Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.28

Awesome26.16%
Worth A Look: 25%
Just Average: 19.19%
Pretty Crappy: 9.88%
Sucks: 19.77%

13 reviews, 94 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Me, Myself and Irene
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Rob Gonsalves

"More scandalous fun from the Farrellys."
4 stars

The late Kevyn Aucoin, a few years back, transformed a bunch of modern-day actresses into classic-movie actresses and published the makeover photos in two books. Jim Carrey could publish a book like that, too, but he wouldn't need makeup -- the entire book could chronicle his thousand facial expressions.

In Me, Myself & Irene, there's a brilliant moment in which Carrey, as a mild-mannered Rhode Island highway motorcycle cop, is pushed over the edge and morphs from nice-guy Charlie to another, more aggressive personality, named Hank. The camera sits and watches Carrey as he twitches and bends his features like so much Silly Putty. Who needs computer effects when you have Jim Carrey? He does more amazing things from the neck up than most people can do with an entire FX crew.

Me, Myself & Irene is another gleefully offensive comedy from Peter and Bobby Farrelly, the Rhode Island brothers whose There's Something About Mary owned the summer of 1998 and was the youngest movie to earn a spot on AFI's 100 Funniest Movies list. Their new movie, for some people, may suffer in comparison, and there aren't any scenes that made me laugh as long and hard as the smackdown between Ben Stiller and Warren. But MM&I is still consistently filthy and funny, with the Farrellys' usual attention to disability that will surely be misread as insensitivity to disability. The Farrelly universe is populated by people of all shapes, sizes, colors, and mental/physical problems, and we laugh at them not because they're different but because they're human -- they're as screwed up as anyone else.

Like Mary, MM&I has a lengthy opening act setting up the story. Some reviews will inevitably blow some of the surprises for you, so I'll let you discover for yourself how the very white Charlie winds up with three black sons who grow up to be gargantuan high-school kids with gargantuan IQs to match. (The trio of sons are played by Anthony Anderson, Jerod Mixon, and Mongo Brownlee. Remember those names -- you'll probably be hearing them a lot. These guys steal the movie, which isn't easy considering the star.) After Charlie snaps and becomes the mean, psychotic Hank (which is multiple-personality disorder, not schizophrenia, contrary to the movie's definition), he's assigned to deliver a criminal named Irene (Renée Zellweger) from Rhode Island to upstate New York. Problem is, both Charlie and Hank fall in love with Irene along the way.

Along the way, there are also jokes involving ... well, I originally listed a few in here, but (A) that would be giving away the jokes, and (B) most of them are fairly unprintable. The Farrellys' comedy depends a lot on the shock value of raunchy sight gags; earlier audiences got more of a bang out of the hair-gel scene in Mary than later viewers did, after it became the talk of the summer. I don't know what will be the water-cooler outrage in MM&I, though a couple of scenes involving animals may qualify; so might the morning-after scene between Charlie and Irene, which gives us the classic line "I didn't put it up there -- you did!"

Renée Zellweger re-establishes herself here as a woman to watch; like Cameron Diaz in Mary, she's a good sport and a note of class amid boy's-club hijinks. But it's really Carrey's show, as any Carrey movie has to be. Whether he's the hapless Charlie or the Eastwood-esque Hank, Carrey keeps us connected to his lowest desires and highest hopes; this is actually a fairly detailed and sensitive portrait of mental disability, done in a low-comedy context.

At one point Charlie bursts into tears, and you're torn between feeling sorry for him and laughing at the ridiculous whistling noise coming from his broken nose. Carrey and the Farrellys specialize in that kind of split-personality scene, where you don't know whether to laugh or cry. They also tell you, What the hell, you might as well laugh.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1902&reviewer=416
originally posted: 01/14/07 23:44:45
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/06/17 Louise Pants. I switched off after ten minutes. 1 stars
2/19/11 Durwood It was good and crude! 5 stars
12/21/10 Josie Cotton is a goddess A hit and miss comedy with a lot more misses 2 stars
3/03/10 PAUL SHORTT TASTELESS AND UNPLEASANT 1 stars
9/02/08 Shaun Wallner Funny Flick!! 5 stars
3/08/07 cokehead awesome movie, hillarious. 4 stars
6/25/06 MP Bartley Damn funny stuff I have to say. 4 stars
3/27/06 Brian Meyer FUNNY ONCE. VULGAR EVERYTIME AFTERWARDS. 3 stars
4/12/05 Indrid Cold Quite a bit of it is unfunny, but not a disaster. 3 stars
12/27/04 fb not a bad comedy at all 3 stars
8/02/04 Anthony G fucking funny 5 stars
6/18/04 J That Jim Carrey is a funny Mothe &^@#$! 5 stars
6/01/04 Daveman In the film's best moments, the input of the Farrelys' talent is evident. 3 stars
12/07/03 Samuel Jim Carrey is probably the funniest man alive!!! 4 stars
10/25/03 Jiz The black kids made the movie, but Carrey seemed burned out. 3 stars
6/20/03 George Jung Sommersby is a queer. Super queer. 2 stars
5/23/03 Shadaan Felfeli The cow with the never say die attitude was hillarious 2 stars
4/15/03 Jack Bourbon Pissed Pants! "You'll end up at Stanford with tham Slang-Blade motherfuckers!" 5 stars
4/13/03 LIAM JACKSON this film is great.there should be more of us like hank. if people bug u, kick their ass!!! 5 stars
4/12/03 Jack Sommersby Note to filmmakers: A guy defecating on a lawn isn't funny. 1 stars
3/16/03 Peter This movie ROCKS! Carrey can do anything! You gotta be a fan of his to like this though... 5 stars
2/18/03 Berserker Carey calling the little girl "fuckface" is one of the greatest moments in movie history 4 stars
10/16/02 Charles Tatum Farrellys and Jim took a dive with this one 1 stars
9/02/02 AshFan The Farrelly's strike back! Funny, but the nonstop profanity doesn't click. 3 stars
8/23/02 Sully those motherfucking black sons, make the motherfucking movie, you motherfucker.... 5 stars
8/13/02 palaboy101 Some people just don't get it... they diss a good movie and praise the awful ones! 5 stars
6/05/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi the cow scene.....fucking pisser, and his sons.....fucking awesome!! 5 stars
4/29/02 Jeremy its okay but its kinda gross 4 stars
3/24/02 Chris I hated dumb and dumber, but that movie was a brilliant cinematic work compared to this POS 1 stars
2/28/02 Butterbean Pretty damn funny until Rene' "Boring Ass" Zellwegger killed it, just like in Jerry Maguire 4 stars
2/25/02 Mark Lloyd Not Carrey's best, but plent of belly laughs here 4 stars
2/23/02 Jenny Tullwartz Jim Carrey can be so much better! And chicken up ass?? Geeeez! 2 stars
1/24/02 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This is the best Jim carry movie ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
1/15/02 David A. WHo doesn't love to see a guy with a live chicken up his butt? 4 stars
12/26/01 Andrew Carden Unfunny and Lame Carrey Feature. 1 stars
12/14/01 Cracked head Ladies and gentlemen, here's Carrey's career flushing down the toilet. 1 stars
12/06/01 megan i read all of these crap reviews and no one metioned that the character is not a "schizo" 1 stars
12/02/01 Monster W. Kung Pathetic, tiresome, childish, lame, and REALLY, REALLY unfunny. 1 stars
11/28/01 KMG Pussy fart!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!11 3 stars
11/25/01 Smoogles Yawn....Jim Carrey is played out, can we see him beat himself AGAIN? Yawn 1 stars
8/19/01 KCobain In very poor taste, the narrator sucked too. What a bomb! 2 stars
8/08/01 E-Funk My least favorite Farrelly Bros. movie, but that is far from sucking ass. 4 stars
8/06/01 Joe Zappa One of the funniest. Those who loath it should go circumsize yourselves w/ a chainsaw! 5 stars
6/28/01 King Jackass I suffer from advanced delusionary skitzo frany a with involuntary narscisitic rage. 5 stars
6/28/01 Geebo I thought it was funny, nothing to laugh out loud about though. 4 stars
6/24/01 Bront fucking funny 5 stars
5/19/01 kingjackass222 simply friggin hilarious 5 stars
3/14/01 Richard Wright With the talent behind this film, it was nowhere near as funny as it should have been. 2 stars
2/15/01 Del R A little sausage humor never hurt anyone- great gags 4 stars
2/14/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) Eh... 3 stars
2/06/01 G Fargo Bad~to~Worse 1 stars
2/01/01 Dan Waldman This year's Fight Club 2 stars
1/28/01 Nic For the most part, I couldn't sit through this movie. I wouldn't rush out to see it. 2 stars
1/14/01 Yoshi Pissed myself, funny as. the poor cow! 5 stars
1/11/01 Matt69 the black sons steal the movie 3 stars
12/27/00 Andriessen Gianni it's very good 5 stars
12/25/00 mer by and large is very good one 4 stars
12/04/00 Izzy This movie is fucking hilarious! I love it! I dont see how its bad! it cant be! 5 stars
9/06/00 Brad Funniest gross-out movie of the year 5 stars
8/19/00 The Bomb 69 funny but should have been so much more 3 stars
7/22/00 Boy In The Designer Bubble I know I'm in the minority. But I don't find Jim Carrey funny at all. 1 stars
7/21/00 burton miller a couple of funny scenes - some good ideas - poorly put together 2 stars
7/18/00 jigga blooow!!! i blow my load all over this shitty pic 1 stars
7/17/00 Fenris Utter gutter trash. Jim Carrey should have stuck with drama. 1 stars
7/17/00 Highly overrated. Did have some bright spots though. Obi Wan 3 stars
7/13/00 Cooke No bitches after 11. 5 stars
7/10/00 JonnyA also funny, but...eh 3 stars
7/10/00 Mongo Jim Carrey needs to do fresh things with his talent, but it's still fucking hilarious 5 stars
7/09/00 Wolfmoon If you don't mind not knowing what the bad guys are bad guys for. see it just for carrey 4 stars
7/09/00 Marc It's not a classic like "Mary", but it is pretty fucking funny!! 5 stars
7/07/00 Kris Reilly A dumb-ass plot (or lack thereof), but definitely some funny shit. 4 stars
7/05/00 koHawk No Something...Mary, but I was entertained and mucho laughs 4 stars
7/05/00 PJ I laughed my ass off, Jim Carrey is a genius 5 stars
7/04/00 Blubberbot Another great Farrelly movie. 5 stars
6/30/00 Chartsy You know you're going to see it sooner or later, might as well get it over with... 4 stars
6/30/00 EWillieL Laughed so hard, our friends were embarrassed to be with us! 5 stars
6/29/00 PhilmPhreak Some really funny moments. Some weak ass moments. Check it out. 4 stars
6/29/00 Jokko Screw the plot, I laughed my ass off. 5 stars
6/26/00 DatherFrawdad yawn 3 stars
6/26/00 Greyjack They should've shaved off about 40 minutes early on; gets funnier at the end. 2 stars
6/26/00 tom rush sucks 1 stars
6/25/00 Bubby Carey rocked. Story blew. Kind of a waste. 3 stars
6/25/00 Purple Monster Political incorrectness has gone too far !!! 3 stars
6/24/00 Louis FUNNY! 5 stars
6/24/00 FilmStar Very funny...Jim Carey was great, movie kind of dragged sometimes 4 stars
6/24/00 Mr J M HARWOOD A bit long for a comedy 5 stars
6/24/00 Belinda Very slow. Narration is very Disney-like. 2 stars
6/24/00 "Persnickety" wow, a movie this funny was LONG over due, JIM rocks!!! 5 stars
6/23/00 Piz Worth the ticket stub for laughs, awesome soundtrack too! 4 stars
6/21/00 Movie Freek a truly brilliant piece of comedy. it's Fight Club revised by the genius Farrellys bros. 5 stars
6/19/00 PJ Holly Christ was this movie funny as all hell, Jim Carrey is just simply brilliant! 5 stars
6/19/00 Captain Highcrime Terrible script based on Carrey's rubberface abilities alone. A genuine piece of shit. 1 stars
6/18/00 cinesuerte American Pie & Road Trip are student films compared to this, FUNNY 5 stars
6/18/00 STEVE GLOMB FUNNY,VERY JIM CARREY FUNNY! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  23-Jun-2000

UK
  N/A

Australia
  22-Jun-2000 (MA)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast