Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.24

Awesome: 21.9%
Worth A Look: 23.81%
Just Average: 20%
Pretty Crappy24.76%
Sucks: 9.52%

5 reviews, 75 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Day of the Dead (1985)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Jack Sommersby

"One Dreary 'Day'"
2 stars

While Fangoria magazine can get all giddy with anticipation over it, very few fans of this series will come away satisfied.

George A. Romero's Day of the Dead is by far the least of the trilogy, lacking the unnerving eeriness of Night of the Living Dead and voluptuous brilliance of Dawn of the Dead. In fact, it's a a fairly disreputable picture -- virtually contextless, atrociously acted, negligently written, leadenly directed. It's hard to see what Romero had in mind when starting the project, for he neither expands nor deepens his original concept: it's just a boring series of overly talky scenes with obnoxious characters played by a second-rate cast spouting a barrage of gibberish writer/director Romero has concocted with the deftness of a dime-store charlatan. Where Night's main setting was an isolated farmhouse and Dawn's an empty shopping mall, Day's is a Florida military underground bunker where three scientists and an array of soldiers have taken refuge as part of a last-minute emergency operation initiated by Washington, D.C. to try to find out why the dead are returning to life in the form of blood-crazed zombies. Which, of course, is a vital mistake, because for the last two movies we haven't cared why, so the operation holds little interest for us; and because the characters involved in it hold little interest as well, all we can do is bide our time waiting for Romero and special-effects whiz Tom Savini to unleash their usual brand of no-holds barred gore in the final sections. Romero hasn't bothered to grace the movie with anything resembling an expressive visual style (the cinematography is drab, and the compositions equally so), and he doesn't take advantage of the limited spatial logistics of the compound -- they lack the compactness of Night, the layered variety of Dawn; eventually it dwindles down to the humans running down narrow hallways trying to escape the zombies. Boring. And because the humans are both dimensionless and unappealing, we have not so much as an iota of emotional stake in their fate. About the only novel element is that of a zombie named Bub -- the lead scientist (unsubtly nicknamed "Frankenstein" by the soldiers) has kept it alive and is experimenting with its cognitive memory: listening to music with Walkman headphones, thumbing through a paperback novel, and even handling a gun, it's quite affecting. In an inspired physical performance, and the sole reason to give the movie a look-see, Howard Sherman is touchingly "real."

The 2-disc set from Anchor Bay Entertainment offers up oodles of special features that should keep you busy all afternoon.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=2096&reviewer=327
originally posted: 04/03/13 10:22:44
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/15/11 Chris F A bit slow but not bad overall 4 stars
6/20/11 art watch european zombie flick's like the drive-in's used to show,instead! 1 stars
11/05/10 Josie Cotton is a goddess Acting could have been better, but Romero's overall vision won me over. Also, great gore! 4 stars
1/01/10 art WHITE ZOMBIE from 1932,is the only true zombie flick,I DIG BUB THE ZOMBIE! 1 stars
12/25/09 Chad Dillon Cooper A good movie with great fx. 5 stars
10/29/09 PAUL SHORTT LOW-BUDGET, SCALED DOWN FOLLOW UP 1 stars
10/20/09 Jason Best movie ever made. Shakespearian quallity dialogs 5 stars
10/04/09 art BUB THE ZOMBIE WAS A REAL "CHARMER" 1 stars
4/23/09 FrankNFurter What's scarier-human nature or the zombies? A profound vision on the dark side of humanity. 4 stars
1/31/09 lo& I think this movie is very underrated,great characters,good dialogue. 4 stars
12/18/08 Craig D. No, action movie fan, Resident Evil is "a boring, routine zombie movie." Day is great. 4 stars
6/07/08 action movie fan great gore from tom savaini but little else-a boring routine zombie movie 2 stars
5/30/08 Peter Romero at his best, pre-modern sucky self. 5 stars
9/27/07 Paul kersey brilliant 5 stars
9/27/07 Paul kersey Awesome movie 5 stars
9/27/07 Paul kersey Awesome movie 5 stars
10/24/06 Drew G Needed a lot more zombie action... 2 stars
9/21/06 Lisa Craven Doesn't even come close to Night of the Living Dead, average gorefest 3 stars
9/20/06 Pritchett Not bad, not great, had a lot to live up to after "Dawn" - original script is better. 3 stars
8/24/06 havthat I liked this one the least of Romero's, but Bub's "humanity" was an interesting twist. 4 stars
8/09/06 Dragon The Artist A gorey, medieocre splat of entrails, thats a notch higher than popcorn flick status!!!! 4 stars
7/16/06 mark the best of the Dead movies-takes a little patience on the viewer, however 5 stars
10/26/05 chris a brilliant film although not as good as dawn 4 stars
9/28/05 Evan This is the Alien³ of the series. 3 stars
8/19/05 Gaston Nowhere near as good as NIGHT or DAWN, obviously, but has a few merits...and that FINALE!!! 3 stars
8/05/05 Pierre Zombie masterpiece! 5 stars
7/26/05 Kankasaur 1 part film-gore + 4 parts Al Gore. Skip the speechifying if you're no Romero zombie 2 stars
7/16/05 Brandy Harrington great gore cant not make up for the retarded story and awful acting. 1 stars
7/07/05 Burt Ward as bad as Jaws: The Revenge 1 stars
6/25/05 DennyRoss Very clostrophobic - guess that was the point. Still I liked this one but I didn't love it 4 stars
4/24/05 Indrid Cold An odd, boring story. But the death scenes at the end are worth the price of admission. 4 stars
4/16/05 Kainsdisciples better than dawn gotta love bob 4 stars
2/08/05 New England Patriots = Dynasty holy hell, what a piece of shit this was. AWFUL acting...AWFUL. 1 stars
1/28/05 ralph a true movie expert 32 yrs old not as good as dawn but still a must see if you are into gore 3 stars
1/10/05 Lucas Stenz WOW! Best horror film of the 1980s 5 stars
8/18/04 Random Fuck C'mon Romero, you could've done better than that!!! 2 stars
7/04/04 Samuel damn fine film. great ending to a great trilogy! 5 stars
6/12/04 Craig Good if you have a zombie fetish like me. 3 stars
6/07/04 Ryan Clark The least of Romero 4 stars
5/01/04 dead next door i like this one better than dawn. 5 stars
4/21/04 y2mckay Bad acting, meandering script, not enough gore, Romero Lite 2 stars
4/21/04 Jack Sommersby Great gore at the end can't compensate for abrasive characters and awful acting. 2 stars
4/18/04 Zach Cussing is ok, but not 50 million times that you just start shaking your head 3 stars
4/02/04 Lord Durvok 2 Good head-pulled-off fun! 4 stars
3/27/04 Gray to slow+depressing+not a obvious moral in it 3 stars
3/19/04 truth good fx but movie sucks, even worse than Dawn, boring and pointless,NOTLD still the best 1 1 stars
12/11/03 Heather great film!! 4 stars
11/27/03 John only for die hard Romero fans - an unworthy conclusion to a great trilogy 2 stars
11/01/03 American Slasher Goddess Too talky, but it's halfway decent. 3 stars
10/03/03 g-man it has it's problems, but for me it was the most gripping entry, and my personal fave. 4 stars
9/21/03 Samuel Justus A great ending to a great trilogy! 5 stars
8/13/03 Carrier In my opinion its the best of the three. Worth a look. 5 stars
4/30/03 The Talking Elbow Bub the zombie kicked ASS 5 stars
4/18/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" Lyrik All and all, it's an underwhelming film, but it's good things keep it on it's toes enough. 3 stars
3/01/03 y2mckay A pale follow-up to the previous classics, but still worth dusting off once in a while. 3 stars
12/28/02 Jack Sommersby Pointless, worthless crap. Bub the Zombie is a keeper, though. 2 stars
11/20/02 murat I don't care what what you say,this movie sucks .I wish romero couldn't have done it. 1 stars
5/21/02 Charles Tatum You cannot look away 4 stars
4/28/02 Eric Great zombie film has an intelligent story, excellent gore, and a superbly gripping finale. 5 stars
4/28/02 Phoenix A total bore. 1 stars
3/19/02 Aborted Gently Romero tries, but comes up short. 4 stars
1/15/02 Peter Herman this one has the darkest atmosphere of all three 5 stars
10/12/01 British Bulldog I really enjoyed this film, great special effects and characters. 5 stars
9/12/01 Elgyn I think this is every bit as good as "Dawn". 5 stars
8/06/01 E-Funk Ooh...I have a hard time making it through the first 5 HOURS of this film! Awesome Effects 4 stars
7/18/01 Ted Villavicencio a good zombie flick but far from Romero's greatest 3 stars
6/26/01 ric Definitely underrated. The last 20 minutes feature the BEST zombie action ever. 5 stars
5/02/01 Gracy Lionheart Perhaps if it was filmed the way Romero originally wanted it might have been better 3 stars
3/10/01 ryhan adams I found myself rooting for the bad guys ho should have been the good guys. Go Mr. Rhodes 4 stars
8/16/00 Rich Corle A Great film that is extremely underrated 5 stars
7/10/00 Bob Wombat Compared to Dawn of the Dead, this one was shite. 3 stars
5/26/00 Aaron Best zombie film ever!!! 5 stars
12/18/99 SID I commend Romero for the story he tried to tell, but I just didn't care about thecharacters 3 stars
9/08/99 little jerry Serious,powerful & extremely impressive.Budget cuts forced Romero to make this masterpiece. 5 stars
7/17/99 Eric Despite extreme gore, Day is one of the best horror films ever made.Surprisingly touching. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Jul-1985 (NC-17)

UK
  02-Feb-1986 (18)

Australia
  02-Feb-1986 (R)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast