Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.03

Awesome51.42%
Worth A Look: 21.77%
Just Average: 12.62%
Pretty Crappy: 7.26%
Sucks: 6.94%

8 reviews, 269 user ratings



Spider-Man
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by MP Bartley

"A Good Start"
4 stars

Ah, the age old debate about translating superheroes to screen. Do you go for the dark, gothic transformation of Burton's Batman or camp it up like Schumacher's Batman? Do you aim it squarely at the fanboys or make it accessible to everyone at the risk of alienating the hardcore fanbase?

...well if 'Spider-Man' can be be related to any other superhero flick, its Bryan Singers 'X-Men' which remained faithful to the source, kept it open for the general Joe Public to get into, and more importantly actually developed the story and characters for sequels instead of throwing everything into the pot at once.

It's the way that Sam Raimi has taken with his adaption of Marvel Comics wallcrawler, delivering a cracking slice of summer entertainment to satsify the fans and anyone with just a passing interest in men who have the abilities of insects. And you know who you are.


Being as this will probably be about,ooh, at least the hundreth review of 'Spider-Man' I'll skip the plot details. Suffice to say that Peter Parker (Tobey Maguire) is bitten by a radioactive spider and develops superpowers roundabout the same time that scientist Norman Osbourne overdoses on a military enhancing gas, unleashing the dark side of his personality, The Green Goblin, on an unsuspecting New York.

If anything, 'Spider-Man' feels like the first part of a franchise more than anything else. The duels he has with The Goblin come off as being almost incidental compared to Peters reactions to his new found powers. Raimi, and scriptwriter David Koepp, never over-egg the film by giving the Goblin a masterplan to destroy the city. He's evil, he wants to wreak havoc, and more importantly he wants to destroy Spider-Man by attacking those close to him. It's a simple premise fluidly used to bring up the tension of Parker struggling to develop his powers just at the time he needs them most.

I'm always cynical when directors claim they want to really tell a characters story in superhero, when they blantantly want to fill the screen up with as many special effects as possible, but for once they're right. We're not talking a glimpse into the dark morbidity of the soul, but we are talking about characters and realistic (well as realistic as possible in a film about a spider-man) emotions and reactions.

For instance, Parker doesn't immediately decide to use his powers to fight crime. He does what anyone of us would do and have fun with them, be it swinging gleefully through the city or making money at a wrestling tournament (great Bruce Campbell cameo by the way). It's only when Parker's bad judgement results in personal tragedy that he actually decides to take on crime, even if half the city are still convinced he's a menace.

Tobey Maguire proves to be an inspired choice as the hero. Maguire's a great actor, so when the script calls for emotional depth and sincerity he shows it and gets the audience onto his side. Just watch his face when he first sets out for vengeance and then realises his bad judgement has cost him dearly. It's more than convincing, and helps ground the concept effortlessly. The idea of Spider-man having to struggle between his identities of gawky teenager and superhero is a difficult one, but Maguire pulls it off effortlessly. There's a lack of Spideys trademark one liners, but I have a feeling they're being saved up.

Willem Dafoe also has enormous fun as the Green Goblin spitting out his lines with relish. It's a shame therefore that he's stuck behind a mask that looks like it came out of a cracker at Christmas. Anyone ever wonder what's happened to the Power Rangers? Well, they stuck a pair of horns on them and gave their headpiece to Dafoe. Aside from this, Dafoe is a strong villain and works well against Maguires naivety, particularly in their last bruising encounter.

Unfortunately, because the film is more concerned with setting Spider-man up, everyone else gets relegated to the background. Save for a few scenes, Kirsten Dunst has a largely thankless role. The few scenes she does share with Maguire are hugely effective however.

But the one over-riding impression you'll take away is of Raimi's dazzling direction. Some of the swoops and glides through the city leave you breathless and giddy with their pace. Some of the CG is horribly obvious in places, but cut the guy some slack. Intelligence, characters and story which are usually the poor relations at summer blockbusters are all well served here. Raimi gives us both excitement and sets everything up neatly for at least one good sequel where I'm guessing Spider-Man can really take off.

Raimi also harks back to some of his favourite directorial tics with a telling and chilling scene of a conversation between Defoe as Osbourne and as the Goblin held in a mirror. And the potentially silly way of Parker designing his costume is excellently realised through a great use of montage. Raimi is in full control here, and never lets the background material over-run his story.

'Spider-Man' is that rare breed of summer blockbuster. It has a sense of maturity mixed in with it's commitment to fun, and if it does lack a particularly huge climax (and it does. As I said earlier there's no major plot to destroy the city, and the final showdown is relatively low-key for a superhero film) the time taken to make the audience invest in the characters more than makes up for it.

'Spider-Man' feels like a franchise about to stretch its legs. It'll be a crying shame if it doesn't run and run.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1892&reviewer=293
originally posted: 06/13/02 11:02:46
[printer] printer-friendly format  
Marvel Characters: For more in the Marvel Characters series, click here.
Trilogy Starters: For more in the Trilogy Starters series, click here.

User Comments

10/29/16 morris campbell good start 2 the franchise i agree with david v 4 stars
3/28/16 Aj wales Best of the lot. Stylish. Well made. Likeable heroe. Raimi directs. 5 stars
7/21/13 Ronin I am a bit too old for that, but enjoyed it. I would give it 3 and a half. 4 stars
8/28/12 Mireya good movie 4 stars
4/21/12 Kcaj Touched the heart alot! Very entertaining and memorable film! 5 stars
8/08/10 Dr.Lao Everything a superhero movie should be: inspiring, exciting and fun! 5 stars
3/22/09 PAUL SHORTT A FILM THAT BOTH THRILLS THE EYE AND, IN ITS OVER-THE-TOP WAY, TOUCHES THE HEART 3 stars
1/25/09 Samantha Pruitt really awesome movie, best superhero movie ever! pure fun! 5 stars
6/12/08 David V Good start to a franchise. 4 stars
1/25/08 man great 5 stars
11/26/07 dude great 5 stars
10/17/07 Beau This really just was a fantastic film, very enjoyable with great cast! best superhero movie 5 stars
10/14/07 fools♫gold Overrated and predictable, but somehow enjoyable. 3 stars
10/02/07 wall great 5 stars
9/25/07 dude good movie 5 stars
5/26/07 WalkingDisaster Awesome! 5 stars
5/24/07 ebert great 5 stars
5/07/07 Tracey Chambers great movie. a comic book movie that doesnt suck 5 stars
3/20/07 man fantastic 5 stars
3/19/07 dude the most entertaining movie of the year 5 stars
3/18/07 Austin Wertman BEST MOVIE OF THE YEAR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
2/21/07 Nick Very entertaining and has some quality to it. 5 stars
2/16/07 Vip Ebriega Great, web-slinging fun. 4 stars
1/19/07 johnnyfog Dafoe can't act. At least everyone else can. 5 stars
1/14/07 David Pollastrini Kirsten Dunst is hot! 5 stars
11/14/06 Beau One of the best action movies i have seen in my life, great story script WELL DONE!!! 5 stars
10/27/06 Richard Original is best! 4 stars
10/03/06 Jeremy Davies the sequel is superior 3 stars
9/11/06 Eden Shallow and forgetable, with the least threatening villian ever 2 stars
7/05/06 Tom Groholski Fantastic 5 stars
6/27/06 joe koski not ban but not good its ok 3 stars
6/10/06 Billy With the exception of the 1989 Batman this is better than every other superheroe movie 5 stars
6/05/06 drydock54321 love it. great special effects 5 stars
4/17/06 Jack Virtually 4 out of 5 5 stars
4/02/06 JRE this is great! best superhero movie ever 5 stars
3/27/06 Brian Meyer Squeezed 10 comics together, but an awesome ride, regardless! 5 stars
3/02/06 Anthony Feor A great film, watch it again and again 5 stars
1/01/06 cody a ok comic book movie with good acting and decent story, and good effects boring at times 3 stars
11/15/05 Adrian One of the best, if not THE best superhero movie ever. Sam Raimi does a damn good job. 5 stars
9/25/05 a. kurlovs the dullest, most cliche film i have EVER seen. 1 stars
9/17/05 tony Awsome, no doubt about it! 5 stars
9/03/05 Quigley a great movie. the action was really good. easily watchable again and again 5 stars
8/25/05 Nobody Spider-man is better than every superhero except batman. Goblin is bad choice for villain 4 stars
8/25/05 EZ Good 4 stars
8/22/05 Eden Overhyped. The goblin destroys any quality the film had left 2 stars
8/22/05 ES Dafoe's Goblin nearly ruined this movie, it actions sequences save it 4 stars
7/20/05 Brandy Harrington Great. 5 stars
7/20/05 Chris Pales in comparison with Batman Begins 3 stars
6/25/05 Matthew spiderman is a great superhero. i liked the movie 5 stars
5/02/05 Gary Even my 5 y.o. daughter liked it. 5 stars
3/24/05 indrid cold Maybe I'm just turning into an old fart, but it didn't do much for me. 4 stars
2/26/05 Alice Colwell nothing special 3 stars
2/05/05 Tom Benton Sam Raimi brings us one of the best superhero movies ever. Terrifically done. 5 stars
12/23/04 Raven made alot of money which means alot of people paid to see crap, Goblin costume was retarded 1 stars
12/22/04 roy kind of interestig for a shallow person 2 stars
12/04/04 G Hey, WEBBY go get me a pizza! 5 stars
11/20/04 Zeus not half as good as people make it out to be 2 stars
11/17/04 chris pity 2 wasnt as good 4 stars
8/21/04 Anthony G (G-style) Yo nigga, dis shizz is off da hook fo reely, recognize game,holla at cha boi! 5 stars
7/08/04 J Cadiramen Great movie, great effects, and an unexpectedly good show from Toby McGuire! 5 stars
6/30/04 American Slasher Goddess One of the best comic book adapations ever 5 stars
6/30/04 Box Office $403 million 5 stars
6/27/04 Nia Elam A GREAT MUST SEE MOVIE 5 stars
5/31/04 Nobody Good acting and special effects. 4 stars
3/31/04 sansho Nimble, acrobatic fun 4 stars
3/18/04 Umbrella Corporation. Willem Dafoe's FINEST HOUR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
2/10/04 king of cool kikgirl is right!!!!! exciting exciting excitng exciting excitnig--get the drift LPl 5 stars
2/06/04 LP1 Boring boring boring boring boring boring boring boring boring boring boring boring boring! 1 stars
2/02/04 kikgirl Best movie of 2002! 5 stars
1/26/04 Chloe Brody Kirsten's hair rocked, but Jake Gyllenhaal would have been a better Spiderman 3 stars
1/26/04 axtion movie fan great adaption of marvel superhero--fun movie best of 2002 5 stars
1/25/04 R.W. Welch Maguire manages to hit just the right note here. One of the best of the genre. 4 stars
1/14/04 Aquagirl8 A great, fun film with a lot more depth than the avg. comic book movie. Maguire is v. good. 4 stars
12/29/03 Jake Great Movie! Better than most comic book movies today. 5 stars
12/04/03 purchkiller This movie is good. Haters don't even have a good reason to hate this movie. 5 stars
11/13/03 Littlepurch Good GOD this was awful! Hated every dull, boring minute of it! Absolute shite!!! 1 stars
11/08/03 Danando The movie was amazing 5 stars
11/02/03 American Slasher Goddess One of better comic book adapations in awhile. CGI is awful, though. 4 stars
10/18/03 Don This movie rocks! 5 stars
10/15/03 B. Fresh Not bad but could have been better esp the FX 4 stars
10/10/03 ***** Its ok 2 stars
10/08/03 horror_blood Directed by Sam Raimi, good acting, Bruce Campbell in one scene, this stands out as good. 5 stars
9/21/03 Jacques story was just like the comics(almost) Gotta be kidding if you didn't like it. 5 stars
9/20/03 CAT BLUES i loved it,it was the best action superhero story i've ever seen 5 stars
9/17/03 Samuel Justus The FX were good, but the story was nowhere as good as i expected it to be 3 stars
9/16/03 Pinkline Jones Better than the Hulk not as good as Partridge Family 4 stars
9/07/03 jonah kids movie my butt! 5 stars
9/05/03 Dimitri Aubert Be honnest on this one, it's a kid's movie, a modern Disney-like movie, nothing much to it. 2 stars
8/10/03 King Great movie! Those who hated this are so pathetic! 5 stars
8/09/03 Monster W. Kung A really mediocre movie hyped like hell. Typical Hollywood. 2 stars
8/09/03 alomie This film was... Shite!! god why waste your tiem with it? 1 stars
6/14/03 Alice It suprised me, much better then X-men 4 stars
6/08/03 Jacob Great movie. Best comic book adaption come to life! 5 stars
5/21/03 Desert Rat Like watching a long video game. 2 stars
5/15/03 George Jung The movie plays out like a comic book. Like it or not, Raimi is a perfect director. 4 stars
5/07/03 GWhooya Mostly derived from the comic origins and entertaining at most. 5 stars
5/05/03 Dave Makes X-Men look like Batman & Robin 4 stars
4/14/03 King Kong A true superhero has finally arrived. 5 stars
4/13/03 Symbiote Double G's pretty cool but I always thought Venom was the best 5 stars
4/10/03 Jack Bourbon Hey! I liked the Green Goblin. Horrid final scene though (cemetary). 4 stars
4/08/03 Laurian Green Goblin sucks. Spoils the entire movie. And so many cliches... Dissapointing. Too bad. 3 stars
4/01/03 Edge This movie reeks of awesomeness 5 stars
3/28/03 J.J Go and suck your thumb Jack. One of the best movies of 2002. 5 stars
3/25/03 Spiderfan729 Tied with Lord of the Rings as the best film I've ever seen! 5 stars
3/24/03 Jack Sommersby Gutless and completely unsurprising. Gives blandness and by-the-numbers good names. 1 stars
3/15/03 What?! What?! this rocks! 5 stars
3/13/03 Shadaan I wish that annoying aunt had died ! 3 stars
3/11/03 Shao Kahn Flawless victory! 5 stars
3/03/03 May Just saw it and it Rocks! 5 stars
2/21/03 TJ Combo Kick ass movie! best movie of 2002! 5 stars
2/20/03 Pete Best superhero movie up to date. 5 stars
2/17/03 stuntman fun and entertaining, Brian is the stuipest person ever 4 stars
2/15/03 Brian I hate super heros that aren't all that super. He didn't even kill anyone. Weak. 2 stars
2/15/03 Mk Clones was overhyped. 5 stars
2/12/03 Loyd Ok, this movie is good ... But the story that Stan Lee made is completely different. 4 stars
2/10/03 Ubu the Ripper Maguire is limp and Dafoe is super-campy. Way WAY over-hyped. Not that great. 2 stars
2/05/03 123 good comic to movie translation.Characterisation is one of the best amongst "comic" movies 4 stars
2/04/03 Turtle This is hands down the best superhero movie of all time featuring the best superhero ever! 5 stars
1/24/03 TLsmooth Maguire cannot pull off Spidey's smart ass comments. 3 stars
1/14/03 Stevie kick Best hero movie ever!!!! 5 stars
1/13/03 blah Spiderman rules! Jack sucks ass! 5 stars
1/09/03 Paul Coleman Much better on the DVD. Great features. 4 stars
1/07/03 Ryback dont see why everyone likes it much. Micheal Keaton as Batman is better! 3 stars
12/30/02 Jack Sommersby Unimaginative, unexciting, and cliched as hell. MacGuire is Dullsville. 1 stars
12/27/02 spacecowboy-00x wooo spidey! 5 stars
12/11/02 Spawn Great movie.... Hate AOTC 5 stars
11/26/02 Audrey Ricci Pisser ending! Kirsten D's best role since DICK, but what's with horrid rust-colored hair? 3 stars
11/12/02 Andrew Good dvd! and this was way better than clones this summer. 5 stars
11/10/02 Daniel One of the most entertaining flicks I've seen in a good while! 5 stars
11/08/02 Stevo Good translation, Maguire is perfectly cast, but the story is way overfamiliar. 3 stars
11/07/02 Jay An excellent movie with a great DVD! 5 stars
11/04/02 Robert B. Reiiichchhhh Not bad, but not as good as the hype. Don't be fooled!! 3 stars
11/04/02 Charles Tatum Oh shut up, this was just plain cool as hell 5 stars
11/04/02 Michael Buehler Yes another superhero movie chunked out of standard mold #4721... 3 stars
11/02/02 Jim Great flick, great characters, Dafoe even conjured sympathy for the Goblin 5 stars
10/28/02 Josť the best summer-films in years ... 5 stars
9/26/02 Tim This is the best movie of 2002. No contest really. 5 stars
9/25/02 Fred Spiderman Rules! better than that Clones crap this summer! 5 stars
9/24/02 jony blaze i loved the adaptation a hero for all ages to come 5 stars
9/20/02 I Can't Swim I wish the whole movie was in the trailer! That would have spared me this SHITE Sandwich 1 stars
9/17/02 snowconehead The whole movie was in the trailer, but still Sam Raimi gives us whacky fun 5 stars
9/10/02 Terry Kicked ass! Best movie of summer! 5 stars
9/08/02 viking The world's greatest webswinger finally comes to life !!!! 5 stars
9/03/02 Sham Sundar Best comic movie ever 5 stars
8/29/02 owenmeany2 I saw it 3 times in 3 days. Enough said?! 5 stars
8/18/02 Mr. Hat (I'm Back!) Kirsten Dunst is hot, the Spidey FX are great, and I've been waiting for a long time. 4 stars
8/18/02 Craig Though I'm sick of comic book movies, this one was good. 4 stars
8/16/02 Andrew Patrick This Is The Best Movie I Ever Seen since The Lord Of The Rings:The Fellowship Of The Ring! 5 stars
8/16/02 Lazlo One word Awesome 5 stars
8/14/02 Tim This movie was great! Episode 2 sucked big time. most neg comments are from star war fans. 5 stars
8/13/02 Ramblin' Wreck Best comic movie...........................ever. 5 stars
8/12/02 my thoughts are it was SO good loved it if (er when) they a 2ed i hope it as good 5 stars
8/01/02 I Can't Swim Have to agree, this was a staggering disappointment. Really awful! 1 stars
7/30/02 Connoisseur this movie sucks! boring, repetitive, predictable, cartoonish, sappy 2 stars
7/28/02 stoolie-bird about as bad as CGI movies get....so crappy its hard to put it into words 1 stars
7/28/02 Adam Voorhees Cool, very enjoyable but still not the 'definative' comic book movie 4 stars
7/28/02 ronan jude it was highly believable for a comic character. come on. what did you expect? 5 stars
7/25/02 Turtle The best comic book movie ever...and the second best movie of all time. 5 stars
7/24/02 FJ Great hero movie.....always liked the comics 5 stars
7/23/02 TheTruth Just because you love the comic book doesn't mean you should like this crap of a movie 1 stars
7/23/02 ed! this is THE comic-book movie. all those who say otherwise need a bitchslap themselves. 5 stars
7/16/02 .Choadushouse. Brilliant. Sam Raimi does it like no other. It's comic action in it's perfection. 5 stars
7/09/02 Film Guy Surprise I really didnt think I was going to enjoy Spiderman. but I Really did. 4 stars
7/09/02 Zargo has a decent story, not just special effects i.e. batman movies 4 stars
7/01/02 KMG I knew going in it wouldn't be what it was cracked up to...and it was boring! 3 stars
6/23/02 Rockitman007 This was a great movie! 5 stars
6/17/02 Bart Lots of fun with some wonderful performances 4 stars
6/16/02 jack definitely comic book stuff 3 stars
6/16/02 officer 412/l chirst alive guys it isn't that good 2 stars
6/15/02 BrodieMan Again, get a life. Pull the stick out and enjoy a fun movie. 5 stars
6/14/02 Admiral Casey What was all the hype about this movie? think people were so high, they could see heaven.. 1 stars
6/13/02 Del Good. An entertaining movie with very little propaganda thrown in. Rare these days. 4 stars
6/11/02 Eloise was ok 3 stars
6/11/02 Spiderman Sucks has no real substance like Batman and most importantly is not even a good popcorn movie 1 stars
6/11/02 Mary Jane Fuck Seed Solid production, perfect performances, and a good script. A great superhero movie 5 stars
6/10/02 spaceworm Cast, effects, screenplay - in that order. Forty years young! 5 stars
6/10/02 Cinnikk shit shit shit. Shit 100% 1 stars
6/08/02 Teresa Classic comic book story done well. I got into it. 4 stars
6/08/02 Gummibear X Kirsten Dunst wins all, um... I mean... Spider-man is cool. 5 stars
6/07/02 Matthew Smith exhilarating 5 stars
6/05/02 Jessica The best movie that is going to come out this summer. Star Wars eat your heart out. 5 stars
6/02/02 Dark BarÝn Not Another Teen Movie... with the unpedictable yet laughable ending. 3 stars
6/02/02 tnt throughly enjoyable 4 stars
6/01/02 NothingButTruth Don't believe the review of DrChumley because Spiderman is just as bad as Mummy 2. 1 stars
6/01/02 David A. OUTSTANDING FILM (one picky point--Flash Thompson had blonde hair in the comics) 5 stars
6/01/02 Chris Spins a web of outstanding visuals, acting, and a strong emontional current. 4 stars
6/01/02 BaitedSoul Well, teens don't suck ass, and this movie really brought to life the comics! Enjoyable! 4 stars
5/31/02 Veronica Foxx Seems too geared for the teen market w/Tobey & Kirsten. Teens suck ass! Left me unmoved. 3 stars
5/29/02 davey mac good if you've never seen a movie before! this is generic crap for kids!!!!! 2 stars
5/29/02 JJ. thomas Not bad at all but Danny Elfman should be fired for reusing the Batman music 3 stars
5/29/02 Gibbo Very enjoyable - waiting for the sequel! 5 stars
5/28/02 Dr. Jones What's with all the hype? I didn't like much about this movie. 2 stars
5/28/02 Blackops Deviated from the comic, Dunst was not the best choice, but overall was very entertaining. 4 stars
5/28/02 brentley I never read any of the Spider-Man comic books, but I enjoyed the movie. Great action! 4 stars
5/28/02 ajay I was expecting a boatload of cheese, but was pleasently surprised! 4 stars
5/27/02 BrodieMan Nicole seems jealous. Kirsten was great and she is gorgeous. Great movie. 4 stars
5/27/02 Teresa Did we see the same movie? Engaging superhero story. Perfect! 4 stars
5/27/02 Indrid Cold People, spider man sucks! The super hero thing is getting OLD 1 stars
5/27/02 hilary awesome 5 stars
5/26/02 Nicole Kirsten Dunst CAN'T act & brings the whole movie down with her 3 stars
5/26/02 erick comone who would pass up a chance to see kirsten dunst in rain? 5 stars
5/25/02 Danielle Ophelia My God, I actually liked this!! Someone kiss Sam Raimi for me. 5 stars
5/24/02 dave mac with CGI this poor it's hard to beleive this came out in the same decade as LOTR's... 2 stars
5/23/02 Elbow Shut up people, this movie was great, A acting, A- story, A+ characters/set design/costumes 5 stars
5/23/02 RudeAssMass The only good part in this movie was Kirsten Dunst very wet in the rain 2 stars
5/20/02 Rex Reed "about a trillion dollars' worth of effects and 25 cents' worth of plot" 1 stars
5/20/02 adam wetstein great morality tales/ every edipal 4 stars
5/20/02 Movie Expert Anybody who likes this movie more than SW2 is gay and insane. 1 stars
5/20/02 King Kong Why does everyone think this movie's so great? It was just OK, but crappy relative to hype 1 stars
5/20/02 J. Lyons Great movie, but Kirsten Dunst looks too old to play high school girl! 5 stars
5/20/02 Jiz Great adaption from the comic. As for hype, fuck it, the movie was good so who cares? 5 stars
5/19/02 stoolie-bird excess hype does not make a movie good....this dull piece of crap is on par with ID4 1 stars
5/18/02 Peter vanHaaften When the fuck do we see that chicks box?!? More incest, I blew all over the seat in front 5 stars
5/18/02 Film Guy A Good Superhero movie 4 stars
5/18/02 Mibidy Mo Having seen every episode of the cartoons (both of them). I loved it. Couldn't be better!!! 5 stars
5/17/02 Snoozer One of the most overrated films ever. Average run of the mill summer popcorn movie!! 2 stars
5/17/02 Bob S A great, character driven story- by far the best movie of 2002 5 stars
5/17/02 IP Freely The people who rated in pretty bad don't know the point of being entertained..get a clue! 4 stars
5/17/02 Dan Valdez Awesome, I got totally lost in the movie 5 stars
5/17/02 TLsmooth Cardboard acting and lack of action really made it drag 3 stars
5/16/02 davey mac barf! retarded and pointless....and besides Spider-Man was a smartass...not a baby! 2 stars
5/16/02 Randy R They did it! A great movie...dark but not batman dark! 5 stars
5/15/02 Dr Laura Is A Bitch (Doo dah, doo dah...) Good fun, not Batman or Superman though. 4 stars
5/15/02 Dada flat, lifeless, a waste of time 2 stars
5/15/02 masin wolliams I don't get it, what i saw was a two hour promo for toys, breakfast cereal and t-shirts. 2 stars
5/15/02 Greyjack Good movie. CGI humans/superheroes look flimsy though, sorry to say. Still, a 4 overall. 4 stars
5/14/02 yongi definitely tied with Superman for best comic book film 5 stars
5/14/02 Mad Hatter Has the spirit of the comic and the energy of a Rami film. Excellent match. 5 stars
5/14/02 Lexy Z Tobey Maguire: my superhero. Kirsten Dunst: vapid big-titted blond. Ack! 4 stars
5/14/02 hbotis@hotmail.com Formulae but entertaing 4 stars
5/14/02 orpy Excellent but not awesome. 4 stars
5/13/02 Movie Expert Bad in every single way, story, acting, script , special effects, makes ID4 seem brilliant. 1 stars
5/13/02 Unanon Dafoe rocked, Dunst sucked, McGuire showed his buns and cheeze flowed. OK, outshines X-Men 4 stars
5/13/02 Jim Better than any Batman's, but not as good as X-Men. 4 stars
5/13/02 mn i went to watch this with my roommates. we laughed the whole time because of the cheesiness 2 stars
5/13/02 Banky Edwards Don't have enough room to epress my love for this movie, seen it 3 times, will see it again 5 stars
5/13/02 Bill H Pretty good... didn't expect some of the cameos... 4 stars
5/13/02 Darth Haggis Spidey Is best Marvel film 5 stars
5/12/02 Dark Baron Sam Raimi kicks ass. Great unexpecting puch line too. 5 stars
5/12/02 General Disarray a very entertaining to say the least... but what's with that idiotic Green Goblin costume?? 5 stars
5/12/02 Phoenix My head is exploding as we speak. Terrific knockout action entertainment. 5 stars
5/12/02 The Spam Handler Raimi works better with a low budget: EVIL DEAD forever! 3 stars
5/12/02 MF I've seen better animation on some AoL webpages 1 stars
5/12/02 Matt X-Men was still better 4 stars
5/11/02 dave macdougall wow did this suck! the CGI is shitty, the acting is bad, the plot is crap. 2 stars
5/11/02 Adam Good plot, but the huge times square billboards and the matted-out WTC towers pissed me off 4 stars
5/11/02 natasha this is the way it's done... 4 stars
5/11/02 vampyre9mm No where NEAR as good as Batman, but still pretty damn good in it's own right. 5 stars
5/11/02 Ricky Now, that's some good freakin' entertainment. 5 stars
5/11/02 Aborted Gently I was expecting some thing average. I was blown away by what I saw. Just awesome. 5 stars
5/10/02 The Bomb 69 Raimi = God, Schumacker = Devil 5 stars
5/10/02 TheTalkingElbow What's wrong with you Collin? Green Goblin = Best movie villain i've ever seen. YEEHAW 5 stars
5/10/02 Wagnaard Move kicked total eliphant ass 5 stars
5/10/02 Janx Superheroes are dumb, just like this movie. Oh, and the green goblin is gay. 3 stars
5/10/02 Axe Murderer absolutely fucking awesome....sam raimi is the anti joel schumacher..... 5 stars
5/10/02 brent young a great early summer action flick. worth the price of admission and more. 5 stars
5/10/02 Movie Expert No real thrills and excitement, ridiculous and gay villiain, much worse than Batman 2 stars
5/10/02 malcolm goofy Goblin costume couldn't ruin best damn comic book movie ever 5 stars
5/10/02 Shelley Smith I loved this film. I can't wait for the Sequel. 5 stars
5/09/02 Summer GREAT movie, BUT WHAT ABOUT GWEN STACY!?!Are they going to gorget about Gwen!!! 5 stars
5/09/02 Spankachu this is one of the best comic based movies ever 5 stars
5/09/02 d1663m Awesome! One caveat, computer animation didn't get the physics quite right... good anyway! 5 stars
5/09/02 Mr adventure GO web Go (waves hand a bit) a very cool movie 4 stars
5/09/02 Nick2k goddamn. tis be good... 5 stars
5/09/02 Rich Hendricks Ok story, needed better CGI, but still kicked ass 5 stars
5/09/02 nacio herb brown young boy learns how to fight crime using his own splooge. very interesting. 3 stars
5/09/02 J This is quite easily one of the best movies of the year. 5 stars
5/09/02 Punk_Ass Damn fine movie, Very true to the Comic Book. 5 stars
5/09/02 Seth Ramsey Holy shit! Stays close to the comics storylines, and fun as hell. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  03-May-2002 (PG-13)
  DVD: 01-Jun-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  06-Jun-2002




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast