Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.01

Awesome43.24%
Worth A Look: 33.33%
Just Average: 10.81%
Pretty Crappy: 6.31%
Sucks: 6.31%

2 reviews, 99 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

Endless, The by Jay Seaver

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Spaceballs
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"Out of order? FUCK! Even in the future, nothing works!"
4 stars

Uneven satire (and a few years too late to be timely) but still funny.

Spaceballs is a satire/parody/spoof of Star Wars and its sequels.

Well, duh.

It's not horribly original, and there's not a lot of really huge laughs, like there were in Blazing Saddles, The Producers or even Silent Movie. But there's enough smaller jokes to keep you smiling and occasionally laughing steadily. Most of the jokes (as is typical of these types of movies) are verbal: puns, weird names, things like that. Bill Pullman plays Lone Star, a hybrid between Han Solo and Luke Skywalker; John Candy plays Barf, the mog ("Half man, half dog. I'm my own best friend!"), the Chewbacca clone; Daphne Zuniga is Princess Vespa...and so on. It's lighthearted and lightweight. It's...a Mel Brooks movie.

I know it's basically empty, I know it's pretty lame compared to other Mel Brooks movies, but it's better than the last few he's done (Dracula: Dead And Loving It? Robin Hood: Men In Tights?).

Rick Moranis gets the most laughs as Dark Helmet, the sometimes clueless ("I am your father's brother's nephew's cousin's former roommate," he tells Lone Star before a fight. "What does that make us?" Lone Star asks. "Absolutely nothing!") Darth Vader ripoff. Candy's funny, although you wish he's given more. Pullman, Zuniga and Joan Rivers (as the voice of Vespa's robot assistant) all seem to fall flat. Maybe it's because Rivers isn't funny and the other two are more tuned to serious acting.

Despite that, I still recommend Spaceballs. It's a repeat viewer; it'll grow on you.

Jump in the car, and head on down to the local video store. At Ludicrous speed.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=215&reviewer=7
originally posted: 01/21/99 11:32:42
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/15/14 PAUL SHORTT FLACCID, SILLY SPOOF OF STAR WARS 2 stars
10/05/13 Shane Love it, classic Mel Brooks 4 stars
10/28/10 Rolly Hyatt Jokes tend to lose a little punch near the end, but otherwise roaringly funny. 5 stars
5/08/10 Dr.Lao Apparently Brooks used up all his good jokes in "Young Frankenstein" 2 stars
12/31/09 the dork knight Weak comedy. But no one can deny its pop culture status... 3 stars
11/06/09 Jeff Wilder Not as consistent or funny as YF or BS. But one of Brooks better entries from an uneven era 4 stars
7/16/09 art PURE GARBAGE! 1 stars
7/09/09 Stephen Extremely funny, i enjoyed really much! 5 stars
7/07/09 *Holy_J@lapeno* Funny in alot of scenes. Other scenes are too corny. (ahah Ima MOG) man dog! 4 stars
11/11/08 David this movie was the cheeesiest, unfunny uncool spoof from a washed out director uncool 1 stars
6/25/08 Denise Pavona Lousy movie, silly, boring. 1 stars
6/02/08 psyclon9fan Amazing movie, maybe a few years to late but still one of the best 5 stars
4/13/08 Spaceball Fan Loved the doll scene; Rick Moranis is hilarious. 5 stars
12/06/07 Pamela White great parody but schmultzy 4 stars
9/28/07 Bitchflaps Painful, even bad spoofs are at least intermittently funny. This is tedious. 1 stars
2/12/07 Tom H. This movie was a great movie I used to see all the time when I was a kid. It's a classic! 5 stars
12/14/06 Ron When does this happen in the movie? Its happening now, now 5 stars
9/02/06 Del It was the best! 5 stars
5/25/06 drydock54321 kind of silly but fun to look at 4 stars
5/05/06 dionwr So-so Brooks Schtick 3 stars
5/02/06 Ryan_A We ain't found shit! 4 stars
5/01/06 William Goss It has its moments. 3 stars
5/01/06 PaulBryant strange, bad, funny - Candy is worth seeing. 3 stars
5/01/06 David Cornelius Sometimes genius, sometimes stupid 3 stars
5/01/06 HBS-SH cupid killed his own brother 4 stars
3/27/06 Brian Meyer It's witty! It's nostalgic! It's Mel! What's not to like? 5 stars
1/25/06 Sean Hartlieb Hillarious as a spoofy comedy 4 stars
11/23/05 chris quite a silly film something that should sicken any true star wars fan 1 stars
10/25/05 Liberal Slayer This has to be the funniest comedy in the past 20 years! 5 stars
8/19/05 ES if you're a 13 year male old living fifteen years ago, this will bee your thing 2 stars
6/25/05 Dark Helmet Evil will always triumph because good is dumb 5 stars
5/10/05 Indrid Cold An OK spoof, a few scenes are hilarious. 3 stars
5/31/04 Nobody Hilarious! Almost as good as Monty Python and the Holy grail! 5 stars
5/05/04 JR Keep firing assholes ! 4 stars
5/04/04 Whatevr Ive watched it 300 times and its still funny 5 stars
3/29/04 Michaelb14 And I see your Schwartz is as big as mine! 5 stars
3/22/04 Lord Haw Haw What's the matter, Col. Sanders? Chicken? 4 stars
9/17/03 Michael Vyner great film, laughed all the way through. great to watch with mates!! 5 stars
6/17/03 Andrew Callaway Mel Brook's last great movie. 4 stars
4/14/03 Del Funny still, even after watching it several times 5 stars
4/09/03 defranco71 pretty funny. 4 stars
3/31/03 Luke Skywalker loved it. 5 stars
3/27/03 Ionicera several funny parts in a mostly lame movie 3 stars
3/12/03 Pliimmer fucking amazing 5 stars
2/10/03 Ubu the Ripper Well, hmmmm, Pizza the Hutt was mildly humorous, and so was Mega Maid. 3 stars
1/08/03 ZeroCool best movie ever 5 stars
1/06/03 Vince "We're not just doing it for the money.... We're doing it for a SHIT LOAD OF MONEY!!" 5 stars
12/16/02 Kyle Oh my God this is embarassingly horrid... 1 stars
11/04/02 moviemachine Hilarious! 5 stars
10/18/02 Jay So fucking hilarious! 5 stars
10/14/02 Charles Tatum "What's wrong, Colonel Sanders? Chicken?" 4 stars
9/27/02 Tom Fleeman Very few parody movies can top this Star Wars mockery. 5 stars
8/04/02 KMG FUNNY AS HELL IN THE RICK MORANIS PARTS 4 stars
7/28/02 Law Jim The Movie Freak can suck my ass...funniest parody ever! 5 stars
7/27/02 moviemachine The funniest movie ever created! 5 stars
7/21/02 Lord Helmet The funniest movie EVER made! 5 stars
5/12/02 Constantinescu Ovidiu Excellent movie too bad they diden't made another one 5 stars
4/05/02 Justin One of my favorite movies! May The Schwartz Be With You! 5 stars
3/06/02 Alan Smithee She's gone from suck to blow!!!! 4 stars
11/28/01 The $1.98 Pyramid Too much of Brooks (two leads, the directing, the writing...) 4 stars
11/27/01 Luke DeCrans best movie ever!!!!!!! 5 stars
11/01/01 james adams the funniest movie i have ever seen 5 stars
10/09/01 Andrew Carden At Times Very Funny, but The Cast Gets Annoying, and The Scripts Wear Thin. 3 stars
9/02/01 Butterbean It's no Young Frankenstien and Blazing Saddles, but it's still funny 4 stars
8/06/01 Mr. Hat Variety & myDad don't think it's as funny as Mel's earlier hits.True, but it's STILL FUNNY! 4 stars
7/28/01 Steve I guess you could say it "went from suck to blow." Funny first 2 times, got old fast! 2 stars
7/16/01 Tonio Madman Funniest movie Ever 5 stars
7/01/01 svetlana i've sat halfway through it twice...have yet to actually finish it... 2 stars
6/23/01 TIm AWESOME! Hilarious movie 5 stars
6/21/01 Nick smashing! 2 thumbs right up your ass! 5 stars
6/20/01 Dylan "evil will always triumph over good, because good is dumb"-Dark Helmet 5 stars
5/15/01 Monster W. Kung Young Frankenstein it's not. 2 stars
4/27/01 X Rick Moranis great - 'Don't make me go over your helmet!" 4 stars
4/21/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) Funny at best, but a Star Wars spoof should've had more spectacle. 3 stars
2/12/01 Richard Wright Star Wars spoof starts funny,then gets very boring very quickly. Mel Brooks past his prime. 3 stars
2/05/01 Classicdog Mel Brooks is the king of spoofs, Spaceballs is hilarious! 5 stars
1/19/01 Ground Zero brilliant and hilarious 5 stars
10/21/00 YOUR Movie Expert Dark Helmet getting hit by the camera cracks the hell out of me. Mel Brooks Rules!!!!!! 5 stars
9/14/00 Bryan this movie is great! 5 stars
5/05/00 Matt Reagle An incredible movie....I have seen a hundred times!!! 5 stars
4/12/00 Rita If MAD Magazine made a movie, this would be it! Mel Brooks is the king of movie parodies! 5 stars
3/28/00 Zac Baker great and funny 5 stars
12/31/99 Nissa Good spoof on star wars, laurince of arabia, planet of the apes 5 stars
9/18/99 Real McCoy Suck my spaceballs 5 stars
9/06/99 Jason Kinsey funny- I liked it. Great cast 4 stars
8/02/99 Physh "It will grow on you faster then you can say SCHWARTZ!! Parody of all parodies." 5 stars
2/06/99 Don Wilson Great, great, classic comedy! 5 stars
11/28/98 chuck anyone smarter than DrEvil(below)knows this movie is hilarious 5 stars
11/04/98 Bad Kosh Another sci-fi parody, for anyone who enjoys authentic comedy. 4 stars
10/26/98 cyanide rush a classic 5 stars
9/27/98 Heather Funny funny stuff! 4 stars
9/25/98 Pat Flanagan I cried(when it ended), but mainly I laughed my ass off! 5 stars
9/16/98 cheryl_ann funny, not hilarious, but funny. 4 stars
9/10/98 Johny Good, but overstays it's welcome past the villian's demise 4 stars
9/06/98 Young Einstein Gah. 1 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball Not a fan. Simplistic comedy. 3 stars
8/22/98 James McCauley If you like anything Mel Brooks has done, then this flick is a must. 4 stars
8/17/98 Mike F I loved this before I saw 'Star Wars', now I love it more. 5 stars
8/15/98 {{{OZ}}} I know many people loved it, but it bored me to tears. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  24-Jun-1987 (PG)
  DVD: 03-May-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A


Directed by
  Mel Brooks

Written by
  Mel Brooks
  Ronny Graham
  Thomas Meehan

Cast
  Mel Brooks
  John Candy
  Rick Moranis
  Bill Pullman
  Daphne Zunega
  Dick Van Patten



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast