Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.96

Awesome58.75%
Worth A Look: 8.75%
Just Average: 15%
Pretty Crappy: 5%
Sucks: 12.5%

3 reviews, 62 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Annie Hall
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Carina Hoskisson

"If you’re 18, you’re not going to get it, go rent “The Wedding Planner”"
5 stars

I hate romantic comedies. They are saccharine to the point of suicide on glucose. But I keep watching them, like a ten car pile-up. Its not masochism, I think I’m just looking for something to relate to instead of death-by-chocolate-cake to. But Annie Hall is the exception, a movie that delivers on comedy, and yes romance, but doesn’t go begging for suspension of thought to entertain.

The movie focuses on the various women that go through comedian Alvie Singer’s (Woody Allen) life culminating in his relationship with Annie Hall. Hall, played by Diane Keaton, is a complex woman, aware of her inadequacies and diminishing naiveté. She grows and shifts into a woman more interesting each frame. I would argue that Keaton has never and may never deliver another performance that would make this one fall away. This is also a Woody Allen movie that typifies his careful dialogue, but that broadens his humor to an accessible level.

Despite the title, this movie isn’t just about Annie Hall it’s a portrait of one affair as drawn on the entire canvas of Alvie’s life. I suspect that what makes this movie such a classic, is the layers before ‘Alvie & Annie’ and after. Lovers, spouses and friends populate the story with the authentic narrative of a life spent in, out and searching for love.

Every time I watch Annie Hall it gets better, more layered, more poignant. The story of a relationship that doesn’t work isn’t anything new. Most films that try that theme end up either in an ostentatious climactic tragedy like The End of the Affair or ridiculous and melodramatic like Affair to Remember. Nothing touches the quiet reality of a love that just softly stops, not in some grand explosion of temperament, but in the true stillness of an unbinding. And just like in real life & not the movies, Alvie and Annie meet again without igniting a race car engine love, and act like adults who relive the best part of the friendship that kept their love in flame over coffee in Manhattan, yet part in the sobriety of an obsolete love.

And damn, Annie Hall is funny. Outright jokes, physical comedy and even flashbacks play like movies in which the characters observe themselves. The variety will make the movie appeal to almost everyone who would be drawn to a romantic comedy, but still satisfies the itch of viewers with actual intellect.

Annie Hall is a romantic comedy. It is also a love story, a Borscht Belt routine, a tragedy and a documentary. The older you get the better the film gets. If you’re 18, you’re not going to get it, go rent “The Wedding Planner” and call it a night.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1935&reviewer=44
originally posted: 06/18/02 18:26:32
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/26/15 stanley welles a sickly uninteresting snore-fest 2 stars
11/05/14 meep Like a bunch of woody's films, but this aint one of them, tedious 2 stars
10/05/11 David Hollingsworth Superior Neurotic Comedy 5 stars
6/01/10 User Name Why do we ingage in nonsensical relationships? Because we need the eggs. 5 stars
1/28/10 PAUL SHORTT CLASSY COMEDY WITH WARMTH AND SHARP ONE-LINERS 5 stars
11/17/09 art ANIE HALL IS PATHETIC!,KEATON ACADEMY AWARD SHOULD HAVE BEEN FOR MR.GOODBAR! 1 stars
7/29/09 art ANNIE HALL SUCK"S!,KEATON SHOULD HAVE GOTTEN AN OSCAR FOR LOOKING FOR MR.GOODBAR! 1 stars
5/17/08 rOCKY Star Wars is infinty times better Woody Allen stinks 1 stars
4/23/08 art OVERRATED KEATON SHOULD HAVE WON AN OSCAR FOR LOOKING FOR MR>GOODBAR 1 stars
3/21/08 Pamela White Woody is small man syndrome 2 stars
3/07/08 SamanthaPayntr i've watched this movie many times, it's romantic without being mushy, woody=genius! 5 stars
2/12/08 MP Bartley Always amusing, but not sure why this gets venerated over other Allen fare 4 stars
12/16/07 SylviaP it's a romantic comedy that a guy could see, i LOVE it!!! 5 stars
6/09/06 Joe Welch Speaks a lot of truth; impressive that Woody Allen could observe himself so well 5 stars
11/21/05 Kurtis J. Beard One of Woody's best. Simply put, the funniest Woody film. Keaton is brilliant. 5 stars
10/26/05 chantal excellent 4 stars
10/02/05 CaDizzle THIS piece of crap beat STAR WARS at the oscars?!?!?! 1 stars
7/24/05 JFK woody allen is great 5 stars
6/24/05 Mr Fluffy This movie kicks ass. Woody rocks. 5 stars
3/24/05 indrid cold Especially for its time, very innovative/funny/intelligent. 4 stars
2/14/05 Trelkovsky Another Solo Boring Woody Conversation 1 stars
6/10/04 T. Maj See, kids? Woody Allen was talented, once. 5 stars
6/09/04 Brad Wells Masterful dialogue, great direction. Bittersweet doesn't get any better than this 5 stars
5/21/04 Elena Clearly one of the best films ever made 5 stars
5/17/04 Pinkline Jones Woody go to top of Egocentric Class 1 stars
4/03/04 john neurotic and romantic at the same time - great feeling for the city of NY 5 stars
3/20/04 Peter One of Woody's best 5 stars
3/08/04 Desperado Well Joyce Garza your an idiot you are not old not smart enough to get it, A+ great movie 5 stars
3/02/04 Michael Mungin Twice the movie Star Wars is. Definitely the best movie of that year. 5 stars
2/16/04 Sergeant Hartman overrated.NOT better than star wars 3 stars
6/22/03 Jack Sommersby Always entertaining, but not as clever or insightful as it purports to be. 3 stars
5/28/03 John Aster Habig romantic comedy for neurotics 5 stars
5/19/03 Ryan F. Not his best work, but good nonetheless 4 stars
5/19/03 George Jung One of the greatest movies ever made. 5 stars
5/16/03 mr. Pink Overrated. It has some great moments, but it's also tedious in parts. 3 stars
4/30/03 Joyce Garza The cover of the film said it was a romantic comedy and they lied. I would not recomend it 1 stars
1/19/03 Andrew Callaway The only good romanic comedy and the one of the best comedies ever. 5 stars
11/04/02 j feezy unbelievable 5 stars
10/14/02 Charles Tatum Gimme "Manhattan" or "Radio Days" instead 3 stars
9/28/02 Peter Sherlock NO NO NO 1 stars
9/28/02 Nikkie I really enjoyed this film.... 5 stars
8/28/02 H.A.G Simply brilliant! 5 stars
5/10/02 The Bomb 69 wanted to like it but Sleeper and Manhattan were much better 3 stars
1/02/02 Andrew Carden I Liked Kane's and Simon's Character, but Couldn't Like The Others. 3 stars
10/18/01 Tam The dialogue between Allen and Keaton is very original 4 stars
8/06/01 E-Funk I love this film. It's what introduced me to Woody and his genius. Don't miss this one. 5 stars
6/13/01 Law Firm of Dewey, Cheatam & Howe You speak shellfish! 5 stars
5/30/01 Sarah Woody Allen is annoying 2 stars
4/05/01 David Brown Great film, that is all there is to say. 5 stars
2/24/01 nick berger fuck you greenspan 5 stars
11/17/00 The Bill Head One of the best movies of all time. Allen's best! 5 stars
8/15/00 jonofoz Wonderful... Much like HUSBANDS AND WIVES, but with much broader comedy. Just great!!! 5 stars
7/06/00 Politicsman Woody at his best, poignant, and most hilarious. 5 stars
5/21/00 Jessica Bierman original and funny romantic comedy 4 stars
5/04/00 MEGAN IT WAS FUNNY 4 stars
3/26/00 Alan Greenspan This film SSSSSSSSSSUUUUUUUUUCCCCCCCKKKKKKKSSSSSS!!!!!!! 1 stars
2/13/00 littlebigman my all-time favorite movie 5 stars
1/01/00 Tyson Stewart Funny, smart, romantic, neurotic, entertaining, and excellent! Woody Allen is brilliant! 5 stars
7/16/99 Glenn My favorite all-time film 5 stars
5/02/99 davebo great movie, funny and smart :) 5 stars
4/19/99 bb Woody, Woody ya done good 5 stars
4/11/99 Alonzo (alc311@hotmail.com) Very good movie, and not woody allen's usual overly neurotic crap 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Apr-1977 (PG)
  DVD: 28-Apr-1998

UK
  19-Oct-2001 (15)
  DVD: 10-Jul-2000

Australia
  02-Jul-1977 (M)
  DVD: 29-Sep-1977


Directed by
  Woody Allen

Written by
  Woody Allen
  Marshall Brickman

Cast
  Woody Allen
  Diane Keaton
  Tony Roberts
  Carol Kane
  Paul Simon
  Shelley Duvall



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast