Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.67

Awesome: 7.97%
Worth A Look: 22.46%
Just Average: 26.81%
Pretty Crappy: 14.49%
Sucks28.26%

13 reviews, 60 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


General's Daughter, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Hawkboy

"Everyone in the army is EVIL!"
3 stars

Yet another movie where John Travolta is the good guy, and everyone else in the movie is evil, wicked, mean, bad, and nasty. It gets a little tired.

John Travolta is a good actor. He is capable of good performances, and in this movie, John does display some of the acting talents that made him a star (and, to those of you who claim that the only reason he became a star was because he knew how to shake his booty in "Saturday Night Fever", well, you may have a point), but does John always have to star in a movie where he's the last decent man on earth?

John plays an Army Criminal Investigator looking into illegal arms sales on a base who is called in to solve the mystery of who killed the General's Daughter. Everyone is a suspect, because everyone is evil. There is an evil general, his evil assistant, the Daughter's evil boss/mentor, and an evil guy working at the base convenience store. Well, that last guy I made up. But you get the point. Of course, this makes guessing who the killer is REMARKABLY easy. Hey, that guy isn't quite so evil...he's a pretty famous actor, and he has remarkably little to do...yep, he's the killer.

John seems to enjoy making movies like this; it makes him look really noble, and he juts out his jaw when he reveals all the evil secrets that the evil military men were keeping. These guys are in charge of protecting the US, sure, but I guess the murder of the daughter of a General...well, it just got away from them. And, as always, there's the female role with remarkably little to do; Madeline Stowe's part could have been played by Danny Glover with about two lines altered.

It's well acted, but it's a tired genre. People seem to want to believe that the army, and indeed, the military in general, is this wretched hive of scum and villainy. It has a good cast, and it keeps you entertained for the 2 hours that it's on. But that's all.

It'll be interesting to see John as Frank Sinatra in that Scorsese pic. Maybe he'll end up bringing down the Mafia, jutting his jaw all the while.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=2052&reviewer=27
originally posted: 06/26/99 22:48:38
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/06/14 Vinnie Jackson Rob Gonsalves is a stupid idiot! This movie and its book are great! 5 stars
6/26/11 art a great mystery,Leslie Stefanson was Outstanding! 4 stars
6/04/10 User Name An unengaging thriller. 2 stars
11/11/08 PAUL SHORTT OFFENSIVELY VIOLENT, CASUALLY HEARTLESS, AND OFTEN CLUELESS AS TO HOW ROUTINE IT IS 1 stars
7/31/08 Annie viewed US on release. Australia when released. & the Rooster Crowed She Lied. Still awesome 4 stars
2/11/07 johnnyfog Ludicrous. Liked James Woods though 1 stars
3/25/06 R.W.Welch Cast does what it can with overblown, improbable whodunnit. 3 stars
3/11/06 Dillon Superbly acted with smart and snappy dialogue 4 stars
3/09/06 Dk Ok ish but never great 2 stars
12/05/05 J.D. Pittman III Travolta isn't bad. The whole movie put me on the edge of my seat/couch. 4 stars
8/16/05 ES Boring and bad, Mr. travolta you've done it again 1 stars
12/06/03 john well... it's absolutely terrible 1 stars
2/25/03 y2mckay Travolta a flabby mess, Stowe could be replaced by a mannequin. TG'sD had a nice rack tho! 2 stars
7/03/02 KMG It was boring. Travolta is getting old, pasty, and flabby. Fatigues can't hide that. 3 stars
5/21/02 Karen Moore John Travolta kicks ass! Too bad ass can't kick back! 1 stars
4/29/02 Francis How could they make such a mess of what should have been a really good story? 3 stars
1/31/02 Andrew Carden Travolta's Performance Is Stylish and Realistic. 4 stars
1/26/02 Lin Rainey Dark, moody..I liked it. Woods excellent as always. 4 stars
12/11/01 Charles Tatum Incompetent and offensive 1 stars
9/29/01 I'm just a random whore Fuck me 5 stars
6/18/01 Rampage i wll destroy anyone associated with this dipshit, including Blockbuster Video 1 stars
6/14/01 Law Firm of Dewey, Cheatam & Howe Hope actors hated making it, cuz I sure hated watching it! 1 stars
5/28/01 sharkey Cliche-a-rama! I just saw it for the first time, and I could recite the script with it. 1 stars
4/01/01 Jesse L I liked the opening theme song. the rest was junk. 2 stars
3/22/01 Aruba Jon How can John T. have a southern accent when he's suppose to be from Boston 4 stars
7/14/00 Kakki Rainy/Snow day movie. Suspense and weird turn in the movie 4 stars
7/07/00 Terrie Smith Not a bad film for a rainy afternoon. Best performance comes from James Woods. 4 stars
4/09/00 EMagGaRony decent movie... 4 stars
3/18/00 Jed Travolta & woods save this from becoming trash. 2 stars
11/11/99 Chef ADogg Travolta filmed this right after playing Fat Bastard in AP2. 1 stars
11/10/99 ikkemotube woods is ok, travolta is a whitetrashsweatingbuda 3 stars
10/28/99 Bozo Nothing special and leaves a bad taste in your mouth - good perf by Woods, though 2 stars
10/20/99 H'Woodbigshot Hoolywood and the military, need any more be said? 1 stars
9/24/99 Costars Great performance by James Wood 3 stars
9/10/99 Timbo MEDIOCRE 3 stars
9/05/99 Weird Andy A waste of celluloid. Great music, though. 2 stars
8/26/99 Ami the Wonderbread Straight to cable fair 2 stars
8/14/99 Keith Aside from the tied up naked bitch this film is garbage. 1 stars
8/12/99 Steve Kelley John Travolta has become his own caricature. His only hope is Kotter: The Movie. 3 stars
8/02/99 beachlovr9 Very good movie and excellent acting 5 stars
8/01/99 JimBob a good piece of film until you find out it's for real, then it kicks ass 5 stars
7/31/99 Obi Wan A decent flick...good seeing Madelaine again..But an HBO Movie defn8ly 3 stars
7/26/99 David Kindred Travolta has some good lines. Don't think, just watch. 3 stars
7/22/99 Suzz spotted the killer the first time he appeared on screen. HO HUM .. 3 stars
7/18/99 jlgallardo If you like faces of death, you'll love this movie. 2 stars
7/16/99 Keith One more like this Travolta and you'll be doing "Welcome Back Kotter" reunion specials. 2 stars
7/03/99 dbx i liked it. i dont see how you can enjoy southpark, and then critiscize this. 5 stars
6/29/99 PhilmPhreak Made me want to tie myself to the ground and cry for daddy. 2 stars
6/28/99 kevin wood I read the book. It was great. The movie was kind of sleazy and nasty. 2 stars
6/28/99 Freyja Sick and voyeuristic, under a very thin varnish of nobility. 2 stars
6/27/99 Chris Gianaras Decent military thriller that gets bogged down at the end in a disappointing ending. 3 stars
6/26/99 Bram Bleich Entertaining (7) 4 stars
6/25/99 Dave Should be called the Swiss Cheese 2 stars
6/23/99 Rob The book was a lot better 3 stars
6/23/99 Tim very disappointed.... 1 stars
6/23/99 jvt I've never seen a movie with more helicopters in it 3 stars
6/21/99 Softserve Not bad. Best scene of a person getting blown up, ever! 4 stars
6/18/99 Mr Showbiz This lurid, misogynistic thriller doesn't even manage to be a guilty pleasure. 1 stars
6/18/99 Darrell Louder This movie was incredible, though lacking in the character development area, it is good 4 stars
6/15/99 David Awful, cliched story given some directorial flair & good perfs, but not enough to recommend 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  18-Jun-1999 (R)
  DVD: 14-Dec-1999

UK
  N/A

Australia
  04-Nov-1999




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast