Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.57

Awesome: 31.4%
Worth A Look: 18.18%
Just Average33.88%
Pretty Crappy: 9.09%
Sucks: 7.44%

10 reviews, 61 user ratings



Bringing Out the Dead
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by davebo

"Don't make me take off my sunglasses."
5 stars

A great film about insane paramedics. Although the movie is a lot more than just the sum of its parts... er, the parts are greater than the sum, i think?

Aside from this movie actually starting 30 minutes after the advertised time, due to endless commercials and previews, this movie was a fun experience. But did you ever watch a movie, and at the end of it you realized that you liked all the scenes but didn't quite see how they tied together? Well, this is how i felt after Bringing Out the Dead.

I love Martin Scorsese and enjoy all his movies that i've had a chance to see. However, with this movie i was't half as crazy about the movie itself as i was with each part of it. there's dark humor, great cinematography, interesting characters, but the only thing tying most of the scenes together is Frank Pierce's (Nicholas Cage) visions of a girl who died on his shift. The movie feels a little bit like a tv show, in that each "episode" was fun to watch on its own. I didn't mind this at all, i thought it worked great and loved all the different things going on.

Patricia Arquette plays a woman who's father was brought to the hopital by Cage, and i suppose is the love interest in the movie, but again, that's another weak underlying plot that sort of ties scenes together. I was happy to see Cage in this role, i like him playing drunk strung-out guys like in Leaving Las Vegas, and none of this action stuff. Ving Rhames was also great, i'd love to see more of him, short of watching that made for tv don king movie of course.

All i can say is that its a fun ride, and well worth seeing. However, if you want a Scorsese movie with one big story and nothing crazy, see Kundun, it rocks too.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1970&reviewer=30
originally posted: 10/24/99 03:34:36
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell bringing out the boredom too it blows 1 stars
3/16/15 PAUL SHORTT EXCITING, IMMACULATELY CRAFTED AND EXHILARATINGLY PACED 4 stars
10/06/13 David An absolutely wonderful film 5 stars
9/16/13 mr.mike One of Scorcese's lesser films. 3 stars
8/19/09 Jeff Wilder Effective. Not on the level of Taxi Driver or Goodfellas. But still takes a piece out. 4 stars
11/26/08 CTT Not Scorsese's best, but still watchable 4 stars
12/17/05 Jeff Anderson Very disappointing. See Scott Ziehl's brilliant BROKEN VESSELS instead, a MUCH better film! 2 stars
8/23/05 ES Could have been better 3 stars
6/12/05 Agent Sands One of the darkest movies I've ever found funny. Good, riveting stuff from Sir Scorsese. 5 stars
5/24/05 Jake Disappointing effort from Martin Scorsese 3 stars
3/07/05 Mason great remake of Taxi Driver, should have been called Ambulace Driver 4 stars
12/28/04 Steve Newman Could not get into this film - worth a watch only 4 stars
6/26/03 cochese Being a Paramedic, I can say this movie is disturbing- yet it is entertaining. 4 stars
3/02/03 Jack Sommersby Visually interesting but emotionally aloof. Cage is merely adequate. 2 stars
1/12/03 Stevo not one of the better scorceses, but still an engrossing, traumatic, very good movie 4 stars
6/13/02 erick an absolutly amazing fillm 5 stars
4/05/02 Junshi For some reason, all I remember was how much I laughed. 3 stars
3/05/02 natasha an almost religious experience; visually stunning and emotionally wrenching 5 stars
11/21/01 daniboy amazing. even marc anthony. 5 stars
9/05/01 Butterbean Great cinematography, great director, aimless movie 3 stars
8/28/01 Sarah No heros here, just normal ppl trying to get through their day sane 4 stars
7/02/01 J My 1st experience with Scorsese and I wonder if this will be my best. 5 stars
11/22/00 Kimberly Joubert wonderful enlighting scorsese film 4 stars
11/17/00 2sleeepy great sound effects 5 stars
10/01/00 Madoc69 very dark and very good M.S. and Cage at their best 5 stars
9/29/00 Jed Clearly one of the best films of 1999. I hope M.S's other films are this good. 5 stars
8/28/00 Add Very powerful, excellent visuals, great performances but maybe 2 different 4 some people. 4 stars
7/13/00 Bruce Scorsese shows that he still has it. 5 stars
7/01/00 Trina M. Barnard the dumbest movie I've ever saw, turn it off it was so boring. 1 stars
6/28/00 Monday Morning Nic at Nite...or anytime...is good. Film was pointless though. 3 stars
6/26/00 stranded on the Island Great acting on this one; don't expect typical hollywood (i.e. fluff) though! 5 stars
6/19/00 Ulatekk Two hours of my life I will never get back... 1 stars
6/12/00 Andrew Incredible 5 stars
6/03/00 Dallastech I sucked because of the plot or shall i saw lack of..... 2 stars
5/21/00 Jess Damn good performances and visual stimulation. 4 stars
5/17/00 michael visually stunning, wonderful sound, great script what more do you want?! 5 stars
5/12/00 The Bomb 69 scorsese was all over the place and most of it sucked 2 stars
5/12/00 Overflow Bitch Sensational. Dark yet inspiring. Cage is incredible as usual. 5 stars
4/24/00 John Lyons Absolute waste of Nick Cage! Wasted my money on this one. 1 stars
4/24/00 Belinda I walked out - RUBBISH 1 stars
2/21/00 toneely the worst movie ever..HORRIBLE 1 stars
1/13/00 Matthew Bartley Remove Arquette and it would be damn near perfect. 5 stars
12/10/99 xiong But how to explain Patricia Arquette's career? 4 stars
11/28/99 Chet Patel Great film about a man questioning his life, and what he has accoplished in his job? 4 stars
11/23/99 PJ Visually brilliant and intense. Not his best, but better than most of h'wood's other shit. 5 stars
11/08/99 pipeman Scorsese shoots, he misses. He really fucking misses. Ack! Ptui! 1 stars
11/08/99 Dominique This was more frustrating than entertaining or enlightening. Shame! Shame! Shame! 1 stars
11/06/99 Roman No real plot but had some funny moments 3 stars
11/01/99 shiraz hallucinatory taxi driver on speed; critics love it but watch it only for film class 3 stars
11/01/99 PhilmPhreak It was OK, but no Taxi Driver. 3 stars
10/31/99 john worst movie Ive seen in years 1 stars
10/30/99 C.A.T.M. Maybe it's getting better ratings than it deserves, but it was intense never-the-less. 4 stars
10/28/99 Hojo Premium stuff from Cage, Sizemore, Rhames, & Goodman, & a well-made (if boring) story 4 stars
10/27/99 Mr Showbiz Stunning to look at, but dramatically unfulfilling. 4 stars
10/27/99 Gi & Ty Almost all of the ten people in the theater were sleeping and bored out of their minds 2 stars
10/26/99 Linda W I liked the camera work alot the theme was to schizoid and frantic I needed a valium. 3 stars
10/25/99 TheAngryMob This movie was great!!! 5 stars
10/25/99 Max Lethal Good, but left me feeling like I deserved more... 3 stars
10/24/99 danimal super cool, and good to see M.S. back 5 stars
10/23/99 Janet Hold on, Lady, we go for a ride! Cage at his edginess. 5 stars
10/22/99 gezick style, in the ultimate, never since Taxi Driver have we seen such exquisite fast motion 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  22-Oct-1999 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  20-Apr-2000 (R)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast