Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 

Overall Rating

Worth A Look: 20%
Just Average: 2.86%
Pretty Crappy: 12.86%
Sucks: 2.86%

2 reviews, 58 user ratings

Latest Reviews

Pacific Rim: Uprising by alejandroariera

Unsane by Peter Sobczynski

Tehran Taboo by Rob Gonsalves

Final Portrait by Rob Gonsalves

Bombshell: The Hedy Lamarr Story by Jay Seaver

Before We Vanish by Jay Seaver

Dear Dictator by Peter Sobczynski

Tomb Raider (2018) by Peter Sobczynski

Darken by Jay Seaver

Early Man by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed

'burbs, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by f*r*o*s*t*y

"Forrest Gump like you've never seen him before..."
2 stars

Actually, that's a lie. Tom Hanks does the the whole "check out how wacky I am!" thing yet again.

Regardless, The 'Burbs is pretty funny in a "I can't believe this is so stupid" way. To break it down, Tom Hanks is the next door neighbor to a family that are a little odd, to say the least. Everyone in the neighborhood (except for the women, of course) is convinced that they're hiding dead bodies, or something along those lines.

What ensues in the movie is a bunch of sneaking around, spying, and general stupidity. It's just unbelievable. When I asked, "Why don't those dumb bastards just call the police to investigate?" My friend had to remind me that it was, in fact, a movie.

The cinematography was icky, there were entirely too many Corey Feldman close-ups than I could stomach, and you generally wanted to just slap the characters upside their little heads. There were also quite a few parts where the characters should have been killed from the idiotic things they did, but unfortunately no one died. It would have made the movie so much better.

If you have nothing else better to do on, say, a Sunday evening, then by all means, watch it. But if you're looking for a quality flick, go somewhere else.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1948&reviewer=22
originally posted: 05/31/99 21:06:47
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/15/18 Steve O'Connell Rick Ducommon crushes it. Tom Hanks funniest performance. God I love this Street! 5 stars
11/17/17 morris campbell lame imho 1 stars
3/28/16 Aj wales Dante does not have spielbergs sentimentalism which is a good thing. Jurt proper fun. 5 stars
10/21/10 HANS 'What a great place to leave your hair, on the stove.' 5 stars
2/01/10 Glassburro One of our kids' favorites as preteens. Fun for whole family! 5 stars
11/22/08 Dannyboy My all time favorite comedy. "You think a home furnace goes up to 5000 degrees?" 5 stars
8/31/08 Samantha Pruitt goofy and lame, but awesome and hilarious!!! 5 stars
5/25/08 BadWebDiver Yeah, pretty underrated low key comedy - with some dark satire. 4 stars
1/20/07 Adam Weishaupt A truly underrated gem 5 stars
9/20/06 Scott McIntosh Tom Hanks Finest Comic Performance 4 stars
8/25/06 JD One of the finest comedies, ever 5 stars
8/11/06 Danny Gardner Rumsfeld tearing the wallpaper gets me every time! 5 stars
6/27/06 Michael Parkes this is a classic, better satire than Scary Movie 5 stars
5/17/06 John I actually thought it was pretty funny (for a dumb movie). 4 stars
4/17/06 AJ Great movie, always worth a repeat viewing. 4 stars
11/02/05 Adam Great movie. You gotta love Bruce Dern as Rumsfeld 5 stars
6/06/05 keara franklin corey feldman is so funny and hot 5 stars
6/27/04 Daveman Horrible film. Completely unfunny and senseless. 1 stars
6/12/04 John a highly original and surprisingly effective comedy - wonderful! 5 stars
5/31/04 Nobody I think it's funny when hanks throws coffe toward paperboy, otherwise it's crap. 2 stars
5/17/04 Paulette Seen it several times. It gets better and better!! Love it!! 5 stars
5/03/04 Chris The Best. I've seen it hundreds of times. Still superb. 5 stars
2/24/04 Gino This movie is the best. To bad Mr. Hanks does not know that. 5 stars
12/31/03 Samantha Awesome movie! Everytime I watch it, it gets funnier. 5 stars
9/23/03 R.W. Welch A little slack in spots but does keep you guessing. A passable suburban satire. 3 stars
9/06/03 Christopher Day Fantastic film 5 stars
9/03/03 sfadan Excellent movie, a lot of subtle things happening all through the movie 5 stars
7/21/03 Double G ***** 5 stars
4/23/03 tuna neck superb! i watch many films and this is by far the best...i like everything about it 5 stars
3/31/03 Rebecca Nothing cures life like this movie (and, yes, all those quotes are THAT funny) 5 stars
3/23/03 Jack Sommersby A weird comedy that grows on you. Hanks and Dern are outstanding. 4 stars
2/05/03 Helen excellent!! 5 stars
12/14/02 Hans Christian Anderson This is the best film ever made... I enjoy fucking my cow and watching it very much. 5 stars
12/02/02 Nevz Funny, it's true how some people stereotype the neighbours! 5 stars
9/30/02 icefire an everlasting hollywood marvel that never gets old. 5 stars
9/29/02 Ricky Butler Funniest film ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Very uderrated! Lots of great dialogue! 5 stars
9/20/02 Uncle Schillywink In My Top 10 Comedies--"Here ya go sonny. A little somethin' for the ole sweet tooth" 5 stars
9/16/02 CVJ One of tom hanks better films 5 stars
7/10/02 Charles Tatum Funnier than it is given credit for 4 stars
6/08/02 David Bell Anyone who thinks that this movie is bad, if full of pure crap. This movie is hilarious!! 5 stars
1/13/02 Andrew Carden Dumb Is The Only Word That Comes To Mind When Viewing This. 2 stars
12/10/01 The $1.98 Pyramid More a parody than a simple comedy. Still funny, though. 4 stars
12/09/01 Christian Maybe I just wasn't drunk enough..... 2 stars
8/08/01 E-Funk "About a nine on the tension scale there, Rube" This movie rocks. 5 stars
4/02/01 Bob I liked this movie and thought that it was very funny and entertaining! 5 stars
2/13/01 Jake What a hilarious movie. Ducommun and Dern are a riot. 5 stars
7/01/00 Ant An unexpectedly surprising and oddly entertaining movie. 4 stars
2/09/00 Tim W. Two Dozen In-Jokes in a really enjoyable comedy on suburbanites and sinister neighbours 4 stars
10/11/99 Bill Housewright With each viewing it gets better. 4 stars
7/23/99 Matthew Bartley Ray-THIS IS WALTER!!!! You HAVE to see this film 5 stars
5/04/99 Big Dog I think my neighbors are the same way 5 stars
4/20/99 lucas jackson This is one fucking good movie,every actor does one hell of a good job 4 stars
4/19/99 bizzy lovely 4 stars
4/13/99 Thethug266 This movie is sick. Some comedy works, though. 3 stars
4/10/99 Michael Grimm falling off the roof, i pissed my self laughing 4 stars
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:

Discuss this movie in our forum

  17-Feb-1989 (PG)


  02-Jul-1989 (PG)

Directed by
  Joe Dante

Written by
  Dana Olsen

  Tom Hanks
  Bruce Dern
  Carrie Fisher
  Rick Ducommun
  Henry Gibson
  Corey Feldman

Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast