty Yes, it lacks a plot, but who cares? You'll be laughing to hard to notice! 5 stars
11/06/00 Olivia Finally an action movie where the girls aren't afaid to break a nail!!!!!!!! 5 stars
11/06/00 Wendy A. Unfortunately, I was disappointed! I thought the movie would have been more entertaining. 3 stars
11/06/00 Tony cheesy ripoff of way too many other action movies 2 stars
11/06/00 Dead President Be sure to shoot yourself before letting the ball-and-chain drag you to this dog! 1 stars
11/06/00 Kimbo It prove that women can be beautifual, have fun and kick ass. 5 stars
11/05/00 DV Fight scenes and spec effects: 5; acting & plot: 1 2 stars
11/05/00 Elspeth Shell-Moyer I loved this movie. And I am in fact a girl. It didn't need a plot. It was so funny. 5 stars
11/05/00 strider3700 this movie was no academy award winner, but I loved every minute. Can't wait for a sequel 5 stars
11/05/00 rob g great flick! 5 stars
11/04/00 Boy In The Designer Bubble The original Angels would have been just as cool, they are still beautiful. 3 stars
11/04/00 Greyjack Cheesy goodness at its best. And it had one of my favorite lines--"My muffins!" 4 stars
11/03/00 TruckGirl didn't expect to laugh so hard.... 5 stars
11/03/00 Michael DLT A wondrous congruence of style, laughs, casting (Tim Curry AND Crispin Glover) + hot ladies 5 stars
11/03/00 Caleb Toby A kick ass time ! some hot ladies proving it's cool to walk quietly and carry big bosom. 5 stars
11/03/00 Blaise God, this is a funny satire... really really fun in a dirty kinda way. 5 stars
11/03/00 Dan Cameron Lucy and Drew are perfect casting, tho Murray held it back a bit. Stupid fun. 3 stars
11/03/00 Keven Irwin It mad me so hourny 5 stars
11/02/00 Alberto The plot is more then more than made up for by the numerous shots of Cameron Diaz chest. 3 stars
11/01/00 Russell Boracci mindless, tasteless, painful watching, even the chicks stink 1 stars
11/01/00 Jared Haworth A guilty pleasure if there ever was one! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  03-Nov-2000 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  23-Nov-2000 (M)


Directed by
  McG

Written by
  Ryan Rowe
  Ed Solomon
  John August

Cast
  Drew Barrymore
  Cameron Diaz
  Lucy Liu
  Bill Murray
  Tim Curry
  Sam Rockwell



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast