Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.62

Awesome: 16.56%
Worth A Look: 17.2%
Just Average: 15.92%
Pretty Crappy: 12.74%
Sucks37.58%

12 reviews, 85 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Toy Story 4 by Peter Sobczynski

Canary (2018) by Jay Seaver

Assassinaut by Jay Seaver

Dead Don't Die, The by alejandroariera

Dead Don't Die, The by Peter Sobczynski

Shaft (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

Men in Black: International by Peter Sobczynski

Chasing the Dragon 2: Wild Wild Bunch by Jay Seaver

Hole in the Ground, The by Jay Seaver

Knife+Heart by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Coyote Ugly
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chef ADogg

"Disappointment is SUCH a bitch."
2 stars

Last summer I had "Blair Witch" and "Eyes Wide Shut" to look forward to. This summer had zip in the expectations deparment, so I actually waited anxiously for "Coyote Ugly." Amidst all the typical, action-packed blockbuster fare, it looked like something much milder. Much friendler. Much more focused on tits, ass, and EMF's timeless "Unbelievable." And, to be fair, it is all of those things. But it worked much better as a ninety second preview.

This could have been a cool little mid-summer treat of a picture. Likable stars, guilty-pleasure plot, and a frequently funny soundtrack ("Pour Some Sugar on Me," anyone?). So what happened? Well, a script, for one thing. And Jerry Bruckheimer's name before the credits. And... Well, not anything you can put your finger on. Just a general, overall stinkiness.

To clarify: there are some good things in "Coyote Ugly." As I said before, the leads are all likable enough. Piper Perabo is cute and engaging as a small-town girl who runs off to the big city to pursue her songwriting dreams (but ends up becoming a sort of clothed stripper); with a little work, she can go far. Adam Garcia is also good, as her Aussie-stud love interest. I think it's funny that men from Down Under are always so manly and decent in movies, because, as we all know, real Australians are a violent and dirty people.

That's about the end of the good things, though. For all the cute and romantic moments that work toward winning you over, there's another hyper-actively edited scene of scantily clad women throwing water on themselves. And, while that wouldn't be a bad thing in a different sort of movie (say, sick fetish aquatic pornography) it doesn't work here, because the tone's not right. "Coyote Ugly" is meant as nothing more than mild, audience-pleasing cheese, and as such it lacks the kind of down-and-dirty spirit that would make these extended wet t-shirts contests really exciting to watch.

The direction's not a big help. Bruckheimer has developed a (commerically) tried-and-true method of pulling directors from the minor leagues of music videos and then allowing them to work their quick-cut magic in the mainstream. This works for action movies, like "Gone in Sixty Seconds," which actually benefit from some personality behind the camera, but it falls flat when Bruckheimer tries to get all dramatic on our asses. "Coyote Ugly" looks like your average Michael Bay testosterone fest, which not only detracts from the dramatic impact of scenes that are supposed to be quiet and touching, but also destroys whatever credibility the film's "feminist" message retains after the skimpy outfits and bartop acrobatics.

It's pleasing to me that most of the girls I've talked to about this movie don't have any illusions about it's purpose in being. Prior to its release, I had chicks telling me they thought it was about women standing up for themselves, or making their own choices. After seeing it, though, it becomes pretty obvious that "Coyote Ugly" is nothing more than the latest in a series of half assed "empowerment" statements. Bruckheimer and his director/puppet, David McNally, are all too happy to endorse the popular belief that women can only define themselves sexually, and anyone who tries to do otherwise is an obvious fake. It's a shame that a man directed this; a woman might have actually smuggled in some positivity.

I was entertained by "Coyote Ugly." But keep in mind that I'm sixteen, male, and heterosexual. If you don't fit that description, you might want to look elsewhere for your cinematic fill.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1876&reviewer=123
originally posted: 08/12/00 02:59:49
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

3/15/14 who well said. pathetic movie that insults both men and women, assuming everyone is too stupid 1 stars
4/04/10 art THIS film is PATHETIC!,JUST like new jersey! 1 stars
3/18/10 PAUL SHORTT ROUTINE FANTASY/FLUFF 2 stars
5/11/09 Cody Fantastic movie. 5 stars
5/01/09 hannah omg this reviewer is an idiot! adam garcia is AUSTRALIAN douche bag! get ur facts right!! 3 stars
10/04/08 leeyoonkyoung Nose bedspread reel writing ruth loop countlessly, it saw. It is a movie of true top! 5 stars
9/04/08 Rachel I should be saying this is terrible, but I can't help but kinda loving this one. 4 stars
8/02/08 conch tangco omg im addictive to it its the best 5 stars
4/03/07 David Pollastrini Piper Perabo is hot in this! 3 stars
1/26/07 Tamara Leonard I loved the movie to own it.. Have watched countless times. 5 stars
11/28/06 amanda FANTASTIC movie! by far one of my favorites. 5 stars
8/13/06 Ari Horrible Movie 1 stars
5/25/06 Michele fun 4 stars
8/26/05 ES Women act like sluts to sell booze and survive in a man's world and that's awesome? 2 stars
7/06/05 gothboy02 great i like the chick /main 4 stars
6/07/05 y2mckay Why is it that all the "Awesome" comments are from women? Are you really all that stupid? 1 stars
12/09/04 Jason Kaul Royal crap. Wearing a crown of shit and all. But it made a ton of money 1 stars
7/17/04 legend Had low expectations but was pleasantly surprised by such a decent film. 4 stars
7/06/04 Sammi Hella awesome movie...loved everything about it! 5 stars
6/18/04 Denise Duspiva Fun 5 stars
5/27/04 cfdfsdfsd cool 5 stars
5/06/04 wylene Boring story line 1 stars
4/14/04 Veronica Ramirez It's a pretty good movie 5 stars
4/09/04 Michelle Good songs, good story, good actors, the movie was gr8! 5 stars
3/02/04 Blondy i loved it!! wanna move 2 new york now + become a coyote :) 5 stars
2/13/04 I Would Go and get some real porn you wimps 1 stars
1/19/04 michel Will be remembered as a cult classic in the "so bad it's hilarious" category 4 stars
10/20/03 Hayley M IT is the best film i have ever seen. ITs wicked.And jack whoever you are it is COOOOOOL! 5 stars
6/23/03 Gemma kavanagh I thought it was wicked 5 stars
4/28/03 jeffrey amon this movie is great!!!! 5 stars
4/04/03 Jack Bourbon May I have your attention: WHERE WERE THE TITS? 2 stars
3/05/03 Robert Cooley if you miss this, you will live 3 stars
1/28/03 Pinkline Jones Don't watch this film if you're contemplating suicide 1 stars
7/24/02 palaboy101 I was expecting this to be UGLY but it AIN'T! 4 stars
5/22/02 Janx Besides Goodman, nobody in this movie can act worth a damn! No nudity either. Pure Shit 1 stars
5/14/02 Blake This movie deserves a 10 out of 10, it was so great. 5 stars
4/02/02 toya movie was great had a message tellin that u can do ne thing when u achive n go for it. 5 stars
4/01/02 Vitality1 Whoa! This movie has more bad acting than a Dawson's Creek episode!! 1 stars
3/24/02 Veronica Foxx (The Raven-Haired Temptress) This movies only objective: make teen boys hard; con teen girls out of $ w/ B.S. storyline 1 stars
2/27/02 Alan Smithee Nothing but a wanna-be T&A film for teenage boys. Hot chicks though......... 1 stars
2/13/02 Bob Marley never seen it 5 stars
2/01/02 trtrrt rtertrt 5 stars
1/21/02 Spencer Lent I thought it was going to be dumb but it was pretty good. 4 stars
12/03/01 Andrew Carden My IQ Dropped 50 Points After Watching This Mindless Crap. 1 stars
12/01/01 Mr Math I'm dumber for having seen it. 1 stars
11/25/01 the Grinch "..both ways. Which is I'm sure what they made the original screenwriter "Ha! Oz, u r KING! 1 stars
11/24/01 Senor Pescolido Really really generic and bad. At least if you're going to tease, show some skin. 2 stars
8/18/01 Dr. Thompson A textbook example of why american women suck 1 stars
8/12/01 Ken Like a really shitty TV movie, but rated R. 1 stars
8/02/01 Chris K. Sex films are dead! And COYOTE UGLY is one of those "bad sex films" 1 stars
7/29/01 Jennifer Gaissert It's not Shakespeare, but it's cute 3 stars
7/28/01 yop l 5 stars
7/16/01 Elvisfan All plot points are in the form of brick walls falling on innocent viewers 1 stars
5/11/01 Chris The DVD has a montage of the best scenes - it lasts a little over a minute! 1 stars
4/23/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) I'm a bartender, and if I were to pull some of these hijinks I'd be SO out on my arse... 3 stars
4/20/01 i love movies SHOWGIRLS without the jiggly! how bad can it get? 1 stars
4/15/01 Tam Cute, entertaining film with amazing bar scenes but a predictable plot. Kevin is sooo sexy! 4 stars
4/02/01 AgentDS It's entertaining and the soundtrack rocks! It's a really long video. 4 stars
3/08/01 Jake Yeah, a gem of a film. Not! 1 stars
2/15/01 Kasha I've already seen it twelve times and still love it. 5 stars
1/28/01 Nic Overall, just a great movie. I'd watch it again and again! 5 stars
1/22/01 The Bomb 69 mildly entertaining, except when she sang, ewwww!!!! 3 stars
1/02/01 RAINBOW LOVED THE FLICK' WAS FUNNY AND ENTERTAINING 4 stars
12/07/00 Jon Wendt It's terrible 1 stars
11/27/00 Cristopher Revilla want tits and ass, get a porno, want musical, get west side story, but don't get this shit 1 stars
11/21/00 Kim I loved this movie, it was cute and innocent and definately worth buying 5 stars
9/05/00 Boy In The Designer Bubble Saw this flick with a chick. She hated it. 2 stars
8/22/00 Jon Wendt Possibly the worst movie I've ever seen 1 stars
8/13/00 TimmyToday PG-13! Not enough, 1 stars
8/09/00 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi If you're simply looking to kill a couple of hours, this is the way to do it... 3 stars
8/09/00 Poetcdh Good music, good looking stars-what's not to like 5 stars
8/09/00 PJ I volunteer this as the worst film of 2000, even worse than Battlefield Earth, suckarama!!! 1 stars
8/08/00 Manda The entire theatre was clapping and laughing with the movie. I'm going to buy this one. 5 stars
8/07/00 ibspoof As a guy I enjoyed it. 4 stars
8/07/00 Heather Keith script is rough, but very well acted 4 stars
8/06/00 **~**Persnickety**~** ok pretty lame, you can call every shot in this one 2 stars
8/06/00 bobbuttons goodman good, piper hot, tyra not. better than expected 4 stars
8/06/00 Cam A bar and hot as hell chicks wearing tighter than hell clothing. Mushy subplot for the g/f 5 stars
8/06/00 The Rock Better than the other releases...a real surprise 4 stars
8/06/00 silas without seeing this movie you'll notice that its unoriginal and proprietary(sp?) bullshit 1 stars
8/06/00 bullit17 Formulaic and not very original. But still entertaining and VERY easy on the eyes 4 stars
8/05/00 clark move over Natalie, here comes PIPER! 5 stars
8/04/00 Pub Crawler Total shallow boring poorly-made poorly-acted not even any nudity. soft core bullshit 1 stars
8/03/00 TimmyToday And I quote: "Less artsy more fartsy." 2 stars
8/02/00 Jokko Coyote Stupid. Tyra has 2 mins. of screen time, BTW. John Goodman is quite good. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  04-Aug-2000 (PG-13)
  DVD: 07-Jun-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  01-Jan-2001 (M)


Directed by
  David McNally

Written by
  Gina Wendkos
  Kevin Smith

Cast
  Piper Perabo
  Adam Alexi-Malle
  Tyra Banks
  Maria Bello
  Adam Garcia



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast