Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.78

Awesome35.23%
Worth A Look: 27.27%
Just Average: 25%
Pretty Crappy: 5.68%
Sucks: 6.82%

5 reviews, 58 user ratings


Latest Reviews

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

Endless, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Velvet Goldmine
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by K-Dog

"Go see it when you can, but this ain't no fluffy music story"
4 stars

Now I was waiting to see this film...

Was it any good?

Well, yes it was bloody good actually...

I would place the acting on a podium here, it was just superb, especially Christian Bale. Also notable is Ewan McGregor (who also sings quite well) and Eddie Izzard (who I always think is cool).
Also the Soundtrack was excellent (Thom Yorke from Radiohead / Brian Molko from Placebo etc..)
The direction was top notch..
The script was cool..

But I hated one thing about this film....

What could be wrong with the film after all my praises?

Well it was one niggling thing, John Rhys Meyers, (who acts as the 70's rock star, Brian Slade, who mysteriously disappeared and who the story concerns). In this role he is fine, but the character just annoyed the hell out of me. This not the fault of the actor, this was the part, the character just depressed me.

Other than that though the film is excellent.. It is very hard hitting in the same way as trainspotting was, but all in all I think this is a huge success of a film.

Go see it when you can, but this ain't no fluffy story you can let your kids see. It has lots of nudity (Ewan gets it out for the ladies) and Drug use.... I love wholesome films like this.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=190&reviewer=23
originally posted: 09/02/98 08:50:06
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

7/28/13 PAUL SHORTT UNPLEASANT, THIN, INCOMPREHENSIBLY POINTLESS TRASH 1 stars
9/12/09 Florio Was expecting more. Why did Toni Collette's accent change from British to American? 3 stars
2/08/08 emma intricately structured plot which gives credit to the intelligence of the audience 5 stars
8/28/05 Racg Ewan. Naked. Does it need further explanation? n_n 5 stars
6/22/05 Albert Einstein This movie sucked balls 1 stars
6/10/05 Lucy Naked people shouldn't jump...unless you're Ewan McGregor. 4 stars
6/09/05 Julia Great movie with great actors! 5 stars
5/29/05 Alyson An electrifying movie. Ewan is a hot rockstar. Yes!! 5 stars
5/26/04 Ms Flaming Creature This is an amazing glammy film with all the most fabulous people in it. Vive glitter! 5 stars
9/25/03 Les beauty 5 stars
3/24/03 Jack Sommersby Good music, glacially paced story. Underwhelming performance by Bale. 2 stars
2/02/03 Janelle Rocky Horror meets Eddie and the Cruisers 5 stars
1/20/03 Rene Flashy, stylish and Ewan is yummy! It's flamboyant and all around entertaining. 5 stars
1/17/03 kaite this film is awsome 5 stars
11/24/02 Charles Tatum A film that literally rocked 5 stars
10/04/02 Padraic almost as good as trainspotting 5 stars
9/14/02 Crystal a fucking grate movie. Ewan is such a hottie 5 stars
6/10/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi i (L) ewan 5 stars
5/25/02 fjkdljskfds mcgreggor and rhys myers? hotttt... 4 stars
5/23/02 natasha amazing performances of Ewan McGregor and Toni Colette give stunning visuals honest core 5 stars
4/22/02 jay it has ewan mcgregor and johnny kissing!!!!!!!! need i say more? 4 stars
4/21/02 Kathryn Lush!Because it had Ewan McGregor & Jonathon Rhys Myers in it! 4 stars
4/04/02 Edfink Lombardo Interesting costumes...Adds nothing new to the genre, but it's not awful either.. 3 stars
2/03/02 The Movie Club It Sucked Bad!!!! And we LIKE weird movies!! 1 stars
9/07/01 darrin perrone fucking terrific!!!!loved it 5 stars
8/10/01 Adrian "like a slap on my ass by a lipstick-kissed elbow glove" 5 stars
8/03/01 Alana Piersanti Beautiful and confusing, but in a good way. MacGregor is BREATHTAKING!!!! 5 stars
7/31/01 Vixor awesome movie, with an awesome cast- Jonathon Rhys Meyers rocks- the music was great 5 stars
7/21/01 gus it's not bad 5 stars
7/01/01 jason total pretentious arty shit 1 stars
4/21/01 Rose Rocking film!! Loved the perfromance by Brian Molko as the singer in the Flaming Creatures! 5 stars
4/21/01 viking An intriguing look at the glam era. Some great musical numbers. 4 stars
4/17/01 Rose .g i think the cast was pretty hot and the plot was good 5 stars
3/13/01 perverted pixie Rhys, Molko, Izzard, Bale...sexy as Hell. The film? A mess. But a darn funky one! 5 stars
1/22/01 Lyra jonny is amazing! i love this movie! 5 stars
1/06/01 oh su jeong fun 1 stars
1/04/01 Cora van Voornamen I thought it was fabulous 5 stars
5/01/00 Joel Hunt rhis movie is captivating, if only for the costunes and songs. 4 stars
4/23/00 Ryan A storybook film... how great 4 stars
4/01/00 Tera Brilliant, thought Brian Slade is a prick 5 stars
3/22/00 georgia xanthopoulou absolutely PERFECT 5 stars
3/06/00 J. AlŠn Blankenship Great music, cast, story, EVERYTHING...A real classic. 5 stars
2/16/00 Bozo a major disappointment for me but its always nice seeing Ewan's schlong 2 stars
2/15/00 Neil Austin Er..one good thing...EDDIE IZZARD 2 stars
1/20/00 PervertedPixie Rhys Meyers, Bale, Ewan, Ed Izzard and Brian Molko, all in one foxy flick! 5 stars
8/17/99 John Roberson Ewan MacGregor's performance is all that save this thing. 3 stars
6/09/99 Kate It has Ewan....Nude. Great costumes/makeup. And just a lot of fun. 5 stars
1/01/99 FERAL BERAL flashback films are always difficult and this one dosn't work.overall disapointing film 3 stars
12/19/98 Tom Ripley Worth a look, yes, but what was the point? There's really nothing new here. 4 stars
12/06/98 Mr Showbiz An opulent paean to the glam rock scene. Juicy entertainment, pure and simple. 4 stars
11/24/98 Bridgette jonathan rhys meyers, ewan mcgregor-- both deliciously wonderful. a trite boring though. 4 stars
11/23/98 Pascal B I have to disagree: except for costumes, this film sucked in a terminally boring way. 2 stars
11/19/98 J Sweet 5 stars
11/19/98 evil buffy love ewan, so i had to see it. kinda no plot but still lots of fun to see, intersting. 4 stars
11/10/98 Ebbster sexy story and soundtrack, flawed story-telling, terrific acting all around 4 stars
11/09/98 jeff j. Monstrously off-target. So long. 1.D. characterization 1 stars
10/19/98 Aint-It-Cool Todd Haynesí new glam rock extravaganza is a dud. Don't bother. 2 stars
8/29/98 {{{OZ}}} a winner at Cannes, and one of the best films of this year. McGregor not up to standard. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  06-Nov-1998 (R)
  DVD: 01-Mar-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  05-Nov-1998 (MA)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast