Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.23

Awesome: 21.28%
Worth A Look29.79%
Just Average: 12.77%
Pretty Crappy: 23.4%
Sucks: 12.77%

1 review, 41 user ratings


Latest Reviews

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

Endless, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Texas Chainsaw Massacre 2, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Rob Gonsalves

"Ugly and unnecessary. Hooper did this?"
2 stars

Tobe Hooper's belated follow-up to his classic is alternately disgusting and incoherent.

The latter isn't entirely his fault, since he was denied final cut by Cannon, which took whole scenes out (including a bit by Joe Bob Briggs). Tom Savini's chunk-blowing gore effects were trimmed to near-nonexistence; the movie was threatened with an X anyway and had to go out unrated, spelling box-office death.

This time around, the happy cannibal family enters a chili cook-off (guess what the secret ingredient is?) and faces off against gutsy DJ Caroline Williams and vengeful uncle Dennis Hopper. Hooper seems to be trying way too hard to top himself and every other horror director of the mid-'80s; didn't he understand that part of the genius of his original was what it didn't show? Here we have people's heads sawed in half, people skinned with electric carving knives and still alive, people forced to wear fresh and bleeding human skins who wants to look at this?

Some frightening moments, some funny bits, but still a cloddish, unnecessary sequel lethally unsure of its tone.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=2448&reviewer=416
originally posted: 04/04/07 23:13:13
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

11/11/10 PAUL SHORTT SPLATTER SHOCKER ON PREDICTABLE LINES 1 stars
6/01/10 mr.mike Put comparisons aside and it's not all that bad. 4 stars
10/17/09 Josie Cotton is a goddess Not scary like the first, but still very funny 4 stars
4/16/08 cody a soild gory sequel with lot of crazy crap, pretty good but no cigar. 3 stars
1/12/07 saad muhammud not scary but fucking funny 5 stars
12/14/06 PB L+ NHF THIS MOVIE SHOULD BE HOSTED HORROR GROSS MOVIE OF THE YEAR 4 stars
10/30/06 chris. it's a horrible film, which is suprising because 80s horror is usually top notch. 1 stars
10/29/06 Pritchett A very, very, VERRRRY poor sequel...a complete waste of time. Stick with the original. 1 stars
10/29/06 JM Synth A Blast, but probably appeals to a narrow audience, and may disappoint fans of the first 4 stars
10/14/06 Jeff Anderson Has a sharp & twisted sense of humor(thanks LARGELY to Moseley), but endlessly tiresome. 3 stars
7/11/06 Ole Man Bourbon Aside from Moseley, it really sucks. Hopper must have been on set for 2 hrs. 2 stars
6/02/06 LC Great Movie. Chop Top Rules! 5 stars
10/30/05 K. Sear The fact that it is a mockery of the original is it's only saving grace. 1 stars
10/18/05 malcolm a gory, guilty, irredeemable pleasure. 'lick my plate, you dog dick!' 4 stars
7/08/05 Indrid Cold Not scary, but funny and entertaining. Reminded me how hard music in the 80s sucked. 4 stars
5/23/05 E-FUNK The black humor only works sometimes. Hooper pinched a Cleveland steamer on his masterpiece 3 stars
3/31/05 Flash Who thought making this a comedy was good idea? An insult to the first film 1 stars
10/02/04 Josh Standlee Wild, crazy, gory fun! Chainsaws for everybody!!! 5 stars
1/26/04 Eric I love that family...Use them for an HBO series 5 stars
1/16/04 J Dennis Hopper vs Leatherface was a cool fight! ** 1/2 4 stars
10/31/03 American Slasher Goddess After Leatherface falls in love it goes down hill , Moseley's perf. is a standout, though 2 stars
10/19/03 Two-G - horror_blood2 (aka Double G) its awesome i can rate twice did i mention jurgen says hi 5 stars
10/05/03 Jack Sommersby Purposeless yet passable. Plenty of gore and pervertedness to go around. 3 stars
10/02/03 lucas i love the dance leatherface does. 5 stars
8/29/03 DARREN HARDLY TRUE TERROR BUT EFFECTIVE BLACK COMEDY 4 stars
3/30/03 Kyle You're going to hate me, but it wasnt that bad. 4 stars
11/22/02 Charles Tatum THE worst sequel ever made 1 stars
3/12/02 Raym C. Hensley If the films "Evil Dead" and the classic "Blood Feast" had a baby, TCSM2 would be it. 5 stars
12/01/01 stoner73 not even close to the original...but partly saved by it's wonderfully sick humor 3 stars
11/29/01 Rutt13 Gross, but great black humor 4 stars
10/13/01 Andrew Carden A Very Scary and Chilling Movie, but A Bit Dated. 4 stars
8/27/01 Tony the tiger with commentary by Steven the snake Goes downhill after Lefty dies.....sigh....... 4 stars
8/05/01 E-Funk I loved it when I was a kid, which makes me question if I was a heroin baby... 2 stars
6/16/01 King Jackass An insult to the first. 2 stars
12/10/00 vinnie st. john tons of brutal gore, but storyholes 4 stars
11/09/00 Leatherfacette TCM2 is the best horror movie of all time.. Why?? No secret, it's the meat.. : 5 stars
11/07/00 Jon Axt Don't you get it? Well do ya? Don't you get out boy!? One of the best movies ever period. 5 stars
5/02/00 lucas jackson the first one is sick and twisted, this one is shit!!!!!! 2 stars
4/10/00 the Grinch Sarcasm is wasted on the stupid... 4 stars
2/10/00 steve layne A lot better than the Original, and down right hilarious in my opinion. 5 stars
10/27/99 reverand love joy thsi sequel did not have close to the same effect as the original.it is lame 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Aug-1986 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A


Directed by
  Tobe Hooper

Written by
  L. M. Kit Carson

Cast
  Dennis Hopper
  Caroline Williams
  Jim Siedow
  Bill Johnson
  Bill Moseley
  Ken Evert



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast