Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.1

Awesome: 28.57%
Worth A Look52.38%
Just Average: 19.05%
Pretty Crappy: 0%
Sucks: 0%

6 reviews, 27 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Bad Genius by Jay Seaver

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Jay Seaver

Cold Hell by Jay Seaver

House of the Disappeared by Jay Seaver

Lady Macbeth by alejandroariera

Lady Macbeth by Peter Sobczynski

Poor Agnes by Jay Seaver

Sequence Break by Jay Seaver

Have a Nice Day by Jay Seaver

Liberation Day by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Pollock
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Preston Jones

"A powerful and moving portrait."
4 stars

Brimming with a zest for life and art that most Hollywood biographical portraits shun, Pollock is an unflinching document that portrays the last years of Jackson Pollock.

The film chronicles the final 15 years of Pollock's life, with all of its blemishes intact. Beginning in the midst of his fame as an abstract artist, then backpedaling to Pollock's early days in the late 1940s as a detractor of Picasso's who nevertheless aped his style, the film charts the turbulent, brilliant waters of Pollock's mind and those whom he directly affected.
A chance meeting with fellow New York artist Lee Krasner (Marcia Gay Harden in a well-deserved Oscar winning role) sets Pollock's career in motion and soon, she's moved in with him and secured him funding from the eccentric New York socialite Peggy Guggenheim (Mrs. Ed Harris herself, Amy Madigan). As Pollock's art begins to garner positive notices from critics, especially Clement Greenberg (Jeffery Tambor), his struggle with alcoholism becomes more and more threatening.
Krasner takes drastic action; she and Pollock pack up and move to Long Island, N.Y., creating an ersatz home in a drafty old house, complete with a long-abandoned barn. It is here that Pollock discovers his famous "drip" method of painting that skyrockets him to international fame. Soon, as his fame ebbs, Pollock becomes overweight and more abusive toward Krasner, taking on mistresses and completely ignoring his art. His life builds to a tragic climax that robs the art world of a true visionary.
Pollock does what few biographical films can do: Present an objective portrait of a man so consumed by his emotions and feelings that it's all he can do to create art to share with the world.

Don't miss this excellent debut from Harris. It's one of the best films this year.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=2018&reviewer=304
originally posted: 02/19/02 14:41:45
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/02/13 PAUL SHORTT VIVID, THOUGHTFUL ANALYSIS OF A TROUBLED GENIUS, WITH SOME GREAT PERFORMANCES 4 stars
8/06/06 ibrahimRehman i m writer i wrote a storys i wont to show it 5 stars
3/30/06 Thomas Semesky Hated Pollock's paintings, but liked the movie. 4 stars
2/22/05 andrea313 I love Ed Harris, but this one didn't do it for me. 3 stars
11/17/04 Michelle Execellent Moive!! Great acting. 5 stars
5/15/04 The More You Know adds to his legacy for better or worse, at least now I won't confuse Pollock w/ Browne. 5 stars
5/14/04 zee "NO! DON'T HAVE THAT DRINK!!" But, damn, he does... Ok, now go break some furniture! 3 stars
2/26/04 R.W. Welch Well done biopic. Helps if you're into the art scene. 4 stars
4/19/03 Dillon Sorry Eddie, I love you but this was too one-note for me. Harden terrific, tho 3 stars
4/18/03 Jack Sommersby One of 2000's 10-best films. Harris and Harden are brilliant! 5 stars
4/10/03 Jack Bourbon Ed Harris, Ed Harris, and more Ed Harris (which is good). Good job by Tambor, too. 4 stars
2/21/03 Jim the movie geek great cast, great story, understated, but kept me engrossed the whole time 5 stars
8/13/02 Bryan Brooks Ed Harris is outstanding. 3 stars
6/20/02 Reini Urban Thanksfully not too hollywood-like overly dramatic 5 stars
3/30/02 Film Guy Great Movie , not just for art lovers 5 stars
3/01/02 rue the whirl I thought it was... 5 stars
2/20/02 Xaver Marcia Gay Harden was supreme! See it. 5 stars
11/12/01 phil m. afficiando Awesome for the performances,casting,and directoral passsion. Not perfect, but who is? 5 stars
9/10/01 The Bomb 69 fragmented storyline, all over the place, great acting with poor directing (tough to do) 3 stars
6/04/01 Peter Brook good acting, poor directing, jumpy storyline. Should have been better than actually is. 3 stars
4/10/01 Spetters Harden and Harris make this worthwhile, because the narrative is sloppy sometimes. 4 stars
4/02/01 J.P. Couch Harden does an amazing job. 4 stars
3/28/01 skye great cast. fascinating subject. good movie 4 stars
3/24/01 Soggy Bottom Boy One of year's best, KICK@SS soundtrack. Top-notch acting, really loved this flic. 5 stars
3/05/01 Artist Freak Worth it just to see Ed Harris in the painting scenes, has other good points too. 4 stars
3/01/01 Roger the Shrubber Good acting + ok direction = worth a look 4 stars
2/27/01 Heather Great acting/directing from Ed & Marcia, a fly on the wall look at a destructive artist 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  16-Feb-2001

UK
  N/A

Australia
  31-Oct-2002




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast