Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.86

Awesome35.29%
Worth A Look: 32.94%
Just Average: 20%
Pretty Crappy: 5.88%
Sucks: 5.88%

3 reviews, 67 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Home Alone
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"When I grow up and get married, I'm living alone."
4 stars

I dug it.

Say what you will about John Hughes losing his touch, or Joe Pesci losing respectability (actually, you could say that happened when he recorded an album, but that's another story), or Macauley Culkin being a flash in the pan, or director Chris Columbus being responsible for Mrs. Doubtfire (you've got your own private little corner of Hell waiting for you, sir), but this is still a damn funny movie.

Yes, it's hollow. Yes, it's slapsticky and goofy and the two burglars should be dead at about the one hour mark.

But it's fun.

And the kids love it.

Basically a harmless movie, and funny to boot.

I took a shower washing every body part with actual soap; including all my major crevasses; including in between my toes and in my belly button which I never did before but sort of enjoyed. I washed my hair with adult formula shampoo and used cream rinse for that just washed shine. I can't seem to find my toothbrush, so I'll pick one up when I go out today. Other than that, I'm in good shape.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=219&reviewer=7
originally posted: 10/14/98 10:29:47
[printer] printer-friendly format  
Trilogy Starters: For more in the Trilogy Starters series, click here.

User Comments

8/02/14 Sarah Morgan Best Christmas movie EVER 5 stars
11/21/11 cr a awesome christmas movie with lots laughs and culkin is cool! 4 stars
1/12/11 Matt Stilwell An absolute Christmas classic. Right up there with the Patrick Stewart in Christmas Carol 5 stars
11/07/09 WouldntULikeToKnow Classic, Old But Still Growing In Popularity 5 stars
8/14/09 Jeff Wilder If someone calls it crap I can't argue. But it's ENTERTAINING crap. 3 stars
4/10/09 Dane Youssef Hughes perfectly captures that age and creates a beautiful throwback & escapist fantasy. 5 stars
11/16/08 Samantha Pruitt this movie is a lot of fun, so much fun to watch as a kid! 5 stars
10/16/08 Screwball I always wanted to be left home alone as a kid. Fun movie ! 4 stars
8/22/08 PAUL SHORTT A CUTE AND UNPRETENTIOUS FAMILY COMEDY 3 stars
3/07/08 Pamela White one of my holiday classics I see every year 5 stars
11/24/07 jared I've loved this movie since I was 10 years old. Seventeen years later, it still rocks 5 stars
12/21/06 Reviewer Classic Christmas Movie 5 stars
12/14/06 Stanley Thai A very good family comedy. Very funny and heartwarming. 4 stars
12/12/06 EMINA HERCEG a fun kid comedy with a good story 5 stars
12/09/06 David Cohen Proof that "high grossing" is not a synonym for "good" 1 stars
12/05/06 David Pollastrini very funny 5 stars
7/12/06 Marty Aw Buzz! Your girlfriend! Woof! 5 stars
5/05/06 Ashley Hinz I love it. Want it on DVD. 5 stars
11/25/05 cr a fun kid comedy with a good story, a fun time and a booby trap knockout 4 stars
11/14/05 mike palmiter great holiday-type entertainment, but check-in your brain at the box office. 4 stars
10/04/05 Jesse Taylor This is a movie you can only watch about twice. Then it starts to get annoying. 3 stars
8/25/05 Michael Idiotic 1 stars
7/23/05 Quigley a great comedy with a good john williams score. the traps are cool and pesci & stern rule. 5 stars
4/11/05 scott einig the burglar booby trap sequence is awesome! 5 stars
1/26/05 Jeff Anderson Sorry, I liked HOME ALONE 3 a lot, lot better, thank you very much! WAY OVERRATED & SO-SO!! 2 stars
8/01/04 Raf Milis Its got this whole Christmas spirit around it. I like it. Great score too 4 stars
7/20/04 Sean Scanlan At least it is better than the sequels 3 stars
7/16/04 Mina Elias gay 1 stars
5/20/04 Puspa Allamanda Good act from Macaulay Culkin 4 stars
5/03/04 la reina this is one of the best movies i saw in 1990 5 stars
2/16/04 Daveman Entertaining film, with a good natured mesage, but not much wit or inventiveness.. 3 stars
11/23/03 Samuel a decent little film... 4 stars
8/01/03 Double G Awesome Movie, I 1st saw it at 4 and remembered about it. 5 stars
3/31/03 Luke Skywalker This is one sorry film. God i *** that sucker. 1 stars
12/28/02 Sarah Marf and Harry are the worlds funniest crooks! Wet Bandits rule! 5 stars
11/03/02 BA Dope 5 stars
10/27/02 tontetion la peli es muy guay 5 stars
10/26/02 MarktheShark6 It was great when it came out and I was 12, now it's even better! 5 stars
8/26/02 Monster W. Kung Somewhat enjoyable, if you forget how hyped it was. 3 stars
8/26/02 alex exelent film worth watching, and the sequals are just as good except home alone 3 5 stars
7/04/02 R.W. Welch Often on the edge of absurdity but consistently entertaining. 4 stars
6/20/02 Film Dude One of my favorites as a kid. 5 stars
12/04/01 mollie brenner funniest movie yet 5 stars
11/03/01 Andrew Carden This Movie Still Makes Me Laugh Today, It Is So Damn Funny! 5 stars
8/06/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) Joe Pesci and Daniel Stern are hilarious. They're kinda like one of the better MGM cartoons 4 stars
7/28/01 Henry Ginsberg macauly kulcin is a total twat 2 stars
5/30/01 Chevy Murray good stuff 5 stars
4/23/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) Strictly holiday fare, funny, but a little syrup-sappy at times. 4 stars
3/27/01 Jesse L It's funny! No one dies. Its mind candy. 4 stars
2/16/01 James You'll have to wait for the last 20 minutes if you want to laugh. 2 stars
2/12/01 Richard Wright Culkin's big breakthrough is (apart from a few slushy scenes) still worth watching. 3 stars
12/27/00 Turtle A live-action Looney Tunes cartoon. 5 stars
11/19/00 The EVIL Penguin enjoy the show 5 stars
10/21/00 YOUR Movie Expert Hughes Before: Ferris Bueller, Planes Trains & Automobiles...After: The 8th Deadly Sin. 5 stars
5/31/00 danilo classic comedy - a childhood favorite! 5 stars
5/12/00 Steve Layne Unfairly bashed years after Its release. Its a fun and funny movie for the whole family. 4 stars
3/08/00 David Rogers A laugh here, a laugh there. Just not enough. 2 stars
1/10/00 dr.d hysterical 5 stars
1/08/00 John Markham A hangover from the 80's, not at all funny, in fact, it's very annoying. 1 stars
6/15/99 Dylan Its not that bad. Hasnt matured all that well with age though. I loved it when i was a kid. 3 stars
5/13/99 ras_jose@yahoo.com pretty sadistic for (supposedly) a "family-oriented" movie. 3 stars
10/28/98 Silent Rob Hughes lost the ability to think and feel RIGHT FUCKING HERE! 2 stars
9/28/98 katherine this was my favourite as a kid. 4 stars
9/15/98 Negative Creep When my Brother gets to be voting age this film willbe fondly remembered. He even quotes it 4 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball When this got huge I knew Ferris was dead. I miss him so. And Molly, Judd and Emilio. 4 stars
8/16/98 {{{OZ}}} The beginning of the end of John Hughes as a talent. 3 stars
8/15/98 J-Guy Good movie for the under 10 crowd. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  16-Nov-1990 (PG)
  DVD: 21-Nov-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A


Directed by
  Chris Columbus

Written by
  John Hughes

Cast
  Macaulay Culkin
  Joe Pesci
  Daniel Stern
  John Heard
  Roberts Blossom
  Catherine O'Hara



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast