Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.59

Awesome: 13.83%
Worth A Look: 12.77%
Just Average: 13.83%
Pretty Crappy37.23%
Sucks: 22.34%

6 reviews, 58 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Runaway Bride
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Hawkboy

"Comedy Lesson #1: Old ladies talking dirty is NOT funny."
2 stars

It's a Garry Marshall movie. Look at the dude's history. If you liked his old movies, you'll probably like this one too. Just a few short months ago, I gave a favorable (and quotable, it turned out) review to "The Other Sister", Mr. Marshall's previous movie. In that review, I acknowledged that the plot was as predictable as an old episode of "Saved by the Bell" (Hmmm, I wonder if Zack and the gang will outsmart Mr. Belding, yet somehow learn a valuable lesson), but the acting skills of the two leads and their chemistry made it rise above its rather limited aspirations. This movie tried the same thing. It didn't work.

The plot: Maggie has bailed at the altar three times. She's trying it again. Ike's a reporter who's covering the story. They actively dislike each other. They're completely opposite to each other. Of course, they'll never fall in love or anything.

Richard Gere. Julia Roberts. Remember that last movie they made together? The one about the hooker? The filmmakers sure hope so, because it makes it a LOT easier to understand why they fall in love in THIS movie if you assumed that they already fell in love a few years ago in another movie. In this movie, they fight, she says she hates him, he makes all sorts of sarcastic comments, but then, as if from nowhere, they begin exchanging serious looks and then they're kissing. At least in "Pretty Woman", they were sleeping together.

The movie didn't have a lot of laughs, but I admit, I did smile a lot. Garry Marshall movies are a lot like sitcoms. You can chuckle at the wacky locals, spot the punch-lines from a mile away, and laugh at grandma, who's talking about sex. "I'm gonna haul ass to Lollapalooza!" "Here we go again!"

But, alas, I did fall in love at this movie. With Joan Cusack. She RULES. Build a movie around her, dammit!

Maybe I should avoid seeing "The Other Sister" again, to check if I missed the boat. I saw "Sister" with a girl I was still in love with. I saw this flick with my parents. But, to reiterate, movies like this walk a FINE line. 50% of the people who see it'll love it. It's shmaltz, but on the right day, it'll work. Today was just the wrong day, perhaps.

Can THIS review get quoted in Australian newspapers? Please?

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1822&reviewer=27
originally posted: 08/02/99 00:23:52
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

7/03/11 Yvette My friend dragged me to the theater to see this and I wasn't impressed. 2 stars
7/04/10 PAUL SHORTT SLICK ROMANTIC COMEDY WITH ENGAGING PERFORMANCES 3 stars
4/03/09 Dane Youssef Impossible to swallow, believe or care about. Patronizing crap for the dumbest of women. 1 stars
2/17/08 Pamela White very true how women change thinking men want thaem to. 5 stars
12/21/05 cody a good story and good acting, everything else stunk bad and julia's worst movie yet 2 stars
10/01/05 Michael Candy-covered poisin in a nice package 3 stars
6/26/05 Doremimi Wow. Two-plus hours of my life that I can never get back. Can I sue? 2 stars
12/04/04 Kristina Williams Why women love Julia the HORSEFACE is beyond me. 1 stars
8/18/04 courtney i agree with butterbean on making a Pretty Woman 2 but still a great movie with a great end 4 stars
7/05/04 Emma Stewart quite a goood film but more of a 'chic flick' 4 stars
4/26/04 Maria Evans Loved the film, just great made me laugh loads at ike 5 stars
6/17/03 Erin Stupid. love Julia Roberts but this made me wonder why. doesn't compare to pretty woman 2 stars
3/20/03 Jack Sommersby Charming performances and good dialogue can't rescue mediocre story. 2 stars
8/07/02 I Can't Swim The day Julia retires, movies will automatically improve drastically 1 stars
6/11/02 hilarydsur worth a look 4 stars
4/27/02 Butterbean They made a shit movie instead of making a Pretty Woman 2. 2 stars
3/24/02 Veronica Foxx (The Raven-Haired Temptress) They shoulda just called this "The Julia Roberts Story". Or just watch A&E's Bio. same crap 2 stars
1/25/02 Carla Metzger Bearable until Maggie Crapenter runs out on one wedding too many 2 stars
1/05/02 Andrew Carden The First 10 Minutes Spoils You, and Afterwards, It Comes Tumbling Down. 2 stars
11/11/01 daniboy worse movie ever 1 stars
11/11/01 Gracy Lionheart UGH!!! I had to fight falling asleep. Stereotypical Julia Roberts movie...ugh. 1 stars
10/08/01 Jill I loved it! It is sweet and not afraid to show it! We need more light-hearted movies todayi 5 stars
6/25/01 Tzila Seewald CUTE! 4 stars
3/25/01 rafiy issa rafiy78@usa.net 5 stars
3/07/01 Sanja I want back wasted time of my life! 1 stars
2/28/01 Stephen It was AWESOME. 5 stars
12/27/00 Turtle Richard Gere's best movie I've seen. 5 stars
8/24/00 Terrie Smith Not nearly as good as 1990's "Pretty Woman"; charisma between the two is not there. 3 stars
6/08/00 Fishsticks Flat, moderately charming and decidely fluffy rom-com. 2 stars
4/03/00 yankee Roberts can't act, support is o.k., too predicted. snake dance was the best part 3 stars
3/15/00 fire-n-ice good if you have nothing else to watch 4 stars
3/05/00 Kyle Broflovski Gere & Roberts fall in love all over again. Who gives a rat's ass? 2 stars
2/28/00 Jed Well this better than some of the other richard gere films out there. 4 stars
12/09/99 Paul A feel good comedy 5 stars
10/26/99 Katherine I have LOVED so much this movie ! So romantic 5 stars
10/06/99 JIZMO CHEF ADOGG IS BEING TOO KIND IN HIS REVIEW!! DRECK AT ITS NASTIEST. 1 stars
10/03/99 Lindsey This was a cute movie, I only went because my friends were going, but it turned out good!!! 4 stars
9/20/99 Britt A feel good movie with some predicted laughs." 4 stars
9/19/99 Weird Andy Voight kicks ass. A first rate...oh, I thought this was a review for Runaway TRAIN. Sorry. 2 stars
9/05/99 voyant The fun, lighthearted fluff it's meant to be. 4 stars
9/03/99 godsdog Lame-ass, predictable humor. Follow-the-template writing. Paint by numbers, anyone? 3 stars
9/01/99 PhilmPhreak It pisses me off that I paid money to see this - oh wait, I snuck in - still sucked 2 stars
8/26/99 Meepos Seriously lacking integrity. Typical Garry Marshall syrup. 1 stars
8/22/99 funky chick not as good as notting hill 3 stars
8/14/99 JimBob Wouldnt I like to be the reason she has a headboard headache?!?!!!? 5 stars
8/13/99 Deanna You wanted maybe Anna Karenina? getthefuckoutta here!! Eye Candy and Charming 'Nuf for me 4 stars
8/11/99 Ryan The best movie I've seen this year! 5 stars
8/10/99 Vampyre9mm I would have liked it better if Julia Roberts was a hooker again. I want my money back. 2 stars
8/09/99 Jill Predictable and unrealistic 2 stars
8/04/99 Ken Gelineau Julia Roberts makes a better whore than a wife. Maybe that is why she keeps running away f 2 stars
8/04/99 Lauren Alvarez I really liked the movie. I thought it was funny! 5 stars
8/02/99 Jenn (Chuck) this movie was so adorable. Julia Roberts and Richard Gere are so cute together! I love it! 5 stars
8/01/99 Weird Andy Pretty people falling in love. Where's my 9mm? 2 stars
8/01/99 Laura Its a sweet and funny movie, not nearly as good as pretty woman, but still worth seeing. 4 stars
8/01/99 Malbert A little disappointing, but there were some good parts 3 stars
7/31/99 jenn "Blu Smrf" this is a must see for any romance lovers out there, take your dates to this movie!!! 5 stars
7/31/99 buddy not that bad, love that Julia. 4 stars
7/30/99 bucky do not let your sappy hallmark lovin' girlfriend drag you to this , its worse than the last 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  30-Jul-1999

UK
  N/A

Australia
  26-Aug-1999 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast