Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.83

Awesome: 26.13%
Worth A Look: 14.41%
Just Average: 7.21%
Pretty Crappy: 20.72%
Sucks31.53%

5 reviews, 81 user ratings



Joe Dirt
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"Why must someone always be covered in excrement?"
2 stars

Up to now, whether on TV or in movies, David Spade has always played approximately the same character: a smug little punk. We would give him points for doing something different as a white-trash mullett-wearer in “Joe Dirt,” except for one thing: It’s really still the same smug little punk.

I don’t mean that Joe Dirt is a smug character. On the contrary, having been abandoned by his parents as a child and becoming a loser and a loner since then, Joe is the epitome of contrition and humility. He talks a good game when it comes to picking fights, but he knows he has nothing to back it up.

This would be rather sweet were it not for the way Spade plays him, which is all condescension and snottiness. When Joe Dirt speaks earnestly of loving AC/DC and souped-up cars, we can tell David Spade wants us to laugh AT this idiot, not with him. It is obvious that Spade himself has disdain for the very character he is playing, giving him no more depth or reality than is required for a “Saturday Night Live” sketch. And if Spade has no affection for Joe Dirt, why should we?

If you think this movie-critic babble about “characterization” has little to do with a broad gross-out comedy like “Joe Dirt,” think again. No story can succeed without characters who are likable in some sense, if not because we actually think they’re good people, then at least because we admire their strength, ferocity, cleverness or whatever. And comedy is best when we sympathize with the people involved enough to care what happens next, be it good or bad. Without that, it’s nothing but a string of slapstick mishaps that gets old fast.

And “Joe Dirt” gets old fast.

The plot has Joe finding his way onto a Los Angeles DJ’s talk show and telling the story of his parents ditching him at the Grand Canyon, and his subsequent search for them. His great loves in life have been his mullett haircut (actually a wig that got stuck to his head, he says) and a dog that a drunk redneck killed.

The listeners all realize that his platonic friend Brandy (Brittany Daniel) loves him deeply, but he was too naive to see it. Besides, he was focused on finding his family.

It’s all very tedious, except for a few gross-out gags that break up the monotony by irritating the audience. (A dog’s testicles — shown in vivid detail — get frozen to a porch, and perhaps it goes without saying that at one point in the movie, Joe Dirt gets covered in excrement. Why must someone always be covered in excrement?)

The film was written by Spade and Fred Wolf. Wolf also penned “Black Sheep” and “Dirty Work” and was head writer at “Saturday Night Live” from 1993-1996 — one of the worst eras in the show’s history, perhaps you’ll recall. It shows.

High points: Dennis Miller is amusing as the DJ, and Christopher Walken is inspired as an unhinged school janitor who helps Joe.

Low points: Using sweet little Erik Per Sullivan — Dewey on “Malcolm in the Middle” — as the young version of repulsive Joe, shown in flashbacks.

Come on, movie. Have a little class.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1868&reviewer=247
originally posted: 06/21/01 16:31:04
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/10/14 PAUL SHORTT JUVENILE JUNK 1 stars
12/30/12 david stiefel best stupid movie of the year 5 stars
6/26/11 Jennifer Barr This is one of my all time favorite movies....extremely funny! 5 stars
5/07/09 art A MOVIE ABOUT SOME JACKASS! 1 stars
3/21/09 WiseGuy Stupid funny 5 stars
9/25/08 Shaun Wallner This film is hilarious!! 5 stars
3/28/08 Pamela White Spade is so sad 2 stars
4/02/07 amber George if is good 2 stars
12/31/06 johnnyfog baaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaad 1 stars
7/23/06 Bob Septic tank scene sums it up. You're Joe. The tank is the film, smothering you with crap. 1 stars
5/01/06 Anthony Feor I thought Spades career was over after SNL 1 stars
4/15/06 Peter You have to be retarded to think this is funny 1 stars
8/19/05 ES you could tell by the trailer 2 stars
11/08/04 Hahahahahahahahah ffffffffuuuuuuuuuunnnnnnnnnnyyyyyyyy shit 4 stars
10/09/04 Monster W. Kung Unfunny, pathetic rubbish. 1 stars
5/22/04 andy can your mother sew? 5 stars
5/20/04 zak it put the lotion on the skin! 5 stars
5/11/04 J.Peckerfoot I give every film a chance.i like some very dumb movies.this is not one of them. 2 stars
4/26/04 Mike Dude, dont take it so seriously and its actually pretty funny 4 stars
2/22/04 Geo78665 Starts out quite good, then goes down the drain, but the Walken and Pressley bits work. 3 stars
1/27/04 Spavid Dade I suck but Hollywood keeps paying me for having no discernible talent. I suck & I happy. 1 stars
1/14/04 J Hilarious!!!!! But David Spade is a little worm!!! *** 5 stars
12/24/03 kid rock this movie fucking rocks 5 stars
11/11/03 Mike so horrible it made me want to kill my family and mail them to david spade 1 stars
11/10/03 josh such an awesome movie, why dont you losers actually give it a chance LIFES A GARDEN DIG IT! 5 stars
9/30/03 Samuel Justus I got the POO on ME !!!!! Right on ! 5 stars
9/17/03 HUGH Brandy was worth it every thing else sucked 1 stars
5/01/03 Jim Louis This movie is a cult to me and my cousin and it is so pimp that i base 45% of my life toit 5 stars
3/31/03 Jack Sommersby For once, I hated a David Spade film. 1 stars
1/22/03 David Spade I wrote and starred in this movie, and even I thought it sucked! 1 stars
12/29/02 John Aster Habig it doesn't get any crappier 1 stars
12/14/02 spacecowboy for the mullet i'll give it > 2 stars
10/29/02 Jeremy This movie was awesome me and my friends cant figure out if that junky car is a Superbird o 5 stars
10/17/02 Rhi Great Movie 5 stars
9/26/02 knuckles baloneys Are you poeple kidding? 1 stars
9/08/02 James Kelsey Another funny stupid movie, but Brittney Daniels and Jamie Pressley make up for it. 4 stars
4/18/02 Monday Morning Compared to suckball Adam Sandler's movies, this is terrific. 4 stars
4/07/02 stoolie-bird for shitheads only! 1 stars
3/31/02 Joe Schulz Kid Rock Can eat my ass, and so can you 2 stars
2/09/02 U S Marcia as fartwarming as a harse - eh - heartwarming as a farse can be! 5 stars
1/15/02 David A. Has some funny parts. Is his car a Daytona or a Superbird? 4 stars
12/28/01 Dashteifel This site should be called JoeBitchSlap.com 5 stars
11/27/01 C.B rocked 5 stars
11/22/01 Joe dirt 2 who so ever hates this movie should stop watching it dumbasses 5 stars
10/16/01 Andrew Carden Totally Unfunny and Gross Movie That Has No Point To It Whatsoever. 1 stars
10/15/01 Mr. Hat "Joe Dirt" rocked! 4 stars
9/26/01 t.b. Ok, I know there was a lot of bathroom jokes but this movie was damn funny! 4 stars
9/25/01 Luke Ashley This movie was funny as fucking hell! 5 stars
9/23/01 matt Elliott Brittney You are really hot 5 stars
9/23/01 bob brandy is hot 5 stars
9/16/01 Bri Good, but needs to be r nice babes 4 stars
9/15/01 zack fucking awesome! 5 stars
9/09/01 Girl 9 Joe Dirt is Joe Fuckin Stupid! Is this a comedy or a look at lame white-trash cliches?! 1 stars
9/08/01 Ronnie the movie was funny as hell 4 stars
9/08/01 matt smith It's one to add to the collection 5 stars
9/04/01 josh brown fucking awesome 5 stars
8/23/01 Scott If you like SNL then you will like this movie 4 stars
8/06/01 Nicole Kaylor This would have to be the funnest movie I've ever seen 10 x. I love all the characters. 5 stars
6/30/01 chels overall it was a pretty good movie really funny and great acting by david spade 4 stars
6/24/01 malcolm a few funnies, but pretty dumb overall 2 stars
5/27/01 hum oh the pain! 1 stars
5/26/01 viking for undiscerning morons only 1 stars
5/24/01 TRACEY CAN'T REALLY DECIDE WETHER I LIKE IT OR NOT.... IT HAD IT'S MOMENTS THAT WERE VERY FUNNY , 2 stars
5/21/01 brad the only reason i watched the movie is because brittney daniel is FINE 2 stars
5/14/01 jasen i havent seen the movie yet cuz it an't out hey in new zealand but so want 2 c it 5 stars
5/12/01 Chris A Good Time 4 stars
5/12/01 y2mckay Makes Freddy got Fingered look Highbrow. Dennis Miller and Chris Walken only saving graces. 1 stars
5/06/01 Will I Fuckin' loved it..... take it for what it is ..... 5 stars
4/23/01 siro This movie should've been alot better, but it gets points for being so lowbrow... 3 stars
4/21/01 Todd Sauers This movie is very painful to look at. 1 stars
4/19/01 Greg Weak storyline but funny parts you'll be talking about for a long time. 5 stars
4/17/01 Jes very funny 4 stars
4/15/01 Rampage should have been called Joe Stupid 2 stars
4/14/01 Mike YALK INTO THE MICROPHONE>>I GOT ANOTHER ONE RIGHT HERE 5 stars
4/14/01 Mike Russell One Damn Good Movie.. a Must See !!! 5 stars
4/14/01 Happy Better than I thought 4 stars
4/13/01 Billy A little better than Deuce Biggelow Male Jilggelo 1 stars
4/12/01 Ben Ryan What a piece of shit. 1 stars
4/12/01 rogue pretty damn funny 4 stars
4/12/01 Blake "The Bitch" Ward Not great, but really fucking funny, I'll say that much. 4 stars
4/12/01 hawkman im a bigger redneck than spade. cast me with brittany next time. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  11-Apr-2001 (PG-13)
  DVD: 25-Jul-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  17-May-2001 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast