Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.77

Awesome37.58%
Worth A Look: 33.76%
Just Average: 7.64%
Pretty Crappy: 10.19%
Sucks: 10.83%

9 reviews, 103 user ratings



What Dreams May Come
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by f*r*o*s*t*y

"Soulmate schmollmate."
2 stars

Waaah.

As a reviewer, and a lover of great movies, I had so many difficulties with this particular film. Then again, it had a few redeeming points, so it was worth the four bucks I paid to see it. But I think anything more than the four bucks, I would have had to complain.

You all know the plot (if you don't and you want a deeper explination of it, go read someone else's review). From the beginning, Chris (Robin Williams) and his wife Annie (that.. woman whose real name I don't know how to spell) are destined to be soulmates. That, right there, was one of my problems with the movie. If they were soulmates, why didn't we see some *connection* between the two other than sidelong glances and the *occasional* kiss, or whatever. I just wasn't convinced they were soulmates at all. It all seemed like a rehashing of every single cliche I've ever seen. I didn't feel it.

And the kids.. WHAT was up with that? Those kids looked TORTURED! Neither of them seemed really happy, and shouldn't being the children of two "obvious" soulmates make you wear a smile on your face for all time? Christ. It didn't look like there was *any* love in the house, and it seemed as if the parents were almost happy that they lost the kids. As if they could have more time for their "soulmateness."

The other great part was the 'pretty pictures.' Everything was done so awesomely. The scenery was magnificent. Nothing could beat that. It looked as if you could almost reach out and touch the colors. Possibly just like a good acid trip. You never can tell.

Lukewarm rating for a lukewarm film that's destined to be forgotten quickly.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=193&reviewer=22
originally posted: 10/26/98 17:28:14
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

6/06/17 Ed Riddick I found it moving. Sets a very high bar and almost makes it. 4 stars
8/30/11 courtlove beautiful film with straight forward plot. what would you do for love. 5 stars
9/13/10 david too sentimental, and plot doesn't make any sense 2 stars
5/21/10 Eddie Not a movie for those who can´t stand the weight of their cynism and never felt real love 4 stars
10/05/09 hu100 sucks this movie was total crap! why would anyone watch this?!?!?!!? 1 stars
10/24/08 brian I agree with JM Synth 100% 2 stars
10/08/08 ninis to all the ppl that hated this movie they know nothing this movie has many lit. references 5 stars
9/17/08 PAUL SHORTT GREATLY SUFFERS FROM A LACK OF ANY SUBSTANTIAL PLOT 1 stars
7/17/08 STEVE THIS SUCKS, WORST CRAPP I'VE EVER SEEN 1 stars
3/27/08 JM Synth Visuallly impressive but sappy and completely unengaging 2 stars
3/02/08 ladavies thought provoking, beautiful , emotional ...maybe not for everyone 4 stars
9/13/07 DC i actually watched this only for werner herzog's cameo. not worth it by a long shot. sorry 1 stars
7/16/07 fools♫gold Very nicely metaphorical; I wish there was more. Well, onto another film... 4 stars
6/12/07 Danielle Ophelia Check your cynicism and let the movie have the floor. 4 stars
3/12/07 lupe with love anything is possible!! 5 stars
12/04/06 Emily This movie is beautiful, I loved it 5 stars
11/22/06 Rai I loved it, one of the first movies i really cried on 5 stars
8/13/06 Patrick Casanova Despite some theological disagreements, I found this movie to be beautiful and entertaining 5 stars
12/20/05 Indrid Cold Hope the afterlife is more logical than this, but if it looks half this nice, I'd be happy. 4 stars
11/21/05 Paul I didn't know what to expect, but this movie amazed me! 4 stars
10/08/05 Rhonabel Jalipa The movie is so wonderful and awesome! 5 stars
6/24/05 love Robin Williams was not right for this movie and the end has no logical meaning!! 3 stars
4/23/05 Quigley its philosophy is totally twisted, but it has incredible colorful digital landscapes. 4 stars
10/26/04 Erika I think this movie is beautifully made and thought provoking. 4 stars
7/24/04 Christina fabulous 5 stars
7/23/04 ~*Alicia*~ i loved this movie..it was very emotional...and great perfomances by all the charaters 5 stars
5/16/04 Lily Schneider It was a kick-ass movie; very emotional with a lingering sense of hope about death. 5 stars
5/16/04 Daveman Horribley overblown and pretentious. Williams is superb as ever though. 2 stars
2/19/04 R.W. Welch Pretty slow in heaven but it picks up nicely when they get to hell. Awesome visuals. 4 stars
2/12/04 Bryand Gabriel Rasco A film with deeper meaning, beautiful if you will take a closer look. 4 stars
1/24/04 Lorelei This film is my cathdreal of adoration! Beautiful. 5 stars
11/04/03 Sharel VonSeggern I really enjoyed this film. It was brilliant, and inspiring. It really made you think! 5 stars
10/10/03 tintle one of the greatest movies ever 5 stars
5/13/03 vicki lee romanitc,curious,kind if film,loved it! 5 stars
4/25/03 mr. Pink Awful tripe! Even the visuals started to irritate me immensely after 5 minutes. 1 stars
12/29/02 MissBroadway2001 One of my favorites, brilliant performances, brilliant visuals, a must see for movie fans! 5 stars
10/14/02 Charles Tatum Kinda spooky, kinda sad 4 stars
10/06/02 TheOthersFan Only movie I've ever seen that actually pulled the heartstrings. 5 stars
9/22/02 .Choadushouse. An absolutely beautiful film. It's so warm. Don't usually like Robin Williams, but DO here. 5 stars
6/09/02 Jermaine Couldn't be better 5 stars
4/20/02 officer 412/l I CANT BELIEVE PEOPLE ACTUALY LIKE THIS BULLCRAP. ITS THE WORST FILM I'VE EVER SEEN 1 stars
3/01/02 Adrienne Stowe Life force?!? Has big tobacco got movies over the barrel or what? 1 stars
2/05/02 RAISTLIN MAJERE THE BEST MOVIE EVER 5 stars
1/09/02 danny as someone who lost my soulmate, it gave me great peace 5 stars
12/20/01 Corky It was the best movie I have ever seen and my love life has changed because of it! 5 stars
12/10/01 Rey Mendoza Jr This movie is so cool and I have it on VHS and on DVD 5 stars
11/29/01 Amy Fabulous...could watch it twice a week. 5 stars
9/17/01 korakot jai beautiful pics 4 stars
9/12/01 Zoe Fitzgibbon I thought this movie was really stupid the first time i saw it but it was good the 2nd time 4 stars
8/18/01 Dr. Thompson Trite maudlin new age view of heaven. Dante did it better. 1 stars
8/06/01 Mr. Hat The premise was real nice.....but damn..... 2 stars
7/07/01 officer 412/l the worst film I ve ever seen. some one pass the bucket 1 stars
6/04/01 I love movies beautiful crap 1 stars
2/19/01 INCUBATOR When you die, it doesn`t mean your love dies too 5 stars
6/16/00 Bender Overlong, but pretty good, and stunning effects 4 stars
5/11/00 Girl9 Beautiful and unique with a touching message, but certainly not for everyone. 5 stars
3/16/00 Dr Fardook very pretty to look at but shite as a movie 2 stars
2/16/00 Kyle Broflovski So it's sappy, syrupy, and sentimental. Why is that always a BAD thing, hmmmm???? 4 stars
1/18/00 Foxdvd I would rather spend the day picking up soap for Richard Simons 1 stars
12/18/99 Jennifer Hunter Beautiful effects, very emotional, a great experience. 5 stars
12/07/99 dog i think it sucked so bad,it made gandhi look good 1 stars
11/06/99 hum very pretty but not a good movie 3 stars
9/16/99 mr. pink my idea of hell is seeing this movie again 1 stars
7/08/99 Ann Wonderful-really makes you think about what happens when loved ones pass on 5 stars
6/24/99 David Keech Sappy? I would argue honest. Great effects & great script = great movie. 5 stars
4/06/99 unstrung without the SE's:decent film?with the SE's... HOLY SH1T IN YOUR PANTS BATMAN!!!!!! 5 stars
3/19/99 davebo good sets & cg, dialogue needed help and story got too weird 4 stars
3/10/99 Bats Innovative visuals; wish the tone was closer to the book 3 stars
3/08/99 Go Swans This film was so sugary, horrible, soppy, sentimental, manipulative, poxy, sad, confusing. 1 stars
1/16/99 Melissa Visually pleasing. Robin and Cuba were excellent. See it at a theater for the full effect. 4 stars
1/12/99 Miss Scarlett Wow, one of the best movies of the year, very innovative 5 stars
1/10/99 twisted barbie great until the ending...why leave utopia? the book was fabulous, though 4 stars
12/29/98 thEnd Take your serious girlfriend to this one, guaranteed hit! 5 stars
12/21/98 Jim Niles dreary--unwatchable 2 stars
12/18/98 PirateGirl Dogmatic objections aside, visually stunning but NEEDED character development. Felt long. 4 stars
12/11/98 Dave Parrish Slow to start, rushed to end, but that middle part rocked! 4 stars
12/10/98 George Morgan Somehow I can't picture Heaven as a wet oil painting canvas that we slide on. 2 stars
11/27/98 ShadowStar© You wanna know what my dream was watching this movie? THE ROLLING OF THE END CREDITS!!! 1 stars
11/19/98 Scott von Berg brilliant visually. 4 stars
11/07/98 Negative Creep Happiness is your family being dead? But at least you're together for eternity! FUCK THAT! 3 stars
11/06/98 Jayson Lauden Robin Williams delivers another brilliant performance. If you think otherwise you're dumb. 5 stars
11/03/98 Jamoch Stunning visuals, no spark between Williams and Sciorra 4 stars
10/30/98 Specter ok, not great. 3 stars
10/26/98 MR HOLLYWOOD !! inspirational direction!,tear-jrker of a plot,Robin/Sciorra MAKE this movie,Cuba's boring!. 4 stars
10/25/98 me saw it with spork-girl and i agree 5 stars
10/23/98 Christ Monkey Decent. Visually stunning, and touching, but a cop-out ending. 4 stars
10/22/98 Josee Best movie ever! Oscar for Williams! 5 stars
10/19/98 Milhouse Faqw Crap. Boring, predictable and lame. One of the worst of the year. 1 stars
10/19/98 Craig Friggin A! It rocked! 5 stars
10/19/98 Aint-It-Cool It is a romantic adventure epic unlike anything we've ever seen. 5 stars
10/18/98 Kwyjibo It should have been better. Maybe a little too directed at romantics. 4 stars
10/17/98 Mr Showbiz Dripping with visual aplomb and sugar-coated mysticism, Ward’s film is a staunch romance. 4 stars
10/13/98 Sixteen" of swingin' meat and a bucket of balls I laughed. I cried. I loved it. Robin may get himself a new oscar. Cuba was good too. 5 stars
10/12/98 grunter Like the Sex Pistols . . . Pretty, but vacant. Lush imagery, braid-dead plot. 2 stars
10/07/98 Korny Island Loved it. People who have no romance will hate it. Date movie in the extreme. 5 stars
10/04/98 cheryl_ann it reminded me of an acid flashback combined with dante's inferno. 3 stars
10/04/98 Joe thats not the afterlife damnit, but some nice visuals! 2 stars
10/03/98 Jason Very thought provoking 4 stars
10/03/98 Chris I really enjoyed watching it. 5 stars
10/01/98 Simple Pimple Phenomonal. Fucking incredible. 5 stars
9/30/98 {{{OZ}}} Great movie. If you're cynical about romance, don't bother, but otherwise this movie rules. 5 stars
9/13/98 Chip Taylor Stick to comedy, Robin. 1 stars
8/27/98 Mister Whoopee Robin Williams, superb effects and the question of death. Will hit a chord with many. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Oct-1998 (PG-13)
  DVD: 04-Mar-2003

UK
  N/A

Australia
  15-Oct-1998




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast