Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.7

Awesome37.5%
Worth A Look: 20%
Just Average: 27.5%
Pretty Crappy: 5%
Sucks: 10%

1 review, 34 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


History of the World: Part I
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Natasha Theobald

"laugh, wait, wait, wait, laugh"
3 stars

This is the history of the world according to Mel Brooks, from the dawn of time through the French Revolution (hence the Part I). There is a group masturbation scene before the title is shown. If that doesn't tell you what to expect, and you are easily offended, you deserve what you get. For me, the dirtiest jokes were the funniest. The rest was hit or miss.

This movie has yielded its share of favorite quotes. Because the memorable bits are so funny, the movie as a whole may start to take on a rarefied glow in your memory. This is what happened to me. However, in watching it again I realized that it wasn't as hilarious as I had recalled. Rent before you buy.

We start in the Stone Age with Sid Caesar, billed as "Chief Caveman." He struggles with the acquisition of fire, the very first art critic, etc. This part is short, but it has a lot of laughs.

Next comes the Old Testament section, mainly comprised of a short bit with Moses.

We move into a longer story about the Roman Empire. Mel Brooks plays Comicus, a stand-up philosopher, who performs at the whim of a deliciously hedonistic Emperor Nero (Dom DeLuise). It is here, too, that we meet Josephus (Gregory Hines), a slave who can entertain. We get to see him dance, and he is very funny. The highlight of this section, though, is Madeline Kahn as Empress Nympho. She wrings the most out of every single line and is devilishly saucy. The movie is worth seeing for her performance alone.

Next comes a sweeping musical number about the Spanish Inquisition. This cannot be described, only seen.

Finally, we revisit the French Revolution. Harvey Korman is a foppish Count de Monet, who bounces and flounces about, to great comic effect. This section contains my favorite Mel Brooks character in the movie, a sex-crazed Louis XVI. "It's good to be the king."

Maybe I remembered it a little too fondly, setting myself up for disappointment. A ninety-minute movie designed only to make you laugh is going to have some jokes that soar and others that fall flat. Batting .500 isn't bad.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1867&reviewer=317
originally posted: 01/03/03 03:49:53
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

5/08/10 Dr.Lao Not Brook's best, but far from his worst 4 stars
2/24/10 JM Synth Caveman stuff at the stuff falls flat, the rest of the film is pretty damn funny 4 stars
11/01/09 art A MESS! 1 stars
3/20/09 radical_illusions He should make a sequal to space balls 5 stars
6/12/06 Carol Baker A so so Hokey Comedy typical of Mel Brooks 3 stars
3/27/06 Brian Meyer If you haven't seen this, you haven't seen funny! 5 stars
5/02/05 dwarzel Goofy, but it has its moments 4 stars
4/21/05 Grumps HA HA HA H 31/2 ha's 1 stars
12/14/04 wtempleton If you like "Blazing Saddles" or "Spaceballs" you have see this one as well. 4 stars
12/08/04 M one of the greatest movies ever 5 stars
5/19/04 Sergeant Hartman Come on dammit! I expected 100 awesome! 5 stars
5/18/04 gray "the jig is up!" "and gone!" classic 5 stars
3/22/04 Lord Haw Haw Spotty, but it has several belly laughs. Gotta love Hitler on ice. 3 stars
9/14/03 Jack Sommersby As a whole, it' substandard; but a decent amount of sequences score. 3 stars
6/17/03 Andrew Callaway Possible Mel Brook's best picture. Some parts aren't as good as others... very good. 5 stars
4/08/03 katie hell yeah that was awesome.. yeah so it made fun of ur religion.. who doesnt? 5 stars
3/06/03 Greg Hilarous 5 stars
1/03/03 y2mckay It's no "Blazing Saddles" or "Young Frankenstein", but it's aight. 3 stars
10/26/02 Charles Tatum Thankfully, no Part II 2 stars
4/28/02 Valerie Cameron VNCOMMONLY GOOD MOTION PICTVRE. I COVLD SEE IT XLIV TIMES. 5 stars
1/24/02 murat what mel brooks is trying to do?He pissed !on to the movie 1 stars
1/12/02 Monster W. Kung So unfunny, I struggled to watch it for 45 min. before I turned it off. 1 stars
9/17/01 Butterbean Assorted mix of goofy shit! It's not Brook's best, but I loved it! 4 stars
7/27/01 Henry Ginsberg It's good to be the King . 5 stars
6/22/01 King Kong Lives This shit was tight, Yo! No seriously a great comedy. 5 stars
4/09/01 InTheKnow Sucks All Ass? You morons! Best Brooks' film of all time, bar none. 5 stars
3/28/01 Andrew Carden A movie which has a great first hour, starts falling apart last 30 min. 3 stars
2/05/01 Classicdog Way funny!! Brooks is the best. 4 stars
10/21/00 YOUR Movie Expert THE INQUISTION WHAT A SHOW!!!! It's good to be the king!!!! 5 stars
10/01/00 Matt It's good to be the king! 4 stars
8/22/00 Robert Anthony This film is one of the funniest I've ever seen. Mel Brooks at his finest. 5 stars
5/26/99 Allen Paulsen Funny as hell! See this movie Morons 5 stars
4/02/99 Cool Thing Very hit and miss. Some very funny stuff mixed in with yawn-inducing crap. 2 stars
3/23/99 Tony Jones Mel Brooks all the way! 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  12-Jun-1981 (R)
  DVD: 05-Sep-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A


Directed by
  Mel Brooks

Written by
  Mel Brooks

Cast
  Mel Brooks
  Dom DeLuise
  Harvey Korman
  Madeline Kahn
  Cloris Leachman
  Gregory Hines



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast