Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.58

Awesome71.05%
Worth A Look: 21.05%
Just Average: 5.26%
Pretty Crappy: 0%
Sucks: 2.63%

1 review, 32 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Barry Lyndon
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Rob Gonsalves

"Kubrick's most misunderstood gem."
5 stars

A huge joke — a three-hour-plus epic about an utterly useless man.

I certainly don’t mean that as a criticism; this is perhaps Stanley Kubrick’s most unexpectedly funny film. As Redmond Barry, who slimes his way up the social ladder to become Barry Lyndon, Ryan O’Neal may seem to be miscast, but I think that’s part of the joke, too. If you say O’Neal doesn’t have the chops to be the star of an epic — well, does Barry Lyndon really have the chops to be the hero of one?

The exquisite formality of the 18th-century costumes, decor, and dialogue (the movie contains perhaps the most polite armed robbery in film history) is refreshing and, at the same time, so belabored that one senses Kubrick’s tongue firmly in cheek. He was daring people to take it seriously; he was daring people not to take it seriously. The best way to approach it is as a formal satire whose very style — all those painterly landscapes, all those dozens of slow zooms backward — points up the message that all this opulence and attention to manners conceal a moral emptiness, a world where a compassionless jerk like Barry can rise and thrive. All this, plus scenes that made me laugh harder than anything in most comedies these days. Every shot in the movie is breathtaking, but the candlelit scenes are amazing.

A true neglected jewel in the Kubrick crown, and deserving of a fresh audience with its debut on remastered DVD.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=2207&reviewer=416
originally posted: 04/03/07 00:35:41
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/10/16 Louise Beautiful film. Why does no one talk about this masterpiece? 5 stars
4/02/15 stanley welles as technically beautiful as it is thought-provoking 5 stars
12/01/10 rossie My favorite movie from any film maker.Period. Stan's the man. 5 stars
11/30/10 ArsenicJulep Saw this twice in the theatre in '75. Continues to touch and amaze after 35 years. 5 stars
8/10/09 Raymond My all-time fave movie. Kubrick writ large in one film. 5 stars
2/10/09 PAUL SHORTT ONE OF CINEMAS MOST EARNEST & SUSTAINED, IF CYNICAL, VISIONS OF AN INDIVIDUALS HELPLESSNESS 5 stars
2/25/07 BigSnake Packing the big one everyday 5 stars
5/20/06 mr.mike had to be seen on the big screen 5 stars
5/07/06 chienne Sumptuous, t'exquisite Marissa, a bit drawn out, but gorgeous. Could smack Ryan tho. 4 stars
7/15/05 TheViper Incredible, stunning. 5 stars
7/05/05 Indrid Cold Trademark Kubrick coldness at its worst. Spectacular visuals though. 4 stars
5/13/05 DM Beautiful cinematography, excellent performances, no emotional impact at all. 4 stars
3/06/05 papillon good movie 4 stars
6/20/04 john bale Slow elegant costume drama finely photographed but strangely distant. 4 stars
11/27/03 John not so much a movie but a trip - brilliant with great performances and music 5 stars
5/18/03 George Jung Amazing, Kubrick's best work. 5 stars
3/11/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" Lyrik First half a tad dull, picks up extremely well in second half. 4 stars
6/24/02 Charles Tatum Pretty cinematography and pretty boring 3 stars
2/02/02 Erikoll A beautifully crafted film, and probably one of Kubricks best, but not for everyone. 5 stars
1/10/02 Travis R. Sorensen beautiful all around. one of the best scores ever. ryan o'neal is the man. 5 stars
12/11/01 slappy jacks YEP STRIKE UP ANOUTHER FOR THE GOD OF ALL FILM! 5 stars
8/27/01 spaceworm I love this movie. What's wrong with me? 4 stars
2/15/01 Ray McCoy Stanley Kubrick's best film. Rich characters, rich set designs. 5 stars
2/05/01 In your face kubrick is a weirdo 1 stars
1/15/01 Skip My favorite Kubrick film, & one of my 5 favorite films of all time. 5 stars
10/23/00 Susan Rowland Beautiful, funny, perfect film 5 stars
4/12/00 the Grinch Superbly executed movie, and groundbreaking in several non obvious ways...will review soon. 5 stars
11/11/99 Matthew Smith A Magnificent film, It's like watching a painting at an art gallery 5 stars
10/25/99 the snu those candle lights.......mmmm mmmmmtasty 3 stars
10/12/99 little jerry Like everyone else I didn't respond much in 1975.Seeing it again it may be 2nd only to 2001 5 stars
10/10/99 Weird Andy Better than the book. God Damn, do I hate Thackeray. 4 stars
10/01/99 ????? Classic writing and direction 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  01-Jan-1976 (PG)

UK
  01-Jan-1976 (PG)

Australia
  01-Jan-1976 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast