Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.13

Awesome: 30.16%
Worth A Look: 28.57%
Just Average: 1.59%
Pretty Crappy: 3.17%
Sucks36.51%

1 review, 57 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Nothing but Trouble
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"Dan Aykroyd's directorial debut. As exciting as it sounds."
1 stars

What can you say about this movie, really, without de-evolving into some blithering idiot, babbling on and on about just how bad this pile of shit really is? What does it take to convince you that as vanity projects go, this one is at the top (or perhaps) the bottom of the heap? Isn't an appearance by the Digital Underground, in a desperate attempt to make Dany Aykroyd look hip, a big enough clue?

Nothing But Trouble limped onto movie screens a few months ahead of big screen turkey Hudson Hawk and a few years after Ishtar. In the grand scheme of movies, both good and bad, it was pretty much forgotten. But Nothing But Trouble is, if nothing else, a look at stardom run amok, an absolute dog of a film, loaded with bad dialogue, horrible costuming and makeup, and a plot flimsier than a Playmate's negligee. It's a movie that was made simply because of the clout (at least, at that time, when they had clout) of those involved.

You know, like Battlefield Earth, minus Travolta and his Teleprompter.

Of course, the later was based on a novel. This film, however, has the distinguished pedigree of being Dan Aykroyd's first time behind the camera (he wrote this shit, too). The look is at times kind of cool; a fair amount of the film takes place in Valkenvania, an appropriately seedy pissant hellhole where yuppies Chris and Diane (Chevy Chase and Demi Moore, looking coked up and tan, and bored and Wonder-Bra-ified, respectively) are held prisoner by a wrinkled old coot (Aykroyd, under heavy makeup - like we wouldn't recognize him) with a nose that looks supsiciously like a penis. The final three-fourths of the flick involves the attempted escape from said hellhole. Kinda makes ten-foot aliens in dreadlocks seem almost enjoyable, no?

That's really all there is in the way of story. Nothing But Trouble spends the remainder of the excruciatingly long 94 minutes going for gross-out humor (a few years before the gross-out comedy boom, it looks like), or trying desperately to look cool, including a forced appearance by and lip-synched performance from semi-popular 90's rap group Digital Underground (look, it's Tupac! He's not dead after all!). Aykroyd, even under mounds o' makeup, tries dancing and playing along, ever the aging hipster. Elwood, he ain't. It looks more ridiculous than usual.

The late John Candy's also in this movie, and it's somewhat surprising that this wasn't the one that killed him. He plays a dual role, one as a security guy/police officer for the town and the other as Aykroyd's daughter. Chew on that - Candy, in drag, playing a mute. Had he not been dead, you know Aykroyd would've given that role to John Belushi. You gotta believe that his corpse was spinning from this even before Blues Brothers 2000, and there's no way it's slowing down now.

I wish I could say there's something worthwhile about the film, but really, there isn't. I guess if you just had to see every film that Taylor Negron had appeared in, and this was one you hadn't seen, then I'd probably smack you around and tell you to remove your head from your rectal cavity, but I still wouldn't recommend this film.

There are bad movies, and there are movies that can't really be classified as "bad" simply because they bring the other bad movies to a much lower level than even they might deserve. Nothing But Trouble is definitely one of the latter.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=2357&reviewer=7
originally posted: 05/16/00 17:23:47
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

12/28/16 shiloh greatest movie ever made. Unfortunately ran aground agaist New Jersey tourism bureau. 5 stars
10/18/14 Rick da brick this ones for the Roger corman crowd!! art comes in many shapes and colors people!! 5 stars
1/06/12 Tony ALL AROUND THE WORLD SAME SONG 5 stars
12/09/10 PAUL SHORTT EXCEEDINGLY ABYSMAL COMEDY 1 stars
7/16/10 Birgir one of the best Adventure films ever! 5 stars
11/05/09 joe de la rosa I SAW THIS MOVIE AT 6 AM AT HOME ,IN BED, AND I REALLY ENJOYED IT. 4 stars
9/15/08 Werejohncandy Loved it 5 stars
3/29/07 David Cohen Three words, what the... 2 stars
8/06/06 Sepi53 dull,boring,flop 1 stars
6/13/06 William Goss Raise your hand if you want to be annoyed like hell for the next 90 minutes. 1 stars
5/25/06 Kimberly Dull I had high hopes for a movie with so much talent. I was sorely disappointed. 1 stars
4/12/06 Adam Fox Horribly underrated. I think about this movie almost every day. It's THAT entertaining. 5 stars
11/07/05 Nana The whole family roared; we LOVED the one line quips!!!!! 4 stars
6/11/05 Greg Worth watching to see Digital Underground jam 3 stars
5/27/05 Lord Haw Haw Almost, but not quite, as funny as a rancid pail of puke. 1 stars
2/24/05 joe I thought it was a great streange film. I watch it whenever is is on. 4 stars
2/16/05 Jeff Anderson What an ugly & shitty looking film! Aykroyd's directing is terrible & acting is a SAD JOKE! 1 stars
12/09/04 goatfarmerinthailand I saw this movie years ago and have been hunting for a cd ever since. Saynomore. 5 stars
7/11/04 Matt It was really boring and Cheesy. 1 stars
7/02/04 Troels It's funny and far out, thats how I like my movies! 4 stars
5/24/04 Hal Galikakick Not one laugh in this stinker 1 stars
4/25/04 The Big Profundo This reviewer is a blatherskite. The film is very funny and wierd, perhaps it went over his 5 stars
10/13/03 Erik Van Sant Dan Aykroyd has a dick-nose. Chevy Chase blows severely in this luke-warm turd. 1 stars
8/20/03 grayason bizzare t.c.m. style commedy needed to loose the hip hop scene 4 stars
5/29/03 Mick Hill Not for the humorless 4 stars
5/15/03 Tom Fleeman Chevy Chase, Dan Ackroyd, and the late great John Candy. Funny stuff!. 4 stars
5/11/03 Jack Bourbon What. . .was. . .this??????????????????? SUCKS! 1 stars
1/22/03 D worth viewing only if you like b rated BAD 1 stars
1/22/03 Michael Knight Funny as Hell, Chock full of great Bits! I edited out all the Digital underground parts! 5 stars
1/05/03 chiapet what the hell was that? dumbass sister bought it for Christmas... must hate me! 1 stars
12/14/02 starhart so bad it is great--total classsic underground 5 stars
11/18/02 God Dan Aykroyd AT HIS FINEST. Hands down. Ya'll that disagree are sippin' on the yac . . . 5 stars
11/12/02 Ian All the bad things they say are true, but I LOVE IT! Truly original and Aykroyd knew it. 5 stars
11/06/02 Josh without a doubt the worst movie I've seen in my entire life, B - movies included. NO STAR! 1 stars
9/27/02 Tom Fleeman Did you see the dichead shaped nose on the judge? I laughed till I puked at that. 4 stars
9/09/02 Marie_W oddest movie I've ever seen, and one of the worst 1 stars
7/22/02 Dana T. I love this movie! 4 stars
5/21/02 tim snedaker BY FAR THE WOOORST MOVIE EVER MADE. DON'T SEE IT, PLEASE!! 1 stars
3/16/02 Jenny Tullwartz Proof that even farces can get just too flaky. 2 stars
12/21/01 dogrocket i love uncle alberts trick house. I have seen this many times it's great. sheeswee? 5 stars
10/26/01 theoriginalqdogg IT'S NOT THE BEST FROM DAN AYKROYD BUT THIS IS HIS BEST SINCE "GHOSTBUSTERS". 4 stars
10/08/01 NICK I think this is one of the funnest and funniest movies of all time . This is a must see! 5 stars
10/06/01 Jim Great! One of a kind....if you like Beetlejuice, the Addams Family, Elvira//// 5 stars
9/08/01 Butterbean A movie to watch for fun and laughs 4 stars
8/07/01 Mr. Hat Entertaining. Aykroyd, Chase, and John Candy's 2nd role R give good smiles & some chuckles. 4 stars
6/29/01 SwampHick I'm into twisted humor and I LOVED it!!! 5 stars
6/08/01 Serial_Monk_the_Jawbreaker DIG THAT ROLLER COASTER. See this movie just for the scene with the roller coaster!!!!!!!!! 4 stars
4/01/01 Alan Light Unwatchable headache-inducing moron material 1 stars
3/27/01 saucy I loved this movie! It is one of my all-time favorites! The cast is spectacular!! 5 stars
3/06/01 JOE DAN AYKROYD WILL HELP ANYONE WHO NEEDS A GOOD LAUGH ! 4 stars
2/15/01 Mark Donahue Quirky film that many will enjoy, some won't. 4 stars
2/11/01 John All i can say is, what, the, hell?!?! 4 stars
2/06/01 Rae Proses OMG 5 stars
1/19/01 Chuck Was an excellent satire, a real classic.. 5 stars
1/14/01 Sklorsh So weird, that it's good. 4 stars
9/27/00 Matt this is the 2nd worst movie I've ever seen! run away NOW! 1 stars
4/08/00 Rochelle Walker I liked it! It had a good cast of characters and it was a very funny movie! 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Jul-1991 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1991 (M)


Directed by
  Dan Aykroyd

Written by
  Dan Aykroyd

Cast
  Chevy Chase
  Demi Moore
  John Candy
  Dan Aykroyd
  Taylor Negron
  Brian Doyle-Murray



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast