Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.39

Awesome: 24.06%
Worth A Look30.83%
Just Average: 16.54%
Pretty Crappy: 17.29%
Sucks: 11.28%

11 reviews, 67 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Clickbait by Jay Seaver

Her Smell by Peter Sobczynski

Under the Silver Lake by Peter Sobczynski

Chaperone, The (2019) by Jay Seaver

Missing Link by Jay Seaver

Master Z: Ip Man Legacy by Jay Seaver

Hail Satan? by Jay Seaver

Diane by Rob Gonsalves

Spider-Man: Into The Spider-Verse by Rob Gonsalves

Dragged Across Concrete by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Summer of Sam
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Man On The Street

"Here's contoversy, I liked it."
4 stars

Spike Lee has delivered a film with some great performances and interesting characters. The outstanding John Leguizamo, along with Adrien Brody make this film a stand out. Even the annoying Sorvino had some moments of truth.

As always Spike Lee builds the pressure on the screen slowly, allowing the mood to develop. The music is important to the story as it is to our lives. The Summer of 77 was interesting cross road. the Punk explosion is still effecting today. Disco which was seen at the time as disposable has survived even if it's popularity is not as high as once it still makes you feel good about life. I Enjoyed the Who "Who's Next" Years ago and it was great to be taken back to that space. The use of it as the signature tunes is a brave one but one that I commend, the filmic images that broke out during each of their songs were powerful.

The 'dead end boys' were classic bumblers that meant well but were too easily lead by the media and their conditioning. A point made clearly by Lee.

In away you feel almost as sorry for them as you do for Ruby and the others that get involved with their small time world. THeir hopes for gaining something from the capture of the serial killer display their desire to make something more of their lives.
The private hell that is Vinny's world is all his own making and you don't feel anything for him other than contempt yet he is truely engaging and a good centerpeice for the film.

This is a film about one Summer, not a serial killer, it's just that everything he did had an effect on that summer so Spike named it after him.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1850&reviewer=185
originally posted: 11/14/99 23:35:33
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/16/17 morris campbell interesting but undone by sleaze & overlength 3 stars
7/22/11 Dave Smith On a ten star scale, a 1/4 star away from a MASTERPIECE. It's about the NEIGHBORHOOD. 5 stars
3/02/11 chris c Somewhat of a spiritual counterpart to Do the right thing despite a lot of vulgarity & sex 4 stars
6/01/09 MP Bartley Sweats and flails to little thick-headed effect. Some good moments survive. 3 stars
7/01/08 jointz on second thought, I can see what Scott's saying, the movie has no straight narrative 4 stars
5/19/08 jointz Weinberg obviously has a stick up his ass! How could you NOT love the Talking Dog? 5 stars
1/27/07 action movie fan funny, tough and super realistic-the best film of 1999 5 stars
6/10/06 Jeff Anderson Some of Lee's strongest, best work to date. Sorvino's sexy & great performance STANDS OUT!! 5 stars
8/19/05 ES Save your money, this has about five minutes of time dedicated to the killer 1 stars
5/21/05 Zelemont Are you SERIOUS? Long, pointless, straying waste of talented actors! BORING! DONT BOTHER!! 1 stars
12/22/04 Landshark visceral characters in that NYC '77 scene, Lee gets it 5 stars
8/14/04 Oliver Fantastic. 5 stars
1/21/04 Sugarfoot Spike Lee sucks, plain and simple. And so do most of his movies. (Girl 6 for one.) 1 stars
1/16/04 Agent Sands (previously Mr. Hat) Definitely one of my top 3 favorite films of all time! It's fucking perfect!!!!! 5 stars
12/18/03 ROY L. CAIN,JR. The first Spike Lee joint to not feature too many black characters. Still a groovy pic. 5 stars
10/18/03 Agent Sands (previously Mr. Hat) I don't know how Spike does it. Direction is brilliant. Surely among the best of his best. 5 stars
5/11/03 Jack Bourbon Eh. Don't care for it. 2 stars
3/18/03 Jack Sommersby Maddeningly uninvolving and unfocused. This talented cast deserves much better. 2 stars
10/23/02 Charles Tatum Spike can be as racist as the evil white man 1 stars
10/09/02 Kitfo anybody who calls spike lee self indulgent or pretentious should stick to hollywood drivel 5 stars
9/25/02 snowconehead Too much Leguizamo, not enough Sorvino 4 stars
7/17/02 Cris Abisale He Got Game is much better.Too much sex in this movie.Spike=Disappointment 2 stars
3/04/02 Alan Smithee Typical overrated Spike Lee bullshit. 1 stars
12/31/01 Andrew Carden Pretty Realistic Movie...I Didn't Like John Though. 4 stars
9/08/01 Butterbean A very underrated movie. It captured the effect of city-wide panic brilliantly 4 stars
7/28/01 Artist Freak Great performances, really pegs the 70s. Wide array of sex for a non-porn movie. 4 stars
6/28/01 See me Fly!!!! fuck this movie it's fucking hard to fucking understand, they say fuck every fucking second 2 stars
4/18/01 Socutejd This was an insult to serial killers 1 stars
4/17/01 Spetters Spike´s best film yet!! Everything and everyone is great in this explosive film. 5 stars
3/11/01 RACHEL this movie was amazing, very well made, great images 5 stars
2/22/01 italian mobster i liked the music but i cant stand the fact that a fuckin nigger directed an italian film 2 stars
1/18/01 romayne charles John Lequizamos brilliant looks and acting made this film . 4 stars
12/05/00 AtlantaBill What the fuck? There is a talking dog in this movie! Spike Lee, you suck faggots. 1 stars
6/28/00 Bender Entertaining, if overlong. Plus the most use of the F word in a movie I've ever seen. 4 stars
6/23/00 Aaron White Best talking animal scene in film history. Sex scenes restored my will to live. 4 stars
3/09/00 Kyle Broflovski Blergh. I punctuated every scene with a hella yawn. BORING!!! 1 stars
3/08/00 Richard Wright Every noun is preceded by an F word and everyone is either a moron or a slut.Dig it,man.NOT 1 stars
1/20/00 node I found this to be very thought provoking. 4 stars
1/01/00 KK Should be renamed Summer of Idiots. Lee can't direct/act/write his way out of a paper bag. 1 stars
12/31/99 Tyson Stewart It's hot and bloody. Such a great story! 4 stars
11/29/99 Mic Not as good as Do The Right Thing, good nevertheless. "Sam" should've had less screen time. 4 stars
11/24/99 Frank Curigliano Riveting, disturbing, funny and painful. The best film of the year thus far. 5 stars
11/18/99 Matthew Smith Lee's best film since Do The Right Thing, Ambitious, bold and confronting. 5 stars
10/31/99 JonnyAngel this slut of a movie sucks and swallows 1 stars
9/11/99 Jason Kinsey a whirlwind of colorful images, thumps, & sounds-great 4 stars
8/09/99 Alisa Spike Lee shows no class in this film. he didn't even research this movie for truth. 1 stars
8/03/99 Tanya I'm being generous with the rating. Spike Lee making white people look ignorant again. 2 stars
8/02/99 Lola Jones Well put together. However, there were too many sex scenes.:) 4 stars
8/02/99 david napier best film of the summer, and love that leguizamo and lee was funny as the reporter 4 stars
7/31/99 Obi Wan This movie didn't do shit to me or for me...except waste my time! 2 stars
7/21/99 PhilmPhreak Annoying movie about annoying people - and what the fuck was Spike Lee's character? 2 stars
7/16/99 Jo Jo, The Idiot Circus Boy Horror? Movie? Where is the movie? 1 stars
7/11/99 ken heine the punk scene was cool. 2 stars
7/11/99 Ah Dooey Shoddy movie I ever saw. The movie had no substance and not any dialog. 3 stars
7/11/99 evil buffy intrigued by the cinematography; look and sound made up for plot weaknesses. good acting 4 stars
7/09/99 M. Donnelly Quite well done. I really was able to get pissed off at some of the characters. 5 stars
7/09/99 P.S.O.K It wasn't as good as thought it was gonna be 3 stars
7/09/99 bridgette adrien brody-good; everyone else-ok; editing-HORRIBLE. can we say porn? 2 stars
7/06/99 Brian M honest characterizations, bizarro editing and fab music 4 stars
7/06/99 Daddy Rich Spike Lee; what more can you say? 5 stars
7/06/99 Mr showbiz Spike Lee's latest is a triumph of style... and little else. 2 stars
7/06/99 sydney awesome! 5 stars
7/05/99 Malbert Worst piece of crap I've ever seen 1 stars
7/05/99 jvt Overlong, pretentious crap with stereotypical "characters" 1 stars
7/04/99 johntidal a demented bad ass flick with great act that intensifies the terrrror 5 stars
7/04/99 ALiaS WOW!!! Spike Lee has proven that he is diverse enough to do a dark movie!!!! Kudos brother! 5 stars
6/15/99 David A subtle masterpiece; ambitious tale of ordinary lives affected by social paranoia. Great!! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Jul-1999

UK
  N/A

Australia
  18-Nov-1999


Directed by
  Spike Lee

Written by
  Spike Lee

Cast
  John Leguizamo
  Adrien Brody
  Anthony LaPaglia
  Jennifer Esposito
  John Savage
  Bebe Neuwirth



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast