Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.33

Awesome59.92%
Worth A Look: 25.29%
Just Average: 7.39%
Pretty Crappy: 2.33%
Sucks: 5.06%

15 reviews, 167 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Clickbait by Jay Seaver

Her Smell by Peter Sobczynski

Under the Silver Lake by Peter Sobczynski

Chaperone, The (2019) by Jay Seaver

Missing Link by Jay Seaver

Master Z: Ip Man Legacy by Jay Seaver

Hail Satan? by Jay Seaver

Diane by Rob Gonsalves

Spider-Man: Into The Spider-Verse by Rob Gonsalves

Dragged Across Concrete by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


O Brother, Where Art Thou?
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Thom

"Soul stirring romantic comedy adventure"
4 stars

Although Christianity is the backdrop, fitting because this is the American South in the 1930ís, O Brother Where Art Thou is broadly speaking an allegory about the role of faith in the spiritual and not so spiritual life of humans. But you donít have to be that deep to enjoy this film. What really makes this film worthwhile are the many moments of rousing passion and pathos.

The film begins by telling us that it inspired by the Odyssey, but Iíve read the Odyssey and Iíve even taught the Odyssey, It is better to say that this film is very loosely inspired by the Odyssey. Ulysses McGill, played by George Clooney is roughly Odysseus trying get back home to his wife after being at war for 20 years. In Ulyssess case, he has been in prison. Ulysses and his two companions of the road start out looking for a treasure that they are quickly advised to not pursue by a blind seer. They are told they will find a greater treasure but not the one they seek. They then have one fortunate and fateful meeting after another, pursued all the time by ďThe DevilĒ. The sublime religious overtones of the Christian tradition in O Brother make the Devil an appropriate character but the Devil has no part in the Odyssey like he does in this film.

This is a film that stirred my emotions. O Brother, if anything, communicates the kind of joy that can only be known alongside deep pain. Its like the Christian experience itself. The salvation of the cross is the joy for humans broken by the deep pain of separation from the creator. Of course, this is a conditioned response like all religious feeling. In the West, our sense of the sacred has been wrapped up in Christianity. In O Brother you get a sense of the sacred wrapped up in a psychological mechanism to provoke and release emotion. Wait. Thatís what a bard like Homer and the Greek dramatists were doing. Theatre was a ritual for the purgation of the soul. A mass, if you will, where the central mystery is the salvation of the psyche from the damaging influence of emotions with no proper channel. The Coen Brothers loosely based O Brother on the Odyssey and also created it in the same theatrical tradition.

O Brother has a great soundtrack. What Pulp Fiction did for funk and soul, this film will do for Bluegrass. Maybe the music triggers deep memories of my own southern roots, or maybe its just wonderful,stirring music but if there is anything I took away from this film it was the experience of the music and how it was woven into the story. Music and singing take a central role in guiding the story and developing the plot. Where many movies use music in the background as a device to supply the appropriate emotional cues, O Brother brings the music to the foreground and celebrates it for its own sake without overshadowing the story of the Ulysses.

Holly Hunter is one of my favorite actors and although she has a small role, it is important and works her small part well. The supporting characters get their tales told in fits. When you are trying to keep people enthralled for days or even weeks, having separate tales for each character in an epic is a good tactic. O Brother lets us in on some of the details of the supporting characters lives without becoming tangental or involving any of them in a subplot. Just enough to make them real enough that Ulysses has to deal with them as radical elements that can and do affect the course of his own journey. Ulysses eventually gets what he wants with no small help from God (or the Gods) and the lives of the supporting characters stay tied to the fortunes of Ulysses.

I didnít think Iíd want to go see this film but since someone was taking me out and I had to choose between a film Iíve already seen, Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon and O Brother, O Brother won by default. Iím tempted to point out the fateful element of me even seeing a film wherein fate is the invisible main character of the film. So I wonít.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1828&reviewer=67
originally posted: 01/31/01 20:43:12
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

3/24/18 morris campbell good not great 4 stars
8/30/15 FireWithFire EVERY Coen brothers movie pisses on Whites, this one White Southerners ,before the 196660s. 1 stars
2/14/12 Ron Larson great characters, fantastic music 5 stars
10/05/11 Quigley A highly enjoyable film. One of the Coen's best. Loved the Siren scene. 5 stars
11/23/10 JTBrandt.com I don't get what people like about this movie. Jokes were stupid; soundtrack was annoying. 2 stars
6/01/10 User Name The Southern version of the Odyssey. And, suprisingly, it works. 4 stars
1/18/09 mr.mike Virtually unwatchable. 1 stars
9/17/08 Stu Moments of genius but also slow in parts. Not as good as youīd expect from the Coens. 3 stars
6/13/08 PAUL SHORTT AN ELLECTIC AND ENTERTAINING MIX 4 stars
2/09/08 Samantha P i loooove this movie, and the music is awesome, and i hate country music! so entertaining! 5 stars
10/29/07 JeromeBoch Shit smells better. 1 stars
10/10/07 john-paul moore its the best film out 5 stars
2/28/07 Crantor D. Smithen Good premise, painfully rushed and awkward at times. Clooney saves the movie. 3 stars
1/25/06 Jerome Bosch As entertaining as am infomercial, hated the music. 1 stars
12/30/05 Agent Sands One great bit of entertainment. Hilarious, exciting, different. 5 stars
11/10/05 Vina W.O.W 4 stars
9/24/05 D Buckley constant sorrow... 1 stars
8/24/05 ES Kind of a cool song, kinda of a bad movie 2 stars
3/26/05 Jeanne George Clooney's Best - "But you ain't bona fide!" 5 stars
1/21/05 DM Funny shit. "The best thing you ever did for them gals was get hit by that train!" 4 stars
11/26/04 alien assassin the coen Brothers' masterpiece 5 stars
9/25/04 Ken One of the best american movies I've ever seen. Great casting, great musics, wonderfull! 5 stars
9/01/04 Ice Queen Loved it. Hilarious. Great casting. 5 stars
7/08/04 Gray I've been told only a "white male could enjoy this movie" 5 stars
5/30/04 Lindsay Great songs and hilarious, lovable characters! I LOVE it! 5 stars
5/25/04 John they sing a great and bizarre song - the rest is dull and slightly pretentious 2 stars
5/06/04 Ross I bought the soundtrack. 4 stars
5/03/04 Shanette N. Jones different; but great! 4 stars
4/06/04 Uni Girl This is one of many favourite movies for me and all my friends 5 stars
4/05/04 Robin Its awesome.I love that song:im a man of constant sorrow 5 stars
4/05/04 Miss Julie Damn, I love this movie! The Coens deserve a Pulitzer, never mind an Oscar. 5 stars
3/25/04 bikehorn Loved the parallel to the story of Odysseus. Brilliantly written and filmed. Great sndtrk. 5 stars
3/23/04 Kat Bailey Loved it, you have to be a true Southerner to get all the minute references, hilarious! 5 stars
2/19/04 MP Bartley O brother how over-rated and annoying art thou? 2 stars
12/17/03 * An Idiot Who Loves George Clooney* AWSOME GEORGE CLOONEY AT HIS BEST GREAT MOVIE IT FUCKIN'ROX! 5 stars
8/23/03 John Bale A wild happy visual ride with the Coen Bros. Top script and cast 5 stars
8/21/03 Matt Wonderful! A breath of fresh air. Quite infectious. 5 stars
6/22/03 cochese dumb 2 stars
6/22/03 Ashley I loved it ... I love George Clooney ... and hes a Dapper Dan Man!!! 5 stars
5/28/03 Jo Ellis excellent, could watch it over and over again 5 stars
5/17/03 George Jung Anyone who doesn't like this movie can R-U-N-N-O-F-T...or go fuck themselves...whichever. 5 stars
4/11/03 Jack Sommersby Overstated, obvious, and obnoxious. 1 stars
4/09/03 Jack Bourbon I saw this movie while doped-up on cough medicine. I think I was in some sort of trance. 5 stars
1/28/03 Christopher M. Domenick We need this movie. 5 stars
12/30/02 Bob Hardcore Great cinema. Clooney is amazing here. 5 stars
12/30/02 John Aster Habig highly sophisticated slapstick 5 stars
11/27/02 R.W. Welch Not up to "Arizona" but still an enjoyable screwball comedy. 4 stars
10/15/02 Elizaveta we're in a tight spot! 5 stars
10/11/02 andria this movie rocks! absolutely love delmar!! 5 stars
9/28/02 Peter Sherlock I didn't realise Clooney could act. 4 stars
9/03/02 brien George Clooneys best performance since Dusk till Dawn 5 stars
7/29/02 Captain Midol I'm wary of any kind of "updated" classic, but this really hit the mark. Truly amusing. 5 stars
6/09/02 JesseL Excellent. If you know just a little about 'The Odyssey' it means more. 5 stars
6/01/02 Chris Just watch, don't ask questions or think. You'll enjoy it more trust me. 4 stars
4/27/02 Butterbean It's not "The Big Lebowski", but it's visually a treat. 4 stars
4/03/02 Edfink Lombardo Brilliant film with an equally wonderful soundtrack to boot...A true gem of a film 5 stars
4/02/02 El Talboto Excellent picture 5 stars
3/30/02 Film Guy Kick Ass little movie. 4 stars
3/30/02 Film Dude God damn, I never expected this to be so good. 5 stars
3/13/02 Rockitman007 This is one of my all time favorite movies!!!! 5 stars
2/25/02 Crusty For people who have a wandering soul. Funny, feast for the eyes, heartwarming. Top film. 5 stars
2/21/02 Kristi Good Movie! Gotta Love the music too! 5 stars
2/20/02 Xaver Great music. Fun. A little confusing at times. 4 stars
2/01/02 Dar Mulhall Fucking Awesome - soundtrack to match 5 stars
1/23/02 John Wilner It's pure bloodhound shit; another Hollywood lynching of southern white culture. 1 stars
1/15/02 george fountas A superb musical from coen brothers. 5 stars
11/23/01 Andrew Carden Just Not Very Funny, Good Premise Wasted. 2 stars
10/16/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) Really funny and cool. 4 stars
10/09/01 Kooler Go for the depression-era detail alone. Bonus: Clooney lampoons his own narcissistic image! 4 stars
9/29/01 The Boy In The Designer Bubble Thought I would hate this movie, but I liked it. The slow witted guy was brilliant 4 stars
9/19/01 JLH One of the best movies Ive seen in a long time. Music, story, atmosphere were great. 5 stars
9/16/01 Bri Loved it. Good music. Wacky. Watch on dvd! 5 stars
9/04/01 Amy Nothing annoys me more than a southern twang and music to match yet I adore this movie!!!!! 5 stars
9/01/01 Butterbean Clooney at his cinematic best! Great cinematography! 5 stars
9/01/01 Tory Loved it 5 stars
8/31/01 spaceworm Saw this the day I found out I didn't have cancer. Talk about in the mood. 5 stars
8/18/01 phil m. afficiando Awesome(-) or Worth Look(+); different and emininently entertaining; fun twists/turns 4 stars
8/08/01 moviegoer I thoroughly enjoyed this film and hope to add it to my collection someday. 5 stars
8/06/01 Joe Zappa I've seen a lot of bad movies in my life.....but this was AWESOME!!!!! 5 stars
8/06/01 E-Funk Clooney's best role,Tim Blake's a riot, Turturro's the man, Coen's win again and again... 5 stars
7/27/01 richy c hey gizzy! maybe you were just suffering a mild stroke? i'm concerned about you. 5 stars
7/22/01 Will that was really good. 5 stars
7/21/01 john klepper loved it 5 stars
7/08/01 R.W. Welch Imaginative road pic with some surreal twists. 4 stars
7/07/01 the scarecrow shutup Gizzy, this film kicks ass 5 stars
7/06/01 Indelusia A great movie. Cohen brothers classic, and George Clooney at his best. 5 stars
6/23/01 marilyn ITS A HOOT AND OL' GEORGE KNOWS WHAT HES DOIN WHEN HE "SINGS" 5 stars
6/22/01 Steve Ok... 4 stars
6/21/01 MacShogun Watched it numerous times still great! 5 stars
6/21/01 Gizzy I almost dozed off - it's that bad 1 stars
6/18/01 Monday Morning Fresh, totally original and well done. I also like the slightly dark edge. 5 stars
6/16/01 matt I loved this movie!! It was very well written and directed. 5 stars
6/16/01 liam myers nice feel to it 5 stars
6/16/01 I love movies it is beyond my power of comprehension how anyone could EVER find ANYTHING good about this 1 stars
6/13/01 luket anything that makes fun of the kkk is fucking awesome in my book 5 stars
6/10/01 King Jackass The best movie of the year. 5 stars
6/07/01 e j and Roy Smith are gay together THIS MOVIE RULES!!!!!! 5 stars
6/04/01 MM Did you notice the people who didn't like it can't spell worth a damn? 5 stars
6/03/01 e j Sucks all ass is a sever understatement!!!!! 1 stars
5/27/01 Rudy Lupinski Clever and really enjoyable. 5 stars
5/23/01 W.P.G. It was great! 5 stars
5/07/01 jon graham Best film I've seen in years and the music is addictive. Don't miss it on the big screen !! 5 stars
5/07/01 Mikko Salminen Enjoyable, but not amazing in any way. 3 stars
5/06/01 Roy Smith This movie is proff the Coen Brothers signed a pact with the Devil. 1 stars
4/14/01 Blacker than You Good soundtrack 4 stars
4/05/01 Peeters Valentijn Brothers C rule 5 stars
4/01/01 Maja Fantastic !!! 5 stars
3/25/01 Lim Unn How Meaningful! 5 stars
3/22/01 Kyra J. what can i say, damn, we're in a tight spot for not getting this soundtrack yet 5 stars
3/22/01 JB It cute and funny and sometimes hardcore. 4 stars
3/19/01 vpitman I'm a Coen Bros. fan, but my wife isn't, and we both thought it was great. 5 stars
3/14/01 Big John Holmes A picture that doesn't insult the intelligence or imagination of the viewer. 5 stars
3/08/01 Josue The Insultor This was a superb film. 5 stars
3/07/01 Emily It was very random, but that's what made it so hilarious. Geroge is the best part.mmm.sexy! 5 stars
3/06/01 hum best i have seen for some time for so many reasons 5 stars
3/06/01 Soggy Bottom I havent laughed so hard at a movie in ages one of the coens best 5 stars
2/26/01 Monika Frisby Awesome, very funny 5 stars
2/22/01 weird andy A hoot and a half! 4 stars
2/21/01 sjc two thumbs way way up 5 stars
2/20/01 HughK A charming movie, reminds me a little of the Big Lebowski, but even more episodic! 4 stars
2/20/01 Christopher Novak Best movie in the trailing twelve months 5 stars
2/19/01 Roy Smith I hopw there is a God because now I believe in the Devil 1 stars
2/17/01 dan coen-eriffic 5 stars
2/14/01 www.robotocracy.com The smartest, funniest, most thoroughly enjoyable movie I have seen in a long time. 5 stars
2/13/01 J SOLO A CLASSIC THAT COULD BE A CULT FAVORITE. 4 stars
2/12/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi I was sorry when it ended. 5 stars
2/11/01 Brian Genius. Coens' most entertaining film to date. Much better than TBL. We're in a tight spot! 5 stars
2/07/01 ObiWan Not the normal Coen Bro. stuff, but very entertaining. One of the year's best. 5 stars
2/06/01 Frog-Butt Absolutely Genius, Brilliant, and.... Well there be frogs in there :-) 5 stars
2/05/01 Wafer This movie just makes you feel good watching it 5 stars
2/04/01 neil bartlett Refreshing change from most Hollywood crap. Clooney surprisingly good 4 stars
2/04/01 Mike Goodpaster Fantastic. The music was great and so was the show. Hollywood needs more of this. 5 stars
2/02/01 Ericka Lindstrom I'm going to have to read Homer's Odyssey. This movie didn't make any sense to me. 3 stars
2/02/01 john d(THE DUDE) The Coen bros, are movie making gods but it's going to be hard to top THE BIG LEBOWSKI 3 stars
1/31/01 Soggy Bottom Bitch George Clooney, his hair and the double-takes were hilarious, & the music worth downloading 5 stars
1/30/01 Ludolecorse The Apology of freedom 5 stars
1/29/01 Marie This film is so kick ass!! No wonder George Clooney won the Golden Globe for this!!! 5 stars
1/28/01 skye ah'm with you fellers 5 stars
1/27/01 R Kramer This was not Clooney's finest. 3 stars
1/24/01 Kirsten Appreciated it on an intellectual level. Didn't make me laugh out loud, though. 4 stars
1/22/01 Soggy Bottom Boy This is by far my favorite Coen Brothers flic, finally over-throwing Barton Fink! 5 stars
1/22/01 Peter Burris superb romp through meshed iconography! 5 stars
1/22/01 Peter Smith STUNNING! 5 stars
1/22/01 Coen fan Fan-fucking-tastic! 5 stars
1/21/01 MC Cheese The music really makes it! A feel good Coen movie! 5 stars
1/17/01 Thor-Leo Weakest Coen Bros. film yet. Clever dialog but a very long setup for a meager payoff. 3 stars
1/17/01 loser funny saw it 3 times 5 stars
1/17/01 Heather Original, quirky movie, loved the music and cinematography. 5 stars
1/16/01 Dee Please, go and see this film 5 stars
1/15/01 Kip George Clooney is great.. definately a good movie. 5 stars
1/13/01 Phil Some people wont get it, other say it's awesome! 5 stars
1/09/01 Ida Kern Clooney is great in this! A musical and a comedy all rolled in one. 4 stars
1/09/01 Blubberbot me like 5 stars
1/03/01 tnt Boring..painful...and pointless...worst movie Ever!!! 1 stars
1/02/01 Mr. X Funny! Great music! Loved it! 5 stars
12/29/00 frankko dialogue, music, cinematography... all perfect 5 stars
12/29/00 matthew smith quirky and strange, but worth a look 4 stars
12/28/00 El_Duderino Can the Coens ever do wrong?? Seems unlikely. 5 stars
12/15/00 Lorenza Venturi Intelligent, ironic, great music 5 stars
12/12/00 Mr. ZmoXz Great characters!!! 4 stars
12/12/00 cooljo coooooooolllllllllllllllllllllllllllllll cool!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
12/02/00 Sebastian Corral This movie is the best comedy I've ever seen! 5 stars
11/02/00 Maria Dolores Valdivia Armental The best film this year, great. 5 stars
10/26/00 Sven Siegle Easy, cool, funny, fantastic! 5 stars
10/25/00 Jens A. Czaplo ... great pictures, great music 5 stars
10/25/00 Schmitt Dirk ... best Odysse in an movie I mind 5 stars
9/26/00 Robin Cooper If you liked The Big Lebowski.... you'll love this 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  12-Jan-2001 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  26-Dec-2000 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast