Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.7

Awesome48.74%
Worth A Look: 19.75%
Just Average: 4.2%
Pretty Crappy: 7.14%
Sucks: 20.17%

4 reviews, 214 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Forrest Gump
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"Have you found Jesus yet, Gump?"
4 stars

Is it a better movie than Pulp Fiction? Probably not. Is it still good? You bet.

It's funny how the people who saw Gump when it opened raved about it, but when it became a mega-hit they all thought it sucked. How very trendy.

We're a few years removed from Gump saturation, but I still really enjoy this film, much like I did the first time I saw it. I guess there's a certain amount of magic to it that's drawn me in and kept me there.

Everybody knows the story here, and if you read Pythomas' review here at Hollywood Bitchslap, you know how the film differs from the novel. So I won't bore you with all that.

I've always been a fan of Tom Hanks, as I've mentioned before. There's probably not another actor who could've played Gump, or at least not as good as Hanks played him. The rest of the cast is wonderful as well, including Sally Field, Robin Wright and Mykelti Williamson, but it was Gary Sinise who positively stole it for me. I don't think there's a better actor working today.

The effects weren't really groundbreaking, but they were used to good effect. The placing of real people with actors would get annoying in Contact (did we really need to see President Clinton in that movie?), but director Robert Zemeckis seemed to realize that it suited the story.

Even now, four years after this movie came out, it's still one of my favorites.

Okay, so this isn't really a review, but everybody in the free world saw this movie. So there.

See it for Lieutenant Dan, dammit.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=210&reviewer=7
originally posted: 11/04/98 10:52:42
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

4/26/16 Ken People who didn't like this film are morons, including Zarathustra. 5 stars
3/10/15 lordsauron idiot film same with the character in this movie 1 stars
2/24/15 stanley welles a magical, technically triumphant tear-jerker 5 stars
8/29/13 Tammy Woodall This was one of Tom Hanks best movies. I watch it at least once a year. Its a classic. 5 stars
6/05/11 AEB A delicious petit four. 5 stars
1/09/11 Pamela White funny history lesson of the US and culture trip 5 stars
12/15/10 andrija very good 4 stars
5/31/10 User Name Tom Hanks is fantastic, but much of this drama is a false representation of mental illness 3 stars
5/16/10 NSS Trite, manipulate, reactionary, blissfully ignorant, unenlightened piece of cinematic crap. 1 stars
5/08/10 ERICA sinanan very cool great message 5 stars
1/16/10 PAUL SHORTT CHARMING DRAMA WITH A GOOD STAR PERFORMANCE 4 stars
11/22/09 Jeff Wilder Hanks is good. Plenty of heart. But could be a lot edgier. 4 stars
10/13/09 art IN REAL LIFE GUMP WOULD HAVE BEEN PUT IN A MENTAL-HOSPITAL! 1 stars
7/07/09 *Holy_J@lapeno* Absolute classic. Always loved this movie and always will. Great series of american events! 5 stars
3/20/09 charles chips charles drew medicine r university? charles drew medicine science university. charles drew 1 stars
3/19/09 charles worthington big hair spray charles darwin and on the origin of the species. charles darwin and the art of john steinbe 1 stars
2/15/09 Samantha Pruitt very original story and great acting, one of my favs! 5 stars
1/12/09 Anonymous. yeah "Zarathustra" is definitely in the minority. this is an emotional and great movie. :] 5 stars
12/16/08 Nick One of my favorites. 5 stars
9/06/08 Lizzzzzz I love this movie.It gives people hope. After watchin this, you feel everything is possible 5 stars
9/01/08 Amanda this guy writing this review is an idiot! the only negative review i could find for my ppr 5 stars
7/25/08 Tonster Excellent movie. Zaratoothy's review missed the point entirely -- escapism. 5 stars
6/01/08 MIchelle it wass okay i guess. 4 stars
5/02/08 jimbo kick ass 5 stars
4/17/08 shontravia excellent movie..anyone can achieve things if gump did 5 stars
3/25/08 Dale Dudee WOW DIS FILM IS INCREDIBLE N WHOEVER CNT SEE HOW GOOD IT IS HAS NO TASTE WHATSOEVER IN FILM 5 stars
3/02/08 bubblegump To all you gump haters, heres a suggestion, take a minute out of your meaningless shitty lu 5 stars
2/14/08 karenmae stupid is as stupid does! 4 stars
2/13/08 jAmiLLe.13 nice movie! you can learn man things here! great job! 5 stars
2/09/08 Jason Horrible...horrible! Why does anyone like this?? 1 stars
1/21/08 dr. zoidberg glorifies ignorance and conformity. Putrid. 1 stars
1/19/08 mb What was the point? 3 stars
11/22/07 R.W.Welch Cleverly concocted yard with a profound moral: "There ain't no substitute for dumb luck." 4 stars
10/24/07 Roberto Second only to Scent of a Woman - Pacino 5 stars
9/13/07 dude truly great 5 stars
5/21/07 Qaisar Janjua This movie makes you think that Nothing is imposible even for a less than ordinary persdon. 5 stars
3/06/07 dude one of the best movies ever made 5 stars
3/02/07 man best movie ever made 5 stars
12/08/06 Ron one of the worst movies ever made. Tom Hanks sucks anyway 1 stars
11/30/06 David Pollastrini very funny 5 stars
11/13/06 Sugarfoot Not only the worst movie to ever win an oscar, the worst film ever. Period. 1 stars
10/29/06 Priya Superb movie ever seen... 5 stars
7/17/06 David Cohen Audiences are like a box of chocolates: A bunch of lumps that soak up candy coating 2 stars
7/13/06 EZ Where's K-Dog?? I want to tell him he is insane!!!!! 5 stars
6/17/06 Umberto this moron isn't playng with a full deck! all he has is the 2 jokers! what a nincompoop! 1 stars
6/11/06 Dave Webber Interesting idea; mild social satire 3 stars
6/08/06 Mitch the gump haters club had gump painted in the toilets so we can take a dump on gump! 1 stars
6/07/06 Max Great Film. Try not to take it too seriously, it isn't a drama. 5 stars
5/28/06 isn't important Best Film i've ever seen 4 stars
3/27/06 Marco The gump haters club just got a lifesize gump doll to abuse and gump dart boards 1 stars
3/13/06 Anan Tello I just love the movie... it's multi-amazing... 5 stars
1/30/06 Bobby V. if you think your a film critic you are full of shite 5 stars
12/19/05 kr a great movie and anyone who thinks different is not intelligent enough to know a goodflick 5 stars
12/14/05 Mean Man I'm a member of the gump haters club. I'D LOVE TO KICK HIS F**KING TEETH IN! FUCKING NITWIT 1 stars
11/26/05 cr a great movie, great story,and tom hanks gives a wonderful perfomance a rare gem 5 stars
11/25/05 Movielover This a brilliant movie experience. Don't think of it as real life. 5 stars
11/17/05 jethro Get the bootleg with the scene where the bikers beat him up and dunk his head in the toilet 3 stars
10/15/05 Quigley I loved this movie and still do. hanks was superb, story is great, and it really is moving 5 stars
10/06/05 Johnny Tom Hanks' best, along with "Saving Private Ryan". 5 stars
8/25/05 Bill Horrible, horrible movie. 1 stars
8/24/05 ES An excellent movie with heart, style and a dash of levity. You truly want Gump to be happy 4 stars
8/19/05 Monster W. Kung Insultingly bad piece of shit. 1 stars
8/13/05 Gary The irony is that the people who found this movie "stupid" are too dumb to get it. 4 stars
7/20/05 Brandy Harrington He gave Lennon the words to Imagine! 5 stars
7/07/05 rosh mesmerising 5 stars
7/02/05 jimmy fuckin' great 5 stars
6/07/05 me best movie of the 90's 5 stars
6/07/05 Rock-Steady What a great and movie film. 5 stars
6/03/05 Pinkline Jones The most bowel-filling pile of toilet slosh ever put onto film 1 stars
5/10/05 Simon The movie gets so many things right in so many ways on so many levels. Transcending. 5 stars
5/09/05 Indrid Cold Epic drama/comedy. Entertaining but not profound enough to be a classic. 4 stars
3/08/05 Jake Slave Quite possibly the best movie made in the 1990s. 5 stars
2/27/05 Gray possibly the best movie ever made I honestly feel sorry for those who don't see it's beauty 5 stars
2/22/05 haha this movie is sick, it aint shit compared to pulp fiction though. 5 stars
2/18/05 Captain Craig A modern day classic from start to finish! 5 stars
2/05/05 ELI Y'all SUCK! This movie totally deserved the best pic oscar 5 stars
12/31/04 Abbath I loved it because I'm not a pompous asshole who takes himself and his movies too seriously 5 stars
12/09/04 joe cue horrible movie horrible andi can say it again if u know what im talkin aboout disgussing mo 1 stars
11/20/04 Pinkline Jones Pretentious, saccharine, kebab reflux 1 stars
11/16/04 Gooey wha? I thought it was a porn..forrest hump...? 2 stars
10/27/04 Carolyn Metz I found this movie fascinating; far-fetched, yes, but entertaining and educational too 5 stars
10/23/04 UMER amazingly honest performance by tom hanks 5 stars
10/02/04 albert pretty bad 2 stars
8/02/04 Anthony G fuck you john rice, this movie rules ass, lick my sack loverboy! 5 stars
7/15/04 John Rice Painfully calculated and heartless 1 stars
7/07/04 the dainty i loved this film and i prefer the film than the book. 5 stars
6/19/04 Horace a 5 stars
6/15/04 Daz Awesome. Excellent. Brillant. Beautiful. Wonderful. 5 stars
6/13/04 MyGreenBed An insult. The most common example I use to represent all that's wrong with the cinema. 1 stars
6/10/04 T. Maj Manipulative, irritating--but fun to watch 4 stars
5/31/04 Nobody Howdid Hanks win oscar? He mostly just stands and looks dumb. The movie's not half bad, tho 4 stars
5/23/04 Mitch Massive Oscar-theft will prevent me from ever liking this film. 3 stars
5/15/04 immegra Completely AMAZING! Just a great movie! 5 stars
5/11/04 J.Peckerfoot Great family film.Nice to see something original,touching and funny. 5 stars
4/09/04 BIG Phil I love the movie, makes me cry everytime, :'( 5 stars
4/07/04 anonomis its very sad but a heart touching movie 5 stars
3/26/04 jamie very good and sensitive 5 stars
3/26/04 a awesome 5 stars
3/23/04 Regina Revesis worth a look , even if ur under 13! 4 stars
3/01/04 NA This was a great movie along with the histoirical events 4 stars
2/25/04 Dingleburt HamsterPink Monstrously embarrassing - puke-flavoured Chest Beat 1 stars
2/10/04 willy allen great movie 5 stars
12/27/03 alice If you're under 13 watch the film. If you have a cynical bone in your body read the book! 2 stars
12/11/03 Amanda Brinkley I do believe that this is the best film ever, everyone should see it. Forest gump represent 1 stars
12/09/03 Samuel "Me and Jenny are like peas and carrots...we just go together" 4 stars
11/29/03 john decent = dumb?? also diabetics must be warned to stay away from this one - Mrs Penn is good 1 stars
11/05/03 jckc bluddy brilliant 5 stars
10/14/03 DM Right wing propaganda? I'm totally liberal and found none of that! 5 stars
8/24/03 Norbert Poindexter III Greatest movie ever made. Simplicity and Love beats hubris. 5 stars
8/19/03 miranda I HATED this movie-sappy,inane,etc......0 stars!!! 1 stars
8/11/03 Donald Hasselhoff "Hi There" - YOU are the oxygen thief dunderklunk! 1 stars
6/19/03 John Aster Habig an innocent sincere look at a troubling time from a man who more by not overthinking 5 stars
5/17/03 George Jung More formulated crap designed to win Oscars. 2 stars
5/14/03 Dan like it 5 stars
4/19/03 Hi there Hey, Jack Sommersby, go fuck yourself and die, you fucking idiot! 5 stars
3/31/03 Mr. Do this movie just sucks. 1 stars
3/26/03 Josh If you don't like this movie I kind of pity you. 5 stars
3/23/03 Jack Sommersby Right-wing propoganda that's both insulting and unbearable. 1 stars
3/17/03 Blabity blah Great movie. Very gentle. I loved it. 5 stars
1/25/03 Hi there Tom Hanks at his very, very best! 5 stars
1/21/03 Pinkline Jones Saccharin Flag-beating Pile of Ping Pong Pretension. 1 stars
1/01/03 Kalifornia ***** 5 stars
1/01/03 John Aster Habig a true look at a complicated time 5 stars
12/29/02 Femme_Fataleaa Heart Warming! Hanks is the man! 5 stars
12/20/02 cinkcool good 5 stars
12/16/02 rotten s. milk One of my favorites. 5 stars
12/07/02 moviemachine Zarathustra can suck my big fat cock! Excellent movie! 5 stars
11/22/02 chris one of the best movies ever 5 stars
11/20/02 Fuck me fuck you, the movie rocks 1 stars
11/14/02 Chiendog A work of art for the casual film viewer. The rest of us know better. 1 stars
11/06/02 Justin What kind of an asshole thinks this is bad? A masterpiece! 5 stars
10/28/02 Jay Winner of 6 Academy Awards including Best Picture. 5 stars
10/18/02 Charles Tatum Hollywood schlock 1 stars
8/18/02 Larry O'Connor Im still pissed all these years later that Pulp Fiction was beat by this cowpie. 1 stars
8/13/02 Ramblin' Wreck If you hate this movie, you have no soul.............. 5 stars
7/02/02 Cracked head A box of dung that's sold as Belgian chocolate. Shit. 1 stars
6/02/02 Monster W. Kung *VOMIT* 1 stars
5/12/02 Dark Baron Life's like a box of chocolates?? WTF does that mean? I know what chocolates tastes like! 4 stars
4/15/02 Incubator From the very bottom to the top and back....beautiful experience of emotions 5 stars
2/21/02 Bertha Venation I'm a sentimental fool but this left me cold and wondering why this movie was made 2 stars
2/19/02 Nicole Hicks Life's Like a Box of Chocolates 4 stars
2/19/02 katie maloney this is sucha good movie i love the way tom hanks acts and portrays his charcter 5 stars
1/31/02 Andrew Carden OK Movie...Pretty Slow, but It Was A Very Good Try. 3 stars
1/13/02 John McFly Well, there may be nothing profound in it but every time I watch it I spend a wonderfultime 5 stars
1/05/02 Magnum Craphole Idiotic ultra-conservative propaganda masquerading as a sentimental film. Junk. 1 stars
1/03/02 LiliaNic With this movie, Tom Hanks reaches the height of cinematic pretension.Only good for laughs. 2 stars
12/18/01 The $1.98 Pyramid "Run, Forrest! Run!" 5 stars
12/02/01 BlasterX Great suff! 5 stars
11/18/01 Charles Tatum Without question, the most overrated film ever released. 2 stars
11/18/01 Seather Awsome 5 stars
9/23/01 Monster W. Kung Sentimentality for dummies. Phony. Thought the Oscars couldn't do worse, then came Titanic. 2 stars
9/03/01 Butterbean Overrated, but a nice touching film 4 stars
8/31/01 spaceworm Both fans and detractors of this movie need to take a pill. 4 stars
8/06/01 E-Funk Only a nazi could hate this movie. 5 stars
7/27/01 Henry Ginsberg I've never met anyone who didn't cry during this film . 5 stars
6/21/01 Judith Latham Anyone who said this film was crap is an idiot who has nothing better to do . 5 stars
6/20/01 J Ok so it really wasn't his best movie. But hateful, evil & totally cynical? Yeah right. 4 stars
6/19/01 Bada Bing Crosby The most hateful piece of crap since the invention of celluloid 1 stars
5/03/01 BrainPan Not as good as the play or the TV series. 3 stars
5/01/01 eep Good at first, but comes across as contrived later. Totally relies on special effects. 2 stars
4/29/01 scarecrow86 pretty damn good! you guys have no reason to hate it, it FUCKING AWESOME 5 stars
4/28/01 Misty Erdahl something you can enjoy time after time 5 stars
4/08/01 cookie it is a great film tom hanks is a great actor 4 stars
3/30/01 Jesse L I wanted to punch him... 2 stars
3/29/01 rayking@raydio.fsnet.co.uk some nice effects working Tom Hanks in to footage, suitable for all the family to enjoy. 4 stars
3/27/01 Monster W. Kung One of the most overrated movies of all time (at least at the Oscars). Sucks, anyway. 2 stars
3/20/01 Thomas J. Run, Forest , Run...an extra 75 IQ points is chasin' your ass! 3 stars
3/12/01 Kellis this movie is pretty funny 4 stars
2/25/01 Big P. Terrific movie, very uplifting. 5 stars
2/20/01 Rocket Boy Oh God............. 1 stars
2/19/01 Claudia Tomschke a brillant film 5 stars
2/11/01 Del R One of my favorites. 5 stars
2/11/01 Jake I declare: "The most overrated film ever made." Sinise was bright spot though. 2 stars
2/06/01 m Only for the intellectually challenged. Try "Being There" instead. Peter Sellers was (God 2 stars
2/04/01 Avenger girl Amusing and at times funny but lacks impact, could have made a good satire if modified 4 stars
12/27/00 Viking A great achievement despite the right wing propaganda. 5 stars
12/22/00 Jaws1 A Larger than life movie. It has it all: Drama, Romance, Comedy and War. 5 stars
11/14/00 The EVIL Penguin The musoc is great; the rest of it stinks 2 stars
11/10/00 hayley my favourite movie of all time 5 stars
11/07/00 Sheen Butt Kicker FUCKING Amazing 4 stars
11/02/00 Cristopher Revilla anybody who didn't like this movie is either a fucking idiot or doesn't pay attention. 5 stars
8/18/00 Bender One of the most entertaining movies of the '90s. 5 stars
6/20/00 John A. Pfeiffer Pure crap and boring as hell - who cares; 1 stars
5/31/00 Jed Basically its the "American Beauty" of 1994 in a way. 4 stars
5/31/00 Michael Grimm entertaining 4 stars
5/28/00 Cristián Davis Acosta This is the best movie I have seen 5 stars
5/18/00 Creeper Incredible film. Loved it. 5 stars
4/04/00 Dale Hathaway A charming, but unrelentingly reactionary reinterpretation of a crucial period of history. 1 stars
3/07/00 perverted pixie Utter wank! If Hanks thinks he's being convincing he should check out "Gilbert Grape" 1 stars
2/21/00 Bozo I am a militant hater of this sugarcoated shite; I am insulted anyone liked it 1 stars
2/06/00 steve layne One of my favorite movies of all time 5 stars
2/05/00 Kyle Broflovski The Michael Bolton of film actors!!! Ay!!! I'll kick you in the nuts!!!! 5 stars
1/13/00 Chef ADogg Well, it's pleasant. 3 stars
12/16/99 Eric S. Forrest Gump is easily one of the greatest and most inspirational films ever made 5 stars
11/05/99 Anthony Ellis Improves with every viewing. Maybe just a tad overrated, though. 4 stars
7/11/99 Daria One of my favourite movies ever. Pity it had to beat Pulp Fiction, though. 5 stars
7/07/99 Ben Leostein Rating: *** (out of ****) Category: "Good" 4 stars
7/01/99 Elizaveta This movie annoys me terribly...ugh. 2 stars
6/14/99 Dylan A must see. Its funny and thought - provoking. 4 stars
5/10/99 Beachlovr9 One of the Best movies I have ever seen!! No doubt about it 5 stars
5/01/99 Whitney Great Movie. 5 stars
4/19/99 Tim Gilles This movie is awesome. Tom Hanks is great in this movie. This is a great look at history 5 stars
1/24/99 Melissa Amazing film. Hanks is a genius. 5 stars
1/22/99 C Dub I really enjoyed this movie in spite of all the hype (unlike Titanic) 5 stars
11/24/98 little jerry Too contrived to be enjoyable.Purely a film of the moment. Will date badly. 2 stars
11/13/98 Lord Of The Dunce Hype or not, unbelievable or not, it was still fun to watch. 4 stars
9/27/98 katherine this movie's great, but a little too much mush. 4 stars
9/14/98 Badass A wonderful film. 5 stars
9/11/98 LuvPat one of the most disgusting, emotionally manipulative films I've ever seen. Total crap 1 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball Sorry, maybe I was swept up by the hype, but I loved it a lot. 5 stars
8/20/98 The Man With The Helmet Fun in chunks but didn't need to be so long. Will be forgotten. 3 stars
8/18/98 sean Overrated, perhaps ... but it's pretty engrossing when you watch it. 4 stars
8/17/98 Johny Overrated, but fine 4 stars
8/15/98 {{{OZ}}} Run, movie-goer, run! Didn't live up to the hype. Textbook Zemeckis. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  06-Jul-1994 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1995




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast