Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.03

Awesome35.14%
Worth A Look: 13.51%
Just Average: 2.7%
Pretty Crappy: 16.22%
Sucks: 32.43%

1 review, 68 user ratings



Grease 2
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Carina Hoskisson

"Almost completely unremarkable"
2 stars

In 1978 a small movie musical called Grease happened to storm the country and topple box office records. The whole premise of the story is that a summer romance between Sandy (Olivia Newton John) and Danny (John Travolta) fizzles when the pair is thrown into Rydell High School together. Danny, fearing his reputation would suffer; put the damper on Sandy’s desires. She spends the rest of the year trying to get his attention back. Danny is part of the hot-rodding, badass, leather clad T-Birds. Sandy tries to fit in with the Pink Ladies, the bitch on the bike equivalent to the T-Birds, who want nothing to do with her. All, as you can imagine, is well in the end. Sandy sexes herself up—and Danny decides that if Sandy’s pants are sewn on, he wants a seam ripper. Everyone (well almost) graduates from Rydell.

There’s just one problem. Grease is a hit. A huge hit. What’s a producer to do? The whole cast graduated from the high school. The director, writer, choreographer, and your two stars don’t want to have anything to do with a sequel. Not even Frankie Avalon will make a return appearance.
Well, the absence of talent, heart, script, motive or sense has never gotten in the way of a producer hell bent on “2” territory.

And so one of the most blasé, unaffecting, and boring sequels in film history is green lighted.

I’m going to try to recount the plot for you. Caution: take a No-Doze before you continue reading—and don’t operate heavy machinery.

Rydell High School is back in session. The T-Birds are back. This time they aren’t hot-rodders, they ride motorcycles, and they can’t dance. The Pink Ladies are back, but none of them are as bitchy as they were before (or as interesting.)

Milquetoast Michele Pfeiffer is Stephanie Zinone. Stephanie is supposed to be a Pink Lady with attitude. Instead Pfeiffer walks around like a lost soap star looking for a teleprompter. Stephanie just broke up with T-Bird Johnny (Adrian Zmed.) This is probably a good idea since she’s Isabeau and he’s a short angry troll.

English exchange student Michael Carrington (no relation to Alexis) arrives for his taste of Rydell American pie. When Michael gets off the bus he’s met by Frenchy (Didi Conn) who is the only returning character from the first film. Frenchy explains in an awkward transition that Michael is Sandy’s cousin. This is even more awkward because Sandy is Australian and Michael is, apparently, a cockney from London’s East End. Wait, maybe he’s from the Midlands, or maybe Cornwall. One can’t really say because his accent changes so often. Bygones.

Michael falls almost immediately for Stephanie. But he’s geeky and she’s a Pink Lady…I think you sense the enormous social chasms between them.
By this time you’ve already witnessed some sad, sad “dance numbers.” I say “dance numbers” because they should have “been performed” by people who “could dance” or at least have been “interesting in the slightest.”

Poor Michele Pfeiffer has to sing a coma-inducing solo about her fantasy, a “Cool Rider” who will someday sweep her, and her Farrah Faucet hair, off her feet. Michael watches Stephanie straddle a ladder and “ride” it like a motorcycle. So he uses the money he makes from selling history papers and buys a motorcycle so that he can be said “Cool Rider.”

A lot of things confused me about Grease 2.

Like how come, all of a sudden, the T-Birds and the Pink Ladies changed ranks completely. None of them were in the original, so it seems that immediately, upon the previous year's graduation, an entirely new set of people become T-Birds and Pink Ladies. Does this happen every year? Leap Years? Did an energy crisis or lack of spare car parts drive the T-Birds from hot-rodding to motorcycles?

How come Frenchy, who was one of the Pink Ladies, still wears her pink jacket but never actually talks to any of the new pink ladies, who seem unaware of her existence. In fact, the only person who ever talks to Frenchy is Michael. Does Michael see dead people? Are Frenchy and Michael in some kind of Drop Dead Fred parallel universe? Why is Frenchy in high school at all? Didn't she drop out?

When Michael finally takes Stephanie on his motorcycle into the sunset why does he speak in an American accent?

Why are all the extras dressed in hair and costume like the 50’s while Michele Pfeiffer wanders around looking like she should be on Knots Landing?

Why, in the name of all things holy, did someone write a song called “Reproduction” and then have 30 year old people dressed in 50’s costumes sing about reproduction in a choreographed number set in a high school Biology room? A girl in a poodle skirt actually sings/flails the line “make my stamen go berserk.”

Someone actually cast Lorna Luft in a movie? Is Lorna Luft really the only highlight of this movie?

And then I realized...this is what happens when a studio just wants to make money off a name. Throw integrity and talent out the window and Grease 2 is exactly what you get. A thoroughly banal, tedious, insipid, and boring package that deservedly failed at the box office. The worst part about Grease 2 is that the lesson has not been learned. Producers and studios still make monotonous sequels to varying degrees of success (Speed 2 I’m looking your way.) We have to suffer this repeated dismal dreck in the name of entertainment.

Do yourself a favor, when Grease 2 runs on basic cable, watch a Ronco Rotisserie infomercial instead and you might actually be entertained.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=2177&reviewer=44
originally posted: 08/17/03 23:42:50
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

5/16/17 Louise Don't bother with this. 2 stars
12/10/12 Jamie 'Art' is an absolute patetic troll. Sad has no life and will never achieve anything. 1 stars
7/05/12 Dr.Lao The worst non-Andrew Lloyd Weber musical in human history 1 stars
2/19/12 jcar a good sequel that is underated, good performance by michelle & maxwell 4 stars
2/02/11 Craig Bishop Grease 2 has lots of energy, funny lines and catchy music. Very Enjoyable! 5 stars
6/20/10 Sarah Excellent review.The film is crap and failed at the box office-but people still defend it 1 stars
3/11/10 Angie Crappy. But at least its laughable. 2 stars
1/03/10 art IT SUCK"S JUST LIKE THE FIRST GREASE! 1 stars
8/09/09 EMMA THE FILMS GOOD NOT AS GOOD AS THE FIRST MICHELLE PFFIFERS GOOD AT LEAST SHE CAN SING 4 stars
8/01/09 Grease 1 fan The movie sucked but I can still remember the words to the songs? Oy. 2 stars
6/21/09 Ashish The movie was awesome. This reviewer is not. 5 stars
3/07/08 Ben Best review! This film is a crime against humanity 1 stars
2/16/08 maxwellinformed this was the funniest review I have ever read. "Does Michael see dead people?"LOL 1 stars
12/22/07 Keg I thought this movie was pretty good 4 stars
8/13/07 fools♫gold I recommend hearing Pfeiffer sing in "Fabulous Baker Boys" instead. 1 stars
4/13/07 Missy moo i loved it i enjoyed it sooooooooooooo much the actors are way better..... 5 stars
7/14/05 Magdalena Saucedo This is a great movie. I love it! 5 stars
7/08/05 ryfyc it's the best film 5 stars
6/13/05 edwardmaule edwardmaule 1 stars
2/23/05 Cody not great flim ,but underated movie Michelle is hot and would love to be her cool rider! 3 stars
12/28/04 sbpa21 so dumb 1 stars
10/25/04 Amy Great film, love the cornyness of it. Wicked sing-along. Thanks :-) 4 stars
10/14/04 blue the stamen is the male part of the flower!!! fuckin stupid movie!!! 1 stars
9/08/04 Kali Ball I love Grease and it will always be the word to me! 5 stars
8/09/04 Lexie BAll it is the best movie iv'e ever seen!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! All the people are awesome actors! 5 stars
4/11/04 Jason Nugent It's bad, but it's highly addictive. It's good for making fun of, like Rocky Horror. 2 stars
3/08/04 Sugarfoot I want a C-O-O-L R-I-D-E-R, Preety horrible but I love it for it's camp value. 2 stars
3/06/04 cody I like better than first grease, boy has crush on hot girl!! Its good movie great songs! 4 stars
1/26/04 Katie Malone Better than the original! Severely underrated! 5 stars
11/14/03 Craig Bishop I love this film! The music has lots of punch, And the characters work together well. 4 stars
10/30/03 Ashley Blair It is the greatest film in the world! So cheesy you have to love it! 5 stars
10/03/03 Gabby I love this movie, I don't care what anyone says about it. The sequel was more fun!!! 5 stars
6/23/03 goomi bay-uh Campily Wonderful 5 stars
6/22/03 cochese They both SUCKED 1 stars
6/18/03 Jeff So much better than the original! 5 stars
5/11/03 Dan Bad movie and song 1 stars
3/21/03 Jack Sommersby Very entertaining, charming, and adorably performed by a game cast. 4 stars
12/04/02 Todd Love it. 5 stars
10/14/02 Charles Tatum This movie is so bad, I put a hit out on Adrian Zmed 1 stars
9/21/02 Tilly Tilson Its brilliant and its a film that you never get bored of. 5 stars
8/26/02 Martin I am ashamed of the rating, but its honest...... 5 stars
8/11/02 Jy I thought this movie was one of the best movies I've ever seen and its not all that crap!!! 5 stars
6/11/02 Joe It's total shite 1 stars
3/23/02 Butterbean There is no way in hell this was better than the original. 2 stars
3/08/02 anastasia diablo Fanastic 5 stars
11/22/01 ferring absolute and utter crap....i loved it!! 5 stars
11/01/01 Amy The greatest movie ever made it gave us Michelle 5 stars
10/06/01 Ashley Excellent 5 stars
8/30/01 Manorrd So bad I squirmed. It actually made me feel a little sick to my stomach. 1 stars
6/30/01 Jasmine A fun silly so bad its good movie!!!! 4 stars
6/28/01 Mister Robinson this film is a bitch 1 stars
6/09/01 Dustin to all of the people who love this film: FUCK YOU! 1 stars
6/06/01 Brandon Glenn Rogers i have one thing to say to dat director: YOUSE A HOE ASS BEEYATCH! i hated dis film.JESUS! 1 stars
3/31/01 steven olson better than the 1st 5 stars
3/27/01 Justin Thomas Truly the WORST FILM made in history... what a load of CRAP. 1 stars
2/18/01 Grease2fan Thought the movie was good fun, some people expect too much. It is just a movie 4 stars
2/17/01 patrickernspiker@hotmail.com like it as a kid,even had the soundtrack,its not great today but launched pfiefer's career 3 stars
1/30/01 Laura The most amazing film i have seen, and i hjave seen it about 300 times to date!!! 5 stars
11/28/00 Cristopher Revilla fuck you guys, this movie is fucking trash, watch the original instead!! 1 stars
7/31/00 CHRISTINE GREER THIS MOVIE WAS WONDERFUL MICHELLE WAS PRETTY AND ADRIAN IS FINE AS HELL 5 stars
7/31/00 Amy Better than the first one! 5 stars
7/30/00 Craig Bishop People are WAY to hard on this film. It is alot of fun! 5 stars
6/26/00 Maria White Absolutley amazingly exellent 5 stars
5/21/00 fiona better songs than the 1st one & michelle pfeiffer! 4 stars
3/27/00 Richard Wright This shameful cash-in is the worst musical I've ever seen. Get it out of my sight...NOW! 1 stars
1/08/00 John Markham WARNING:CAN SERIOUSLY DAMAGE YOUR HEALTH!!! 1 stars
11/04/99 Mickey "Father Death" MacJohnstmyster Anyone who gets that excited about going back to school , is taking some HARD SHIT ! 1 stars
9/04/99 dean perrone (springhead@hotmail.com) This would have to worst-sequel made film in movie making history.100% total crap. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  11-Jun-1982 (PG)

UK
  02-Feb-1983 (PG)

Australia
  02-Feb-1983 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast