Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
1.91

Awesome: 5.41%
Worth A Look: 6.31%
Just Average: 14.41%
Pretty Crappy: 21.62%
Sucks52.25%

9 reviews, 57 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Double Jeopardy
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"Comedy at its most unintenional."
2 stars

In "Double Jeopardy," dollars values are doubled, and there are two Daily Doubles on the board.

No, wait, I'm thinking of the second round of the TV show "Jeopardy!," which, by the way, usually has far more suspense and exhibits way more intelligence than the movie "Double Jeopardy."

Libby Parsons (Ashley Judd) wakes up one night to find herself covered in blood and her husband Nick (Bruce Greenwood) gone a-missin'. He's dead, apparently, and she's made out to be the culprit, with courtroom scenes full of damning 911 tapes ripped off from "The Fugitive." ("Ripped off from 'The Fugitive'" is a recurring theme in this movie.)

In prison, she meets a couple of hardened female cons, one of whom looks exactly like Gary Coleman and one of whom used to be a lawyer before she started killing people (figures). She also finds out, through means too complicated to explain here (the movie's not very good about it, either, now that I think about it), that her husband is not dead, and that he's living with former co-worker Angie (Annabeth Gish).

The lawyer-turned-murderess tells Libby about something called the U.S. Constitution, which Libby seems not to have heard of before. In this peculiar document, citizens are protected from "double jeopardy": being tried twice for the same offense. Libby, the ex-lawyer reasons, is free to go ahead and actually KILL Nick, and she couldn't be charged for it -- she's already been convicted of that, after all.

I'm no scholar, but I don't think it works that way. Never you mind, though, because within 35 minutes of the film's beginning, Libby is out on parole after having spent six years in the big house. Now, we think, she's going to find her husband and kill him. Not so. The movie was only toying with us when it told us that. Turns out she really just wants her son back. Never mind that the whole killing thing seemed so appealing in prison, or that the movie's title is based on that premise -- she just wants her boy.

Enter Tommy Lee Jones, who is quickly become the highest-paid unattractive man in show business. He plays the same character he played in "The Fugitive" and its inferior sequel, "U.S. Marshalls": a hard-nosed, one-eyebrowed man who only wants justice. His name is Travis Lehman (pronounced "Laman"), and he doggedly pursues Libby to New Orleans, by way of Colorado, where Nick has apparently done some other damage.

"Double Jeopardy" is all talk and no action, all set up and no payoff. We never really learn why Nick faked his own death and framed his wife, especially considering his subsequent actions (I won't spoil it), nor why he goes to such great lengths to dispose of her when she shows up again, nor why the movie decides to rip off "The Vanishing" when he does it. Hints are made about Lehman's past, but they go unresolved. Libby's mom gives her a potload of money to go on her search, no questions asked, in a scene that seems like it must have started a few minutes before we got there.

This is a movie that wanted to be thrilling and ingenious, but that didn't want to put forth the effort to achieve those goals. It's not a bad movie, per se, but neither is it very exciting or clever. It's strictly by-the-numbers, with a generic ending and soppy resolution. I'll take "The Fugitive" for $1,000. Please.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=2226&reviewer=247
originally posted: 07/03/03 03:43:04
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell average 3 stars
3/12/10 PAUL SHORTT SLICK AND MODERATELY ENTERTAINING 3 stars
7/23/08 Shaun Wallner Tommy Lee Jones is Awesome! 5 stars
4/18/08 R.W. Welch Sets up fine; gets steadily less credible as it goes along. 3 stars
9/18/07 Sugarfoot How Ashley Judd became a star will always remain a mystery unsolved. 1 stars
12/29/06 David Pollastrini somebody should have consulted a lawyer. 1 stars
11/09/05 Ashley i thought it was a pretty good movie 4 stars
11/02/04 krystle walker I loved this movie 5 stars
6/17/03 Trivetta Reese I loved this movie 5 stars
5/16/03 Bruce Abbott Guilty pleasure! Guilty because I for once actually enjoyed watching "Ballbuster"! 3 stars
3/29/03 Marcia Lartz Ashley Judd's best movie but she still never lets you forget her "ballbuster" persona. 4 stars
3/25/03 Jack Sommersby Catered to soccer moms: empty-headed and pretentious. Jones looks embarrassed as hell. 1 stars
9/01/02 movie guy THIS FILM WAS GREAT 5 stars
7/21/02 Kyle Andrew. YOU are the one with terrible taste. You like European Vacation, and tons of crap. 1 stars
5/27/02 Phuong "Andre" "Me-Me-Me" Nguyen Ashley Judd is a flaming git and should go back to her hole. SHE CAN'T ACT TO SAVE HERSELF! 1 stars
3/24/02 Veronica Foxx (The Raven-Haired Temptress) I'd give my left arm to see Jones or Judd NOT play the same role. Just ONCE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
3/05/02 Ashley Corpening Surprising watchable for its leads - FUGITIVE role clone and unabashed "Ballbuster" 4 stars
1/07/02 Andrew Carden WOW! All Of You Have Horrible Tastes In Movies, Because This Was Excellent. 5 stars
9/17/01 Butterbean Cliched and predictable with a typecasted TL Jones. But it has it's moments. 3 stars
8/28/01 Gary Contrived, cliched, predictable and very badly acted. 1 stars
7/16/01 Josh Tybur I'm glad that the masses agree: this movie blows 1 stars
6/15/01 Rampage This movie sucked. The epitome of what has been wrong with Hollywood: big money, anti-logic 1 stars
6/13/01 Law Firm of Dewey, Cheatam & Howe No big deal, no surprises, no originality..poor TLJ, does he owe back taxes? 2 stars
4/07/01 FGM2Night Founded on a dopey premise, but ya can't deny Ashley Judd's stunning beauty. Wow! 3 stars
2/24/01 The Bomb 69 pretty cliched, a lawyer happens to be in jail with her, why couldn't she see her kid? 2 stars
10/04/00 Stuntman If you want suspense and action, go buy the Potter books. Hollywood has lost all faith 1 stars
9/27/00 Ground Zero You guys are weird, this movie is at its stupidity. What a crock of shit! 1 stars
9/08/00 Jed Good movie though flawed script it is certainly better than what most folks say. 3 stars
8/03/00 Bender Not too bad. Plus Ashley Judd is sexy as hell. 3 stars
7/08/00 Jed It wasn't that bad people laughable it is but not bad. 3 stars
6/26/00 Terrie Smith I expected a lot more. Script to blame for this one. 3 stars
4/16/00 bpelcher I liked this movie. I think you guys suck 4 stars
4/09/00 Doug {{{OZ}}}; ever read Huck Finn? 1 stars
3/18/00 Kris Reilly Pretty lame plot, because its A SEPARATE CRIME! But I like Ashley Judd. 2 stars
3/16/00 arnold total shit 1 stars
2/29/00 Booyah! Are you people nuts? This was cookie cutter filmmaking at it's total worst. What crap! 1 stars
2/28/00 JussMatt It's obvious Ashley has all the tallent in the family, but movie wasn't close to believable 3 stars
2/15/00 Neil Austin I paid 4 to see this pile of shite, I want my money back. 1 stars
2/01/00 Art Garfunkle's 12" dildo? A tie with all the rest of Tommy Lee Jones' movies for his best performance yet. 5 stars
1/14/00 strike Great comedy, lousy fucking thriller though... 3 stars
12/11/99 Obi Wan This flick is better suited for HBO not theatres! 3 stars
12/06/99 Demure33 I saw it for Ashley & that's all I got. Worth it for that but nothing else. 2 stars
11/25/99 Kevin Cho, movie-buff This movie wasn't THAT bad - It was pretty okay. No complaints. 4 stars
11/20/99 Mr. Invincible Dude. What the hell are you gawking at that crap for! 1 stars
11/08/99 Todd God that fucking sucked!! Can I sue to get back the two hours of my life I just wasted? 1 stars
11/07/99 focus The ad says it's the best movie of the year... yeah, right. Gimme a break here please! 1 stars
11/07/99 Jackie Martin Oh my God! 1 stars
10/29/99 rocketdoc At least Ashley was easy on the eyes. 2 stars
10/27/99 H'Woodbigshot This is Bimzi. Bimzi is two week old Gradule. Gradule comes out your ass. 1 stars
10/27/99 Mr Showbiz Utter and total horseshite. Why do people go to crap like this? 1 stars
10/26/99 pipeman Not great, but better than I had anticipated. 3 stars
10/25/99 DAVE BROKAW Ashley Judd is made for the part- 100% bitch 4 stars
10/25/99 voyant Not fantastic, not bad... just right. 3 stars
10/12/99 Cheryl It really wasn't all that bad. 3 stars
10/10/99 Ben Ryan A dry script, jumping from too many time frames, horrible acting, sleep thru it! 1 stars
10/09/99 Malbert I thought this was pretty good, ashley judd was great 4 stars
10/06/99 sophia962 Tommy Lee -- STOP making The Fugitive. It's over, learn to move on!! 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  24-Sep-1999 (R)

UK
  05-Nov-1999 (15)

Australia
  20-Jan-2000 (MA)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast