Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.88

Awesome: 26.92%
Worth A Look: 11.54%
Just Average: 18.27%
Pretty Crappy: 8.65%
Sucks34.62%

5 reviews, 74 user ratings


Latest Reviews

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

Almost Coming, Almost Dying by Jay Seaver

Blade Runner 2049 by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Night at the Roxbury, A
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Daniel Kelly

"Give it another chance."
3 stars

Back in 1998 the reaction to “A Night at the Roxbury” was nothing short of cancerous. Critics took out their knives and laid waste to the SNL inspired picture, some going as far to dub it the worst film of its respective year. When you consider the same 12 months gave viewers “Patch Adams”, that’s just being cruel. “A Night at the Roxbury” isn’t a great film but upon revisiting it in 2010 there’s a surprising amount to like, and an interesting amount of reflection to be carried out. For instance it is fascinating to view how the careers of leading men Will Ferrell and Chris Kattan have developed (Ferrell’s a huge star, Kattan is now an almost completely forgotten SNL footnote), and to witness the amount of fresh faced supporting talent the film offers (Eva Mendes, Molly Shannon and Michael Clarke Duncan). “Roxbury” is even at a minor 82 minutes overstretched, but this is actually a comedy that offers a relatively respectable quota of laughs and provides two amusing lead performances from its poster boys.

Steve Butabi (Will Ferrell) and Doug Butabi (Chris Kattan) are brothers who spend all night clubbing, and trying (but always failing) to score with women. They have a dream of operating their own nightclub, and when they manage to get access to the hottest club in town and have a discussion with its owner (Chazz Palminteri) they see an opening to have their ambitions realized. However the pair have to contend with a doubting father (Dan Hedaya) and several other obstacles before they can start to build on their nightlife fantasy.

“Roxbury” is an undeniably dumb hunk of American comedy, but it generates giggles and warmth on the back of Kattan and Ferrell’s game performances. As a pair they make a decent double act, Kattan in particular filling the film with high energy slapstick and physical lunacy. Back in 1998 if audiences were told one of these men was to become a key player on the Hollywood comedy scene, I’d be confident most would look to Kattan. Ferrell is perfectly solid, but Kattan gets most of the script’s best lines and the film’s most rewarding moments, looping them around his little figure and spinning them for all they’re worth. The film rests entirely on Ferrell and Kattan and they pull out some heavy comedic lifting to make their one joke premise into a passable diversion. Chazz Palminteri doesn’t get much to do (and is victim to a weak running gag) but the film is also peppered with appearances from other famous folk. TV star Richard Grieco actually works as an important plot device and more astute film fans won’t fail to recognise a young Eva Mendes, comedy stalwart Jennifer Coolidge and a pre-“Green Mile” Michael Clarke Duncan.

The screenplay (which Kattan and Ferrell played a large part in creating) actually does an ok job of morphing the simple SNL sketch on which the project is based into a motion picture. Some of the jokes do eventually get repetitive (“you from outta town?) but given how linear the original shorts were, it’s nothing short of remarkable that they’ve been transformed into a fun way to spend 82 minutes. The plot is extremely basic and like all SNL films the aim is always with the gags rather than the narrative, although “Roxbury” doesn’t fire out the jokes with the same rapidity as other SNL pictures. Most movies based on the sketch show run a fast paced stream of multiple larks a minute; “Roxbury” displays slightly more restraint and aims for a quality over quantity motive. It doesn’t always work, but the thought is surely appreciated.

The soundtrack adds an extra dimension of overblown silliness to proceedings, supplementing the film’s cheeky tone nicely. “Roxbury” is no smarter than either of its idiotic metrosexual protagonists, but it exudes the same relaxed and fun loving aura, which despite its obvious flaws allows it to provide enough sophomoric fun to muster at least a mild recommendation. Those seeking mature or stimulating filmmaking had best keep their distance, but to those willing to concede intellect in exchange for a few charming laughs, I’d give “A Night at the Roxbury” another chance.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=194&reviewer=425
originally posted: 07/09/11 05:31:14
[printer] printer-friendly format  
SNL Movies: For more in the SNL Movies series, click here.

User Comments

1/11/08 Pamela White very cute 4 stars
11/19/07 mr.mike Havent watched SNL in decades but this was funny 4 stars
1/27/07 David A. A few funny bits; probably not enough for a two-hour movie. 3 stars
8/26/06 Joe Why make a film out of an SNL bit whose only joke involves bobbin' your head to bad techno? 1 stars
5/26/06 Sheena great music and tons of laughs 5 stars
3/07/06 Anthony Feor Another lame SNL flick 2 stars
9/03/05 tony Funny but if I wanted crap, i would not have seen this one. not enjoyable! 2 stars
8/25/05 ES had its moments, but was this skit really worth the movie? 2 stars
6/16/05 Sandra Moreno i loved it!!!!!!! 5 stars
2/05/05 Jeff Anderson A skit that wasn't funny then, not funny now. Ferrell & Kattan are enjoyable, however! 1 stars
12/26/04 Chelps BEST.........MOVIE.........EVER.....enough said 5 stars
12/09/04 Jason Kaul Bad even for a SNL movie. Rarely are they good, but this one is especially bad. 1 stars
10/14/04 simba funniest movie ever. with best soundtrack ever 5 stars
5/05/04 J.Peckerfoot hey, you from outa town? cool film! 5 stars
4/07/04 Valarie VERY FUNNY!!!!!!!! 5 stars
3/30/04 jarrod this movie was freakin awesome 5 stars
10/15/03 Lainy McDonnualy this is the greatest!! 5 stars
8/01/03 Charlie Excellent mood-booster 5 stars
7/14/03 Brian This movie is one of the funniest movies ever made...Period. 5 stars
4/08/03 JL My sides hurt from laughing! This flick was great! 4 stars
3/16/03 Peter A hilarious movie! Nuff said... 5 stars
12/28/02 Jack Sommersby As funny as a rubber crutch. 1 stars
8/28/02 Robbie What's up Its cool 5 stars
8/28/02 bionic becca i donno if i was pissing or sweatting wheni seen it. 5 stars
2/18/02 April Ick, that about covers my overall feelings on this movie. Music was good though. 2 stars
1/12/02 Audra Not too horrible, like most people think. There was really no plot. A good soundtrack, tho. 3 stars
11/08/01 Mark pathetic slap-stick comedy and cheesey pick-up lines work well. Truly hilarious! 5 stars
9/02/01 Butterbean This should have just stayed an incremental five minute skit on SNL 1 stars
8/09/01 Audra I loved the movie, Chris Kattan and Will Ferrel were great, but it has no plot. 5 stars
7/06/01 Elvisfan As much fun as sunburn, as welcome as a car door slamming your thumb 1 stars
7/02/01 Jennifer Doran im a hoe 5 stars
6/21/01 Razz "Did you grab my ass???" Now that is quality...... 5 stars
5/30/01 blen its sweet!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
5/13/01 Roy Smith It made me cry. 4 stars
5/12/01 J.C It's strangely funny.different but nice 4 stars
4/22/01 Luke I dunno i just had a thing for this movie :) I've been wondering, did this come to cinemas? 5 stars
3/29/01 MovieMan I liked this movie. It was funny 4 stars
3/12/01 jesse stailey best funny movie ever. 5 stars
11/19/00 K. Tone Only redeeming virtues: Elisa Donovan & Gigi Rice 2 stars
11/06/00 Melissa Stepper loved it 5 stars
10/19/00 Stuntman weak, cliched and absolute garbage 2 stars
9/03/00 Doug Poorly made or not, it made me laugh, and Chris Kattan is a talented little guy. Good job 5 stars
8/30/00 LW I knew it would be bad, but I had no idea just how bad it could be 1 stars
8/24/00 Add Total and utter crap and totally and utterly funny. A comedy that u can laugh with and at. 4 stars
6/01/00 Steve Layne Harmless fun 3 stars
3/23/00 David Rogers Funny and everything you want in a comedy. All you who hate it are Titanic fans. 4 stars
3/08/00 Mr. Kramitall sleazy, pathetic SNL adapted nonsense 1 stars
12/17/99 SID It's a bad movie, but what saves it is the fact that it is actually funny. Hedaya is great. 4 stars
10/13/99 Lame-Oh Almost threw up. Grieco looks like a male Alanis Morisette on ludes. 1 stars
9/15/99 Ratso Dude, you guys suck. Movies that are retarded rule! 5 stars
7/19/99 Imagoner Sincerely stupid. Frosty's review said it all. This movie is really messed up. 1 stars
6/15/99 Duck It was ok, some funny aprts, great soundtrack! 3 stars
5/09/99 Ah Dooey Superfly's review said it all. 1 stars
4/18/99 jamie Chris Kattan is so fucking funny no matter what he does! Long live Azreal Abyss 5 stars
2/24/99 Viral Messiah My god, who was in charge here? This movie blew the shitter! 1 stars
1/01/99 MFGIT Even as a scheme to rip off retards, it fails. 1 stars
12/16/98 A Guy These two clowns verbalized everything that goes through my head as I hit Chicago clubs. 5 stars
12/02/98 Kirgo blah...some chuckles. First 20 minutes are wretched 3 stars
11/30/98 Lindsay It started out OK, then got better as the film progressed. 4 stars
11/30/98 The Dude This movie was so fucking funny I almost died 5 stars
11/27/98 ShadowStar© Baby, don't hurt me... no more 1 stars
11/13/98 Lord Of The Dunce Too many people forgive bland comedy films. I don't. 1 stars
11/03/98 The Dude I thought this movie was so funny , It was great 5 stars
10/28/98 zenball it's based on a skit and a not very funny one at that 1 stars
10/23/98 grunter PRODUCT PRODUCT PRODUCT PRODUCT PRODUCT PRODUCT PRODUCT PRODUCT PRODUCT PRODUCT PRODUCT 1 stars
10/17/98 Johny No Blues Brothers or Wayne's World here. Better than Spiceworld though. 2 stars
10/17/98 Chris Hey my Mom loved it!! She bought the soundtrack. Bopping there heads 24/7 Go For a laugh! 4 stars
10/17/98 16 in. of swingin' meat and a bucket of balls Lord, why have you forsaken your people? SNL related movies don't work! 2 stars
10/17/98 Mr Showbiz It’s an improvement over It’s Pat. Ouch. 3 stars
10/14/98 Daddy Rich I thought it was funny and I enjoyed it. I thought I got my money's worth. 4 stars
10/04/98 Negative Creep Miss Stress is right. This is a goofball movie only guys would have fun at. *shakes head* 3 stars
10/01/98 Papa John Awesome Film.... it's up my alley. 5 stars
9/30/98 katherine this movie's got no storyline, and its not even CLOSE to even DREAMING to be funny. 1 stars
9/13/98 Chip Taylor Another suck-ass Saturday Night Live movie. Fuck them in the ass. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Oct-1998 (PG-13)
  DVD: 29-Dec-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  13-May-1999 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast