Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.19

Awesome66.36%
Worth A Look: 14.55%
Just Average: 2.73%
Pretty Crappy: 4.55%
Sucks: 11.82%

4 reviews, 86 user ratings



Wizard of Oz, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Old Monkey

"Go get it, moron, it's the WIZARD OF OZ!"
5 stars

Truly, one of the best.

It has it all. Midgets dancing, and flying monkeys.

Tell me where you can find this kind of entertainment, and get kids to watch it with you.

Okay, all that aside. The Wizard of Oz is a great flick to rent and watch with your kids. It's got all the elements of a great story with a happy ending. Kids dig it.

Also, look around on the web for the exact details, but that Dark Side Of The Moon match up thing is pretty trippy if you can do it properly.

Good Flick, loved it since I was 6.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=182&reviewer=2
originally posted: 08/29/98 22:45:21
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/25/15 stanley welles campy fairy tale that is strangely heavy-handed 2 stars
1/29/11 Linda J A film you can never get tired of. Judy Garland was one of my father's favorite actresses. 5 stars
9/07/10 John Lutz A wounderful fantasy for children as well as grownups who enjoy a break from reality. 5 stars
9/27/09 HC Really!? this movie is considered on of the best films of all time, that and the godfather 5 stars
2/21/09 PAUL SHORTT ONE OF THE MOST ENDURING MUSICAL FANTASIES OF ALL TIME 5 stars
1/14/09 Anonymous. this movie is great but most people already know that :] 5 stars
10/20/08 Monster A Go-Go This movie is OZ-some! A timeless classic you can't help watching again and again. 5 stars
11/01/07 hank3395 its a classic everyone knows it even the reviewer 5 stars
10/19/07 Pauline Burns A Classic! I grew up watching, and I still watch it with my kids. 5 stars
10/04/07 Eddy I don't understand someone not loving this film and those few are in the minority! 5 stars
10/24/06 David Pollastrini great make-up 5 stars
9/11/06 David Cohen A wonderful film (the book was better, but that's to be expected) 5 stars
9/06/06 Heather Gauze It is a great children movie that every child should see. It is just wonderful! 4 stars
1/19/06 Michael Warm movie with a sweet Dorthy and others but it left me empty. 2 stars
1/14/06 Quigley for a 1930s film, they sure knew how to make a movie that is still so visually arresting. 5 stars
12/22/05 cody a classic movie children and adults young at heart ,a movie for all generations to see 4 stars
12/10/05 chris great film 5 stars
8/21/05 R.W. Welch There's a reason everybody knows nearly every line in this movie. 5 stars
7/17/05 Shawna I love this movie it is classic. This will be pass on to children for years to come. 5 stars
4/09/05 dwarzel Read the books--al 14 of them--for a better look at an OZ that ISN'T just a dream. 3 stars
2/21/05 axe Oz is so widely loved, the voices of dissent sound shrill and unreasonable 5 stars
11/18/04 Khalecia It sucked! 1 stars
9/20/04 Valerie A must see for everyone. Simply put, it's "A Classic". 4 stars
8/11/04 caitlin well good and cute 4 stars
7/23/04 Lord Durvok 2 "roxy" is a mental retard who deserves to die. 5 stars
6/14/04 T. Maj Good film for children; creepy for adults 3 stars
5/14/04 Sean Scanlan Wonderful musical 5 stars
3/17/04 Ina The movie is jaw-droppingly beautiful 5 stars
2/16/04 Mr. Blonde I really do not need to see annoying little munchkins hopping around and dancing. 2 stars
1/04/04 Jennifer I adore this this film!!! The direction is amazing, and Judy is my hero!!! :) 5 stars
12/09/03 Samuel CRAZY! make sure your on acid before you watch it!!! 2 stars
11/02/03 lacey novak very good movie...my fav. when i was a kid! 5 stars
10/25/03 Two-G - horror_blood2 (aka Double G) What I meant by scary is freaky fucking little perverted midgets running around Should be R 1 stars
9/26/03 joshua aleshire this movie is a master piece 5 stars
9/19/03 George Freshley An Amazing Film!!! 5 stars
9/16/03 A.L.R..S I think this movie is the greatest movie ever made! 5 stars
8/18/03 Spock_Enterprise we're off to see the wizard!!! 5 stars
8/08/03 Double G scary 1 stars
7/31/03 futurama rocks this movie is soooooooo YUCK 1 stars
6/02/03 me frog one of the best films in the whole damn world end of story 5 stars
5/05/03 Allstar-rio Whenever I watch this great American film, I always feel like a little child again. 5 stars
4/21/03 maureen Bernard the best movie ever 5 stars
4/16/03 Zach Pinkline Jones- Bet a million you're in prison. Enjoying your internet access? 5 stars
1/27/03 Pinkline Jones Rather have a pap smear with a chainsaw. Bowel-filling 1 stars
1/17/03 mans0n stands the test of time for a reason, its great! i wish they made them like this still 5 stars
1/02/03 rotten s. milk A classic. 5 stars
12/30/02 John Aster Habig a movie for anyone who feels out of place or insecure in their natural abilities 5 stars
12/12/02 Actress known as Angelina Jolie, Ashley Judd, and Charlize Theron A good time has come for a remake of this. I 'd make an excellent wicked witch of the west! 5 stars
10/24/02 Ben Krake This mit sound degrating but I'm 17 years old and I still watch that movie! It rules! 5 stars
7/03/02 rogers that was the best movie ever wow! 5 stars
4/10/02 adam wolfe It's the BEST movie ever, and you're stupid to think otherwise!!! 5 stars
4/02/02 Butterbean One of the very few old movies I enjoy watching 5 stars
3/07/02 Mo Anand This is the first movie I ever saw...23 years later...still awesome 5 stars
3/01/02 Chowie ifulook@daendofdatinmansceneucanseeamidgethanginghimself! 5 stars
1/10/02 kelly Loved i am a big fan of ray Bolgers . and i belive everyone deserves a little time oz time 5 stars
11/01/01 Andrew Carden It's A Classic, It Started The New Generation Of Color Movies. 5 stars
8/22/01 Babybelle Pure enchantment and deep insight.Will never be bored with it. 5 stars
7/27/01 Henry Ginsberg I'm asuming this sort of stuff apeals to small children .I'm far to synical to enjoy it . 4 stars
7/15/01 SuperLad Ive seen trhis movie so many times and Im still not sick of it . 5 stars
6/15/01 Bada Bing Crosby Part of the consciousness of the entire planet, not for nothing either 5 stars
2/14/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi Visually pleasing, playful, and undemanding...not bad at all. 5 stars
1/15/01 Skip One of the best movies of all time. 5 stars
12/15/00 David Demoreski BEAUTIFUL SONGS, SETS, COSTUMES AND A PERFECT CAST!! BY FAR, THE BEST FAMILY FILM EVER!!!!! 5 stars
10/15/00 movie chick Pure movie magic! 5 stars
10/15/00 TIM PS... QUIT TRYING TO BE CUTE AND FUNNY.... 5 stars
10/14/00 Jed Good classic film not exactly the best but far from the worst. 4 stars
9/06/00 Gray Judy Garland was great in this. No! I'm not gay! The flying monkeys remind me of the royals 5 stars
6/01/00 Wafer watch this shit with pink floyd's dark side album. It's crazy 5 stars
4/09/00 Myself Puh-LEEZE! What a cheesy, crappy movie! 1 stars
4/03/00 bullit17 How can ANYONE with half a heart and a respect for the classics not love this? 5 stars
4/02/00 a friend of Dorothy a definite classic 5 stars
1/19/00 Jedi15 Overrated and boring piece of SHIT! Munchkins suck big hairy cock! See the sequel instead. 1 stars
11/04/99 ps "I loved it as a kid, but those monkeys freaked me!" 4 stars
10/10/99 Weird Andy Boring. 2 stars
7/07/99 Ben Leostein Rating: **** (out of ****) Category: "Excellent" 5 stars
4/09/99 Michael Grimm It's classic. Dorothy on speed!!!!! 5 stars
1/01/99 Oscar Goldman Great film. Would be worth the money if I hadn't already seen it on TV 500 times. 5 stars
12/21/98 Movie Geezer Simply put...a great timeless film 5 stars
11/27/98 ShadowStar© Should've brought my Pink Floyd CD 4 stars
11/16/98 Tom Ripley My favorite. And, hey, it's got FLYING MONKEYS! 5 stars
11/12/98 Jules My dad loves it and for once I agree. 5 stars
11/06/98 Lord Of The Dunce It was fine for it's time, but really is it worth a rerelease? Semi. 3 stars
11/06/98 davebo classic story, digitally remastered, but where the Pink Floyd sndtrk? :) 5 stars
10/03/98 spork-girl why does everyone say this is for kids? it's on acid. it's for druggies. MIDGETS! 5 stars
8/31/98 Mister Whoopee A classic tale, done extremely well for the time. But pretty much for kids. 4 stars
8/15/98 {{{OZ}}} The midget hanging himself in the background is an urban myth. Ok? 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  25-Aug-1939
  DVD: 25-Oct-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Mar-1940




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast