Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.18

Awesome29.54%
Worth A Look: 12.46%
Just Average: 23.84%
Pretty Crappy: 14.95%
Sucks: 19.22%

12 reviews, 209 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Patriot, The (2000)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Andrew Howe

"(Don't fool) with the children of the revolution"
3 stars

I am led to believe that many of our brothers and sisters in the United States harbour a great deal of affection for tales of the Revolution. Unfortunately, the lives and times of the era have resulted in precious few quality films, which is inexplicable given that all of the elements necessary for the creation of an epic (larger-than-life heroes, despicable villains, monumental battles) are present and accounted for.

Enter Roland Emmerich, Robert Rodat and Mel Gibson, a triumvirate of artistically-inclined individuals whose resume's reveal a marked affinity for this brand of filmmaking. Rodat wrote Saving Private Ryan, Gibson hacked his way to glory in Braveheart, and Emmerich - well, I suppose he directed Godzilla and Independence Day, which lends him some credibility as a player in the big-budget arena (the fact that the world would be a better place if these films had never been made is another matter).

Given this level of talent, hopes were high that The Patriot would take its place amongst the classics of the genre, but Rodat's script ensures that it never quite reaches the heights to which it aspires. This is unfortunate, because at its best the film is everything the premise promises - majestic, powerful and deeply satisfying.

Early press suggested that The Patriot was an "American Braveheart", but the films have only two things in common - a performance by Gibson as a vengeance-seeking erstwhile pacifist, and the notion that exterminating British soldiers is fine and glorious pursuit. The similarities end there, and moreover the underlying theme (the underdog fighting against oppression) has been a staple of the industry from the time the first reel was threaded into a projector. I mention this because the film does not deserve to be judged by its (infinitely superior) predecessor, since it is, at its core, a different beast entirely.

The plot presents few difficulties for those desiring a three-line synopsis. Benjamin Martin (Gibson) returns from the French-Indian Wars to raise his extended family, renouncing his violent ways in favour of home and hearth. Once the Revolution kicks off in earnest, Martin's eldest son Gabriel (Heath Ledger) joins the militia against his father's wishes. Despite his desire to live in peace, an act of wanton brutality by a British commander, Colonel Tavington (Jason Isaacs), leads Mel to conclude that turning the other cheek is best left to men of the cloth, opening the way for two hours of butchery, pained reflection and meditations upon family values, unlikely friendships and the insanity of war.

The acting is of a universally high calibre, with the only sour note being Lisa Brenner's portrayal of Ledger's nominal love interest (she seems to be under the impression that she's playing a citizen of a modern-day American city, and her facial expressions and vocal delivery are irritating in the extreme). Anyone who has seen Ledger in the Australian crime flick Two Hands will know that he possesses a certain measure of talent, but I am genuinely surprised at the maturity he brings to the role of Gabriel. Playing brash young firebrands is, admittedly, not the most difficult task an actor can assay, but Ledger evidently believes that if you're going to do something you might as well give it everything you've got, and the result is a believable performance which makes it easy for the viewer to become invested in his fate.

Ledger may take his role to heart, but Issacs makes him look like an extra from Dawn of the Dead. From the moment he storms onto the screen he sets the controls to Warp Factor 10 and never looks back, and the result is one of the most enjoyably over-the-top performances in recent memory. Not since Lee Van Cleef in The Good, the Bad and the Ugly has an actor dedicated themselves to radiating malevolence with such single-minded intensity, and he's aided and abetted by a character who possesses no redeeming features whatsoever. This, unfortunately, is what prevents Issacs from taking his place amongst the all-time great screen villains - Tavington is a one-note creation, bereft of believable motivations, and pure evil, while entertaining, is never intriguing. However, in the hissability stakes he's up there with the best of them (he also rates highly on the atrocity scale and the smarm-o-meter), and as such makes a fine antagonist for our righteous heroes (by the second half of the film the viewer's desire to see Tavington get what's coming to him is heading for the stratosphere, allowing the audience to claim a personal stake in the outcome).

The supporting cast, by and large, service their roles with distinction, with special mention going to Tchéky Karyo as a sympathetic French soldier. However, this is Mel's film, no doubt about it, and it will come as no surprise to learn that he is damn-near perfect for the part. Gibson's strength is his ability to believably portray lost souls on the vengeance trail - even when he's supposedly embraced pacifism, there's always something in his eyes and the way he holds himself which tells you that this is a man you don't want to mess with, and when he gets that stone-cold expression on his face you'd rather be anywhere than in the shoes of the person who put it there. There's nothing on offer we haven't seen before, but that's no reason to disparage what is, by and large, a note-perfect performance (wait until DeNiro stops playing gangsters, then we'll talk).

The cinematography, direction and production design are exactly what you would expect from a Widescreen epic - gorgeous scenery, vibrant colours and a laudable attempt to recreate the period in question (though the music is not as memorable as I have liked – where’s James Horner when you need him?). Those desiring a serving of outlandish violence will also not be disappointed - if it's not a British soldier copping a tomahawk to the skull, it's some poor slob getting their leg blown off by a cannonball. The Last of the Mohicans left many of the gory details to the imagination, but the creators of The Patriot evidently view such restraint with disdain, and as a result the horrors of violent death are once again well and truly on the menu.

If I were to leave it there, I would have little choice but to proclaim The Patriot an unqualified success. However, as seems to have been the case with many of the recent big-budget releases, its merits are undermined by the script, and a potentially superb film is forced to settle for an above-average appellation.

In the rush to praise Saving Private Ryan, the fact that the script was the weakest aspect of the film tended to be overlooked. Rodat has an unfortunate affinity for clichés, and many of his characters are little more than unfinished sketches (he certainly didn't have to worry about turning his talents to female characters, since it was an all-male cast). However, Spielberg's visual flair distracted the viewer from the script's major crimes, and much of that film's success can be laid squarely at his door.

It goes without saying that Emmerich is no Spielberg, and as a result the flaws in Rodat's script are laid bare for all to see. Prime amongst his failings is his inability to invest the characters with any depth - they lack the idosyncracies which make a character live and breathe, and, with the sole exception of Martin, are only marginally three-dimensional. Rodat's creations exist to serve the plot and his perception of the staples of the genre - an idealistic youth, a token black soldier, an evil villain, and many others - and as a result they never get under the viewer's skin in the way a finely-tuned character can do. Most of the supporting cast members are also left in the background, which amounts to a capital crime for a film in which much of the viewer's involvement hinges upon whether the violent death of the character in question is a cause for concern (it isn’t).

Which is not to say that the film is entirely bereft of interesting individuals, merely that it could have been so much better. It is also a testament to the skill of the actors that many of them rise above their underwritten roles - Karyo is a delight, and other minor players (a reverend who puts aside the Good Book in favour of a rifle, for example) manage to stand out from the crowd.

However, Rodat's penchant for cliché's also makes an unwelcome reappearance, and there are scenes which will have viewers squirming in their seats. The most indefensible example is Martin's daughter, who refuses to speak to her father until the time is right for a tearful reconciliation. I cannot believe that Rodat didn't know he was plumbing the depths of schmaltzy trash when he penned that scene, and the fact that it was allowed to stand bespeaks a certain laziness on the part of everyone involved.

And that is, at its core, the problem with this film - it is, undeniably, a big-budget Hollywood take on the Revolution. It is written with a modern-day sensibility, and attempts to expand its appeal by pandering to what its creators think the audience wants to see. That's not necessarily a death-knell for a film - The Last of the Mohicans had its share of Hollywood romance, but the script was believable, emotionally-charged and occasionally touching, and moreover Mann's style infused the subject matter with a power it would have otherwise lacked. Rodat's script is anything but, and given that Emmerich lacks Mann's flair it is little wonder that much of The Patriot sinks when it should have soared.

I’m being a little harsh, of course, since there are times when the script makes good on its promises. The battles and skirmishes are suitably arresting (though how much of that can be attributed to the script is open to debate), and a number of scenes will live on in the memory long after the closing credits have faded (Martin’s haunted recounting of his experiences during the war, a poignant exchange between two of Martin’s followers prior to the final battle, and many others). Contrary to expectations, the script is also refreshingly free of jingoistic patriotism. There's one scene which involves a dose of literal flag-waving, but it's so uplifting that you can forgive the script that sin. For this, if nothing else, Rodat has my eternal gratitude.

None of my complaints, however, should be taken to suggest that The Patriot is unworthy of our attention. There is much to like, and I suspect that repeated viewings will enhance its appeal, since its length (164 minutes) ensures that its nuances may not be readily apparent from a single viewing. It's merely that, as a fan of the epic, I truly wanted to love this film, and as a result my disappointment is that much harder to bear.

The Patriot may not be an instant classic, but I can think of worse ways to spend a couple of hours of your life. Fine performances, top-notch action sequences and some memorable scenes conspire to raise the film above the everyday, while Rodat's script, flawed though it may be, remains on track long enough to ensure that everyone will find something of value within. See it, enjoy it, and try not to think too hard about what might have been.

* * *

Postscript – Historical liberties, and why I couldn’t care less

A number of critics have made much of the supposed historical inaccuracies enshrined in the script, but once again I mount the following argument in the filmmakers' defence - a feature film is not a documentary. Provided you don't distort historical fact to the extent that it becomes revisionism, the odd liberty with the contents of the history books is not a hanging offence.

Prime amongst the criticisms is that Martin's workers are supposedly free men - apparently it is extremely unlikely that a landowner of the period would not possess a number of indentured servants. This is certainly a valid complaint, but it is a necessary conceit given the constraints of heroic storytelling.

By way of analogy, consider the character of William Wallace in Braveheart. Any student of Scottish history will tell you that Wallace was known to commit the odd atrocity himself, a fact which is actually alluded to in a throwaway line. However, if the scriptwriter had seen fit to depict these indefensible actions, a great deal of the audience's sympathy for Wallace would have instantly dissipated. That's fine if you're penning a character study, but tales of righteous vengeance require a suitably heroic protagonist, and if that means the negative aspects of the hero's character must be shunted aside then so be it.

I might also add that at no time does the film suggest that Martin's character is based on a real person. Its creators have suggested otherwise, but this is, for all intents and purposes, a work of fiction set against a historical backdrop. This provides Rodat the necessary space to create an appealing protagonist, and to attack him on that count constitutes little more than nit-picking.

The other aspect of the film which has come under fire (especially in England) is the supposedly negative portrayal of the British soldiers. A close reading of the film does not support this accusation - apart from Tavington, the worst that can be said of the British characters is that they perpetrate a number of crimes through being forced to follow orders (and show me a war in the history of mankind which didn't feature its share of that depressing state of affairs). The real problem is that the British roles are woefully underwritten, so we are never permitted to view them as living, breathing entities. However, this is a feature of virtually every war film ever made, so it's really just part and parcel of the overall package.

(I would suggest, incidentally, that the British have little reason to take this kind of thing as a personal affront. The fact remains that the British did attempt to take over the world in days gone by, and their methods were certainly nothing to praise (you could ask the Tasmanian aborigines, if there were any left alive). However, to suggest that a modern-day citizen of the Commonwealth is responsible for the actions of their ancestors is equivalent to blaming the current German Chancellor for World War II. The Patriot targets individuals, not the entire British populace from 1,000 B.C. to the present-day, so there is no reason for the English to get so sensitive about it. But then, of course, nobody's yet made a film with Australians as the villains, so perhaps I should wait for that day before I speak.)

I would therefore suggest that everyone except American historians should ignore the protestations of those who would attack this film on the grounds that it deviates from historical fact, for its crimes in that area are minor, and moreover represent a necessary evil for the creators of historical epics. Enough said.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1999&reviewer=193
originally posted: 10/21/00 22:15:06
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

6/19/17 Danny Silly and pathetic propaganda. It would be a great comedy if it was intentionally funny. 1 stars
8/11/11 chris despite Mel Gibson's past history, still a good movie. 4 stars
7/22/11 art I LIKED 1985's REVOLUTION with AL PACINO A LOT better. 1 stars
7/15/09 blah blah historically inaccurate but bloody entertaining 5 stars
1/28/09 Libbylau I liked it, Col. Sexy is hot and mel gibsons..yea no, but it's decent 4 stars
1/12/09 Anonymous. really entertaining war film. 4 stars
10/30/08 Shaun Wallner Gibson does it again! 5 stars
10/06/08 bob RAQWWWWWWWWWRRRRRRRR 1 stars
6/20/08 John Millheim Mel Gibson is great, he doesnt take any crap 5 stars
5/23/08 PAUL SHORTT HUGE, HANDSOME AND COMPELLING IN SCORE, BUT ALSO CONVOLUTED & HISTORICALLY INACURATE 3 stars
4/24/08 Don't worry about it FUCK Jake Baxter 5 stars
4/07/08 jake baxter americans are fuckin ignorant fuck americans 1 stars
3/14/08 Anthony Feor Too much talk, too much drama. Not enough war. 3 stars
12/25/07 Double M Liked it as a kid, now i'm ahamed of that. Typical Emmerich; LOAD of dumb obnoxious clichés 1 stars
12/05/07 Pamela White educational take heed it will happen again 5 stars
11/27/07 loz i thought the film was brill and heath ledger was great in it. 5 stars
11/13/07 lucy i thought that the movie was good 5 stars
9/21/07 chrissy vance it was kinda boring...i had to watch it for a history paper...i should've chosen a differen 3 stars
4/22/07 David Risser good drama. The British General asked for it. 4 stars
4/18/07 Stevo UK Come on. We lost the war but the heros(on both sides)are disrespected. 2 stars
4/03/07 Dj I THOUGHT IT WAS A GREAT MOVIE AND ANY TRUE AMERICAN WOULD LIKE IT TOO. 5 stars
2/18/07 Uncle Sam Cry me a river! Nothing but whining Brits in here. 5 stars
2/12/07 Emmerfan American guys sucks , they even dont know their own history 5 stars
1/14/07 Gloria Dornin I liked it have watched it several times 4 stars
12/20/06 zac Typical american tosh does anyone over there not have access to history books or anything, 1 stars
11/06/06 dakota couch i thought the movie was verry good and bloody movies like that drag me in 5 stars
9/25/06 EMAN this movie is hella sweet. who cares about the inaccurate history. Sweet ass action! 5 stars
4/06/06 Edna i am a true american n i loved this film 5 stars
1/22/06 Cock Another Fag Gibson self-whoring movie. 1 stars
1/21/06 KingNeutron Awesome, but only problem I had was they way they acted after being "wounded" 4 stars
11/15/05 Adrian Relies on dramatic sequences rather than legitimate story and characters. 3 stars
10/07/05 Klondo has a couple cool scenes and Mel is awesome in it, but this movie really sucks 2 stars
8/17/05 ES tries hard to be 'last of the mohicans' comes up short, way to much British bashing 2 stars
8/14/05 Dan Great movie, although loosely-based, and dramatized, still captures the spirit of that time 5 stars
7/22/05 Cassander Ended up rooting for Cornwallis, but all in all a good movie 5 stars
7/14/05 Darth Skippy Insulting in every way. John Linton Roberson's review is right on the money. 1 stars
5/24/05 Casey Becher I LOVED it!!! 5 stars
5/23/05 danielc this movie is frikken stupid it didnt make any sense and it sucked 5 stars
4/23/05 Quigley a profound tear-jerker that manages to capture the power and effect of war. amazing film. 5 stars
4/03/05 Ric A few rousing action scenes and gorgeous cinematography, but the rest is silly fluff. 3 stars
2/26/05 Beverley Mooren Great movie everyone should watch. 5 stars
1/13/05 Adam Hughes I liked it alot 5 stars
12/08/04 Kristina Williams It's no Braveheart 4 stars
12/05/04 Devin McDavid I Loved it!. No one can depict the heart of a true Patriot like Mel Gibson! 5 stars
11/09/04 bob i need real life comparisons to characters in movie, ppl. 3 stars
9/27/04 Marc thomas It was a master piece / a emotion tugger 5 stars
8/31/04 Aaron Smith great costumes and scenery, Ledger is solid, Gibson always fun to watch, Isaacs is nasty 5 stars
5/30/04 Frazier A powerful and original movie, does not butcher history, teaches some history. Watch it. 5 stars
5/12/04 Dylan The best movie ever. 5 stars
5/02/04 Jim Typical and boring mel gibson film. Bucthers history to stroke American egos. Avoid! 2 stars
4/19/04 mike If only people were smart enough to know its movie, otherwise it is bad history! 3 stars
4/18/04 Mel Gibson I'm sorry I made this film but I need violence to hide my homosexual tendencies. 1 stars
4/14/04 J A the best WAR movies of 2000! **** 5 stars
3/12/04 Greg Watched it ten times or more 5 stars
3/09/04 LIAM JACKSON Colonel Tavington is one of the most beyond-evil men i've ever seen. 5 stars
3/07/04 reptilesni Subtle as a sledgehammer with plenty o' cheese. 1 stars
3/06/04 Jaco Visser What is civil war? Go and watch The Patriot! Excellent. 5 stars
1/21/04 jamie how can u ppl complain to a movie like this oh ya ur total MORONS ** It was AWSUM !!! 5 stars
12/04/03 j bryant typical hollwood blood & guts flick in which the hero always wins 1 stars
11/27/03 John directed by Roland Riefenstahl... oh sorry Emmerich 1 stars
11/22/03 Gig It's only a movie, people! Get over yourselves! I enjoyed every minute of it! 5 stars
11/10/03 Jod I don't think people were that clean in the 1700's, nice job Mel, Braveheart Part II 1 stars
10/28/03 Zach Kraus Excellent, Outstanding 5 stars
10/21/03 Huh? VERY historically inaccurate portrayel of the War for Independence 1 stars
9/28/03 JJ An excellent historical action-packed drama...one of my top 5 all-time great movies! 5 stars
9/14/03 stephanie just watched it tonite 5 stars
8/03/03 Sandy Smith it SUCKS!!! 1 stars
7/17/03 kick ya dont tell me they spent MONEY on this film? 1 stars
7/05/03 Jack Sommersby Simple revenge flick dressed by with big money and credentials. 1 stars
4/19/03 Dr. Robert Dangerously horrible movie, a mockery of history, and insultingly stupid. Read more, Mel! 1 stars
3/06/03 Glenn didnt even se it through, "stuntman said it all". Get real USA, wake up from Disney world 5 stars
2/21/03 Suzan it wz ssooo good man u have to see it 5 stars
2/17/03 stuntman god, how self absorbed can the US be, this proves it 2 stars
2/16/03 Dave I hate this movie 2 stars
1/31/03 scott A GREAT FILM 5 stars
1/27/03 T-man Good movie, historically inaccurate as hell. Sounds like some sore losers among you Brits! 5 stars
12/28/02 Monster W. Kung I'd rather use diarrohea as a mouth rinse than sit through this turd again. 1 stars
11/18/02 Nevz More bollocks from the Gibson stables... 1 stars
11/16/02 PsiSeeker Famous White Indian Killer Now Avenging Hero... Deluded American history at its finest! 2 stars
10/23/02 Charles Tatum Embarassing flag waving gigglefest 1 stars
10/08/02 Sean Davenport A historical blunder that demeans the British beyond any conceivable truth 2 stars
8/06/02 GREATEST MOVIE EVER! I LOVED THIS MOVIE! 5 stars
7/19/02 To retarded Americunt KMG Watch Braveheart, another British-bashing movie. British are portrayed as demonic scum. 1 stars
7/04/02 KMG MEL HATES THE BRITS? How the hell does one pull THAT from this film? The Brits sucked then 4 stars
6/12/02 Stephanie Throckmorton Awesome drama, inexplicably ignored at Oscar time (& what's premature ejaculation issue?)! 5 stars
5/29/02 Danielle Ophelia Emmerich recycling his ID4 formula. $20 says he's a premature ejaculator. Mel's okay. 3 stars
4/05/02 Caligula So moronic and brainless it is funny. History for idiots, to say the least. 1 stars
2/20/02 luda hoe could this movie be worse, the only reason mel gibson should be allowed to live: braveheart 1 stars
2/20/02 Xaver Not much of a plot, but fun and entertaining. 4 stars
2/13/02 Kat Stradfurd I love the patriot, full of action, romance, some comedy & kept me on the edge of my seat. 5 stars
1/29/02 Chris K. So it was Mel Gibson, not George Washington, who won the war! Amazing! 1 stars
1/16/02 Mel Gibson sucking up to USA Enjoyable only if you live in the south, support NRA and vote Ross Perot 2 stars
1/15/02 David A. A lot of historic value--makes a case against pacifism 5 stars
1/05/02 Magnum Craphole Idiotic, embarassing Mel Gibson vehicle. Emmerich? The Ed Wood of big-budget cinema. 1 stars
1/02/02 I love movies as an entertaining movie, not a historical lesson, this one succeeds 4 stars
12/05/01 KMG I think there was a tweaked message in this...oh well 3 stars
12/02/01 Cracked head If you like this fake, insulting drivel, you're an idiot. That's all I have to say. 1 stars
11/20/01 Chris K. Bad acting from Mel Gibson and BAD HISTORY! Hollywood NEVER PASSES HISTORY! Grade F- film! 1 stars
11/14/01 Zizzerzazzerzuzz History movie for hopeless morons. The most embarrassing thing Mel's ever done. Pure shit. 1 stars
10/23/01 Adam Dis good film. No Bravehar' but is good. Some pars no so good. 4 stars
10/21/01 Cookie Cutter Good sets wasted on horrible, brain-dead, idiotic script. 1 stars
10/10/01 Phoenix This was a extrordinary war picture. The performances and action sequences were great. 5 stars
10/05/01 Geebo Nothing compared to Gladiator, it was okay 4 stars
9/05/01 spaceworm Not Mel's best role, but maybe his best acting moments (loss of sons) 4 stars
8/22/01 Babybelle Mel earned his salary, the director didn't. 3 stars
8/09/01 Crisis Management The kind of dumb, lame-brained patriotism you'd expect from Hollywood and Emmerich/Rodat. 1 stars
8/08/01 E-Funk Cmon people...This movie fucking sucks. It's like watching a murder spree in Disney World. 1 stars
8/07/01 Mr. Hat This movie kicks ass. Fuck you, Matt Bartley! 4 stars
7/26/01 Crisis Management After this movie came out, the world was suddenly a little bit dumber. 1 stars
7/26/01 Rolling Thunder Has to one of the most dumb and manipulative movies ever made. Shame on you, Emmerich. 1 stars
7/08/01 Caligula worst movie ever 1 stars
7/03/01 Piz Braveheart on sedatives. Stick in mediocre actors and this movie is a complete dump. 2 stars
6/14/01 zombie the only enjoyable part was when the church was burned down. heheh 2 stars
5/27/01 Dean Ken I agree, never seen so many cliches in one movie. Edge of your toilet seat fun! 1 stars
5/22/01 Ken I counted, and every movie cliche in history is in it. Check it yourself! 2 stars
5/15/01 Nayntara it's great! best film I've ever seen 5 stars
5/11/01 Chris Breathtaking! 5 stars
5/08/01 Katie This is the best movie 5 stars
4/25/01 Tim Clarke Wasted opportunity. Script rubbish. Music score weak. Editing weak. 3 stars
4/15/01 Fafafoey Unwatchable. Vomit Inducing. If you like this film, insert gun in mouth and pull trigger. 1 stars
4/09/01 Gary This is a great movie with great actors. Better than Braveheart! 5 stars
4/06/01 Hawkeye Say it with me, folks: Mel good, Emmerich bad. Good acting, so-so film. I liked it though. 4 stars
3/30/01 Casey Bunston I thought it was great, Iam total Mel Gibson fan great acting Mel 5 stars
3/24/01 Monster W. Kung A diarrhea of a movie... starts up slow, but then a load of shit comes over like crazy. 1 stars
3/19/01 TNT-6 An awful, cheesy, laughable, idiotic distortion of history. Roland Emmerich you SUCK. 1 stars
3/05/01 you suck fuck you 5 stars
2/19/01 Mark Tucker Usual pretentious shite that we have come to expect from Hollywood 1 stars
2/14/01 Katchoo Bloody but Good. Maybe a little long tho. 4 stars
2/14/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi A little too similar to Braveheart. Eye-candy points for Heath Ledger, my future husband. 3 stars
2/13/01 Gina Hart I thought it was a fantastic movie.. just because you cant act... 5 stars
2/12/01 Richard Wright I enjoyed it.Not quite BRAVEHEART, but Mel knows his stuff and it works. 4 stars
2/10/01 Michabo Beautiful filmwork, awesome actors. Has some flaws but overall I loved it. 5 stars
2/09/01 Bobby Morons, this was probably too deep and good for you 5 stars
1/28/01 Emma Stevens Man Hetah is a total babe, and the movie is absolutly great!! 5 stars
1/22/01 Adrian Billings exellent 5 stars
1/12/01 Bruce Who cares If this isn't historically accurate ? it ROCKS! 5 stars
1/10/01 Matt69 That british commander was one evil motherfucker. 3 stars
1/02/01 Fritz Utterly predictable; anachronisms abound. 3 stars
12/30/00 kevin THis film(sigh) is simply a cheap remake of Braveheart. C- 2 stars
12/28/00 Berna cool! bloody and all! i like it! gregory smith, heath ledger, mel gibson, etc. u rock!!!!!! 5 stars
12/02/00 The Evil Penguin tooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo long 3 stars
12/02/00 Phil Oh my god, people like this!?! Seagal's Patriot is better!!! 2 stars
11/30/00 King George III Utter rubbish, manipulative, contrived and totally over the top and unnecessary! 1 stars
11/20/00 The Bill Head Terrible movie..pathetic/stupid.Some okay battles, terrible ending...my head hurt for weeks 2 stars
11/13/00 Monday Morning Not the heaviest storyline but cinematog. and music are A-1. But 2.5 hours is way too long. 4 stars
11/02/00 Kevin Stites One of the worst films I have wasted three hours viewing. 1 stars
10/31/00 The Bomb 69 good movie 4 stars
10/30/00 Sasha Hays This film was so corney it made me laugh 2 stars
10/29/00 Bob Sagget All you idiots who say is not great are on crack 5 stars
10/26/00 JC23 Excellent 5 stars
10/23/00 Gremlin Shit, this movie's cool. Best work done with cannonballs I've ever seen. 5 stars
10/08/00 Arron Cotrel It was sweet 5 stars
10/08/00 The Rock Great Entertainment 5 stars
9/27/00 Andrew Ricci great movie:excellent reinactments and superb acting...a must see for eveyone 5 stars
9/18/00 White Rabbit My favorite movie from the past summer 5 stars
9/18/00 genie GO YOU AUSSIE ACTORS!!!! I only went to the cinema for a perve Love you Heath!!! 4 stars
8/21/00 Liz I love heath ledger! 5 stars
8/15/00 Robin Heath was a hottie! 5 stars
8/15/00 Jason Kallelis Enjoyable - not accurate but who cares, its just a movie, never claims to be anything else 4 stars
8/14/00 coffeecup Appalling from start to finish. Had I not had to wait for a bus, I would have walked out, 1 stars
8/13/00 Truckgirl Awesome, much more than I expected! Almost everyone cried...! 5 stars
8/08/00 Viking Not as half as good as "Braveheart" or "Gladiator" 3 stars
8/02/00 Piz way too long, no Braveheart magic here, gets laughable along the way. 3 stars
7/25/00 Travis doesn't take an expert to know the english were bruts and tyrants, heather 5 stars
7/25/00 Brad The best movie ever 5 stars
7/24/00 Heather Since when have the Yanks been experts on British history, NOT!! 1 stars
7/22/00 Tyler Peterson A good, historically accurate film. Better than that Bravehart bullshit! 4 stars
7/21/00 richard be honest Brits; Tarleton really was! 5 stars
7/20/00 Beau Despite what the english press tries to tell you, this movie is very accurate and true 5 stars
7/19/00 Eran "BraveHeart 2" - not even close ! 2 stars
7/17/00 Digitalus it was worth watching 4 stars
7/17/00 Natalia Very predictable. 3 stars
7/17/00 doug Good, but not great. 4 stars
7/15/00 Joe Liberalman Mel was supposed to be a "patriot" in this movie? (yawn) 2 stars
7/14/00 **~**Persnickety**~** it is funny to me to see that two australians are the hero's of america's freedom! 5 stars
7/14/00 molly smith critics are stupid, don't know what they're talking about 5 stars
7/14/00 Anonymous the film is not a documentary it was made to make money . critics need to understand that . 4 stars
7/13/00 Keith Loh Terrible terrible filmmaking and boring battle 2 stars
7/12/00 Gavin Moore William Wallace reincarnated; tense from start to finish 5 stars
7/11/00 Mantik0re Braveheart 2: The Revolutionary War... but entertaining none the less. 4 stars
7/11/00 J. Andrew Hefner Okay, not historically correct maybe, but a damn entertaining film. 5 stars
7/10/00 Arthur Sankey The only part that wasn't a cliche was the Columbine Renactment bit. Bloody sick. 1 stars
7/10/00 Rich Blume Gibson was good...the script, acting and plot were horrible. 2 stars
7/08/00 H. C. Reed We need more about this country's history and less about 'Political Correctness' 5 stars
7/07/00 AAD Pretty good movie, a tad long but still good. 4 stars
7/05/00 koHawk The reviews make me sick. This movie had emotion and ROCKED! Get a clue, folks 5 stars
7/05/00 Kyle This movie sucked. It is nothing but American propaganda. 1 stars
7/05/00 josh Could this movie be any more predictable? Replace dead wife with dead son and axe with gun 2 stars
7/04/00 "Persnickety" mel is still then man and able to give outstanding performances! loved it! 5 stars
7/03/00 Tony The Lurch decent movie, but ran a bit long 3 stars
7/03/00 Sean Horan Good movie, good theme. Battles were good, but not the strong point. A good watch, I think. 3 stars
7/02/00 Captain Highcrime The saviors of America...2 Australians? Didn't learn that in school. Thank you Hollywood. 3 stars
7/02/00 Lindsey It was an excellent movie! Sure it was kinda like Braveheart, but Brave. is also the best! 5 stars
7/02/00 lucas jackson hmm!it kind of reminded me of braveheart 3 stars
7/02/00 Bob I don't much care for reviews. It was a good movie! 5 stars
7/01/00 Politicsman Like fellow over-the-top director Schumacher, Emmerich is rewriting history. I smell Oscar! 3 stars
7/01/00 Metrazol Braveheart 2: Mel Gibson in America! 3 stars
7/01/00 John D Oh man. All it was missing was the cartoon dialogue bubbles over the "actors" heads. 2 stars
7/01/00 Kim Nohr Halfway through the movie I was slapping my head and muttering, "Hollywood Cheeze." 2 stars
7/01/00 bobbuttons What is this it? A drama? A comedy? Neither. Appeals to USA lovin hicks who hate foreigners 1 stars
6/30/00 cristina komeny very good!!! 5 stars
6/30/00 Pandora This was one of the most moving films that I have ever seen. The acting was commendable. 5 stars
6/29/00 Matt Erik the Movieman's review said it I all 3 stars
6/29/00 Coda Ugh. British bad. Killing OK. Blah blah blah. 2 stars
6/29/00 mahone The best pro gun movie of the summer 4 stars
6/29/00 PJ I fucking hate Emmerich, he comes second to the devil Schumacher, wretched piece of crap!!! 1 stars
6/29/00 "Persnickety" damn mel is hot! a great movie , the acting done by all is awesome!! 5 stars
6/28/00 *yeah baby* Historically: Bad Other than that, Heath Ledger is HOT as shit and makes the movie great 5 stars
6/28/00 DatherFrawdad one of the last scenes u can see that chick's heaving bosom.. or it would be just avg 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  28-Jun-2000 (R)
  DVD: 25-Apr-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  20-Jul-2000 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast