Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.88

Awesome: 26.92%
Worth A Look: 11.54%
Just Average: 18.27%
Pretty Crappy: 8.65%
Sucks34.62%

5 reviews, 74 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Toy Story 4 by Peter Sobczynski

Canary (2018) by Jay Seaver

Assassinaut by Jay Seaver

Dead Don't Die, The by alejandroariera

Dead Don't Die, The by Peter Sobczynski

Shaft (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

Men in Black: International by Peter Sobczynski

Chasing the Dragon 2: Wild Wild Bunch by Jay Seaver

Hole in the Ground, The by Jay Seaver

Knife+Heart by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Night at the Roxbury, A
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chef ADogg

"Okay, I thought it was funny."
3 stars

Call me an idiot. Call me immature. Call me...ah, any other derogatory name you can think of. And I know you will. This is one of those times when I can clearly envision the person at the other end of this review.

"Who does this guy think he is?" you're probably asking yourself. "When I find this kid, I am going to KICK...HIS...ASS!"

Well, go ahead and do it. I'm helpless when it comes to "A Night At The Roxbury." It's one of those movies that I just can't hate. We've all got our commercially and critically unsuccessful movies that we cherish in the secrecy of our living rooms, salivatating over battered and worn videotapes.

This is one of mine. So don't laugh. (If you give me shit, I swear to God I'm gonna bring up "Top Gun," 'cause I know all you so called "mature" individuals go into spasms at the mere THOUGHT of Val Kilmer riding Tom Cruise's cute little tail).

It's a "little boy" movie. It brings out the kid in me. And usually I would be ashamed at such a childish display. But guess what? I've got the balls to own up to my affection for this funny little film. Sure, it's really really dumb, and sure, there aren't any really big laughs, but it pushes all the right buttons and it's got enough heart for ten of your standard Adam Sandler comedies (and it doens't take itself as seriously as, say, "Big Daddy").

Will Ferrel and Chris Kattan star as two idiot brothers trying to get into a posh nightclub. What works so well about the movie is that it showcases their humanity as well as their stupidity-- I came close to tearing up at a few parts, and that usually only happens when I watch "He Got Game" (the part where he hugs the tombstone...*weep*).

Okay, maybe I wasn't CRYING crying, but this picture definitely gave a few swift tugs to my heartstrings. I don't see how anyone can hate a movie that actually tries to do the right thing--unlike, say, any given Chris Farley movie, the gags seem to have been thought out, and they're executed with a fair amount of skill. And there's brains behind it.

You heard me, biatch. Brains.

For all the dumb jokes and head bobbing, there's a rather large vestige of wit hiding behind it all, occasionally popping out to surprise us with a laugh or two.

And that's really all I ask for when I'm watching a stupid little movie where the theme song is the star attraction.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=194&reviewer=123
originally posted: 08/22/99 21:21:08
[printer] printer-friendly format  
SNL Movies: For more in the SNL Movies series, click here.

User Comments

1/11/08 Pamela White very cute 4 stars
11/19/07 mr.mike Havent watched SNL in decades but this was funny 4 stars
1/27/07 David A. A few funny bits; probably not enough for a two-hour movie. 3 stars
8/26/06 Joe Why make a film out of an SNL bit whose only joke involves bobbin' your head to bad techno? 1 stars
5/26/06 Sheena great music and tons of laughs 5 stars
3/07/06 Anthony Feor Another lame SNL flick 2 stars
9/03/05 tony Funny but if I wanted crap, i would not have seen this one. not enjoyable! 2 stars
8/25/05 ES had its moments, but was this skit really worth the movie? 2 stars
6/16/05 Sandra Moreno i loved it!!!!!!! 5 stars
2/05/05 Jeff Anderson A skit that wasn't funny then, not funny now. Ferrell & Kattan are enjoyable, however! 1 stars
12/26/04 Chelps BEST.........MOVIE.........EVER.....enough said 5 stars
12/09/04 Jason Kaul Bad even for a SNL movie. Rarely are they good, but this one is especially bad. 1 stars
10/14/04 simba funniest movie ever. with best soundtrack ever 5 stars
5/05/04 J.Peckerfoot hey, you from outa town? cool film! 5 stars
4/07/04 Valarie VERY FUNNY!!!!!!!! 5 stars
3/30/04 jarrod this movie was freakin awesome 5 stars
10/15/03 Lainy McDonnualy this is the greatest!! 5 stars
8/01/03 Charlie Excellent mood-booster 5 stars
7/14/03 Brian This movie is one of the funniest movies ever made...Period. 5 stars
4/08/03 JL My sides hurt from laughing! This flick was great! 4 stars
3/16/03 Peter A hilarious movie! Nuff said... 5 stars
12/28/02 Jack Sommersby As funny as a rubber crutch. 1 stars
8/28/02 Robbie What's up Its cool 5 stars
8/28/02 bionic becca i donno if i was pissing or sweatting wheni seen it. 5 stars
2/18/02 April Ick, that about covers my overall feelings on this movie. Music was good though. 2 stars
1/12/02 Audra Not too horrible, like most people think. There was really no plot. A good soundtrack, tho. 3 stars
11/08/01 Mark pathetic slap-stick comedy and cheesey pick-up lines work well. Truly hilarious! 5 stars
9/02/01 Butterbean This should have just stayed an incremental five minute skit on SNL 1 stars
8/09/01 Audra I loved the movie, Chris Kattan and Will Ferrel were great, but it has no plot. 5 stars
7/06/01 Elvisfan As much fun as sunburn, as welcome as a car door slamming your thumb 1 stars
7/02/01 Jennifer Doran im a hoe 5 stars
6/21/01 Razz "Did you grab my ass???" Now that is quality...... 5 stars
5/30/01 blen its sweet!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
5/13/01 Roy Smith It made me cry. 4 stars
5/12/01 J.C It's strangely funny.different but nice 4 stars
4/22/01 Luke I dunno i just had a thing for this movie :) I've been wondering, did this come to cinemas? 5 stars
3/29/01 MovieMan I liked this movie. It was funny 4 stars
3/12/01 jesse stailey best funny movie ever. 5 stars
11/19/00 K. Tone Only redeeming virtues: Elisa Donovan & Gigi Rice 2 stars
11/06/00 Melissa Stepper loved it 5 stars
10/19/00 Stuntman weak, cliched and absolute garbage 2 stars
9/03/00 Doug Poorly made or not, it made me laugh, and Chris Kattan is a talented little guy. Good job 5 stars
8/30/00 LW I knew it would be bad, but I had no idea just how bad it could be 1 stars
8/24/00 Add Total and utter crap and totally and utterly funny. A comedy that u can laugh with and at. 4 stars
6/01/00 Steve Layne Harmless fun 3 stars
3/23/00 David Rogers Funny and everything you want in a comedy. All you who hate it are Titanic fans. 4 stars
3/08/00 Mr. Kramitall sleazy, pathetic SNL adapted nonsense 1 stars
12/17/99 SID It's a bad movie, but what saves it is the fact that it is actually funny. Hedaya is great. 4 stars
10/13/99 Lame-Oh Almost threw up. Grieco looks like a male Alanis Morisette on ludes. 1 stars
9/15/99 Ratso Dude, you guys suck. Movies that are retarded rule! 5 stars
7/19/99 Imagoner Sincerely stupid. Frosty's review said it all. This movie is really messed up. 1 stars
6/15/99 Duck It was ok, some funny aprts, great soundtrack! 3 stars
5/09/99 Ah Dooey Superfly's review said it all. 1 stars
4/18/99 jamie Chris Kattan is so fucking funny no matter what he does! Long live Azreal Abyss 5 stars
2/24/99 Viral Messiah My god, who was in charge here? This movie blew the shitter! 1 stars
1/01/99 MFGIT Even as a scheme to rip off retards, it fails. 1 stars
12/16/98 A Guy These two clowns verbalized everything that goes through my head as I hit Chicago clubs. 5 stars
12/02/98 Kirgo blah...some chuckles. First 20 minutes are wretched 3 stars
11/30/98 Lindsay It started out OK, then got better as the film progressed. 4 stars
11/30/98 The Dude This movie was so fucking funny I almost died 5 stars
11/27/98 ShadowStar© Baby, don't hurt me... no more 1 stars
11/13/98 Lord Of The Dunce Too many people forgive bland comedy films. I don't. 1 stars
11/03/98 The Dude I thought this movie was so funny , It was great 5 stars
10/28/98 zenball it's based on a skit and a not very funny one at that 1 stars
10/23/98 grunter PRODUCT PRODUCT PRODUCT PRODUCT PRODUCT PRODUCT PRODUCT PRODUCT PRODUCT PRODUCT PRODUCT 1 stars
10/17/98 Johny No Blues Brothers or Wayne's World here. Better than Spiceworld though. 2 stars
10/17/98 Chris Hey my Mom loved it!! She bought the soundtrack. Bopping there heads 24/7 Go For a laugh! 4 stars
10/17/98 16 in. of swingin' meat and a bucket of balls Lord, why have you forsaken your people? SNL related movies don't work! 2 stars
10/17/98 Mr Showbiz It’s an improvement over It’s Pat. Ouch. 3 stars
10/14/98 Daddy Rich I thought it was funny and I enjoyed it. I thought I got my money's worth. 4 stars
10/04/98 Negative Creep Miss Stress is right. This is a goofball movie only guys would have fun at. *shakes head* 3 stars
10/01/98 Papa John Awesome Film.... it's up my alley. 5 stars
9/30/98 katherine this movie's got no storyline, and its not even CLOSE to even DREAMING to be funny. 1 stars
9/13/98 Chip Taylor Another suck-ass Saturday Night Live movie. Fuck them in the ass. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Oct-1998 (PG-13)
  DVD: 29-Dec-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  13-May-1999 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast