Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.6

Awesome: 14%
Worth A Look: 22%
Just Average: 10%
Pretty Crappy: 18%
Sucks36%

3 reviews, 32 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Wrongfully Accused
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"Funny in that 'Oh, how sad' kind of way."
1 stars

Wildly uneven and not nearly as funny as it thinks it is.

Out of sheer desperation, I picked up a copy of Wrongfully Accused at the video store last week. Then, in an act I'm attributing to momentary lapse of common sense, I rented it, took it home and watched it.

It was funnier than static, but not nearly as interesting.

In this send-up of The Fugitive (primarily, anyways) Leslie Nielsen plays "Lord Of The Violin" Ryan Harrison (Ryan as in Jack Ryan, a role played by Harrison Ford. Get it? Ryan? Harrison? Ryan Harrison? Trust me, you think it's not funny now, but I guarantee you won't find it funny in the movie either). Harrison is accused (wrongfully, one might say) of murdering his lover(Kelly LeBrock)'s husband. Harrison sees that it was, in fact, a one-armed, one-legged, one-eyed person who framed him, and sets out to clear his name. In hot pursuit: Lieutenant Fergus Falls (Richard Crenna, trying some wacky southern accent) and Cass Lake (Melinda McGraw), who may or may not be trying to help out.

Along the way, parodies/spoofs/send-ups of The Lord Of The Dance, Mission Impossible, Titanic, Casablanca, The Maltese Falcon, Baywatch and Charlie's Angels (the latter two being the funniest moments of the film).

I wish Leslie Nielsen would stretch a bit. It's always the same character for him, a bumbler with no comprehension for words. Every role is played exactly the same way as the previous. Granted, it's his own fault for typecasting himself.

What's to like? Um. Well, as I said, the Baywatch and Charlie's Angels bits are the best, and neither of those take up much time in this 90 minute crash-and-burn. The parody genre may not be dead, but after this movie, it's certainly on life support.

Stale comedy. Skip it.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=22&reviewer=7
originally posted: 02/01/99 12:41:50
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/29/13 PAUL SHORTT FUNNY BUT SILLY SEND UP OF THE FUGITIVE 2 stars
12/28/09 Dane Youssef I have to admit I laughed quite a bit. But this is no must-see. Usual "Fugitive" treatment. 3 stars
2/07/08 mrsinister What a waste of Kelly LeBrock 1 stars
8/29/07 Lance Very funny! 4 stars
2/12/07 johnnyfog Lamest Nielsen movie you could rent, next to Spy Hard 1 stars
10/12/06 ProSneakyD The most insanly hillarious spoof i've ever seen, nielson is a can of endless laughing gas 5 stars
6/08/05 Jeff Anderson Extremely funny & a lot more hilarious than Nielsen's recent awful efforts. TRUST ME! 5 stars
10/31/03 Littlepurch Never stopped laughin!!! Most hilariously stupid film in years! 5 stars
10/26/02 MarktheShark6 The Star Wars light sword at th start of the movie is great...it just takes off from there. 5 stars
6/01/02 Jiz Standard Neilsen, nothing new here, but not bad either. Better than Spy Hard at least. 4 stars
2/11/02 Consuela Lund Hur god var diese pelicula muito buona! 5 stars
11/28/01 The $1.98 Pyramid Hey! Slow down! I can't laugh between the jokes. 3 stars
9/30/01 Andrew Carden Pretty Funny, Good Spoofs. 4 stars
8/28/01 Sarah Not one of Neilson's best, it wasn't funny as naked gun 3 stars
8/17/01 Connoisseur it's ok, often funny 3 stars
7/11/01 the scarecrow i could be wrong on this, but i liked this one, and i thought it was good. 4 stars
6/01/00 Steve Layne A lot of misses, but some hits 3 stars
4/08/00 C.W. RayBob This movie sucks it was so stupid 1 stars
1/02/00 Paul Really good 5 stars
10/24/99 Lame-Oh absurd and unfunny 1 stars
8/16/99 Marshy Don't pay much to see this. Get "wacky" and it's great, though! 2 stars
3/10/99 Ah Dooey The best part is when they killed the Titanic scene! Whoopee! 1 stars
12/30/98 Todd Not brilliant - but I laughed my ass off. 5 stars
12/29/98 Schizofrenic Not being funny is more like it. Over my dead body. 1 stars
12/14/98 Scion of Graveheart Great spoof. Ineffective movie. Shoot me now. 1 stars
11/09/98 Lord Of The Dunce When Neilsen passes away... then maybe I'll laugh. 1 stars
10/01/98 arachic13 spoof flicks suck ass 1 stars
9/13/98 Chip Taylor Hang me now. 1 stars
9/12/98 Paul Leone Sure, it's not brilliant, but it's definitely worth the price of admission. 4 stars
9/06/98 Young Einstein This genre is dead. Les Neilsen should retire. 1 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball God awful. Been done a million times before. Better. 1 stars
8/22/98 Mister Whoopee No surprises. Sucks. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  21-Aug-1998 (PG-13)
  DVD: 03-Aug-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  15-Oct-1998


Directed by
  Pat Proft

Written by
  Pat Proft

Cast
  Leslie Neilsen
  Kelly Le Brock
  Melinda McGraw
  Richard Crenna
  Michael York
  Sandra Bernhard



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast