Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.44

Awesome: 3.6%
Worth A Look: 14.41%
Just Average35.14%
Pretty Crappy: 16.22%
Sucks: 30.63%

4 reviews, 87 user ratings



Men in Black II
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"Five years is a long time to wait just to watch the same movie again."
3 stars

You’d think that with five years between movies, they could come up with a better script than what they got for “Men in Black II.” This plays like an episode of the “Men in Black” cartoon series (indeed, we understand it’s based on one), and not like the long-awaited reunion of our favorite undercover government agents. This is slight, forgettable stuff.

The problem with most sequels is that whatever the premise was in the first film, the novelty of it has worn off in the second. “Men in Black” had a clever concept and some memorable characters. Now, the concept and characters are old. We watch “Men in Black II” and think, “Yeah. So? What else can they do?” It’s not that it’s dull so much as that it’s familiar.

It is the present day, i.e., five years after Agent Jay (Will Smith) neuralyzed Agent Kay’s (Tommy Lee Jones) memory and sent him into the private sector. Jay has worked with a series of new partners — including the current one, a hotshot wannabe hero named Tee (Patrick Warburton) — in protecting mankind. Trouble is, mankind tends to be stupid and unappreciative. Jay is lonely.

More pressing matters, though: The world is about to end. Specifically, there’s something called the Light of Zanthar that was supposedly sent away from the Earth 24 years ago, but that the evil, serpentine Serleena (Lara Flynn Boyle) thinks is still here.

Wherever it is, it will self-destruct in a day or so. Agent Zed (Rip Torn) says he put his best agent in charge of sending it off ... but that agent is Kay, who now works in a post office and has no memory of his former life. Jay has to get him back, restore his neurons, and save the world.

And so on. Jay befriends a witness to an alien killing, Rita (Rosario Dawson), and wants desperately to have a relationship with her. But neither he, nor the movie, has time for sentimentality beyond the superficial level that comedies require of themselves in order to feel legitimate.

Smith and Jones are good and funny, the way we like them. There is not as much of the grumpy interplay that the first film had, but they are still appealing characters. Frank the dog talks a lot; about half of what he says is tolerable. And I’m always a fan of the deadpan Rip Torn, not to mention comedian David Cross, who plays an ultra-nerdy conspiracy theorist. Lara Flynn Boyle: Eh. I believe she is both scarier and funnier in real life.

The film works its way to a series of anti-climaxes, with nothing spectacular to buoy them up. Playful director Barry Sonnenfeld (who did the first one, too) tries his best, and Danny Elfman’s characteristically mischievous score helps. But the script, by Robert Gordon (”Galaxy Quest”) and Barry Fanaro (”Kingpin”), is so breezy and vaporous as to be beyond help. At 88 minutes, it is far shorter than most films of its genre, and it feels like it.

There’s so little story and so little substance that you have to wonder if maybe someone neuralyzed them before they were done making it.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1994&reviewer=247
originally posted: 07/03/02 12:37:43
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

6/04/12 Dane Youssef Should've stopped with the first one. They just wreck it all here. Nearly every scene hurts 1 stars
4/05/12 SEAN DUTRA fine but tedious and rushed and uninspired 3 stars
1/24/11 Jeff Wilder Fantastic concept the first time. This proves it can only be done once. 2 stars
12/26/10 sequelitis This was just pure insipid, uninspired, worthless tripe. An insult to the original! 1 stars
6/08/10 Harvey Scott Why does this exist? They did it for the money! 2 stars
2/19/09 CTT Unenergetic, despite some funny lines 3 stars
10/06/08 Shaun Wallner Awesome Cast!! 5 stars
7/21/08 the dork knight Was Tommy Lee Jones contractually obligated to do this? 2 stars
5/20/08 PAUL SHORTT SADLY, THE FILM HAS NO MORE IDEAS WORTH MENTIONING 1 stars
6/24/07 Anthony Feor I think I might wanna leave this planet now 2 stars
2/16/07 Vip Ebriega Not much of the original, but the duo manages to make it look good. 3 stars
1/31/07 Matt More a reshash than a sequel ant only half as good. But, hey, it ain't that bad. 3 stars
12/25/06 johnnyfog So did Lara Flyn Boyle go away yet? Yes? Oh good. 1 stars
2/06/06 Anthony What a sequel 3 stars
10/26/05 chris apalling sequel puts mib 1 to shame 1 stars
10/15/05 Quigley one of the worst sequels in cinema history. and you people hated the first one? think again 1 stars
9/12/05 Total Crap Want a Review for this movie, read my name. 1 stars
9/12/05 Evan God, this is a really bad, muddled mess. Talk about "over done". 2 stars
3/13/05 Jeff Anderson AS DULL AS THE ORIGINAL & I MEAN THAT IN THE BEST SENSE! 2 stars
3/13/05 Ronin Gibbo the problem is it is almost no fun unlike it's predecessor. 2 stars
2/12/05 John Bale Replay of the original but has some great fun effects and Tommy Lee is good value 4 stars
8/30/04 Gibbo Was a good movie if you didn't take it seriously. It is meant to be fun remember. 4 stars
5/01/04 J Good but not Great! ** 1/2 3 stars
4/28/04 X Another disapointing sequel 2 stars
2/27/04 Littlepurch Nowhere near as good as the original & the ending just made my head hurt but it WAS funny!! 4 stars
2/26/04 sarah knoxville! johnny knoxville is soooo ace in this movie, got it on dvd the day it came out! 5 stars
9/30/03 Samuel Justus Nowhere as good as the origional! 3 stars
7/21/03 I Would Worth watching only to see probably the biggest budgeted film to clock at under 90 minutes 2 stars
6/25/03 the Grinch MIB was entertaining...this insulting garbage just makes me angry...velly angly... 1 stars
5/26/03 bender Should not have made as much money as it did. Bad.......................................... 2 stars
4/07/03 Ian The plot is re-hashed from the first movie. Not good at all. 2 stars
2/03/03 Turtle It doesn't hold a Series 4 De-Atomizer to the original, but hey, it was really fun. 4 stars
1/09/03 Ange Faitore Let's marry Laura and Eminem and set them in a flaming SUV. 1 stars
12/27/02 PsiSeeker Ho-Hum!... at least LFB provides some eyecandy. Will Smith's one liners make me sick! 1 stars
12/16/02 Interrog8 What is this shit?! No comparison to the first one. 1 stars
12/12/02 madk you guys are the biggest negative loosers the world has ever know! 5 stars
12/01/02 palaboy101 The first half was funny, the second half was REALLY BORING! 3 stars
11/01/02 matthew none 4 stars
8/18/02 StinkFinger ITS THE SAME MOVIE WITH A WORM IN IT!! ONLY NOW TOMMY LEE JONES IS PUSSY WHIPPED!!! 1 stars
8/11/02 KMG SUCKED: It had no plot, no storyline, and was too short even if it had the 1st two 1 stars
8/11/02 MackeyDaManiac JustAverage ONLY because of these REALY GREAT special effects,and some funny stuff... 3 stars
8/10/02 chouck yawn 3 stars
8/02/02 pointman7071 ok! 3 stars
7/28/02 Franny Mib was witty and suprising. Its sequal is too similar and predictable. 3 stars
7/27/02 Butterbean It was such a good idea for the movie! Why ruin it with stupid slapstick? I hated them both 2 stars
7/27/02 max zhang I'd rather watch two angry black lesbians rape a skinny white boy than this shit. 1 stars
7/24/02 FJ Didnt that feel nice........ 2 stars
7/11/02 Hotaine I think Tommy Lee Jones is actually dead and they just CGI'd him in 1 stars
7/11/02 Jiz Mediocrity at its best. Boring, predictable, forgettable, not worth seeing 3 stars
7/10/02 Interrog8 Didn't see this coming. Tradgic that a sequal to such a great movie could be this bad. 2 stars
7/09/02 Register to vote NOW or else! It was absurd, but it had its moments... 3 stars
7/08/02 Banky Edwards I didn't think it was that bad, but then what do I know, I laugh at dick & fart jokes! 4 stars
7/08/02 Never see movies twice I was very surprised that a sequel would be so funny Once you go worm ... Hilarious!!! 4 stars
7/08/02 STEVE LAME,STUPID,UNFUNNY,OVERDONE,BORING,SHOULDHAVSEENMR.DEEDSINSTEA SEETHEORIGINALINSTEAD 1 stars
7/08/02 bob stank,another crap movie 2 stars
7/08/02 iambubby Yikes! They missed the mark on this one. 3 stars
7/08/02 Janine Lay pretty boring, no originality, magic is gone 2 stars
7/08/02 daedalus Good enough for a fun night out, but not worth the $7.50 4 stars
7/07/02 FJ It sucked. Didn't expect this. 1 stars
7/07/02 I can't bleive I saw this shit! The worst piece of shit since Scooby-Doo 1 stars
7/06/02 ajay I laughed outloud like once or twice at least Lara Flynn Boyle was hot 2 stars
7/06/02 friscojohn C+..........was hoping for an A 4 stars
7/05/02 Josh Opotzner (Josh120@aol.com) Just ok. If you feel like another movie after Minority Report/Sum of all Fears. 3 stars
7/05/02 Danielle Ophelia (L'Originale) I love Sno-Caps. 3 stars
7/05/02 Philip F Kromer Very enjoyable, but very similar (tho possibly better than the first) 4 stars
7/05/02 B Complete waste of time and money. Not a single laugh. 1 stars
7/05/02 Dr. Laura Is a Bitch (Doo Dah, Doo Dah...) A couple of great movie moments, but otherwise, nothing exciting. 3 stars
7/05/02 Todd I didn't hate it, but I didn't like it either 3 stars
7/05/02 Nick2k wow. this makes 'pearl harbor' look good. fucking waste. i shoulda seen powerpuff instead. 1 stars
7/05/02 Benjamin.Lesbian Entertaining, but it felt more like an episode of a TV show than a full-blown movie 4 stars
7/05/02 strider3700 not exiting not interesting not worth full price, rent or cheap night it's worth it though 3 stars
7/05/02 B Complete waste of time and money. Not a single laugh. 1 stars
7/05/02 Joe Bacon A retread even DUMBER than the original! 1 stars
7/04/02 Gajha Me Runga Kinda funny, but none of the awe or zeal from before. Felt like a quickie mini-episode 4 stars
7/04/02 Blaise Well, it's definately not shakespear, but i wasn't bored either. 3 stars
7/04/02 Roy Smith FX do not a decent film make - wait for the 2nd run theaters, not even worth a matinee. 3 stars
7/04/02 Jim Mediocre. Jones phoned in his performance. Worms didn't live up to hype but the pug did. 3 stars
7/04/02 Butterbean I wanted to like this movie, but they crammed everything into 90 minutes and made a mess! 2 stars
7/04/02 brent young this is taking way too much flak --sure it's mindless & has ads, but it's a popcorn flick. 4 stars
7/04/02 The Spam Handler btw, david cross died in the first one... 3 stars
7/03/02 bullit17 Relied too much on the first movie. Could have been a little more original 3 stars
7/03/02 Jamie Wasn't mind blowing, but compared to the crap released in the past couple years.... 4 stars
7/03/02 Veronica Foxx This wasn't a bad movie, but the same movie. For that it gets knocked down to...---------> 3 stars
7/03/02 J Wasn't quite as good as the original but I'm actually with R.W on this one to be honest. 4 stars
7/03/02 jeenyus It was hardly high art, but I wouldn't call it a miserable waste of a movie either 3 stars
7/03/02 Ramblin' Wreck Looked fine to me...... 4 stars
7/03/02 Reviewing the reviewer Wait, movie 1 good. movie 2 clone of 1. movie 2 bad? Explain how. This one is awesome! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  03-Jul-2002 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast