Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.12

Awesome53.11%
Worth A Look: 24.48%
Just Average: 10.37%
Pretty Crappy: 5.81%
Sucks: 6.22%

13 reviews, 163 user ratings



Green Mile, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Erik Childress

"Darabont. Prison. 2-for-2."
4 stars

The Green Mile (*** Ĺ) Ė How does the director of The Shawshank Redemption, a Stephen King story set in a prison, as well as one of the great movies and great movie stories of the 90s, do a follow-up? You film The Green Mile; a six-part Stephen King novel serial set in a prison. And itís another great movie.

And itís a movie with a lot of hype surrounding it, not the least of which is the fact that it is Frank Darabontís first movie since The Shawshank Redemption and second overall. It is also Oscar season and any movie that stars Tom Hanks is going to get attention, especially when itís as good as this. Hanks is likely to get Best Actor consideration, but like all of his recent films (Saving Private Ryan, Apollo 13, Forrest Gump, and even the Meg Ryan films), itís an ensemble piece and not a single actor is given what, in a lesser film, be called a ďthankless role.Ē Michael Clarke Duncan is memorable as the extraordinary prisoner and could have a nomination come February. All of the prison guards are terrific and even Gary Sinise is terrific in a small cameo. The film also features two of the more memorable son-of-a-bitches of the year in the form of prison guard Percy (especially well played by Doug Hutchinson) and prisoner Wild Bill. All these performances contribute to a story that has layer under layer under layer of meaning without throwing the metaphors in your face. The Green Mile is not trying to sway anyoneís opinions to or from capital punishment like Dead Man Walking, even if the executions seen in this film are the best and arguably most gruesome ever put on film. This is a fable, much the same way last yearís Life is Beautiful was, and I was equally involved in it. Many people have criticized the length of this film. Clocking in at a little over three hours, some critics have asked why Darabont couldnít have told this story in a shorter time. Well, any movie can be trimmed, sometimes for better, sometimes for worse. Trimming The Green Mile would have been a grave injustice, in my opinion, because it certainly would have had a diminishing impact emotionally as well as in entertainment value. Iíve always argued that some films should be longer (if only another 10 or 15 minutes) to add a little more depth to its characters and its situations. Minutes are arbitrary when it comes to movies. Itís how long each minute feels that counts. Iíve sat through multiple theater viewings of films like Saving Private Ryan and Braveheart, but how many could sit through another minute of The Thin Red Line? The only thing that felt long in the film to me was the wrap-around segments involving the old man. And while I was moved in several spots, I was hoping for a bigger emotional payoff in the end.

Minor quibbles aside, The Green Mile plays like a great book. Much attention to paid to detail and to setting up its plot and its characters. A mouse gets more development than most characters in other films. Like the best of movies, The Green Mile knows how to tell a great story, and sometimes it takes an extra hour to tell it. Thatís what makes it so good and one of the best films of the year.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1849&reviewer=198
originally posted: 02/15/00 16:03:18
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell overrated but still good 4 stars
3/28/16 Aj wales Never wanted it to finish. A fantasy movie that will endure. 5 stars
7/14/15 ER Great acting. Not as great as "Shawshank", but what is? 4 stars
10/06/13 David An absolutely wonderful film 5 stars
11/21/09 art A PURE COCK ''N"" BULL STORY! 1 stars
7/23/08 Shaun Wallner Stephen King wrote a great story!! 5 stars
7/08/08 Farnsy A touching film 4 stars
6/04/08 PAUL SHORTT A WONDERFUL, INSPIRING, TOUCHING AND OFTEN FUNNY FILM 4 stars
1/04/08 Pamela White disturbing and redemptive in same story 5 stars
1/02/08 jackie brown Quite simply its THE best movie ever 5 stars
10/07/07 KNurse excellent movie....one of the best movies ever made 5 stars
4/27/07 Total Crap Dark, disturbing and a hell of a sad ending that will make you ask, why WHY?! 5 stars
2/12/07 Jacko A long but great movie. 5 stars
11/20/06 Quigley More disturbing than "Shawshank Redemption" for sure; very good acting and sharp direction 4 stars
9/25/06 Luisa the kind of film that will haunt your soul, love it! 5 stars
9/22/06 David Pollastrini very faithful adaptation 5 stars
5/05/06 Ashley Hinz Too disturbing for me. To be avoided. 2 stars
4/12/06 anthonyuk another classic from frank darabont, wonderful but sad 5 stars
4/09/06 anna best movie iīve ever seen, the only one that made me cry 5 stars
3/13/06 David avery Very touching, heart rentching movie in every aspect. 5 stars
11/19/05 norma jean very touching. makes you think about if we should really have the electric chair! 5 stars
8/30/05 Michael Good Movie ... a subtle push to end the death penalty? 4 stars
7/09/05 Moctezuma Beautiful cinematic masterpiece 5 stars
5/10/05 Simon The only movie in which I've teared up and had a lump in my throat. Simply moving. 5 stars
3/04/05 never wat the FUCK are you on daveman? the film had HEAPS of plot. fuck u this movie is sick 5 stars
3/04/05 Morbid Florist Phat 5 stars
12/26/04 mjoc A little long, but very good. 4 stars
12/23/04 Nick Boyd One of Stephen King's best 5 stars
11/16/04 Gooey Suck my rotted asshole Daveman, this movie rules. Stick your tounge in!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
9/26/04 Captain Planet Excellent movie, takes you through every emotion I can think of and more 5 stars
9/07/04 MEIRAV NORA COHEN wonderful and touching.Great cast. Beautiful story. 5 stars
8/27/04 G-man best Tom Hanks movie by far 5 stars
8/17/04 Anthony G eat my dick mark adnum, this movie owns 5 stars
7/04/04 Daveman Though generally well acted and crowd pleasingly directed, what this film needs is a plot. 2 stars
6/18/04 Leia in the Sky This film is REALLY good. No. It's great. That's what you could call a film! 5 stars
5/12/04 Vacha Moving, disturbing, tear-inducing. 4 stars
1/23/04 Abe Giesbrecht Work of art 5 stars
11/16/03 sean A movie in a class all its own, uncomparable to other films but here, I give it: 5 stars
10/29/03 I Would John Coffey's characterisation was too similar to Tom Robinson from To Kill A Mockingbird. 3 stars
10/17/03 Charles Tatum Excellent, everything "Shawshank" should have been 5 stars
9/29/03 Sonia ADAM My emotions didnīt calm down for two days 5 stars
9/16/03 Jinnvisible Show a nigger in chains / we side with the nigger,,,HOW CAN THAT BE RACIST? r u convinced ? 1 stars
9/09/03 migoloco Great movie with a lot of symbolism which may escape the uneducated 5 stars
6/29/03 John Bale Hanks makes plausable the impossible, in Stephen Kings most sympathetic novel, impressive. 5 stars
6/16/03 Andrew Carden Michael Clarke Duncan Is Superb; Great Direction & Cinematography. 5 stars
3/23/03 Jack Sommersby Its feel-ggod aspirations rob the material of its inherent grittiness. 1 stars
1/13/03 Paul Coleman Stirring and emotional. Thought provoking winner all the way! 5 stars
1/08/03 johnathon an outstanding move kept me on the edge of my seat 5 stars
12/31/02 Andy Todes it's no "shawshank" is it! see amazon for my full review in which i tear this joke apart 2 stars
12/04/02 Dipo Interesting, engaging and and definately worth A look 4 stars
12/03/02 George Jung The prisoners in this movie got fucked over, just like in OZ! 1 stars
11/25/02 Harry Boiled Good (if trying too hard) until the illogical, ridiculously manipulative ending 1 stars
11/25/02 Buddha If it were anymore emotionally manipulative it'd torture bunnies on screen. 3 stars
10/20/02 Joey Joe Joe Junoir Shabanu awsome movie just a little too long 5 stars
9/29/02 R.W. Welch Drawn out and overdrawn in spots, but imaginative enough to hold your interest. 4 stars
9/16/02 Zefram Mann I cried like a baby watching this movie, and I'm not ashamed to admit it. 5 stars
9/09/02 Ramblin Wreck The 75 year old mouse!!! 5 stars
9/03/02 Joe Zappa Darabont's a fucking miracle to the directing business. 5 stars
8/18/02 Mr. Hat (I'm Back!) This is what I call a "Miracle Movie." Frank Darabont is one of the best directors ever!!!! 5 stars
8/14/02 Phil M. Aficionado 4.5 rounded up to 5. Issue: Why didn't they try to revisit the verdict? 5 stars
4/26/02 kati love it 5 stars
3/21/02 The $1.98 Pyramid A Powder rip-off 2 stars
2/27/02 Heather McCune great 5 stars
2/25/02 Jenny Tullwartz Can make mouse live 75 yrs; can't spare an innocent man - Is this a feel-good movie or what 2 stars
1/21/02 Jake Very powerful and engrossing throughout. 5 stars
1/21/02 Spencer Lent John Coffey like the drink only not spelled the same. 5 stars
1/16/02 Flick Chick this movie IS too long, and Tom is not my favorite actor. Even so, darn good movie. 4 stars
9/03/01 spaceworm Sometimes, "The Green Mile" is looooong... 4 stars
8/03/01 K.C. Au Plot summary : Hank's character can't pee, gets his balls squeezed, pees freely. FIN. 1 stars
6/09/01 Turtle Tom Hanks in a Stephen King movie: Is it Toy Cemetery? No, but it's much better: Green Mile 4 stars
5/28/01 cinkcool Great movie, suprised me. 5 stars
5/06/01 Ron Szalata Brilliant Movie 5 stars
4/30/01 Steph Williams This is the greatest made film I have seen. I wept and smiled over the gentle giant! 5 stars
4/13/01 Katherine Another excellent movie with Tom Hanks in it 5 stars
4/07/01 Dave Harris Long but fascinating. The big black dude is unforgettable. 5 stars
3/26/01 Monster W. Kung Sorry Darabont, I enjoyed Shawshank a lot, but to me this was lame. 2 stars
3/26/01 rg could watch it a few times over 5 stars
2/27/01 nothing sucks, except the time(2.5 hrs.) The Evil Penguin 4 stars
2/26/01 heff I'm brewin up some turds for you tomorrow 5 stars
2/23/01 Marie Pretty Good. Could have used some editing. 5 stars
2/11/01 Leather jacket How can disguised slavery be awesome?? 1 stars
2/09/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi The Academy can bite my ass...THIS is the best movie of 1999/2000!! 5 stars
2/07/01 Classicdog A must see!!! Awesome film!! 5 stars
2/03/01 Del R Too much complaining about Urinary tract infections. 2 stars
2/03/01 sam buck the movie made the book come alive 5 stars
1/20/01 Lauren Ciccone A beautiful, intricate spellbinding film. Steven King's Magnum Opus! 5 stars
1/15/01 Sheltia Mccadney This film was a work of art. It left tears in my eyes. 5 stars
12/26/00 Turtle I meant 'Worth a Look' the first time. Sorry. 4 stars
12/26/00 Turtle A magically wonderful movie that will make you laugh, cry, and al those things! 5 stars
12/16/00 Green Yeyed Pea Great film... King rules 5 stars
11/27/00 Cristopher Revilla masterful, one of the best movies of the end of the century!!! 5 stars
11/26/00 moviegoer wonderfully done, loved Tom Hanks 5 stars
11/26/00 Steven Spielberg (no kidding) I should have made this movie! 5 stars
11/14/00 MiS^DeMeAnOr I LOVED it! 5 stars
11/13/00 The EVIL Penguin Stephen King is the man! Made me cry when John is executed. 5 stars
11/03/00 Clifton Wynter One of the Great film ever made about Capital Punishment in America. 5 stars
11/02/00 paul rogers the best film ever made 5 stars
10/28/00 steven hargreaves i'd rather walk a mile over broken glass than watch this shit again. 1 stars
10/04/00 lainey louise michael duncan is awesome-great movie 5 stars
7/27/00 Blackavar it takes a lifetime to see such a great movie, a gem that grabs part of you 5 stars
7/18/00 kittykat i loved it 5 stars
6/27/00 Ionicera Very enjoyable as an allegory, if a little over the top 4 stars
6/26/00 Michael Grimm great performances, tad long in parts though 5 stars
6/19/00 Monday Morning A terrific story, well told. Every bit as good as the book. 5 stars
6/17/00 Gen I'm not a fan of King but this was SO good 5 stars
6/15/00 Trina M. Barnard Must see. Not action packed, but good date movie:-) 5 stars
5/15/00 Tracy I just wanted to give JC a big hug. 5 stars
5/02/00 matt The best King novel adabtation ever!!! Shockingly better that Shawshank Redemtion 5 stars
3/28/00 L.NELSON An absolutely astonishing film.I would see again, thts for sure. 5 stars
3/23/00 Laura Beautiful 5 stars
3/17/00 Josh Great Acting and Directing (sam rockwell is a wow!!)never boring, and makes you think 5 stars
3/12/00 John Markham Like an extended X-FILES episode, when that series was good. Superb performances by all. 4 stars
3/11/00 Mark Atkinson Awesome Movie!!!! 5 stars
3/11/00 galea johan simply the best 5 stars
3/11/00 Franko1 An hour too far - truest words in film from Coffey: "I just want it to end" 3 stars
3/09/00 Matthew Bartley As good as Shawshank? Of course not. Brilliant all the same? Definitely 5 stars
3/06/00 Richard Wright If a film lasts over three hours and holds my interest until the end it must be good.See it 4 stars
3/02/00 john grove a quick three hours, sound honest emotions 4 stars
2/29/00 Bueller One of 1999's best. Incredible performances all around. Michael Clarke Duncan blew me away. 5 stars
2/28/00 Rachem Most manipulative film I've ever seen, but that Michael Clarke Duncan guy kicks ass! 5 stars
2/26/00 JimBob excellent movie, forgot it was three hours long 5 stars
2/23/00 Germanicus Brilliant adaptation of the King story. A little too long but well acted, shot and directed 5 stars
2/22/00 Joel Harwood VERY SAD MOVIE but tom does not deserve a oscar nomination 5 stars
2/19/00 Ian George Horseman Excellent movie..would pay $40.00 to see that quality movie 5 stars
2/18/00 Mic Too predictable and manipulative, but what the hell, still excellent. 4 stars
2/18/00 J Delay Loved it 5 stars
2/16/00 Jamie McGraw Long but holds the suspense - girlfriend said it's one of the best movies she's ever seen. 4 stars
2/13/00 Michael Drew A moving story of redemption 5 stars
2/12/00 JonnyAngel The 1013th image in the movie is the saddest thing I've ever seen. 3 stars
2/10/00 Matthew Smith a brilliant film, moving and disturbing 5 stars
2/08/00 BBReBozo The last image in the movie is the saddest thing I've ever seen. 5 stars
2/05/00 Kyle Broflovski LONG LIVE STEPHEN KING!!! 5 stars
1/16/00 Donna Starnes Great movie, I will see it again 5 stars
1/15/00 Kevin Cho Too pathetic - disappointing acting for a great cast, tried WAY TOO HARD for the Oscar. 3 stars
1/06/00 Jack Meier The best adapted storytelling on film 5 stars
1/02/00 Emily Bring a box of tissues 5 stars
12/31/99 sophia866 Enjoyable but voice over ending is lazy. Great cast. Solid but not transcendant 4 stars
12/31/99 K. Lackey fantastic 5 stars
12/29/99 The Dude A must see 5 stars
12/29/99 Fenris Very well done, but can't live up to Shawshank's glory. 5 stars
12/28/99 Roseanne Incredible 5 stars
12/25/99 aaron zarate truly an epic, deserves an oscar for b\supp actor 5 stars
12/19/99 Malbert Wait for rental-Too predictable, overhyped 3 stars
12/18/99 barak43 Not the greatest film I have ever seen, but it was very strong and moving. 5 stars
12/18/99 Laura All of my friends (male and female) bawled, I really didnt find it that moving though. 3 stars
12/18/99 katie highly entertaining. 5 stars
12/18/99 mike this movie is incredible 5 stars
12/16/99 Elan Davout No Shawshank, but good nonetheless 4 stars
12/15/99 brentorama Extremely entertaining. Better than Stephen King's Green Mile books. 5 stars
12/15/99 Jason S. By far THE best movie of 1999, Oscars all around!! 5 stars
12/14/99 Lindsay Wonderful, powerful and inspiring. It will make you speechless 5 stars
12/13/99 schmegs an amazingly true adaptation with powerful performances 5 stars
12/13/99 Dorgon The emperor is naked!!! 2 stars
12/13/99 The Bro Percy Wetmore should win an award for best bad guy. 5 stars
12/12/99 Beno The old Paul Edgecomb scenes seemed unnecessary, but othewise great movie! 5 stars
12/12/99 Sweet Caroline Inspiring! A tribute to King's work. 5 stars
12/11/99 jenn "Blu Smrf" amazing, powerful, touching, this movie makes you think, excellent! 5 stars
12/11/99 karen Excellent 5 stars
12/11/99 entropy amazing, a must see 5 stars
12/11/99 Matt The end was a little drawn-out, but other than that damn near perfect 5 stars
12/11/99 Old Sparky Unable to be more perfect in every way, except for bizarre, deceitful ending with old Paul 5 stars
12/10/99 Allen Konigsberg Bloated, incomprehensible, silly, "You can see it coming...a mile away!" 1 stars
12/03/99 theguy long, brilliant, embarassingly tear-inducing 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  10-Dec-1999 (R)
  DVD: 14-Nov-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  10-Feb-2000




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast