Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.32

Awesome: 20.42%
Worth A Look33.1%
Just Average: 18.31%
Pretty Crappy: 14.08%
Sucks: 14.08%

8 reviews, 94 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Prince of Egypt, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Erik Childress

"Dreamworks Animation Comes Through Again"
4 stars

The Prince of Egypt (*** ½) - This is truly a landmark in animated entertainment. Hopefully the traditional Disney animators will wake up and take notice after delivering Hercules and Mulan which not only don’t compare to their own previous works but can’t hold a candle to the recent slate of computer-enhanced animation and The Prince of Egypt. The film is so breathtaking in each and every frame of animation that even if you don’t give a damn about the story you could still enjoy it.

Which is not to say the story isn’t great. For Christ’s sake it comes from the Bible. And anyone who watches The Ten Commandments regularly on Easter will enjoy it even more. One of the things that I appreciated so much on a story level was that it went a little further with the plague sequences than the De Mille versions ever could. The river of blood sequence also becomes an impressively disturbing scene. The story we all know and the film does an impressive job of squeezing it into a 90-minute version that remains compelling even if you have no previous knowledge of the material (which seems impossible). It would be very interesting to see what a 3-hour animated version of the Moses tale could have amounted to. Still, this remains one of the great achievements of 1998. Every single song that is played throughout the film is terrific. I enjoyed every one of them. And the music score by Hans Zimmer is easily one of the best of the year. It appropriately evoked goosebumps in a many number of scenes, most notably during the parting of the red sea which is easily one of the best animated sequences in history. The exile from slavery is also one of the most emotionally powerful animated sequences of all time. The song “When You Believe” as sung within the context of the film by the two female characters is heartbreaking, which brings me to my only real complaint with the film or more so the filmmakers. The final 40 minutes of the film dealing with the plagues, exile, etc… is near perfect. I would have liked to see a little more of Moses transformation into savior, but that’s still not my main complaint. It has to do with the decision to let Whitney Houston and Mariah Carey sing the “radio/end credits” version of “When You Believe”. As I said before, the song without them, in the film, is perfect, both in timing and style. The Houston/Carey collaboration is wretched. There maybe some bias here since I can’t stand Mariah Carey and I haven’t liked Whitney ever since I saw The Bodyguard. But that being said, their version sounds more like Dueling Banjos with a couple of ego-driven divas. The banjo analogy naturally relates to Deliverance which relates to sodomy. Get the picture? Mariah may be able to hit notes no human can stand (I mean “match”) but given her recent public and video appearances in the last year, one would think Mariah could do more wondrous things with that mouth of hers. But I digress. The radio version of the song contains Mariah’s signature screaming in place of singing and Whitney seems content on matching her fingernails on a never-ending blackboard style. I wish there was technology to erase the two of them and just listen to the music and the background singers. As I sat in the theater in awe of what I had just seen, nothing could make me move from my seat - except that damn song.

I shouldn’t fault the film for this because it is a near masterpiece of animation and just (and I mean just) misses the 4-star plateau, but if I hear that God Damned song one more time and it makes me want to forget the welled-up feeling I had during the flight from slavery sequence, I might have to penalize another half star.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=186&reviewer=198
originally posted: 02/16/00 13:04:56
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/09/15 WALTER Jeffrey Katzenberg was responsible for such films as THE LITTLE MERMAID. 5 stars
10/08/15 A Historian The pyramids weren't built with slave labor. 2 stars
11/21/10 mathias the fact they sing about dead kids is kind of fucked 2 stars
4/07/09 namra humayun its a very good film 4 stars
2/17/09 Sally Sundeen I am a sucker for animated films...but I love this movie. I think that it is wonderful! 4 stars
9/27/08 Little Buddy Released after Mulan and Anastasia. 5 stars
5/23/08 PAUL SHORTT SINCERE, RESPECTFUL AND VISUALLY SUBLIME 5 stars
1/27/08 Pamela White almost biblically acurate and kids learn history 4 stars
6/23/07 Austin Wertman Powerful 5 stars
2/16/07 Vip Ebriega One of the best musicals I've watched. 5 stars
11/25/06 pffgg bla 1 stars
4/02/06 JRE incredible graphics. and followed the bible pretty well too 4 stars
2/03/06 Quigley the movie has a real sense of wonder and power to it unachieved by traditional animation 5 stars
1/02/06 Wiseman wohh guys common this movie was great. 5 stars
8/30/05 ES 'There must be more than this provincial life...' whoops, wrong movie 3 stars
5/10/05 Katie Malone It really says something when an atheist is moved by this deeply religious film. 5 stars
1/14/05 KingNeutron Worth seeing more than once. 5 stars
12/22/04 Daveman Gorgeously animated but too sentimental for my tastes 3 stars
10/17/04 Amber Laplante I love this movie. I think it is a great leason. 5 stars
5/16/04 DM I really like the songs, but something isn't right 4 stars
5/14/04 Sean Scanlan Umm.... 3 stars
11/06/03 Kyle I hate religion, but I've read Exodus, this is a terrible adaptation. 2 stars
10/03/03 louis thornton jr i love it show all the things that he done 5 stars
9/30/03 Esotla Lativa the facts were totaly wrong - 1 stars
10/14/02 Charles Tatum Disney needs to worry 5 stars
10/23/01 Andrew Carden I Couldn't Really Find This Entertaining At All. Lacks Good Scripts. 3 stars
9/09/01 I love movies great film but Jeff Goldblum's voice was wasted 5 stars
4/09/01 Gary Great flick! The animation is much better than Disney and the storyline is powerful! 5 stars
2/24/01 Stephanie P The wonderful vocals, amazing animation and timeless tale make this movie one of the best. 5 stars
2/05/01 Turtle It's a fine adaption of the classic life of Moses, but it isn't great. 3 stars
11/28/00 Cristopher Revilla what waste of time, watch the ten commandments instead of this stupid turkey 1 stars
10/21/00 Jed &uck the jimmy jam. This is a good movie. *uck all you anti-animation people. 4 stars
2/05/00 Kyle Broflovski I loved it. And yes, I really am a Jew. 4 stars
11/13/99 Joanna Spurbeck This movie was the best reinactment of this particular story from the bible. 5 stars
11/11/99 Ralf Behet Not without flaws, but still impressive. On par with many Disney films. 5 stars
9/20/99 JED A great but a tad bit odd animated film based on the story of moses (Great cast especially) 4 stars
4/19/99 bb hooey! 1 stars
4/18/99 jimmy jam It was not very good. But then again it's a fuckin' cartoon. 2 stars
3/24/99 Michael Prince A great piece. For once, GOD was shown as more than just background. 5 stars
3/20/99 Monky The music, animation, voice casting, just incredible. I'm 26/M, seen it twice already! 5 stars
3/20/99 Zandman Technically, a PERFECT film - so what if it´s sentimental crap + shitty songs? 5 stars
3/12/99 Ah Dooey Anyone smarter than Tellurium (below) knows this movie is a masterpiece! 4 stars
3/07/99 tellurium The fucked up the story, they left out to much important stuff 1 stars
2/18/99 The Graduate Very moving story, and rich characters. Plus, it looks stunning! 5 stars
2/04/99 Bob, Lord of Evil I think this was hands down the best movie of 1998! 5 stars
2/03/99 Michelle Me Belle didnt even really follow the bible's story, but some of the effects were cool 3 stars
1/24/99 Meepos. If not for the songs, would have got five stars. 4 stars
1/23/99 Slugmuffin I have seen this movie 3 times now, and it keeps getting better and better. 5 stars
1/22/99 Goofaloo As a spectacle it was awesome. As a story, well we all know how it goes. 4 stars
1/22/99 Dread Pirate Roberts Half the songs were worthwhile, the animation was awesome, and the "acting" was great. 5 stars
1/22/99 TB animation was cool..... but being boring as shit for the first 30 minutes is unforgivable. 2 stars
1/20/99 Jason Stein Animation was awesome, but Steve Martin and Martin Short's charcters seemed too "Disney" 4 stars
1/19/99 Chronically hip I enjoyed it. The characters looked weird, but overall it worked. 4 stars
1/19/99 Odd Pieman(tdiamond@osf1.gmu.edu) How could God allow Val Kilmer to do his voice? Blasphemy! 2 stars
1/18/99 Binky Solid effort, but like Mulan it went from visually superb to patchy. 4 stars
1/16/99 austin pretty good, though could have waited for video 4 stars
1/12/99 Miss Scarlett Yer playin' with the big boys now! 4 stars
1/11/99 Doobie Boy A bad premise (remaking a classic) but executed well enough. Worth a matinee ticket. 4 stars
1/08/99 MRHOLLYWOOD !! its funny how a movie with a REAL plot gets dissed,AWESOME,MOVING & OSCAR MATERIAL!! 5 stars
1/06/99 buddy "Spork Girl" Disney?!?! Get a clue!!!!!! 2 stars
1/04/99 Willy Wonker Dude Huh, huh, huh, this s*cks. Huh, huh, huh. Change it Butthead. 1 stars
1/03/99 Noreen Can't understand how anyone could call this a masterpiece. A for effort, C- for results. 2 stars
1/03/99 Lindsay It was good, I enjoyed it, beautiful animation, good music. 4 stars
1/03/99 Jason Landru and One Hung Low, you gents really have this one nailed. 1 stars
1/03/99 Landru This film blows. I've seen better animation in commercials. 1 stars
1/02/99 Shana I like Val Kilmer better in live action. He looks much better than that scrawny cartoon guy 1 stars
1/02/99 Critic Deluxe Contrary to all of the praise, POE is an average film in most respects, including animation 2 stars
1/02/99 One Hung Low It gives the word "tacky" new meaning. The soundtrack is an insult to the subject matter. 1 stars
1/01/99 Louis XIV Dreamworks paid plenty of critics to hype this film. I found it to be mediocre at best. 2 stars
1/01/99 John Pindick of Egypt. Lame. Trite. Boring. Tedious. Stupid. Poor animation. 1 stars
1/01/99 Oscar Goldman Prince of Egypt is a trite, cartoonish remake of a classic. Soundtrack (bad) is CWTV & MTV 1 stars
12/30/98 Austin good, not great, serious theme 4 stars
12/30/98 MilhousFan Are you people on crack? This movie was amazing! 5 stars
12/29/98 Peter Fitswell Reamworks has produced a film that can make you yawn and vomit simultaneously. 1 stars
12/29/98 Sylvia Jeff Goldblum's geekiness taints any serious film. Subject was too serious for a cartoon. 1 stars
12/28/98 Hugh Jass POE (acronym is an insult to Edgar Allan) has mediocre animation and a weak script. 1 stars
12/28/98 PyThomas Brilliant animation. Best of all, no cute talking animal sidekicks. 4 stars
12/27/98 Mercury Hayes How Dreamworks got 3200 screens for this dog is a tribute to SKG's pull. 1 stars
12/26/98 Katsat Crude mix of CGI/traditional animation. Leaden, plodding, boring. Aimed high & missed badly 2 stars
12/26/98 Thing Music was the pits. Animation was like a Saturday morning cartoon. 1 stars
12/26/98 Clint Beastwood My niece and nephew hated the film. They thought it totally blew. Barf city. SKG blows! 1 stars
12/24/98 Louis Munro popo, do you work for PDI? Kind of like asking a father if is daughter is beautiful. 1 stars
12/23/98 popo Beautiful, moving. Fantastic. Thanks to Dreamworks for taking animation to new heights! 5 stars
12/20/98 jlgallardo I hated te animation of the people, they don't stand up Disney's. Nice special affects. 3 stars
12/20/98 Freyja An enjoyable enough cartoon (not quite animation in my book). Despite the music. 4 stars
12/20/98 buddy Jerky animation, just like Anastasia, boring, horrible songs, CG that doesn't mesh. Yuck. 2 stars
12/20/98 Mr Showbiz visually breathtaking, but follows it's Disney forebears too closely. 4 stars
12/19/98 Louis Munro The animation is no better than any Disney film. Trivialization of 10 Commandments. 2 stars
12/19/98 Jason Stein This is the most spectacular animation i've ever seen! DreamWorks scores BIG! 5 stars
12/18/98 Carole Whitehill Breathtaking, magical, spiritual achievement. This year's "Titanic" Go see it! 5 stars
12/05/98 Jerry Wake me up when it's over 1 stars
11/22/98 Martin Restin some nice effects, but uninvolving characters and story. would bomb if a live action film. 2 stars
11/07/98 Mr. Spock of Vulcan Nice animation. Soundtrack is Nashville meets Soultrain. Katzenberg is devoid of ideas. 3 stars
8/27/98 Mister Whoopee superb animation and effects, celebrity voices and the tale of Moses. Very Disney. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  18-Dec-1998 (PG)
  DVD: 14-Sep-1999

UK
  N/A

Australia
  26-Dec-1998 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast