Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.96

Awesome58.75%
Worth A Look: 8.75%
Just Average: 15%
Pretty Crappy: 5%
Sucks: 12.5%

3 reviews, 62 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Annie Hall
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Laura Kyle

"Somehow 'seems like old times'..."
5 stars

Annie Hall is one of those unique romantic comedies that rises to the top and easily earns a spot in any movie lover's DVD collection. It happens to be my favorite film, like, EVER -- and it's the only romance that could ever contend with my top 5...heck, even 20, movies (barring Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind).

Perhaps it's my love of New York, especially as envisioned by a late 1970's film crew, or my affection for Woody Allen's expectedly witty, neurotic protagonist -- but sitting down to watch Annie Hall gives me a warm and fuzzy feeling inside and not to mention, quite a few laughs.

I'm enormously comfortable with the film, though not in the sense that I understand the references more and more with each viewing (I think I'm finally ahead of Diane Keaton's Annie though).

No... my comfort level actually derives from how darned relatable Annie Hall is -- Allen's casually satirical take on the intellectual elites of Manhattan, from almost 30 years ago, is just as funny today. And the small joys and tragedies of love and romance are illustrated in signature Woody Allen fashion; as a writer, he pokes fun at Annie while making it no secret he adores her. The audience can't help but follow suit.

After seeing Shopgirl a second time this past month, I can't help but draw comparisons between the two movies -- not in the plot, the comedy, or the style though. One gets the feeling he or she is watching a film so personal to its screenwriter, watching a character (Annie) who exists offscreen...after all, Annie Hall was written for Keaton. When you're not distracted by Allen's effortless comedy and the film's affable demeanor, the picture becomes bittersweet; there's some very real regret here.

My favorite part in Annie Hall is curiously devoid of Allen's sarcastic banter (though the scene where Alvy and Annie are waiting in line at the movie theater is priceless...as are many others). It's when Annie sings at a club for the second time ("Seems Like Old Times") -- a song that will later play over the final montage.

There's something so soft about this musical moment in the film, where Allen takes a breather. It simply cements Annie Hall as a terribly intimate, endearing work. It just happens to be riddled with the some of the greatest and most hilarious quotes in movie history too.

The film that gave a kick to both Allen and Keaton's careers, for good reason, is as hilarious and touching as anything you'll ever see on film.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1935&reviewer=369
originally posted: 11/15/05 19:36:54
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/26/15 stanley welles a sickly uninteresting snore-fest 2 stars
11/05/14 meep Like a bunch of woody's films, but this aint one of them, tedious 2 stars
10/05/11 David Hollingsworth Superior Neurotic Comedy 5 stars
6/01/10 User Name Why do we ingage in nonsensical relationships? Because we need the eggs. 5 stars
1/28/10 PAUL SHORTT CLASSY COMEDY WITH WARMTH AND SHARP ONE-LINERS 5 stars
11/17/09 art ANIE HALL IS PATHETIC!,KEATON ACADEMY AWARD SHOULD HAVE BEEN FOR MR.GOODBAR! 1 stars
7/29/09 art ANNIE HALL SUCK"S!,KEATON SHOULD HAVE GOTTEN AN OSCAR FOR LOOKING FOR MR.GOODBAR! 1 stars
5/17/08 rOCKY Star Wars is infinty times better Woody Allen stinks 1 stars
4/23/08 art OVERRATED KEATON SHOULD HAVE WON AN OSCAR FOR LOOKING FOR MR>GOODBAR 1 stars
3/21/08 Pamela White Woody is small man syndrome 2 stars
3/07/08 SamanthaPayntr i've watched this movie many times, it's romantic without being mushy, woody=genius! 5 stars
2/12/08 MP Bartley Always amusing, but not sure why this gets venerated over other Allen fare 4 stars
12/16/07 SylviaP it's a romantic comedy that a guy could see, i LOVE it!!! 5 stars
6/09/06 Joe Welch Speaks a lot of truth; impressive that Woody Allen could observe himself so well 5 stars
11/21/05 Kurtis J. Beard One of Woody's best. Simply put, the funniest Woody film. Keaton is brilliant. 5 stars
10/26/05 chantal excellent 4 stars
10/02/05 CaDizzle THIS piece of crap beat STAR WARS at the oscars?!?!?! 1 stars
7/24/05 JFK woody allen is great 5 stars
6/24/05 Mr Fluffy This movie kicks ass. Woody rocks. 5 stars
3/24/05 indrid cold Especially for its time, very innovative/funny/intelligent. 4 stars
2/14/05 Trelkovsky Another Solo Boring Woody Conversation 1 stars
6/10/04 T. Maj See, kids? Woody Allen was talented, once. 5 stars
6/09/04 Brad Wells Masterful dialogue, great direction. Bittersweet doesn't get any better than this 5 stars
5/21/04 Elena Clearly one of the best films ever made 5 stars
5/17/04 Pinkline Jones Woody go to top of Egocentric Class 1 stars
4/03/04 john neurotic and romantic at the same time - great feeling for the city of NY 5 stars
3/20/04 Peter One of Woody's best 5 stars
3/08/04 Desperado Well Joyce Garza your an idiot you are not old not smart enough to get it, A+ great movie 5 stars
3/02/04 Michael Mungin Twice the movie Star Wars is. Definitely the best movie of that year. 5 stars
2/16/04 Sergeant Hartman overrated.NOT better than star wars 3 stars
6/22/03 Jack Sommersby Always entertaining, but not as clever or insightful as it purports to be. 3 stars
5/28/03 John Aster Habig romantic comedy for neurotics 5 stars
5/19/03 Ryan F. Not his best work, but good nonetheless 4 stars
5/19/03 George Jung One of the greatest movies ever made. 5 stars
5/16/03 mr. Pink Overrated. It has some great moments, but it's also tedious in parts. 3 stars
4/30/03 Joyce Garza The cover of the film said it was a romantic comedy and they lied. I would not recomend it 1 stars
1/19/03 Andrew Callaway The only good romanic comedy and the one of the best comedies ever. 5 stars
11/04/02 j feezy unbelievable 5 stars
10/14/02 Charles Tatum Gimme "Manhattan" or "Radio Days" instead 3 stars
9/28/02 Peter Sherlock NO NO NO 1 stars
9/28/02 Nikkie I really enjoyed this film.... 5 stars
8/28/02 H.A.G Simply brilliant! 5 stars
5/10/02 The Bomb 69 wanted to like it but Sleeper and Manhattan were much better 3 stars
1/02/02 Andrew Carden I Liked Kane's and Simon's Character, but Couldn't Like The Others. 3 stars
10/18/01 Tam The dialogue between Allen and Keaton is very original 4 stars
8/06/01 E-Funk I love this film. It's what introduced me to Woody and his genius. Don't miss this one. 5 stars
6/13/01 Law Firm of Dewey, Cheatam & Howe You speak shellfish! 5 stars
5/30/01 Sarah Woody Allen is annoying 2 stars
4/05/01 David Brown Great film, that is all there is to say. 5 stars
2/24/01 nick berger fuck you greenspan 5 stars
11/17/00 The Bill Head One of the best movies of all time. Allen's best! 5 stars
8/15/00 jonofoz Wonderful... Much like HUSBANDS AND WIVES, but with much broader comedy. Just great!!! 5 stars
7/06/00 Politicsman Woody at his best, poignant, and most hilarious. 5 stars
5/21/00 Jessica Bierman original and funny romantic comedy 4 stars
5/04/00 MEGAN IT WAS FUNNY 4 stars
3/26/00 Alan Greenspan This film SSSSSSSSSSUUUUUUUUUCCCCCCCKKKKKKKSSSSSS!!!!!!! 1 stars
2/13/00 littlebigman my all-time favorite movie 5 stars
1/01/00 Tyson Stewart Funny, smart, romantic, neurotic, entertaining, and excellent! Woody Allen is brilliant! 5 stars
7/16/99 Glenn My favorite all-time film 5 stars
5/02/99 davebo great movie, funny and smart :) 5 stars
4/19/99 bb Woody, Woody ya done good 5 stars
4/11/99 Alonzo (alc311@hotmail.com) Very good movie, and not woody allen's usual overly neurotic crap 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Apr-1977 (PG)
  DVD: 28-Apr-1998

UK
  19-Oct-2001 (15)
  DVD: 10-Jul-2000

Australia
  02-Jul-1977 (M)
  DVD: 29-Sep-1977


Directed by
  Woody Allen

Written by
  Woody Allen
  Marshall Brickman

Cast
  Woody Allen
  Diane Keaton
  Tony Roberts
  Carol Kane
  Paul Simon
  Shelley Duvall



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast