Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.59

Awesome82.02%
Worth A Look: 7.89%
Just Average: 2.63%
Pretty Crappy: 2.19%
Sucks: 5.26%

5 reviews, 198 user ratings



Empire Strikes Back, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Old Monkey

"SEE IT, BITCH!"
5 stars

In a galaxy far, far away..

I hope they also make movies as good as this one.

In the Star Wars Trilogy, this is the flick where all the actors shine brightest.

A rare occurance can be seen here: THIS SEQUEL IS BETTER THAN THE ORIGINAL.

Empire is one of the finest Sci-Fi flicks to hit the big screen, and has set a precedent that every Sci-Fi flick that followed has been compared to.

You can't beat Yoda. As far as little green puppets go, he's the top of the tops. Luke was less of a wuss, and that's a good thing.

Also..
My girlfriend really digs the Solo/Leia kiss.

This movie fucking rocks ass.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=218&reviewer=2
originally posted: 08/29/98 22:40:21
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

3/12/17 morris campbell the best sci-fi sequel ever 5 stars
5/06/15 chuck the best sci-fi film ever period 5 stars
3/02/15 james hictchock this movie was so laughable 2 stars
2/27/15 harry potter garbage sequel. the two towers. chamber of secret, temple of doom 10000000 times better 1 stars
2/27/15 michael perfect for kids under 5 years old 1 stars
2/19/15 master yoda sorry guys but return of the king are better 4 stars
2/14/15 enicmatic al the best sci-fi ever is 2001: a space odyssey 2 stars
2/14/15 jason gracio masterpiece for RETARDED PEOPLE 1 stars
2/13/15 potter fan this movie are bitch 1 stars
2/09/15 martin alexander MOST SHIITIEST MOVIE EVER MADE, AWFUL, AND REALLY PATHETIC 1 stars
2/08/15 russel people saying this is the greatest movie ever made are 10 years. 1 stars
6/22/14 M Il miglior film della saga 5 stars
2/19/11 Ark Yep! 5 stars
1/21/11 Crow94 Best sequel. 5 stars
7/09/10 Beef The best sci-fi movie of the 20th century 5 stars
6/08/10 Flathead King Superb movie that has lost none of its charm with the passage of time. 5 stars
12/05/09 Jeff Wilder Easily the best Star Wars movie and one of the few sequels to surpass the original. 5 stars
8/10/09 Flounder The best Star Wars film by a mile, and the best sequel in cinema history 5 stars
9/23/08 PAUL SHORTT TECHNICAL VIRTUOSITY AND ENTERTAINMENT INGENUITY 4 stars
7/22/08 the dork knight The best one. Period. 5 stars
7/12/08 Evil Dead Ed The best Sci-Fi sequel I have ever seen! 5 stars
6/16/08 Johnnyfaye Lucas taking crediet for others work....wicked movie. 5 stars
2/28/08 pkr 3 star wars 3 stars
11/09/07 MP Bartley Never gets better than the Hoth opening. 4 stars
11/04/07 charlie rhine i saw this movie in germany (army brat) its my earliest and best cinematic memory 5 stars
4/26/07 Sharlatan yes this is good but the other sw films are utter shit/bar the 1st 5 stars
2/21/07 Nick The best Star Wars movie by far. 5 stars
1/19/07 turd the only really good starwars film all the others bite ass 5 stars
12/23/06 del The greatest STARS WARS film. Period. 5 stars
11/12/06 yoda not my favorite star wars but is as good acting, visual effects, yoda, and great climax. 4 4 stars
10/24/06 David Pollastrini never a big fan 3 stars
7/24/06 David Cohen Best of the Star wars movies, lets hope Lucas doesn't "improve" this one too 5 stars
5/25/06 drydock54321 best of the sw movies 5 stars
5/09/06 omar the best star wars ever 5 stars
12/04/05 cody a good star wars movie,good storyline, but even with yoda, the first half bore, climax save 3 stars
10/31/05 Matt G This is the most effective Star Wars film from a storyline's point of view. 4 stars
10/27/05 chris the battle of hoth says it all for this one!! 5 stars
9/12/05 Zack my favorite starwars movie 5 stars
8/27/05 Quigley that one line is pure cinematic genius. (I am your father) Star Wars rules and so does Yoda 5 stars
8/26/05 ES Star Wars is enjoyed by more people than hated, its clear who the real losers are- love it 5 stars
8/01/05 ALDO the CGI fags ignored this movie and turned Yoda into a d-bag 5 stars
7/20/05 Chris Best SW movie, the prequels are a joke next to it 5 stars
6/20/05 R difficult to believe that the same man made the prequels. 5 stars
6/11/05 Gecko Fanfoot The best of the best. Lucas will never surpass this. Trust me. 5 stars
6/11/05 Manu Ginobli another shitty movie, glorified by you nerds. 1 stars
6/09/05 JD Easily the best of the series, a classic! 5 stars
6/04/05 Ubu the Ripper THIS IS THE TOP OF THE MOUNTAIN OF SPACE FILMS. Lucas didn't direct it. 'Nuff said. 5 stars
6/01/05 Rishy B Has to be the best S Wars. Darth Vader is gr8, the ending superb, the atmosphere amazing! 5 stars
5/24/05 JFK great sequel 5 stars
5/21/05 Colin Smith Greatest of the Trilogy 5 stars
5/19/05 E-FUNK All other episodes pale in comparison. Kirschner should have directed all of them. 5 stars
5/12/05 dogs Darth Vader is Lukes father. HAHAHA I RUINED THE ENDING! 2 stars
4/25/05 Pippin007 It Ok! Not The Best Star Wars flim. 4 stars
4/17/05 Alex Willoughby My favorite movie! 5 stars
4/12/05 Indrid Cold As good as action scifi gets. An instant, unforgettable classic. 5 stars
2/23/05 Cody a good star wars movie and great follow up! but slower pace and less focus on the story. 4 stars
2/03/05 Dan FUCKING AWESOME!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
1/02/05 keithers.. Best of the series...a must for any sci fi fan 5 stars
12/28/04 t-1000 the second best sci-fi movie ever; still, really cool movie! 5 stars
12/08/04 Kristina Williams Luke....well, you know the rest 5 stars
11/13/04 X $ % & ! NO! NOT AGAIN!!!! 1 stars
9/20/04 Vicious Probably the best and deepest of the saga. 5 stars
8/18/04 courtney one word GREAT!!!! enough said 5 stars
8/01/04 keithers the peak or lucas career...he goes only down hill from here 5 stars
7/09/04 Bobbo The 2.5% who said total crap should go kill themselves. This movie was incredible 5 stars
5/31/04 Nobody A great sci-fi flick in the tradition of A New Hope. 5 stars
4/30/04 Read it, Seen it, Done it The best of the original Star Wars series 5 stars
2/04/04 c.r I like the story and visual effects plus I thought Yoda training Luke was pretty cool! 3 stars
1/30/04 Flounder One of the greatest movies of our time 5 stars
1/24/04 Elena Luke Skywalker is so hot and this film is entertaining and suspenseful. 5 stars
12/08/03 john phenomenal sequel as good as the original 5 stars
12/06/03 admiral piett I loved it 5 stars
11/03/03 American Slasher Goddess The movie that created the dark middle sequels. The best of the series. 5 stars
10/06/03 DM Better than the original - "I am your father" was my biggest movie surprise EVER 5 stars
8/18/03 Hewdam BEST STAR WARS EVER!!!!! 5 stars
8/10/03 Mike Krasienko Dog dis iz like wid litzabers and niggas dyin and shit dog i luv it nigga-dog 5 stars
7/22/03 Rod Johnston This movie is greater than a game of Dance Dance Revolution! 5 stars
7/17/03 MadMatt Absolutely, 100%, without a doubt, the best Star Wars movie - ever!!!! 5 stars
6/24/03 Dave This is quite frankly, the greatest movie ever made, bar none! 5 stars
5/25/03 Bobo Amazing movie! Best Sci-Fi battle scenes ever. 5 stars
5/12/03 John The Polymer Man A visual cornucopia full of warmth, darkness, betrayl, and awesome duels! 5 stars
4/23/03 GWB oh yeah awesome classic 5 stars
4/18/03 Ubu the Ripper This is the best of all of them. (Maybe because Lucas DIDN'T direct? Hmmm). A classic. 5 stars
4/16/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" Lyrik Awesome indeed. 5 stars
4/02/03 Mr. Do it's one in a million. great movie. so much dedicated hard work to make it great as it is. 5 stars
3/12/03 Flounder I don't know what Dan Lipian means by weak because this one is the best of the trilogy! 5 stars
3/08/03 Lipian's ass shank great movie. bar none! 5 stars
3/04/03 jack b nimble Greatest movie of all time! No one will ever make anything better 5 stars
2/17/03 stuntman there never be another movie as good as this again 5 stars
2/11/03 STEVE SEE EPISODE 2 THINK YAH ITS OK SEE THIS AND YOUWILL REMEMBER TRUE MAGIC OF FILMMAKING!!!!!! 5 stars
2/07/03 Never you mind Don't worry about it 5 stars
2/04/03 Jack Sommersby By far, the best of the series. Sheer magnificence in every frame. 5 stars
1/13/03 Kaminoan Monster W. Kung you are a moron incapable of higher mental thought processing! 5 stars
12/19/02 Jack Phillips its time to feel the force..... 5 stars
11/28/02 Ahhhhh!!!! Truly the best Star Wars, and a great film in its own right. Shames crap like ROTJl. 5 stars
11/25/02 Jameson Hey, Monster W. Kung, you are a fucking moron. Go back to China! 5 stars
11/19/02 Jack Wolverton By Far The Greatest Star Wars Movie, And One Of The Best Movies Ever Made 5 stars
11/17/02 Monster W. Kung Very overrated, just like Star Wars. 3 stars
11/06/02 Joseph Stark II This movie is exceptional on every level. The greatest movie ever made bar none! 5 stars
10/19/02 Flounder This is what sci-fi is all about. Truly the greatest fantasy-sci-fi movie ever made. 5 stars
9/05/02 Vince my girlfriend has nver seen star wars 5 stars
8/14/02 Tim clones can never compare to this movie. Original Star wars all the way. 5 stars
7/26/02 TLsmooth The greatest movie ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
7/24/02 murat Great film a classic a must to see.Is that guy made robocop 2? 5 stars
7/20/02 KMG I LIKED THE BASTARD GETTIN' HIS HAND LOPPED OFF 4 stars
7/10/02 Phoenix The best in the series. Perfect in every aspect. 5 stars
7/04/02 gary vidmar A great movie no doubt, but not the best. A must-see though,. 5 stars
6/14/02 Mama Vidmar My son Gary is a failure to the family. This movie was awesome! 5 stars
6/06/02 Joe Levy This undoubtedly the greatest sci-fi movie ever! No contest! 5 stars
5/22/02 P.Rodriguez The best one made. (at least until ep 3 comes out.....I hope : ) 5 stars
5/13/02 BrodieMan Best of the Trilogy. This adventure has it all ! 5 stars
4/26/02 maximal01 Darker and more serious; makes A New Hope seem bush-league. 5 stars
2/27/02 Shrike Quality Star Wars before that EP1 tripe 5 stars
2/26/02 Bront darkest movie ever, thats what makes it awesome 5 stars
1/24/02 murat A feast to movie lovers with princess bride a bit dark but you will be amazed 5 stars
1/16/02 David A. Best of the Star Wars Movies--best plot, most action, most lovable aliens. 5 stars
12/02/01 travis r. sorensen better than the original and lando is really cool and suave 5 stars
10/23/01 Connoisseur represents everything I like about star wars 5 stars
10/21/01 Mr Happy Easily the best this series has had to offer 5 stars
10/11/01 P.Rodriguez Teen Movie Critic... you're an idiot! Nuff Said. 5 stars
9/29/01 Gary This is my least favorite of the trilogy..still good though 4 stars
9/25/01 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Luke I...am your Father!!! god i love that line! 5 stars
9/05/01 spaceworm Mother of all spoiler alerts! The whole series owes its heft to this one. 5 stars
8/06/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) Not as good as the first, but still nice. 4 stars
7/14/01 Rampage magnificient SW movie I've seen 5 stars
7/02/01 TLsmooth my name BART. i we todd it. sofa king we todd it. 5 stars
6/29/01 Chris Best movie in the series, one of the best films of all time 5 stars
6/27/01 Steve Yoda snubbed in Best Acor catagory! 5 stars
5/21/01 R.W. Welch Not as blindingly original as Star Wars but reaaonably close. 4 stars
4/16/01 Del R Wife doesn't understand the fascination, hell, it's star wars baby! 5 stars
4/05/01 fifu the best of the triology 5 stars
4/01/01 Jesse L This film rocks! 5 stars
3/16/01 BART This is a pethetic excuse of a motion picture. 1 stars
3/01/01 J.C. The best sequel ever made! 5 stars
2/27/01 Steve in Prague FUCK YOU TEEN MOVIE CRITIC II YOU LITTLE LESBIAN CUNT!!!!!!! 5 stars
2/14/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi teen movie critic II: GET FUCKED!!! A damn-near perfect movie. 5 stars
1/24/01 Lord Raymos Best movie ever made!! Better than the original. 5 stars
1/19/01 viking the darkest of the original triliogy. 5 stars
12/27/00 Turtle The worst of the Star Wars movies. Highly, highly overrated. 4 stars
12/21/00 Destruction Worker Awesome movie.....now where's the stinkin' DVD?!? 5 stars
11/27/00 Cristopher Revilla the most intense of the three, er.. four episodes, soon, six, wow 5 stars
11/27/00 G Mark Hamill is an excellent actor in this movie! 5 stars
11/20/00 The Bill Head Mammoth film experience which improves on the first..nothing short of magnificent! 5 stars
11/13/00 The EVIL Penguin An insult to science, drama, and science fiction 1 stars
11/08/00 beavis great action, great dialogue, great effects... what more do you want? 5 stars
6/30/00 Deckard The only TRUE masterpiece in the Star Wars franchise. Thanks,Kershner! 5 stars
5/30/00 danilo greatest sequel ever made 5 stars
5/26/00 Bruce If only all sequels were this good. 5 stars
5/13/00 Olga Best of the series... but Mark Hamill can't act!!! 4 stars
5/04/00 Hi there The Force is strong in this movie. 5 stars
4/19/00 malcolm better than New Hope ... ? shah ... as if ... 4 stars
4/15/00 BB-15 By far, the best of the series. 5 stars
4/12/00 Rita Best of the Trilogy. 5 stars
4/10/00 Matthew Bartley So boring 2 stars
4/02/00 perverted pixie Yep, this one's the best. 5 stars
3/23/00 Bruce Stronger than "Star Wars" 5 stars
3/01/00 Ionicera The best one. Too bad the series had to nosedive with Return of the Jedi 5 stars
2/05/00 Kyle Broflovski WOO-HOO!!! I wanna be a Jedi, too!! 5 stars
1/18/00 Jedi15 A dark, fun, imaginiative entry into the series. 5 stars
1/08/00 John Markham Worst of the lot. No focus and no direction. 2 stars
12/23/99 bullit17 Star Wars began my love of sci-fi. ESB took it to a whole new place. 5 stars
11/11/99 Pino THE best movie ever made 5 stars
11/09/99 Gary Durso oh yeah baby!!! 5 stars
8/02/99 Physh "Kershner...brilliant man. Thank you a hellava lot for Boba Fett." 5 stars
7/04/99 Ben Leostein Rating: **** (out of ****) Category: "Excellent" 5 stars
6/14/99 Dylan This is easily the best Star Wars flick. 5 stars
6/09/99 The Bison George Lucas's license to print money continues. 5 stars
5/27/99 Bob, Lord of Evil Everyone knows this one was the best. Everyone. 5 stars
5/26/99 Allen Paulsen Good sfx 4 stars
5/09/99 Arkansas Jon The dark anchor of the trilogy. Gives us the drama AND the action. 5 stars
5/08/99 Ghost The best in the trilogy!!! GO YODA!!! 5 stars
4/29/99 Lucas jackson This was an awesome movie full of action,adventure and great acting with a great story 5 stars
4/07/99 A-Dawg IT IS SUPER RAD! It kicks all other movies in the gutter! 5 stars
3/26/99 Rob Mckechnie Is there another film similar or as good as this film? I think not. 5 stars
1/31/99 Vick Di Brecci Just another chapter in a great book. 5 stars
1/30/99 Kyp Proves that Lucas is a genius, and that Kershner is awesome :) 5 stars
1/11/99 I.P. Freeley Awesome! 5 stars
1/09/99 Dasha Long and dull. The WORST in the trilogy. 3 stars
12/14/98 Binky This one had kahoonas. 5 stars
12/12/98 Carl The best character interplay in the whole trilogy makes this the best film in the trilogy! 5 stars
12/05/98 Ryano Not only the best Star Wars film ever made, but the best FILM ever made. Probably. 5 stars
11/17/98 Jules I still watch this one at least twice a year... 5 stars
10/26/98 Silent Rob The 'exodus' chapter of The Holy Trilogy. All the stars aligned on this one! 5 stars
10/24/98 Vincent The ONLY film in the almighty trilogy that stood up to being re-released on the big screen 5 stars
9/30/98 {{{OZ}}} Pretty fucking good, so far as this trilogy goes. 5 stars
9/26/98 katherine STUPID!!!!! 1 stars
9/24/98 Jeff Hayward This was a terrible waste of money. Awful film. 1 stars
9/22/98 ARMA-FUCKN-GEDDON The single BEST movie ever made.. Star Wars comes 2nd with Jedi 5 stars
9/16/98 Trav 1980. The memories are still so vivid, and still so sweet. 5 stars
9/09/98 MikeF My pick of the 3. 5 stars
9/07/98 Swan I watch it over&over just to see Adm Piett sweat! :) 5 stars
9/07/98 Young Einstein Pretty fucking sweet. 5 stars
9/03/98 Badass Beautiful! 5 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball Not dissing this. Millions of netgeeks would hunt me and axe me. 4 stars
8/22/98 Mister Whoopee Empire good. 4 stars
8/16/98 Johny The only flick in the trilogy I can sit through 5 stars
8/16/98 {{{OZ}}} It shits on Star Wars, so it can't be all bad. 4 stars
8/16/98 bizzy han solo and leia kiss! what could make a better movie! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  21-May-1980 (PG)
  DVD: 12-Sep-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  07-Aug-1980




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast