Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.48

Awesome55.88%
Worth A Look: 36.76%
Just Average: 6.86%
Pretty Crappy: 0.49%
Sucks: 0%

13 reviews, 126 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Run Lola Run
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Dust For Eyes

"On your marks. Get set. Go in any direction you like!"
4 stars

If you don't like the ending in 'Run Lola Run' then pick any one you like from one of the other available endings.

Remember those choose your own adventures books? They were the ones with a myriad of alternatives and endings in each book. You got to decide what should be done and what would happen next.

If you got into them enough you would become a little disappointed when reading a normal book because you were not able to find out what would happen if the heroes had turned right instead of left. It was all rather disappointingly linear.

The same thing generally happens in movies as well. There are a couple of exceptions - 'Groundhog Day' comes to mind, but mostly we just have to accept the one direction the writer takes us.

Not so with 'Run Lola Run'.

'Lola' give us three endings, plenty of alternative decision making, chance happenings, close misses, crucial hits, flash backs, flash forwards, and lets us know what happens to characters that are only fleetingly seen in the main story line.

If it's not all happening then at least all that is happening gets a look in.

Manni (Bleibtreu) is a small time criminal in some disturbingly big time trouble when he loses a wad of cash that he was meant to deliver. He decides to call his girl-friend - the very red headed Lola (Pontente) - that he needs to somehow come up with the money in time for the pick up. The delivery time is in just twenty minutes. Whatever Lola is going to do, she needs to do it rather quickly. She starts running.

Can twenty minutes until the climax of the story fill up a whole feature length movie?

Well no, so instead we get three versions of the one story line shown in a galvanising mix of animation, video and a variety of film stock to express the effects of fate, crucial decision making and luck.

Writer/director Tykwer gives us a film made in an interesting and eclectic way about random chance. The film is full of energy with its unrelenting rhythmical soundtrack and has you fascinated right from the spectacular zoom-in right at the beginning.

The film has a number of features that are not all that common in film. As mentioned, there are the three takes at the story and the use of various film stock. The most original feature is the attention given to the fleeting minor characters. Entire lives are shown in a matter of seconds. The births, deaths, marriages and kinky sex of these characters are all shown to let us know where these minor characters came from and where they are going.

Pontente and Bleibtreu don't really have to try all that hard in their roles. Perhaps as sacrifice to the what-ifs answering, we don't find out that much about Lola and Manni and so the actors are not all that stretched. How and why did Manni get mixed up with these criminals and why does Lola so quickly help? That is not really answered.

Tykwer begins an idea of a film by a single image. He first gets that image moving and then bases the film around that idea. The image that he had for this film was a woman running.

It is Lola running, and the effect of chance that will be best remembered from this enticing film. Lots of the what-ifs are given so you can choose you own story to leave you with a satisfying and enjoyable time at the cinema.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=2128&reviewer=166
originally posted: 10/17/99 08:45:36
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

3/11/14 PAUL SHORTT EXHILARATING, STYLISH THRILLER 3 stars
4/02/11 Glenn VERY good movie; outstanding "energy" and wonderful soundtrack; VERY COOL Movie. 4 stars
3/08/06 Ashley Amazing! So much fun. It will appeal to a very wide audience of filmgoers. 5 stars
11/21/05 ken mad 5 stars
10/18/04 Hadassah There was so much symbolism in this movie, I've watched it about 6 times. 5 stars
9/25/04 Tor Honolulu If I ruled cable, this is would have its own channel and play non stop 5 stars
9/14/04 Muscle Mike Great spirit! I needed a cool-down lap after viewing this film. 5 stars
6/22/04 Kate Going 100km/s, the "parallel universe" theme, music and "outcomes" of actions is brilliant! 5 stars
5/11/04 John gets repetitive after a while, feels like it should have been a short film 2 stars
12/13/03 Image15 Fate and Destiny in 81 minutes...Great flick 4 stars
11/13/03 Anderson You won't fall alseep in total 81 minutes 4 stars
11/11/03 heidi it is interesting when i watched the 2nd replay...but it is not when i watched the 3rd 3 stars
11/08/03 Cindy quite interesting with three different endings just like a game 4 stars
10/16/03 Jenny There are lots of meanings included, but I can't really understand by watched it once only. 5 stars
10/07/03 Ka Yiu its a interesting film 3 stars
10/07/03 suki wu interesting and refreshing 4 stars
10/06/03 Van that's an interesting film i haven't seen before 4 stars
10/06/03 xanthe somehow it is a pretty good film as the story can be repeated three times without boring 4 stars
10/06/03 B quite interesting 4 stars
10/05/03 Andrew German Techno beats match the rhythm of the film! 5 stars
10/04/03 John That's is a very special film coz you can say it has 3 ending! 5 stars
9/30/03 yui exciting 4 stars
9/30/03 Ophelia 3 ending film is so interesting 5 stars
9/30/03 estheticaura A lady that would do it all over again, just for her lover. 4 stars
9/28/03 KKS_flimic nothing's special, just repeat for three times...but somethings really unexpected 3 stars
9/28/03 Yan_space I most like the music and light of this film, but the story of this film was a bit bored. 3 stars
9/28/03 Mark Fortner This is my favourite movie 5 stars
9/26/03 Irene Quite interesting 4 stars
9/26/03 Monica It cannot be imagined that the ending was like this if you haven't seen it before. 4 stars
9/24/03 J. LEE Repetition of the story makes the film very attractive 4 stars
9/24/03 Francis Space i think thiss film the pattern is quite special, many thing is out my expectation 4 stars
9/24/03 Jimmy_space In my view, it's not very interesting. Lola seems like Jesus, the story is unbelieveable. 3 stars
9/24/03 karen interesting 4 stars
6/21/03 Andilecious Briliant concept and well executed 5 stars
5/05/03 Dave Loved it. Slick, stylish, funny and believable, and if you don't like subs then fuck off. 5 stars
4/17/03 Olivia best film I've seen in years 5 stars
2/17/03 thomas york lola is a fun movie, you care what happens to the characters and the soundtrack kicks ass 5 stars
2/08/03 Zefram Mann Completely style over substance, but what good style it is in places. 4 stars
12/25/02 Goofy Maxwell Tom Tykwer? Sounds like the name of a hobbit. btw, "Lola" runs rings round LOTR. 5 stars
11/22/02 Christopher Liked it. Interesting. 4 stars
10/15/02 Charles Tatum I love Franka 5 stars
10/05/02 HARVEY J POST LA PETITE COUCHON 5 stars
8/31/02 Robbie Banfitch there's so much to like in this movie 5 stars
8/18/02 .Choadushouse. Amazing! Unlike any film I've ever seen! Completely entertaining and Lola is SO HOT!!! 5 stars
8/11/02 akash sexy 5 stars
7/08/02 Movie Expert Just another example that 99 was one of the most innovative and best years at the movies 5 stars
6/22/02 Phil M. Aficionado Inventive/gripping, little twists provide robust different outcomes. Subtitled beats dubbed 4 stars
6/06/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi this film was fucking awesome, i could watch it for hours and hours, ova and ova agen 5 stars
4/26/02 Gremlin A different movie, nice change of style, action, and German background makes it great. 5 stars
3/23/02 R.W. Welch Inventive format, longer on technique than substance. 4 stars
2/19/02 Sebastian Brocks Good Film with 'special' story 5 stars
1/12/02 The Moorhen WOAH! 5 stars
1/04/02 Sparky Polastri One of the most watchable movies ever; I love this the most 5 stars
9/26/01 Gabrielle I liked it. It had pace, action and variation. It was never dull or boring. 4 stars
9/02/01 Butterbean Great movie! I love the parts where Lola runs into people and we get to see thier future. 5 stars
8/15/01 Marlene I have'nt watched this movie, but The devil told me it was good so I like it. 4 stars
7/20/01 Gus It blew me away after a disappointing start 5 stars
5/15/01 P.Rodriguez Sick Techno Soundtrack and some of the madests character credits makes the film a classic. 5 stars
5/15/01 zeitgeist u have to respect this kind of originality 5 stars
5/02/01 Bada Bing Crosby Everything I look for in a movie is right here in this masterpiece 5 stars
4/26/01 Silver Starfire It has an innovative storyline that keeps you on edge the entire time you watch. 5 stars
4/14/01 y2mckay Great premise and story, seamlessly meshed with an awesome techno soundtrack. BUY THIS DVD. 5 stars
3/10/01 Vinod Zachariah Really Amazing Idea 5 stars
2/28/01 Loki You must see it. 5 stars
2/20/01 Rocket Boy Yum. 5 stars
2/12/01 stella Klassnoe kino 5 stars
2/08/01 John Adams Chutiya jevu movie cheeeeee............ 5 stars
1/09/01 Rob Banfitch If only america could make movies like this. 5 stars
1/08/01 Eden This movie is unlelieveable. it perfectly fuses sound and sight. 5 stars
1/03/01 svetlana so fast paced it only felt 20 mins long! 5 stars
12/28/00 Kat tres magnifique 5 stars
10/10/00 P. Rodriguez FanF@#$nTastic easily leaves for dead shit american thrillers. 5 stars
8/01/00 Delusia Great love story. 5 stars
7/13/00 Dr Strange I thought this was great, visually perfect, and I'm always a sucker for this type of story. 5 stars
7/12/00 Tom Very cool! 5 stars
7/07/00 Elvisfan Wow, she runs & screams & smokes like a champ! Great great movie 5 stars
6/26/00 stranded on the Island Best movie of 1999! Expect to be worn out by the time you finish watching... 5 stars
5/28/00 Weird Andy I could watch stuff like this for free on MTV's "AMP." Great opening sequence, though. 3 stars
5/02/00 Mortis Amazing editing, otherworldly storyline, Fuckin' awesome 5 stars
1/09/00 Will run you crazy bitch run 5 stars
1/06/00 Jason Imaginative, enthusiastic, thoughtful and energetic 5 stars
12/19/99 Pix Cliche story line - Fantastic execution. 5 stars
12/11/99 Glenn A high-energy romp. And then a romp. And then another romp. 5 stars
11/29/99 Mic Not as good as I thought it would be, but nevertheless... 4 stars
11/15/99 gnomical inventive, enjoyable. loved the mixed media approach. 4 stars
11/08/99 Eden all I can say is WOW. Amazing! 5 stars
11/07/99 Ruth J BRILLIANT!!! 5 stars
11/04/99 Mike Not as good as what you may think... 4 stars
10/30/99 cate dare fantastic 5 stars
10/26/99 pipeman So fucking cool. I was mesmerized. AND I went out and bought the soundtrack immediately. 5 stars
10/26/99 Greg A fun film 4 stars
10/25/99 Pierce Lanson Creative, Fast, Exciting, Great music, Thought-provoking-Brilliant 5 stars
10/25/99 Gawain McLachlan Adrenaline pumping,kinetic, techno fuelled, hyperactivity. Run into your cinema now! 5 stars
10/23/99 Belinda Get the soundtrack 4 stars
10/17/99 Grahame Wells Loved it: striking, brilliant, funny 5 stars
10/12/99 Jon I like Lola, she is a nice girl. 5 stars
10/10/99 Weird Andy Great opening sequence. Some nice touches, but the film's structure saps its energy. 4 stars
9/30/99 majawat quirky, fun 4 stars
9/19/99 Costars Creative, Funky & FUN 4 stars
9/18/99 majawat das is fun movie 4 stars
9/17/99 Mairi Thomas What a blast! Fast, pacey, gripping and FUN 5 stars
9/16/99 Robert Smith I liked it. I liked it a lot. 5 stars
9/16/99 Richard Fortunato really really fun to watch- German enuf to seem "different", universal enuf to be great 5 stars
9/15/99 Heather Loved it!! Just going off to dye my hair red.... 5 stars
9/08/99 Dr. Fardook Restored my faith in humanity, art, and senseless beautiful flash 5 stars
9/08/99 Elijah The über-action movie! Action for the brain 5 stars
8/16/99 sean a hyper-active synthetic thrill ride that blows the mind away and leaves you begging 4 more 5 stars
8/15/99 Kenéz Krisztián kelotiodni 5 stars
8/12/99 ProfJim An MTV video feature length film done right, now with metaphysics and chaos theory added! 5 stars
8/11/99 raf AMAZING 5 stars
8/03/99 Cameron ... 4 stars
8/03/99 jason as slick as the shit that you dont even have to wipe. 5 stars
8/03/99 Milena Verzeanu Awesome music ! Definitely the best and freshest movie of the year ! 5 stars
7/29/99 ralph norton GREAT fast paced film, I loved it! Unfortuatly Hollywood will ruin it with a remake,I'msure 5 stars
7/26/99 Suzanne Riveting, energetic, amazing! 5 stars
7/25/99 Tom Moore rocked! 5 stars
7/25/99 jen please, PLEASE don't let hollywood fuck with this one... 5 stars
7/23/99 iyu There is no genius. This movie is a repetitive pretentious piece of German shit. Lame. 5 stars
7/13/99 jvt Inventive, running time flies by, but LOCK, STOCK is still year's best arthouse so far 4 stars
7/09/99 bridgette you can't help but get into it. high energy. great soundtrack. 5 stars
7/09/99 James Hong Brilliant, as good as or better then 2 smoking barrels 5 stars
7/08/99 Oliver Bandte energetic, high power, brack through movie 5 stars
7/06/99 Brian M very kinetic, techno love story 3 stars
6/21/99 Vanessa Meidinger fast, varied, great ideas, breathtaking 5 stars
6/18/99 Mr Showbiz Not much depth, but has kinetic, exhilirating energy in spades. 4 stars
6/13/99 Aoife White Adrenalin rush. Smart sassy Lola tries to beat the clock and save her boyfriend. Echt cool. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  18-Jun-1999 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  21-Oct-1999 (MA)


Directed by
  Tom Tykwer

Written by
  Tom Tykwer

Cast
  Franka Potente
  Moritz Bleibtreu
  Herbert Knaup
  Nina Petri
  Armin Rohde
  Joachim Król



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast