Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.1

Awesome: 28.57%
Worth A Look52.38%
Just Average: 19.05%
Pretty Crappy: 0%
Sucks: 0%

6 reviews, 27 user ratings



Pollock
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"Nice work, Ed Harris; Jackson Pollock, you can go away."
4 stars

The trouble with biopics is that people's lives don't often have "plots" in the conventional sense of the word. Where stories have beginnings, middles and ends, real life has a beginning and an ending, but there's no guarantee anything in between will go anywhere.

So "Pollock," in which Ed Harris directs himself as modern artist Jackson Pollock, does well to address not the painter's entire life, but just the part from when he met his wife, up to his death.

His wife turns out to be Lee Krasner (Marcia Gay Harden), a Brooklyn girl who takes note of Pollock's talent. An artist herself, she knows he has potential. It falls upon her to light a fire under the unmotivated drunk: Pollock is almost the quintessential "artist" in that he is a moody, insecure voluptuary.

They meet in Greenwich Village in 1941. Soon after, she arranges for him to meet renowned art dealer Peggy Guggenheim (Amy Madigan). His career takes off from there, hampered by his drinking, shiftlessness and general orneriness. (The first we hear from Pollock's lips are "F*** Picasso!")

Harris does well playing a weary artist. His eyes are expressive, and the scenes of him painting are entrancing.

As a director, Harris also impresses. His style is too use lingering, unhurried shots. One might call this "slow," but it doesn't drag. Admittedly, if one is bored by the idea of watching an artist create, one would be bored with "Pollock." But the movie is not for those people. It's an intriguing portrayal of genius, and of the creation process.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=2018&reviewer=247
originally posted: 07/05/03 03:42:22
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/02/13 PAUL SHORTT VIVID, THOUGHTFUL ANALYSIS OF A TROUBLED GENIUS, WITH SOME GREAT PERFORMANCES 4 stars
8/06/06 ibrahimRehman i m writer i wrote a storys i wont to show it 5 stars
3/30/06 Thomas Semesky Hated Pollock's paintings, but liked the movie. 4 stars
2/22/05 andrea313 I love Ed Harris, but this one didn't do it for me. 3 stars
11/17/04 Michelle Execellent Moive!! Great acting. 5 stars
5/15/04 The More You Know adds to his legacy for better or worse, at least now I won't confuse Pollock w/ Browne. 5 stars
5/14/04 zee "NO! DON'T HAVE THAT DRINK!!" But, damn, he does... Ok, now go break some furniture! 3 stars
2/26/04 R.W. Welch Well done biopic. Helps if you're into the art scene. 4 stars
4/19/03 Dillon Sorry Eddie, I love you but this was too one-note for me. Harden terrific, tho 3 stars
4/18/03 Jack Sommersby One of 2000's 10-best films. Harris and Harden are brilliant! 5 stars
4/10/03 Jack Bourbon Ed Harris, Ed Harris, and more Ed Harris (which is good). Good job by Tambor, too. 4 stars
2/21/03 Jim the movie geek great cast, great story, understated, but kept me engrossed the whole time 5 stars
8/13/02 Bryan Brooks Ed Harris is outstanding. 3 stars
6/20/02 Reini Urban Thanksfully not too hollywood-like overly dramatic 5 stars
3/30/02 Film Guy Great Movie , not just for art lovers 5 stars
3/01/02 rue the whirl I thought it was... 5 stars
2/20/02 Xaver Marcia Gay Harden was supreme! See it. 5 stars
11/12/01 phil m. afficiando Awesome for the performances,casting,and directoral passsion. Not perfect, but who is? 5 stars
9/10/01 The Bomb 69 fragmented storyline, all over the place, great acting with poor directing (tough to do) 3 stars
6/04/01 Peter Brook good acting, poor directing, jumpy storyline. Should have been better than actually is. 3 stars
4/10/01 Spetters Harden and Harris make this worthwhile, because the narrative is sloppy sometimes. 4 stars
4/02/01 J.P. Couch Harden does an amazing job. 4 stars
3/28/01 skye great cast. fascinating subject. good movie 4 stars
3/24/01 Soggy Bottom Boy One of year's best, KICK@SS soundtrack. Top-notch acting, really loved this flic. 5 stars
3/05/01 Artist Freak Worth it just to see Ed Harris in the painting scenes, has other good points too. 4 stars
3/01/01 Roger the Shrubber Good acting + ok direction = worth a look 4 stars
2/27/01 Heather Great acting/directing from Ed & Marcia, a fly on the wall look at a destructive artist 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  16-Feb-2001

UK
  N/A

Australia
  31-Oct-2002




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast