Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.15

Awesome: 4.08%
Worth A Look: 17.01%
Just Average: 10.88%
Pretty Crappy: 25.85%
Sucks42.18%

8 reviews, 99 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Mission to Mars
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Erik Childress

"A Grand Old-Fashioned Sci-Fi Film"
4 stars

Mission To Mars (***) Ė When I was nine years old, my parents took me to Disneyland. No other place there sparked my imagination quite as much as Tomorrowland. With its futuristic setting and rocketships flying high above all the other rides, where else was a kid of nine to be? In Tomorrowland (in 1984) there was a simulation ride called Mission to Mars. It seems only appropriate that Disney-owned Touchstone Pictures now releases a feature-length film with the same title.

The last time I can remember going to Mars in the movies was back in 1990 with Arnold Schwarzenegger and Total Recall. That film took place well after the colonization of the planet Mars (in 2084). The latest film begins in 2020 where the first manned-mission is about to take place. But not before director Brian DePalma gets off on the right track by allowing us some quiet time with our heroes. Thereís an early scene at a party where Sinise, Cheadle and Robbins sit around and talk over a couple of beers. The scene is allowed to be played out naturally and through the skill of the three actors, we believe that these guys have been and will be friends for life. Itís a throwaway scene, but an important one that speaks volumes about the characters and immediately makes Mission To Mars more Deep Impact than Armageddon. Soon after, there is a moment that will make some question how this film ever survived getting a PG-rating, but that thought will drown away when you see the innocuous nature of the rest of the film. This is near-perfect family viewing. Little-to-no bad language. No gratuitous violence. And love is shown (by Tim Robbins & Connie Nielsen) not through tearing off each otherís clothes but by smiling and dancing together in zero gravity, where itís nice to know that people still listen to Van Halen in the future. This isnít to say that those with the kid inside themselves wonít enjoy it either, getting breathlessly exciting at times. DePalma pulls off a 20-minute double suspense sequence that begins when you least suspect it and itís among the best heís ever done. Early comparisons have likened this to Kubrickís 2001: A Space Odyssey and similarities will be drawn between it and countless other sci-fi dramas. But Mission To Mars is more Apollo 13 than Star Wars. More Contact and Close Encounters than Independence Day. But since DePalma is up to his old tricks it becomes more 2010 than 2001, which will please some (like me) and anger a whole lot more. The last twenty minutes of the film are a little trivial and no matter what audience you see it with you are bound to hear some snickering. Some anti-Evolution theorists arenít likely to appreciate what is suggested during those final scenes and the most cynical of critics will just trash it. But if you get swept up in the wonder of it all, youíll accept anything. Perfect example late in the film when many of the characters begin talking about their discoveries as ďimpossibleĒ. Gary Sinise steps up with a couple of lines so perfect as to stomp out such thoughts by his comrades or even the audience.

Mission To Mars is a fun movie. Plain and simple. Despite any of its flaws, itís a grand old-fashioned sci-fi film that will make you feel like a kid in Disneyland.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1903&reviewer=198
originally posted: 03/09/00 18:32:47
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/10/09 Gary What a piece of shit! I wouldn't even wipe my ass with the film reel. HORRIBLE 1 stars
9/29/09 CSB Pure rubbish... 1 stars
10/30/08 Shaun Wallner Very Boring! 1 stars
2/03/08 Pamela White mission average 3 stars
11/17/07 Tee Given a choice, I'd rather watch a sewer than this again. 1 stars
4/30/07 Indrid Cold Not so bad. Obviously De Palma was going for a 2001-style slow-paced elegance. 3 stars
2/08/07 David Pollastrini HORRIBLE, ABSOLUTELY HORRIBLE 1 stars
8/18/05 ES Gary Sinise & Tim Robbins I thought forn sure this thing was going to rock 3 stars
2/21/05 Captain Craig Should have paid for a technical advisor. Missed potential 2 stars
1/27/05 Charlie I would rather have my fingnails torn off with pliers than have to sit through this again! 1 stars
9/26/04 P.Rodriguez Grossly Underated. 5 stars
8/11/04 Nikolai Soviet techno propels uppity from nihilistic psychotic compatriots to wanton skanks embrace 1 stars
7/28/04 Evan Good God! what a load of crap. 1 stars
5/31/04 Nobody Has absolutely no believeability. 1 stars
2/17/04 john unbelievably bad - so bad it becomes an achievement in being bad 1 stars
2/03/04 Jingo P. NOT the way De Palma should end his career. Bland, lame, and HUGELY cliched. 2 stars
1/03/04 Jeanette I thought it was great. positive ending 5 stars
11/29/03 john hard to believe until you actually see it - unbelievably bad! 1 stars
7/05/03 Jack Sommersby Technically adept but emotionally aloof. 2 stars
2/18/03 P.Rodriguez If da "pretty crappy" kiddies wanna go watch a mov I suggst SWEp1 so u can get off on jaja 5 stars
2/10/03 Ubu the Ripper Proof that Brian DePalma was replaced with a retard lookalike who can't direct. 1 stars
10/23/02 Charles Tatum Better than Red Planet 4 stars
10/23/02 Keely Allison When the end credits rolled, I had to wake up the two friends who were with me 1 stars
9/23/02 Eric 7of9, I heartily agree. Great movie for those who ever dreamed of discovery. 5 stars
6/18/02 7of9 Get Fu#@ed brainless idiots out there, everybody else enjoy 4 stars
2/25/02 Butterbean "The Best sci-fi since Contact"? That's not a compliment, but it sums up my review, Ric 2 stars
1/23/02 Jim Zzzzzzzzzzzz 2 stars
1/17/02 Spyguy2 WOW this sucked...Gary Sinise looked like he was in drag 2 stars
12/07/01 Monster W. Kung Unoriginal, but not nearly as awful as the idiots say. Wait for cable. 3 stars
8/26/01 ric Best sci-fi since Contact. 5 stars
8/08/01 E-Funk Bob, Lord Of Evil wrote the greatest fucking review...this movie is awful. 1 stars
8/07/01 rtheerman i love sinise, the music, but needed more meat to the script. Slow doesn't = good. 4 stars
8/05/01 badfish Call me mindless i dont care.Loved it,own it! 5 stars
7/03/01 Monday Morning Pretty good...compared to "Cabin Boy". 2 stars
7/01/01 chad I just want the car he drove in the begging 2 stars
4/23/01 I love movies pretty bad............................................................................... 2 stars
4/09/01 Gary This is a stupid and boring movie. 1 stars
3/07/01 Mike Whoever puts anything other than total crap should be shot with DePalma! 1 stars
2/22/01 INCUBATOR C`mon, people, it`s good and it could be true from the scientific point of view. 4 stars
1/15/01 bats oh, what crap! oh, what BORING crap! 1 stars
12/17/00 Tom it wasn't that bad! God, try watching Battlefield Earth, then you'll know a bad film! 3 stars
11/22/00 Tob1 A waste of my precious time..See you in court mr DePalma 1 stars
11/13/00 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi Hopelessly depressing yet devoid of any sort of nuance. Robbins and Sinise deserve better. 2 stars
9/29/00 lainey louise worse fuckin movie i've seen 1 stars
9/17/00 Suzz Bad. Really, really bad. 1 stars
6/16/00 Terry B. This movie sucked more than any other movie has ever sucked before. 1 stars
5/06/00 punkass Not as bad as some have suggested, I have seen many, many worse films this year. 3 stars
5/04/00 Konnektedzki Bad dialog, bad plot, bad science, and an all-star cast in the worst roles of their careers 1 stars
4/28/00 MR joel harwood . 1 stars
4/28/00 Richard Wright After 2 hours of this utter tripe I expected was a great ending so I waited and.. WHAT?! 1 stars
4/21/00 Danny Sykes Good concept that was very underrated 4 stars
4/19/00 Maclay01 Derivative yes. Hokey yes. Homogenized yes. But good sci-fi & great FX. Come on its Disney! 4 stars
4/17/00 Brien OMG that SUCKED! 1 stars
4/15/00 Steve Brian DePalma can't direct a movie and this is no exception 1 stars
4/10/00 Garry Johnstone A truly appalling movie. 1 stars
4/10/00 Louis SUCKS 1 stars
4/09/00 lazt lighten up,it's good sci-fi fun!!! 4 stars
4/07/00 burton t. e. miller sloooooowwwww.... 2 stars
4/06/00 SID I was expecting cow shit, and I ended up really enjoying it. Maybe you will too. 4 stars
4/05/00 kohawk the movie was so fucking funny that instead of leaving, I stayed if only to ridicule it 1 stars
4/05/00 Bruce so bad it was laughable 1 stars
4/03/00 PJ Why DePalma, Your talented, the movie was a kiddie movie with no substance, and theme. 2 stars
3/31/00 Pat L 120 minutes instead of 90 because of too much sloppy emotion. Zero-G dance scene was nice. 2 stars
3/31/00 entropy I thought hollywood finally got the idea, i guess not 1 stars
3/26/00 Lame-Oh holy Swiss cheese, it blows. makes the folks at NASA look like morons 1 stars
3/26/00 ITCHYPINGY mission to mars? more like mission to your anus, this movie blows ass chunks! 1 stars
3/26/00 Malbert mission to HELL!!!! what the fuck?!?!?! 1 stars
3/24/00 Chartsy Oh, the humanity! I can't believe movies like this are made. 1 stars
3/24/00 malcolm not the action film i hoped for but still very good. robbins' last scene was wonderful. 4 stars
3/24/00 Lipian This movie is the biggest piece of shit that I have ever seen. Fuck you Mission to Mars 1 stars
3/22/00 Kandor I forgot that I'd seen this movie by the time I got home! Even the special effects suck! 1 stars
3/20/00 Laura ouch. that one hurt 1 stars
3/20/00 dash Pretty cool. No monsters, invading aliens or evil machines. Some actual thought occurred. 4 stars
3/18/00 Adam I get the feeling this is gonna clean up at the Razzies next year... 1 stars
3/18/00 Kris Reilly Wonderful cinematography. Stiff dialogue and acting, corny music, and a very corny ending. 3 stars
3/16/00 Dirty Dave Capone horrible movie, did anyone catch the CORNY music played throughout this shitty movie?SUCKS! 1 stars
3/14/00 Sine This film's so bad, it's hilarious. You've gotta see it, if only to redefine 'bad' 4 stars
3/14/00 pipeman looks good, but otherwise is painful to watch. Ack. Ptui. 1 stars
3/14/00 Lame-Oh Houston, we have a problem. It's a sissy movie. 1 stars
3/13/00 Stan Wright It's no Oscar winner, but still a good sci-fi ride. 4 stars
3/13/00 Ataraxia In a'serious' scientific movie you really shouldn't break the laws of physics several times 2 stars
3/13/00 Richard Lewis Pretty disappointing, and I worked on it! 2 stars
3/13/00 Terrance Phillip This movie is like none other before, please for the love of god don't see it. 1 stars
3/13/00 TODD REEK BLOWS CHUNCKS/ IS THERE A RATING LOWER THAN SUCKS ALL ASS ? THERE SHOULD BE 1 stars
3/13/00 JonnyAngel plop...plop... 2 stars
3/13/00 Captain Highcrime Yet another attempt by H'wood to explain the meaning of life. BORING! 2 stars
3/12/00 woo hoo Ehhh....good if you like schmaltz 1 stars
3/12/00 eric 'reverend' maultsby tried to be contact but profoundly failed, go see the ninth gate 2 stars
3/12/00 Jim The future is lame: SUV dunebuggy elec. cars, recursive self vidtaping, Van Halen in zeroG? 2 stars
3/12/00 Matt Bad science, corny lines, wooden delivery. Still, they go to mars! go see this! 3 stars
3/12/00 Louis OH. MY. GOD. this movie sucked in the worst way. see wonderboys instead 1 stars
3/11/00 Brian I kept hoping for it to redeem itself, but it just kept pulling out sci-fi cliches 1 stars
3/11/00 TimmyToday Was as cold and distant as the planet Mars is from earth. 2 stars
3/11/00 Antigone Great material for Mystery Science Theater! Remember, don't drink and laugh your ass off. 1 stars
3/11/00 nthdegree@hotmail.com it sucked really bad. 1 stars
3/10/00 ladislau Erik, you're right! Good-old-plain movies are rare these times! Two fingers up! 4 stars
3/10/00 mike b depalma's done it again. ripped everyone off to make another mediocre genre movie. avoid!!! 1 stars
3/10/00 Ben Ryan Too much story in a poorly acted storyline.. 3 stars
3/10/00 Xalt Got cheesy at the end. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  10-Mar-2000 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  06-Apr-2000




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast