Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.91

Awesome: 24.05%
Worth A Look56.96%
Just Average: 8.86%
Pretty Crappy: 5.7%
Sucks: 4.43%

11 reviews, 92 user ratings



Erin Brockovich
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"Starring Julia Roberts, and Julia Roberts' boobs."
4 stars

What could have been just another based-on-a-true-story, common-man-triumphs-against-corporate-greed potboiler is made into something just a little better, thanks to the thousand-watt charisma of Ms. Julia Roberts as the title character in "Erin Brockovich."

She is amply assisted, though, by Albert Finney as her lawyer/boss Ed Masry, and Aaron Eckhart as her neighbor/boyfriend George. Both are given more than supporting roles, often speaking dialogue that is both funnier and more real-sounding than Erin's.

They also help to keep her grounded. As the film's previews have shown, much to the hooting and delight of audiences, Erin has quite a sassy mouth on her. Unfortunately, that sass is often unwarranted, being directed at people who have not done her any harm. Ed and George both try to tame the wild, insecure beast that is Erin Brockovich. More on that later.

The plot: Erin is a twice-divorced mother of three, unemployed and unemployable, having married too early to develop any marketable skills. After a car accident, her foul mouth on the witness stand loses for her what should have been an open-and-shut case, and in an act of desperation, she goes to her lawyer and demands he give her a job.

What, as a lawyer? No, silly. That would be fiction. This is real life. He gives her a job as a person who files things. Her penchant for wearing cleavage-oriented clothing and high heels makes her a misfit in an office full of modest, full-figured gals, as does that aforementioned potty language, which tends to direct at anyone who suggests that maybe if she'd quit talking and dressing like a floozy, people would treat her with some respect.

In the process of filing papers, Erin discovers that Pacific Gas and Electric bought a bunch of property in the small desert community of Hinkley, Calif., and that they apparently also poisoned the local water with chromium, which would explain their hurry to buy everyone's property and get them out of there, before the side effects could kick in. (PG&E made sure to lie to the townsfolk about the effects of chromium, too, just in case.)

So Erin convinces lawyer Ed to turn this into a huge case against PG&E, what with pretty much the whole town of Hinkley having some form of cancer or another, and of course they win. This much you can guess from the beginning.

And what makes this better than all the movies like it ("A Civil Action" being a good example) is that the legal story itself is not relied upon too much. Let's face it, real life is rather boring. What makes it interesting is compelling characters in dramatic situations. Erin's personal journey -- overcoming her insecurities, learning to believe in herself -- is every bit as interesting as the legal case, if not more so, and the fact that Erin is allowed to be seriously flawed as a person (and as a character), instead of being the perfect superhero, makes this movie a downright curiosity.

The movie does get its fair share of Hollywood cliches. When Erin is hot on the trail of the evil PG&E, she gets your standard Threatening Phone Call ("Do you know who you're dealing with?!"). There are also a few too many shots of cancer-stricken kids, and a mom who says, tearfully, "We're gonna get them, aren't we?"

Erin's relationship with her kids gets generically "strained" as she spends too much time at work. She has exactly two scenes with her 8-year-old son: One in which he is mad at her for never being home, and one in which they are reconciled when he sees all the good she's doing. So much for developing THAT angle....

Overall, though, "Erin Brockovich" works as an interesting, often funny character drama, and even somewhat as a legal thriller.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1821&reviewer=247
originally posted: 07/03/03 22:27:24
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/14/17 morris campbell soild flick JULIA IS GREAT 4 stars
7/30/09 Ulla I love Julia...but why does she portray Erin as a slutty dresser? It makes women look bad 2 stars
2/08/09 Samantha Pruitt great acting, Julia Roberts really shines in this! 5 stars
11/16/08 Sol Not the most exciting, but somehow deserves the awards it's got. 4 stars
5/16/08 PAUL SHORTT A BIG, BRASH, BOLD SOCIAL FILM ISSUE THAT EXPLODES WITH A GOOD PERFORMANCE 3 stars
2/07/07 David Pollastrini RIP Ed Masry 4 stars
11/29/06 jenna i think that this was an awesome movie and julia roberts is an inspiring actress and woman. 5 stars
10/02/06 Jeremy Davies Great movie, was pleasantly surprised. Best performance by Julia Roberts 4 stars
6/04/06 Jess Bloody Awesome! 5 stars
10/19/05 Sinead Kane One of the best films every made 5 stars
8/25/05 Michael Liked it a lot ... too much swearing though 5 stars
7/27/05 Wc IT PARALYZE ME! 5 stars
2/02/05 Steve Michaud Roberts won an Oscar for this? Over Ellen Burstyn in "Requiem for a Dream"? What a sham. 4 stars
12/16/04 Ken Cenerelli Slow in parts but otherwise a worthy oscar winner. 4 stars
12/11/04 Charlene Javier Julia deserves every bit of that Oscar! 5 stars
12/08/04 frosty Something to chew on. 4 stars
12/05/04 Julie The moral tone of this film is disgusting. 1 stars
9/26/04 Edelyn Baja very nice movie. 5 stars
4/05/04 Agent Sands I get tired of the cocky Brockovich monologues, but all otherwise is excellent. 4 stars
3/06/04 Jaco Visser One of the best true-life dramas I have ever seen! Julia is excellent!!! 5 stars
11/01/03 Tell Shit Like Shit Is Decent fable. Too bad the previews made her seem like Erin Blockhead Bitch! 4 stars
10/06/03 John Bale Fiesty Roberts uses her obvious physical assets to advantage in a fine performance 4 stars
8/05/03 Sarrah Smith awesome! i made it into my thesis. 5 stars
7/26/03 Mr. Hat I'd have sex with Julia Roberts! I think Finney & Soderbergh did well, if a bit Hollywood. 4 stars
6/26/03 cochese Julia Roberts is among the top ten most annoying people in the world. This movie SUCKS. 1 stars
5/30/03 ReptilesNi Marg Helenberger would've made a better Erin. Julia's range is extremely limited. 3 stars
2/11/03 Pinkline Jones Very good film - Roberts' Oscar thoroughly deserved 4 stars
12/27/02 Rayna Kuzio Great movie!! Definately will buy for my collection! 5 stars
11/26/02 R.W. Welch Finney is priceless and Roberts effective though the pic drags in spots. 4 stars
11/15/02 Big Ted Julia's Best Performance is still Notting Hill. 4 stars
11/07/02 Tell Shit Like Shit Is Decent fable. Too bad the previews made her seem like Erin Blockhead Bitch! 4 stars
9/25/02 snowconehead lies, lies, and more wonderbra lies 2 stars
4/11/02 Sara Goldfarb's Red Dress Hey Jules, Mr Ed wants his teeth back.. 1 stars
3/26/02 Chris żĄ Oh, What a great movie. I had a smile on my face the whole time. 5 stars
1/23/02 Geo7654 Julia Roberts is stunning.........to look at, but the plot is just isn't interesting enough 3 stars
1/16/02 carmen lafuente a very good film 5 stars
1/13/02 Flick Chick i agree with travis - and i was so unintrigued, even i was starting to like her hooties. 3 stars
1/05/02 Andrew Carden The Direction and Production Is Very Unique, but It's Too Serious. 3 stars
12/30/01 adil moutanabbi Erin just made the woman figure a true pair of breasts, totally missfit in that domain . 3 stars
12/02/01 travis r. sorensen OVERRATED!!!!!!!!-but julia roberts has nice hooties 3 stars
10/30/01 ss good 4 stars
10/21/01 P.Rodriguez U Gotta Love Her Mams. Decent Movie Also. 4 stars
9/08/01 Gary Good dialogue, but standard fare overall. Julia was great, but Linney shudda got the Oscar. 3 stars
8/30/01 spaceworm Biker boyfriend far more authentic than Julia's chest. 3 stars
8/18/01 Dr. Thompson Is this supposed to be a hero? Ambulance chasing slut? 1 stars
4/27/01 nayana Das good movie 4 stars
4/12/01 Piz One of those "Ive seen this one before" type of films, where everyone root for the underdog 4 stars
4/09/01 Gary Good movie. I loved Roberts in it, but I liked her in Stepmom better. 5 stars
3/26/01 Kaarina Hautaniemi Now it is time for Julia Roberts to get that glamorous Oscar-statue. Good work! 5 stars
3/22/01 Neil Labute If Julia Roberts wins best actress, it ll be a fucking joke. 3 stars
3/20/01 Jake Silkwood, anyone? 1 stars
3/07/01 Mike steve how did you make traffic? 1 stars
2/20/01 Elvisfan Decent, solid movie but not Oscar worthy for anyone involved 3 stars
2/14/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi Julia hasn't had a better role before or since, and she plays it like she knows it. 4 stars
2/12/01 Egg36 Dull story, but Julia Roberts is great eye-candy. 2 stars
2/05/01 Doug An amazing film and Julie deserves an Oscar 5 stars
1/28/01 Nic Like usual, Julia Roberts puts on a superb performance. But, then, when hasn't she?! 5 stars
1/10/01 Matt69 Hey Julia, Nice tits!!!! Standard film, but excellent perf by the tits. 3 stars
1/03/01 stacey james fuckin brilliant movie and bite my ass all those who dont agree 5 stars
10/26/00 bob mitchell superb casting for the story line. 5 stars
9/11/00 Terrie Smith Well written by Grant; good direction by Soderbergh. Let's not forget Julia either. 4 stars
8/28/00 Monday Morning I don't know about an Oscar but Julia's body deserves some kind of award. Great movie too. 4 stars
8/17/00 Girl 9 A little long but well done nonetheless. Some good acting for Julia Roberts 4 stars
7/12/00 Tom I never thought I would say this: Julia Roberts gives an excellent performance. 4 stars
7/11/00 Linda Hilarious but serious 5 stars
5/11/00 Dasha I'll never underesimate Julia Roberts again. Wow, she rocks here. 4 stars
4/21/00 Matthew Smith Julia roberts gives one of her best performances to date 5 stars
4/19/00 Sara GREAT!! 5 stars
4/12/00 punkass Someday all average films will be this good. A step down for Soderbergh 3 stars
4/09/00 lazt good story,great performances..see it. 5 stars
4/09/00 Richard Wright This had a very intelligent plot and some great dialogue. And no slushy music!!! YEAH!! 4 stars
4/09/00 kohawk I'd rather take a shotgun blast in the face than see this flick 1 stars
4/06/00 Mr C Excellent, witty, and entertaining 5 stars
4/06/00 Tim Julia Roberts was funny as hell in this movie and was believable 5 stars
4/01/00 Chef ADogg Nice cleavage. Bonus points for anchoring them with a decent movie. 4 stars
4/01/00 Captain Highcrime Impressive adaptation of what could've easily become TV movie fare. 4 stars
3/28/00 LC Did anyone else think of Silkwood while watching this film? Bigger boobs in this one though 4 stars
3/24/00 Chartsy Aaron Eckhart, where have you been all my life? 4 stars
3/23/00 Wafer Julia Roberts was great but it was a little long 4 stars
3/22/00 Chuckie I didnt know that one dirt poor woman could afford so many boob revealing outfits. 3 stars
3/22/00 Jenifer The movie gives struggling,single moms the hope for a better life for their children 5 stars
3/22/00 Movie Freek Despise Julia Roberts, but she gives the performance of the year in this terrific film! 5 stars
3/22/00 Joel Harwood JULIA ROBERTS GETS BETTER THAN EVER 5 stars
3/21/00 JonnyAngel a nice surprise 4 stars
3/20/00 El Tigre I am not a Julia Roberts fan, but I think she is great in this very entertaining smart film 5 stars
3/20/00 Paige Much better than I expected. Definitely worth seeing. 4 stars
3/20/00 Justine Briggs I thought the movie was great, very enjoyable. 5 stars
3/20/00 Bart Entertaining. Julia is a Star not an Actress. Pretty woman goes "trailer park." 4 stars
3/20/00 Louis Pretty good, a little bit long 4 stars
3/19/00 "Persnickety "Jenn pretty damn good, you rock julia! 5 stars
3/18/00 Malbert Another wonderful movie for Julia Roberts, I wasn't expecting to love it as much as I did 5 stars
3/18/00 Mr Glute If you've waited for Julia to do something interesting, she's finally done it. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  17-Mar-2000 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  13-Apr-2000 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast