Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.87

Awesome49.28%
Worth A Look: 24.64%
Just Average: 5.8%
Pretty Crappy: 4.35%
Sucks: 15.94%

3 reviews, 51 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Babe: Pig in the City
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Erik Childress

"Sequel Worthy of Title Character's Name"
4 stars

Babe: Pig in the City (*** Ĺ) - Iím a sucker for animal movies. Let me re-phrase that. Iím a sucker for really fun, really well-made animal movies. The original Babe was one of the most pleasant surprises of 1995. It was an amazing accomplishment, well-written, funny, and touching. It also had the kind of subtle social commentary that Spike Lee likes to throw in peopleís faces. Babe did it more effectively. And so does itís sequel.

The movie starts out in true sequel fashion - reintroducing many of the main characters and coming up with a storyline as an excuse for another adventure. But once the plot gets in full gear about 20 minutes into the movie - there are some magical things happening. First of all, the cityscape that they end up going to is a pure marvel. Practically every major landmark in every major city can be found in a single shot. Itís an incredible visual and we even get to see it at night all lit up as well as in the daytime. One of the best things about both Babe films is that it has the complete feel of an old fashioned storybook. Alongside another modern classic, The Princess Bride, these settings are a wonder to visit really bringing one back to their own childhood imagination. These films are a virtuoso of art direction. The animals in the film are always a delight and very funny. The cat choir conducted by another catís tail is a really nice touch. And I was heartbroken at a long sequence that curiously resembled the ghetto evacuation in Schindlerís List. I almostÖalmost broke into tears.

This is a true family film - one with situations and issues to be talked about afterwards - simple, subtle messages that are brilliantly handled. The climax even has a great scene that could almost be played as silent comedy. All in all - the original is still a better film. But this is a worthy sequel and one that should not be overlooked. (NOTE: Itís a real shame as I just looked at the box office totals that ďThe Rugrats MovieĒ made three times as much money as Babe. I know Rugrats is a childrenís film as is cute and all that crap. But truthfully itís pretty lame compared to all of the Disney films, the Dreamworks animated films, and the Babe films. I donít know how I can live in a world where the Rugrats film makes over $100 million dollars.)

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=187&reviewer=198
originally posted: 02/14/00 23:41:35
[printer] printer-friendly format  
For more in the Australian series, click here.

User Comments

6/11/13 Funesta umbra A truly complex film, anthropomorphic but honest. 5 stars
5/15/11 Dr.Lao Everything the original wasn't: creepy, charmless and burdened with lame attempts at humor 1 stars
9/26/10 Jennifer kimberly great family movie 4 stars
7/21/09 millersxing Amusing blend of Dickens with Orwell plus a dash of L Frank Baum. Delightful! 5 stars
5/14/08 PAUL SHORTT PAINTS A BLEAK PICTURE OF HUMANITY. NOT TO MENTION, SHALL WE SAY - ANIMALITY 1 stars
12/04/07 Isaac's Mama This is a great film with wonderful special effects and artistic intrigue. 5 stars
8/30/07 scotty stunningly great film 5 stars
9/13/05 Alphanana Disney on acid 5 stars
9/03/04 T.B. I like the first one better 2 stars
6/14/04 T. Maj Creepy, disturbing, might even scare kids-- total letdown from original 2 stars
12/05/03 john brilliant movie - but VERY different in style from the first - be prepared! 5 stars
9/27/03 Alice Babe got an award from animal right fighters.This one is anti animal rights (monkeys???) 1 stars
9/10/03 filmfatale Fun and awesome movie - deserved the kudos it received. 5 stars
9/09/03 Boombah Baby As a movie, great. As a kids' movie... not so much. 3 stars
9/04/03 bob mckenzie collin was paid by the pig 1 stars
8/05/03 Double G pig had boogy's in his nose 1 stars
4/22/03 lauren cleggett you little ripper 5 stars
8/06/02 nadine best stuff 5 stars
8/19/01 hen very good.I think he was cut!!!!!!!! 5 stars
8/07/01 Mr. Hat Better than the original. 4 stars
5/11/01 ZOOLOO EXCELLENT FILM THE BEST! 5 stars
4/09/01 Gary This is an alright movie, but a terrible sequel. Babe was great, PITC is not! 3 stars
4/05/01 Andrew Carden Pretty cute sequel. Not such a tear-jerker, but pretty funny. 4 stars
4/04/01 Lynda Madaras great if you like pigs 4 stars
3/27/01 Jade Mckay I personally liked the first one betta than the no 2 but no2. keept me interested to watch 4 stars
12/21/00 Piggy lover God Dam this movie was under appreciated, Why? 5 stars
11/12/00 The EVIL Penguin Sucked!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
11/11/00 Linda Davick unbelieveably wonderful 5 stars
11/04/00 Maria It was so cute!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 4 stars
11/02/00 rhiannon whyte it was da best video i have ever seen 5 stars
10/12/00 Nathan Copland Had a little laugh.Still pretty cute. 4 stars
8/26/00 minimasterab i can't believe kids enjoy this crap 1 stars
8/03/00 theep Raises the bar for family entertainment 5 stars
7/22/00 Tyler Peterson Kids who just got run over by a truck might find this sleazy bullshit entertaining. 1 stars
3/18/00 David Rogers I haven't seen this, don't plan to. The first one caused this rating. 1 stars
10/31/99 tits it's all right 3 stars
9/04/99 Weird Andy Strange and wonderful. This kiddie flick has real depth. A complete suprise. 5 stars
7/16/99 soccer_mum Why did they *have* to make this disappointing sequal. Original was great...this sucked. 1 stars
7/16/99 Glenn A dark masterpiece, it's not "Babe." Chandelier scene stinks, though. 5 stars
6/30/99 hum a kids film yes but there is alot to this movie.thoughtful 4 stars
5/31/99 Arkansas Jon Not what most would have expected. Kinda dark, yet still cute and heartwarming. 4 stars
3/16/99 Ah Dooey A masterpiece well done, compared to Paulie. 5 stars
3/10/99 haden lawyer A kid's movie that does't overly sanitize the genre (Pinnochio was "disturbing" too) 5 stars
1/18/99 grunter outclasses all Disney/Pixar/Dreamworks kids' productions for the last 10 years; JUST SEE IT 5 stars
1/05/99 E Creative, original, moving, fantastic. No wonder it flopped. 5 stars
1/01/99 Oscar Goldman It blew. What were they thinking when they wrote that script. Farmer Hogget paralyzed?! 1 stars
12/10/98 Mike Mc good one...not really for younger kids...to dark (don't be so eager with the oscar nods!) 4 stars
12/06/98 Mr Showbiz So dark and cynical it's likely to make kids cry or feel alienated. 2 stars
12/03/98 Bob Very good. Better than the original. Don't believe the numbers. Go see it! 5 stars
11/29/98 RBR Fun except for a couple disturbing scenes that should not have been in this movie.Well Done 4 stars
11/25/98 Lord Of The Dunce Good, but not a patch on the first. Too forced and frenzied. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  25-Nov-1998 (PG)
  DVD: 24-Aug-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  10-Dec-1998 (G)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast