Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.22

Awesome: 10.07%
Worth A Look: 28.78%
Just Average41.01%
Pretty Crappy: 13.67%
Sucks: 6.47%

13 reviews, 61 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Whole Nine Yards, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Kelly Palma

"Matthew may have balls in the movie, but the movie itself had no guts!"
2 stars

Yawn...I was looking at my watch within 30 minutes...While it was funny, it wasn't really laugh out loud funny...All the hype I heard was that it was postively hysterical!! Needless to say I was not rolling in the aisles. Everyone in the movie wasn't even laughing. I am soo glad that I only paid a dollar to see this movie. It is not worth much more. Matt Perry should keep his day job on television and stick to friends.

When the movie first came out, they talked all about how Matthew Perry totally changed the script and improvised on the set. How did all this physical comedy and made the movie soo much better. There were only 3 scenes that had physical comedy! 1) when he first introduced himself to Jimmy the Tulip aka Bruce Willis. 2) when he knocks over the lamp going into the hotel room. 3) when he bounces off of Frankie Figgs aka Michael Clark Duncan trying to escape the room. That was it, although I suppose you could consider the sex scene physical, but it really wasn't comedy.

Here are the things I did like about the film:
1) Bruce Willis, Michael Clark Duncan, and Amada Peet - all played their characters fabulously, I really came to like them all in the end.
2) Gogo's accent was funny...although it did take me a while to catch on that the v's and m's and w's were all switched around..

Now for others that I didn't:
1) Rosanna Arquette's character just positively annoyed the hell out of me!! I know, I know it was most likely written that way..but still...they never showed her getting her just desserts in the end. That storyline could have been fleshed out futher.
2) I'm sorry but Michael Clark Duncan's character did not need to die in the end, that really bothered me!!
3) The fact that his assistant was a hitwoman as well?? Come on there were absolutely no clues to that, it came entirely out of the blue - the story simply had no basis for it.

All in all it was a half-budget script, beautifully showcasing Quebec and Niagara Falls..I am so glad I only paid a dollar to see this!! Unless you are extremely bored and there is nothing else at the video store - go ahead rent it or better yet fall asleep to it...that might be a good use for it..this movie simply falls short of have the whole nine yards...they are stuck back on the 25 yard line and have no idea what to do with the ball...so they fumble and fall like the sad players of yesteryear..

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=2013&reviewer=88
originally posted: 05/24/00 01:12:00
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/21/17 morris campbell fun if slight 3 stars
12/29/09 Dane Youssef A fun lightweight dark comedy from John Lynn. The cast deserves a whole Oscar. 4 stars
12/18/09 Jeff Wilder Lightweight yet fun. 3 stars
7/28/09 the dork knight It doesn't get funnier if Chandler slams into walls 500 times. I liked Arquette and Peet. 2 stars
12/14/07 Pamela White Bruce makes a better hitman than comedian but Perry keeps the laughs coming 4 stars
10/15/06 Charles Tatum Perry tries, some laughs and Peet's boobs save it 3 stars
8/24/05 ES I occassionally like mayo on my burger and fries 2 stars
6/04/05 Ubu the Ripper OK if you have nothing else to do and no one to do it with. 3 stars
4/24/05 DM Enjoyable, well-acted, goofy fluff 4 stars
3/11/05 Jeff Anderson Pretty funny & Peet is a STANDOUT! David Franco's ugly lensing of Montreal is poor, though! 3 stars
3/09/05 Fake Name Here Funny fluff, Arquette weirdly hysterical 4 stars
8/11/04 DJ ROXORZ JOO 5 stars
7/11/04 gag started off well....then turned down right ludicrous. fuck the dick head director 1 stars
4/23/04 J An entertaining movie! *** 4 stars
4/11/04 R.W. Welch Mildly amusing mob comedy, good turn by Willis. 3 stars
10/19/03 Curious George very good 5 stars
10/17/03 Josh Standlee Bruce Willis and Matthew Perry are a perfect combination! It's one hell of a funny movie! 5 stars
10/08/03 Tomo very good movie 5 stars
8/06/03 Kamie Hey i liked it, im lookin forward to the second one 4 stars
5/26/03 JoeSco Better than a Perry film should be and Natasha and Amanda are hot 4 stars
4/16/03 Andrew Carden Henstridge and Peet Provide Sex Appeal...but The Film Is Rarely Funny and Overlong. 2 stars
10/19/02 Paul Amanda Peet holding a gun, naked, is definately worth a look 4 stars
5/17/02 Dark Barøn Perry, drop the Chandler jokes already. Everything else was fine. 4 stars
4/01/02 Jim Chandler Bing meets the Sopranos; dumb cops steal the movie at the end 4 stars
2/20/02 Xaver The plot is quite clever. Loved the comedy. 4 stars
12/28/01 Doug Very funny. 5 stars
10/30/01 Casey GREAT MOVIE, i think i saw it about 20 times, Matthew Perry is the hottest man alive! 5 stars
10/29/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) Bruce Willis is pretty cool, Matthew Perry's funny, and Amanda Peet's hot. 3 stars
10/05/01 The $1.98 Pyramid Good. 3 stars
8/05/01 badfish Gotta love Brucie Baby! 5 stars
7/05/01 Roy Smith Mathew Perry is useless but Willis is a pro. 4 stars
5/04/01 The Chosen One Perry's a fuck up, but Peet makes it worth it 4 stars
2/19/01 Katie Excellent 5 stars
2/18/01 Phil M. Afficianado TheAngryJew's review is right on. It brightened a night on the road in a cheap motel room. 4 stars
2/18/01 Nic Saw it once - Would almost for sure never see it again. 3 stars
2/18/01 nicky the whole nine yards is awesome and matthew perry is so sexy 5 stars
1/09/01 Redbird The presence of Rosanna Arquette and Amanda Peete are enough to make this movie watchable 4 stars
10/21/00 Gremlin Well, I thought it was funny. 5 stars
10/02/00 Trina I like anything with WIllis in it 4 stars
9/05/00 Melis disappointing 3 stars
8/07/00 scott It was a real turd....but the tits were nice. 2 stars
7/24/00 Monday Morning There are more laughs in any average TV sitcom. Very disappointing. 2 stars
7/24/00 The Bomb 69 few laughs, a VERY average movie 3 stars
4/10/00 Ernie Levesque Leave your morals behind and sit back and enjoy! 4 stars
4/04/00 Belinda A video job if that! 2 stars
4/01/00 LucyB Fun Movie. Some Hillarious scenes.Credit goes to Mathew for all the best parts. 4 stars
3/30/00 Bruce A comedy right? So where are the laughs? 2 stars
3/15/00 Debra Worst movie I've seen in years. Dull, dull, dull !!!! 1 stars
3/13/00 Efman Fluffy first date flick... whats with the graphic killings?? 4 stars
3/07/00 Tom Burg the only reason you would think it's funny is because the ads told you it was 1 stars
3/03/00 Jackie Hilarious!!! Bruce & Matthew are brilliant! 5 stars
3/01/00 Sherry It was hilarious! 5 stars
2/28/00 Rachem A renter if I ever saw one. 3 stars
2/28/00 Zaw Oo Good ending. 5 stars
2/27/00 Jason Kallelis Great movie! Go see it. 4 stars
2/25/00 Poetcdh Funny film 4 stars
2/24/00 Allan Highly entertaining. Loved hating Rosana Arquette. 5 stars
2/21/00 Lindsay Alright. 3 stars
2/20/00 voyant bruce willis should play hitmen more often 4 stars
2/16/00 Andi very funny...not disappointing 3 stars
2/15/00 Amy wait for the video 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  18-Feb-2000

UK
  N/A

Australia
  30-Mar-2000




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast