Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.14

Awesome44.12%
Worth A Look: 36.76%
Just Average: 13.24%
Pretty Crappy: 0.74%
Sucks: 5.15%

9 reviews, 82 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Remember the Titans
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Jason Whyte

"Are you ready for some Bruckenheimer Football?"
4 stars

Finally, a Jerry Bruckheimer production that takes a step in the right direction. "Remember The Titans," directed by Boaz Yakin ("A Price Above Rubies" and "Fresh") is a great and inspiring film that is less about the racism of the 70's and more about the acceptance of meeting new people, hard work, determination and teamwork. The movie is about sports, as well as having light touches of unwanted change in a very changing decade. Coming out of it all is another award worthy performance from Denzel Washington, who is just one of the many standouts of the cast.

Washington is Boone, a football coach who is assigned to a exclusively white school that is just becoming integrated. This sets the entire school off, who now has a large group of black football players to go along with the white ones. This does not start out well, as we see them training at a Football camp out of town, there are races sitting at opposite ends of the cafeteria. Training continuies, and so does Boone, who lectures the kids on the importance of teamwork and why race doesn't matter (a scene where Boone shows this, at the Gettysburg battlegrounds, works on the audience as much as it does on the team itself).

I just viewed the excellent film "Rudy" last week, which in itself was a film about a boy fufilling a promise to a friend to go to Notre Dame to become a football player, even if his small body subdues him. "Titans" would make a wonderful double-bill with "Rudy", and that's a compliment.

The cast is excellent, certainly the strongest point of the film. Washington is the core soul of the film, who commands his team with strength and brains; his big speeches to motivate the team are heartfelt and exactly on the money. Will Patton, as coach Yost, does a fine job as a man who thinks he was brushed aside but learns from Boone. Amazing how Patton has been a bad guy or a crazy guy (or a poorly written guy) in so many films ("The Postman," "Armageddon"), and I wasn't sure what his character would be like in the film. Ryan Hurst and Wood Harris develop a compelling and moving relationship that is the standout story. Ethan Suplee gives a funny supporting turn as an overweight player who wants to go to college. Kate Bosworth has another small, but credible role as Bertier's girlfriend who provides the film's fear of acceptance. And little Hayden Panettiere is wonderful and scene-stealing as Yost's daughter, a 9 year old obsessed with football that her screamings from the crowd and sidelines are funny and well-timed.

"Remember The Titans" isn't a perfect sports film, but it is still an inspiring one, to let us know that we can achieve our goals as long as we try. The film has it's weak points including some missed chances with the racial undertones and some overshot football sequences that appear more messy than brutal, but this film is great for reasons described above, and then some.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=2009&reviewer=350
originally posted: 08/01/05 18:37:18
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2007 Deep Focus Film Festival For more in the 2007 Deep Focus Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

9/16/17 morris campbell boring & preachy 1 stars
6/19/11 pwhite98270 classic movie with a wonderful cast, history of race relations 5 stars
3/22/11 kagomefan4lyfe Denzel Washington is a genius. Kudos 2 him! lol 5 stars
11/05/09 Robert I will say that it intrsting 5 stars
9/11/09 ilovecandy! it was exciting, fun and most of all it was great because of the great actors!! i loved it 5 stars
6/17/09 sexyasshole this movie makes me wet in my panties 5 stars
10/21/08 Shaun Wallner Thought this was a good film. 5 stars
9/14/08 PAUL SHORTT AN EMOTIONALLY UPLIFTING TESTAMENT TO THE POWER OF THE HUMAN SPIRIT 4 stars
6/30/08 Huston Gets Cheesier every year I watch it, but I watch it every year 3 stars
3/15/08 ladavies My husband watches this over and over, and I join him. Great movie. 4 stars
2/12/08 michael the ttans rock wooo. 5 stars
11/10/07 Amanda OMG.. Remember the Titans is the best movie. I have seen it at least 7 times. 5 stars
10/17/07 cait how could people say that this movie is bad..its about racism,we need to know! 5 stars
8/26/07 GWB Rocks Totally sucked! can you say formulated boys and girls? Makes Point Break look good. 1 stars
6/07/07 courtney sooooooooo good, puts a smile on my dile. 5 stars
5/08/07 Ant Don't bother remembering these manipulative Titans. 1 stars
5/06/07 ty This is one of my favorite movies. Iva seen it like 10 times 5 stars
4/24/07 yonathan Gonzalez its pretty cool but ive seen it at school like 7 times. Its really a good movie!!! 4 stars
11/09/06 Klaire excellent must see!!! 4 stars
11/06/06 Shei really good movie, has a wonderful meaning see it! 5 stars
10/03/06 melissa perez awesome movie 5 stars
8/30/06 connie daw awesome movie none better 5 stars
6/21/06 Joanie Very gentle 4 stars
6/14/06 Sandy + Stephanie (twins) Our favorite sports movie! 5 stars
5/20/06 William Goss Well acted, but too manipulative for my tastes 3 stars
4/02/06 JRE the best sports movie ever made 5 stars
11/15/05 jenene I really enjoyed this move it is one of my favorite movies. 5 stars
10/26/05 beans stewart good movie 5 stars
10/25/05 Carolyn Rathburn Wonderful movie, wonderfully done 5 stars
9/07/05 zac it sucked 1 stars
8/22/05 Quigley one of the best sports movies made. definitely worth seeing 5 stars
8/03/05 Carolyn Rathburn wonderful movie, loved it 5 stars
8/02/05 JASPER this film is a great movie and should be enjoyed by everyone 5 stars
4/30/05 ally one of the best movies i have ever watched 5 stars
2/05/05 clinger26 my favorite movie 5 stars
1/19/05 Yoshi It's a pretty good movie. 5 stars
12/06/04 Sophie Green best film i have ever seen i can't believe people don't like it 5 stars
12/04/04 Shelby This movie was great it touched me. way to go Titans. :) 5 stars
10/14/04 Eric Great movie one of my favs 5 stars
5/31/04 Nobody Disney just HAD to put in a gay kid 1 stars
11/08/03 Amanda LOVEd it.. could watch it 100 times 5 stars
9/03/03 Alex Go Denzel, Go Denzel, Go Denzel 5 stars
1/07/03 Bob Dong Absolute Classic, one of my faves, makes you fell all warm inside, buy or DIE!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
12/19/02 Mike Pretty Good, but OZ is right about the piano music in every scene. 4 stars
9/11/02 palaboy101 Another great football movie. 4 stars
8/01/02 I Can't Swim Important message given the Hallmark treatment; movie has much value nonetheless 4 stars
6/30/02 Iris Dementia Praecox Worthy idea backfires because Washington's character is a (self-described) "onery old cuss" 2 stars
10/09/01 Butterbean A good movie, but it's sappy as hell!! They said some of the corniest shit in this movie. 3 stars
9/10/01 Jeff Stryker Ok Film, but some really ridiculous parts. Tries to cover too many things 3 stars
8/17/01 hilary awesome 5 stars
6/27/01 Jennifer Really cool movie. My fav. 5 stars
6/04/01 Jake A realistic look at why football can be a beautiful game. Good study in teamwork. 5 stars
5/25/01 TigerDream awesome movie, all around good feel, and just makes you smile :) 5 stars
5/08/01 Joe Skeates Great movie, just an absolutely great movie. 5 stars
5/01/01 The Bomb 69 simplistic view of race relations in the 70's but good nonetheless 4 stars
4/13/01 Gary Great! 5 stars
4/10/01 Caitlin MacInyytyre I ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS MOVIE! 5 stars
2/15/01 jessica really well done. lots of hot guys. 5 stars
2/15/01 viking a feel good movie with a positive and relevant message 4 stars
1/30/01 Monday Morning Denzel definitely takes this film up a few notches. 4 stars
1/28/01 Tom Baddick Every high school student in America should see this film-- especially all sports teams! 5 stars
1/24/01 Zenon This movie ROCKED 5 stars
1/23/01 Megan Fallon This was a real feel good movie and whoever the mighty 'oz' is shouldn't bag it out! 5 stars
1/22/01 Tasha Parks The movie was excelent, I recomend it to anyone and every one. 5 stars
1/10/01 Matt69 O.k. Denzel steals the movie. 3 stars
12/26/00 Lauren It was awesome! 5 stars
12/11/00 Kook Would have been better if they'd have taken out some of the dramatic score.. eeeuch. 3 stars
12/09/00 Sheddy Celestine Words can hardly describe what I thought of this movie. 5 stars
11/27/00 Scott Rosier Excellent movie for all ages 5 stars
11/20/00 Tdis72 Very good movie! Denzel's performance is powerful. Very funny moments and nice ending too! 4 stars
10/31/00 G. Washington very good 4 stars
10/23/00 mwild so bad i nearly fell asleep, deserves 0 stars 1 stars
10/07/00 Michael Manipulative yet refreshing + wonderful. Only the most hateful cynic could not like it 5 stars
10/04/00 Jacques Strap two words: out-standing! 5 stars
10/03/00 Ground Zero Denzel Washington is the star 5 stars
10/02/00 Politicsman Right Along SIde Field Of Dreams, The Natural, Hoosiers, A League Of Their Own 4 stars
10/02/00 chuckmfh Great movie, touching interplay between characters 5 stars
10/02/00 Paulo What a lousy film...full of cliches, a real champion on the lack of originality category.. 1 stars
10/01/00 thomas k Was incredible, and touching, made me want to play football. 5 stars
10/01/00 Image Without a doubt...one of the best i've seen! 5 stars
9/26/00 The Rock Predictable like only a Disney and Football movie could be....but completely entertaining 5 stars
9/25/00 Joe Gillis Rocks! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  29-Sep-2000 (PG)
  DVD: 14-Mar-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  25-Jan-2001 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast