Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.66

Awesome: 10.32%
Worth A Look: 17.46%
Just Average: 23.02%
Pretty Crappy26.19%
Sucks: 23.02%

9 reviews, 72 user ratings



Any Given Sunday
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by f*r*o*s*t*y

"'Sucks All Ass' can't even begin to explain..."
1 stars

As I sit in the theater lobby, writing this review (the movie is still playing, you should know) I'm trying to recall how many movies I've ever walked out of. I can count them on one hand. At the most, it's been three. Add another one to the list. Any Given Sunday. What a piece of crap.

Any Given Sunday probably enticed you with it's promise of "heart pounding action", a "thumping soundtrack" and a "cast of stars" as it did me. "Oo! Football, DMX, Al Pacino, Cameron Diaz... LL Cool J?" But what it ended up being was a no chance of any plot even after an hour of viewing conglomerate of neat-o Olly Stone images (that ended up giving me a headache) and a bunch of cardboard cut out icons trying to play significant roles.

Can we say Mtv meets football?

Now, my boyfriend is still watching the pile of crap. God knows why. Even he, who doesn't analyze a damned thing about movies beyond our ratings scale of "Fucking awesome!" to "Sucks All Ass!" actually interrupted me when five minutes into the movie I started to tell him how it was going to end and he finished it for me. (Although I never got the chance to find out if we were correct, as just now he's come out of the theater and told me we had to leave. "This sucks.")

This movie is so devoid of anything good that I have to wonder why they made it. "Look at Jamie Foxx! He's young, he's out for himself, isn't that bad? There's Dennis Quaid, he used to be good, but he's getting old and we don't think he can push it anymore even though he has the most team effort of anyone around. And there's Al Pacino, that dumbass alcoholic that's even older than Dennis Quaid and all he does is sleep with hookers. But wait, Cameron Diaz is cool. She's trying to save the team, isn't that worth something?" Ad friggin' nauseum.

See it, don't see it. It's your dime, but I certainly couldn't even recommend you see it on video. Spend some time underwater basket weaving, you'll be much happier with yourself.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1853&reviewer=22
originally posted: 12/29/99 21:53:57
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell watchable 3 stars
8/22/10 Matt Brilliant movie - too bad the real sport is nowhere near as enjoyable over 3.5 hours! 5 stars
7/09/10 rosemary I think it was a pretty good movie. that one black guy was big wow 4 stars
4/14/10 Jerome Cook some of us like this new look at football. fuck major league that movie was weak. 5 stars
9/23/09 brian LT makes it worth seeing. 4 stars
9/02/08 Shaun Wallner Interesting storyline. 4 stars
7/26/08 The Dork Knight i'm pretty sure eyeballs don't litter football fields in real life 2 stars
2/22/08 Pamela White makes more of football than it really is 3 stars
10/28/07 Geoff Chapman Pretty decent. By the book sports movie, but still well done. 4 stars
2/12/07 johnnyfog Stone's acid trip version of football. 2 stars
9/25/04 NJ Cup Winner 95-00-03 The only Stone movie I have no use for..nice locker room scene tho 2 stars
3/08/04 Charles Tatum Nice to see Stone return to normal film making again (after the crappy "Nixon") 4 stars
8/15/03 Paul It was great 5 stars
8/12/03 3man It was okay but really have to like football to enjoy this. 3 stars
8/09/03 Nicole I was so excited to see this movie.....and very disappointed once I finally did. 2 stars
4/25/03 GMan Pompous arrogant shit, fuck diaz and pacino, and especially E-Funk for liking this tripe 1 stars
2/21/03 Dreamer nice movie... coulda been better 4 stars
1/22/03 Pinkline Jones Pacino Ought to know Better - Lost eyeballs and Vomit - Terrific! 2 stars
11/23/02 mack back 5 stars
8/26/02 john c. smith i loved it 5 stars
7/04/02 KMG SUCKS: It was mean-spirited, foul, loud, obnoxious, and had bitchy wives in it 1 stars
3/24/02 Veronica Foxx aka The Raven-Haired Temptress Laughable piece of trash. Just a lame ass attempt at "entertainment". Couldn't watch it all 1 stars
2/28/02 Tiffany Thunderhurst Impressive cast is fumbled. Also too much time in the muddle. 1 stars
9/16/01 Bri Yuck, Yuck, dicks, Yuck!!! 1 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk The best football movie ever! Brutally honest, and that's what pisses people off! 5 stars
8/06/01 Law Firm of Dewey, Cheatam & Howe Only reason its not TOTAL CRAP is the presence of the legendary Ann-Margret 2 stars
8/05/01 badfish What a bland piece of poop this was,not even the soundtrack could save this one. 1 stars
7/26/01 TLsmooth Pacino's locker room speech saved this one from ass-sucking. 2 stars
6/24/01 Monster W. Kung Nothing special. Not horrible, but I wouldn't pay to watch it again, that's for sure. 3 stars
6/09/01 CriticGirl Decent movie, but too long. Should have been made tighter. 3 stars
5/05/01 Subjective Man Stone's self indulgence overtakes the film 3 stars
4/29/01 Mitja Podgajski I love it.. .i love Cameron... ! 5 stars
4/03/01 Boy In The Designer Bubble I liked the black guy with the big willie!!! 3 stars
3/28/01 zippernek Cameron Diaz as a hard-nosed business person? hahahahahahaha 3 stars
3/27/01 Jun 170 minutes of fragmented stories that go nowhere. 1 stars
2/12/01 CJ O' Callaghan very good start, but gets a bit boring towards the end, still a very nice piece of work! 4 stars
1/20/01 dog all that matters is Al Pacino is in it. 4 stars
1/08/01 Elvisfan Same old same old from Ollie - JFK in a jock, Platoon in shoulderpads 2 stars
10/26/00 JC23 Doesn't rank as high as Stone's other effort's but entertaining nontheless 4 stars
10/26/00 Bender Its like a cross between Showgirls and North Dallas forty. 4 stars
10/23/00 Monday Morning Glossy, hi-quality filmmaking, always something to see. Music & Al's "inch" speech both A-1 4 stars
9/24/00 malcolm most real-looking sports aciton i've seen in a film. 4 stars
9/13/00 Hmm Plays better on video than it did in theaters 4 stars
9/07/00 The Bomb 69 this movie was all over the place 3 stars
9/06/00 Duaneadam Line you TV room with newspaper before viewing 1 stars
9/06/00 Chris Drake Dreadful but good!Music alas mostly weak;Pacino's 1/2time speech great;loved final comment 4 stars
8/15/00 Drew Vogel Don't believe the naysayers, this rocks 5 stars
7/31/00 Chen Kenichi See the English version, "When Saturday Comes" -- much better 2 stars
7/31/00 Mr J M HARWOOD Seriously one of the best movies i have ever seen 5 stars
7/27/00 matthew smith oliver stone at his hard hitting best 5 stars
5/26/00 Jaime N. Christley Loved NBK. Loved JFK. Hated this monstrosity. 1 stars
5/25/00 Bruce The editing made me nauseous 2 stars
4/16/00 punkass The football scenes are fantastic, and although there are cliches it does alright 3 stars
3/05/00 Kyle Broflovski Oliver Stone, FUCK YOURSELF!! You try to be profound & come off looking like a TRUE IDIOT! 1 stars
2/04/00 Heather Complete crap! 1 stars
1/30/00 Chet Patel This movie kicked ass, I'm glad this was the last movie I saw before New Years. 5 stars
1/23/00 majawat pffft 3 stars
1/04/00 adz' roomate lion it was like a 2 1/2 hour rap video 2 stars
1/02/00 SJKelley All production values, no script. Pacino, yes. Diaz, NO! Woods, what?! Quaid, snore. 2 stars
1/02/00 goodatty The movie showed football (life?) has many different stories going on at the same time. 4 stars
12/31/99 sexychick Puhleeze!!THis movie blows big balls!! 1 stars
12/31/99 bullit17 Subtle as an A-bomb. Stone screws up what could have been a decent (if cliche) story 2 stars
12/30/99 Tom I saw it and survey says, "It's a renter!" 2 stars
12/30/99 Harvey Richardson In Albany, the whole thearte left before the film ended, it was soooooooooo horid!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
12/30/99 Damian Lackey I can't describe how horrid this film was! I hated hated hated it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
12/28/99 inigma oh oh! please shot Cameron for her portral of the wwf "stephine" character in this movie! 1 stars
12/26/99 jenn "Blu Smrf" alright, can we say noisy? i walked out with and headache, but that was from the writing!!! 1 stars
12/25/99 Fortune Oliver Stone masturbates all over the screen on this one. That jackass. 1 stars
12/24/99 SteelyTrip Great acting, but the script is complete and utter testosterone- soaked shit. 2 stars
12/23/99 craig a. decent film, too much oliver stone symbolism 4 stars
12/22/99 Downtown Willie Browne Fuckin' amazing. Super acting, writing, cinematography, etc. Great use of Stone's insanity 5 stars
12/19/99 tpmedia This film explodes on the screen. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  22-Dec-1999 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  27-Jul-2000


Directed by
  Oliver Stone

Written by
  John Logan

Cast
  Al Pacino
  Dennis Quaid
  Cameron Diaz
  LL Cool J
  Jamie Foxx
  James Woods
  Matthew Modine



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast