Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 

Overall Rating

Awesome: 24.82%
Worth A Look46.72%
Just Average: 14.6%
Pretty Crappy: 12.41%
Sucks: 1.46%

11 reviews, 71 user ratings

Latest Reviews

Bombshell: The Hedy Lamarr Story by Jay Seaver

Before We Vanish by Jay Seaver

Dear Dictator by Peter Sobczynski

Tomb Raider (2018) by Peter Sobczynski

Darken by Jay Seaver

Early Man by Jay Seaver

Beyond Skyline by Jay Seaver

Agent Mr. Chan by Jay Seaver

Wrinkle in Time, A by Peter Sobczynski

Kill Order by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed

Shadow of the Vampire
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Steve in Prague

"You can really sink your teeth into this!"
5 stars

Finally a movie that shows just how far an actor can take his role..literally.

What can be said about "Shawdow of the Vampire" that hasn't been said already? I saw it at a small cinema here in Prague, and it fit perfectly.

"Shadow of the Vampire" will never set box office records simply because it is so damn intelligent that most of the planet won't appreciate its subtle beauty, razor sharp inside critiques of the film industry, or the wonderfully pathetic and tragic Count Orlock/Max Schreck, brought to live by Mr. Dafoe in the performance of a life time.

"Nosferatu" has a special place in my heart. When I was 7 my dad (rest in peace) bought me a simple book called "Famous Monsters of the Movies". It was a neat book, and filled with stuff 7 year olds love: Godzilla, The Mummy, the WolfMan, and of course, Dracula. But it ALSO had a special section on silent movie monsters, and it was there I first learned of Max Schreck, FW Murnau, and "Nosferatu".

The one picture from "Nosferatu", that of Orlock looking up from Greta's throat straight into the camera, to this day stands in my mind.

"Shadow of the Vampire" has that same effect, it stays with you. Its plot, a BRILLIANT "What If" that contends Schreck was a REAL vampire, is one of the cleverest and most imaginative stories in years. Malkovich is brilliant, as usual, and Eddie Izzard..well, damn what can I say he ALMOST steals the movie.

But this movie belongs to Willem Dafoe. He got nominated for, but didn't win, the Oscar, thus proving yet again that Hollywood wouldn't know acting if it bent them over and rammed a spike dildo up their asses. His performance DESTROYS every vampire all the way back to Schreck.

A grade a 100% delight, memorable, funny, and tragic.

"Shadow of the Vampire" should be required viewing for all.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1891&reviewer=253
originally posted: 05/21/01 08:14:58
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

6/13/16 FireWithFire Might've been a good movie, but as usual, MalkoPEE ruined it with his pretentious "acting" 2 stars
10/24/09 brian This movie sucks. Brilliantly. 4 stars
10/22/09 the dork knight Brilliant pairing of Malkovich and DaFoe! Scary / hilarious at the same time 4 stars
4/27/08 simon burgin Agreed! film was rubbish, good premise, bad execution 2 stars
1/09/07 David Pollastrini great concept 5 stars
12/19/06 Goggle Eyes Most terrifyingly plausible vampire movie - ever! 5 stars
8/29/05 ES It was an interesting premise but unworthy of the hype surrounding it 3 stars
3/27/05 indrid cold Juicy performances, but the story is too weird and slow to be good. 3 stars
9/02/03 Charles Tatum An interesting idea told with complete indifference 2 stars
4/30/03 Andrew Carden Willem Dafoe Gives The Best Performance Of 2001. Brilliant Film. 5 stars
4/10/03 Jack Bourbon Brilliant visuals. Too many stories going on at once, though. Good movie overall. 4 stars
3/03/03 Jack Sommersby More of an artistic stunt than an organic motion picture. Dafoe, though, is a delight. 2 stars
11/03/02 kooler Genius. 5 stars
7/29/02 Captain Midol Given a choice between death and sitting through this again? I'd flip a coin. 2 stars
6/06/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi well.....im a bit disappointed, coz the trailers looked cool....but it was too long... 3 stars
4/26/02 maximal01 Dafoe is funny as hell.. but the damn movie wrapped up like they got bored with the story!! 4 stars
3/02/02 Chowie Willem Dafoe is excellent, but the whole movie is too long and streched out 3 stars
1/15/02 Penguin Boy Go Willem Dafoe. Awesome. Malkovich overdoes it, & movie is dull, uninteresting, formulaic 2 stars
12/20/01 daniboy WIllem Dafoe DESERVED thar Oscar 5 stars
11/03/01 Andrew Carden Very Interesting Plot About Making The Movie, but The Rest Is Most Dull. 3 stars
9/23/01 Larry Smith Eddie Izzard... way to go! Willem Dafoe #1! 5 stars
9/18/01 Dane A movie critic's day off! 5 stars
9/04/01 malcolm malkovich is eerily convincing as a lunatic film-maker 4 stars
8/19/01 Reini Urban The first half is interesting, the second boring. 3 stars
7/20/01 Gus it's funny and creepy at the same time!!~~ 5 stars
6/19/01 Stephanie HiCollin, Notenoughspacetowriteeverything. WillemDafoewasgreat.Hadmebelievinghewasavamp. 5 stars
6/16/01 The Bomb 69 looked great, strong acting, the script seemed a little weak though 4 stars
6/01/01 Jason S. Kotz Awesome movie, I was hooked from begining to end. 5 stars
6/01/01 mahone Not funny. Not scary. Boring in the extreme. 2 stars
5/06/01 Roy Smith I had to apologize to my friends for draging them to see this..slow, slow, slow..movie. 2 stars
4/23/01 kelly excellent,a piece of art!!! 5 stars
4/08/01 Lord Raymos Well done, scary..weak ending. 4 stars
3/24/01 Jessi Beautiful-- Most artistic film ever, most intelligent process done-- 5 stars
3/22/01 William Peterson A pretty damn good movie with no clear point in my poor little mind. 4 stars
3/10/01 hum Yes Nosferatu, eat the writer. Too many good ideas under explored 2 stars
3/08/01 roberto getto smells of munau, smells of herzog, smells gRRReat 5 stars
3/04/01 Adam Freeman Funny and scary. 4 stars
3/03/01 Suzz loved it 5 stars
3/01/01 Captain Highcrime A welcome reprieve from the "Blade"s and "Dracula 2000"s of late. 4 stars
3/01/01 Roger the Shrubber Great acting, great set design, original story. If only the ending wasn't so damn silly... 4 stars
2/21/01 Steve Walsh A gem. Expectations of this film mean it's currently being underappreciated. 4 stars
2/19/01 Frank Kelly Good intentions, but pretty incoherent 3 stars
2/15/01 Ken Ratajczyk Awesome! Defoe should win an oscar...Hands Down!!! 5 stars
2/14/01 shawn allen killer story, superb acting, great visuals 5 stars
2/11/01 NoRefill Not much of a story. Never cared about the characters. Defoe is great. 3 stars
2/10/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi Did I mention John Malkovich kicks ass?? 4 stars
2/06/01 Katchoo Unique premise, could have been played up for dark humor, but quite interesting. 4 stars
2/06/01 puckfreak Good movie, longest opening credits scene EVER! 4 stars
2/05/01 sophia866 All Artists are Vampires, all Vampires are addicts, soo..... 5 stars
2/05/01 Dorothy Constable Such a great movie 4 stars
2/04/01 Stephanie Belli refreshingly different 5 stars
2/04/01 geo Best Film Of The Year. If you don't think so, then go see Valentine where you belong. 5 stars
2/01/01 Jed M. Wall This is the finest contemporary film since "L.A. Confidential" 5 stars
1/31/01 James BJ Enjoyable, Dafoe was great!! 4 stars
1/30/01 puff the magic dragon Willem Dafoe steals the show 4 stars
1/30/01 James Good camara work, and story line 4 stars
1/28/01 Stuntman good movie, great cast 4 stars
1/26/01 frankko great performances, but i didn't care much for the story 2 stars
1/26/01 Boy In The Designer Bubble cool movie, much classier than expected. 5 stars
1/23/01 Stephanie Dafoe and Izzard were really the only highlights of this shoddy directionless flick. 2 stars
1/22/01 william fitz Wonderul and intelligent. 5 stars
1/13/01 Neil Great film Dafoe was excellent, but Izzard was better!!! 5 stars
1/10/01 Heather Fascinating, intriguing movie, amazing performance from Willem Dafoe 5 stars
1/10/01 Liz Dafoe and Malkovich succeed in continously freaking me out! The film is truly frightening! 5 stars
1/08/01 Dr Fardook this film accessed a null space in my brain. I think I liked it. I can't remember 4 stars
12/30/00 Joseph Molnar I loved this film. Funny, scary and beautiful. Unlike any other picture I've seen 5 stars
12/19/00 CB Great! Dafoe and cast all manage over-the-top perfmncs without blowing it. Fun. 5 stars
12/17/00 marleene dubois Fantastic, smart, funny, most original film in years, who is this great, original director? 5 stars
12/12/00 cooljo so dummmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm 1 stars
11/19/00 Vandemaele Kurt Funny, but too smart for it's own good. And Willem Dafoe is brilliant in the film. 4 stars
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:

Discuss this movie in our forum

  26-Jan-2001 (R)


  25-Jan-2001 (M)

Directed by
  Elias Merhige

Written by
  Steven Katz

  John Malkovich
  Willem Dafoe
  Cary Elwes
  Catherine McCormack
  Udo Kier
  Eddie Izzard

Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast