Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.79

Awesome: 14.04%
Worth A Look: 26.32%
Just Average: 17.54%
Pretty Crappy: 8.77%
Sucks33.33%

3 reviews, 39 user ratings



Mafia!
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"Oh, come on...it's not THAT bad."
3 stars

I went to this movie...and liked it.

Shocking, isn't it?

True, though. I found quite a few jokes and parodies to be funny. It's admittedly hit and miss (with more misses than hits), but there are some elements that, at the very least, will make you smile.

When the comedy is so broad, I guess it's hard to screw up completely.

It's not horrible, but it's not going to win awards, either.

A parody of the Godfather. How timely.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=19&reviewer=7
originally posted: 08/27/98 14:10:26
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

11/24/10 zenny underrated stupid fun 4 stars
5/01/10 PAUL SHORTT LOPE ALONG AIMLESSLY, SQUANDERING MOST OF ITS BEST IDEAS IN ITS FIRST HALF-HOUR 2 stars
2/12/07 johnnyfog Anyone who laughs at old lady farts that blow up buildings is a stupid fuck 1 stars
10/21/04 jmsynth Lame in places, but much funnier than it's reputation 4 stars
4/21/04 Casey G This with "Dirty Work", "Loaded Weapon", and "Office Space"=hilarious movie night 5 stars
2/29/04 Kev I laughed, but not for the right reasons... 1 stars
12/14/03 Shelly Howard C'est eine pelicula tres vyelikyaya. 5 stars
11/23/03 John Bale Mainly nonsense - but clever slapstick gets a laugh or three 4 stars
3/30/03 Peter I realy love this movie. This is one of the greatest movies I have ever seen. 5 stars
2/03/03 john its good shut up u hatas 5 stars
9/06/02 Agglepraxis Lowball laughs-I guess I'm just a spoof sucker. 3 stars
8/22/02 ! It's a blame for the godfather, but its quite funny 4 stars
8/20/02 I Can't Swim Loads of fun for those 11 or under; all others will be forced to make a face 1 stars
5/28/02 Carla Metzger Whole cast kicks ass; Olympia Dukakis does still more therewith - what a blast! 5 stars
5/14/02 Heather Purplethorne Hit&miss fun, but I doubt Jane Austen had anything to do with it!! 4 stars
4/12/02 oldgoatmon I demanded my money back. I shoulda asked for more. 1 stars
2/11/02 Shelly Howard C'est eine pelicula tres vyelikyaya. 5 stars
1/01/02 Andrew Carden Underrated and Quite Imaginative Spoof On The Mafia. 4 stars
8/25/01 Brian Jacobson MASSIVE GODFATHER RIP-OFF. 2 stars
8/08/01 Mr. Hat Not that funny, but pretty funny. 3 stars
7/28/01 Steve Some really funny shit, but almost fell asleep between the jokes. Senseless, no plot 1 stars
6/14/01 Andreas Mafia! Is the funniest video i have seen. 5 stars
1/26/01 Nicole Sure there wasn't humour in some bits but it was the best movie ever,. 5 stars
12/02/00 Mitja Podgajski One of the worst comedies I have ever seen... 1 stars
8/10/00 Bender Underrated. Come on, there's plenty of funny gags in it. 4 stars
10/28/99 Lame-Oh I hate that girl from Jesse 1 stars
4/12/99 Go Swans If they'd put Leslie Nielsen in it, it could well have been the worst film of all time. 1 stars
3/24/99 Viral Messiah shit shit shit shit shit shit shit shit 1 stars
3/12/99 Ah Dooey sucked. Worse than the movies Leslie Nielsen starred in. 1 stars
10/07/98 Korny Island A comedy in search of laughs. One extra star for the "El Nino" gaga, and that's all. 2 stars
9/23/98 Milhouse Faqw A surprise. If you love spoof movies, you'll LIKE this. But Bridges was way past Airplane. 4 stars
9/21/98 MR HOLLYWOOD A comedy with not much to offer,little giggles here and there ! 3 stars
9/13/98 Chip Taylor This shows how the parody genre has run-out of ideas. 2 stars
9/05/98 Mike Lancaster Not one funny moment. The audience sat in stunned silence for 90 mins. 1 stars
8/24/98 Puppy78 (not the golden reciever) mmmm...parody film, with a big red assed baboon on its head. 4 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball Reeeeeeeally bad. Applegate will need a comeback for her comeback after this. 1 stars
8/22/98 Mister Whoopee The end of the line for this type of comedy. The genre is dead. 2 stars
8/16/98 Pythomas I guess the A-Z-Z team needs to reunite to make something of Airplane!-caliber again. 3 stars
8/12/98 {{OZ}} Complete waste of time. I snuck in and I still feel ripped off. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  24-Jul-1998 (PG-13)
  DVD: 21-May-2002

UK
  N/A

Australia
  06-Aug-1998 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast