Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.75

Awesome: 21.51%
Worth A Look50.54%
Just Average: 15.05%
Pretty Crappy: 7.53%
Sucks: 5.38%

7 reviews, 51 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Mulan
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"Yeah, I go see kids movies. So what?"
4 stars

Gotta love Disney. A kids movie about a crossdresser.

Forget the dwindling grosses for Pocahontas, Hunchback and Hercules. Mulan redeems the house of Mouse. Except for the songs.

Stunningly animated (see the charge of the Huns over a snow covered ridge) and nicely voiced. Ming-Na Wen is fine in the title role, and Miguel Ferrer is downright scary as the leader of the Huns, but it's Eddie Murphy who steals the show as Mulan's sidekick, Mushu the dragon. He's hilarious. I could've done without the second bit of comic relief, though: a non-speaking little cricket who bears a slight resemblence to a little wooden boy's conscience. But again, for anyone over the age of 12, this, like all Disney movies, comes to a screeching halt when the songs start up. I mean, really, you see the Chinese in training, preparing for war, when all of a sudden, Donny Osmand starts blaring through your skull in Dolby surround sound, claiming he'll make a man out of you. Uh, thanks, Donny, but no thanks. While The Lion King's songs were also a wee bit out of place, at least they were memorable. Not so here.

Aside from that, however, Mulan's solid entertainment.

It's a kids movie, but it's good. Go see it.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=26&reviewer=7
originally posted: 08/20/98 00:44:29
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/23/15 WALTER Best Disney movie since Sleeping Beauty and Aladdin. 5 stars
10/19/11 Magic Like Hunchback, a nearly great movie offset by annoying comic relief. Eddie Murphy, sigh. 4 stars
4/08/10 PAUL SHORTT ENJOYABLE ANIMATION, WELL STAGED AND DESIGNED 3 stars
1/12/09 Anonymous. mulan is a great role model :] 4 stars
11/04/08 Dominic MULAN is just as good as Fox's recent animated feature film,ANASTASIA. 5 stars
8/31/08 Little Buddy Released after Anastasia,Hercules,All Dogs Go To Heaven 2,Hunchback,Pocahontas,Goofy Movie. 5 stars
8/30/08 Shaun Wallner My daughter loves this movie! 5 stars
7/26/08 The Dork Knight Snore. 1 stars
11/10/06 David Cohen Possibly the last really good Disney flick 4 stars
6/19/06 Herculade Tepid "girl-power" misfire. Weak villain, weak action, weak animation. 2 stars
12/22/05 cody a good disney movie about girl who saves her country, a lot of laughs, you the man sort of! 4 stars
10/23/05 tejaswi good 2 stars
8/10/05 ES Typical north american sentiment given to the wrong place/time, PC garbage 1 stars
10/31/04 Naka The last good Disney movie to date...but at least they went out with a bang. 5 stars
5/14/04 Sean Scanlan Fresh, however the humor is weak 3 stars
3/26/04 samuel disney just isn't what ot used to be... 2 stars
1/07/04 John rather dull story - emotionally uninvolving 2 stars
12/19/03 K.P. Great story and lessen in life 5 stars
10/13/03 Kendra Watson Basically women can do the same things that men can, sometime better! 5 stars
1/01/03 John Aster Habig Disney should've stop w/ Aladdin 1 stars
10/16/02 Charles Tatum Middle of the road, harmless Disney product 4 stars
5/14/02 Blake Lots and Lots of fun! 5 stars
4/26/02 Tabitha Cartwright The folly of political correctness this time offensively stereotypes Mongolians! 2 stars
10/21/01 Andrew Carden Just Doesn't Make Any Sense...Disney Isn't Good Anymore. 1 stars
9/13/01 Butterbean A forgettable Disney movie 3 stars
8/06/01 ted v. very good movie 4 stars
8/06/01 Joe Zappa Lots of fun! 5 stars
5/03/01 Gracy Lionheart I won tickets to Mulan. It was so-so...the worst part was Eddie Murphy. 3 stars
4/09/01 Gary Another not so good Disney movie. Mulan-Tarzan have been dissapointments! 3 stars
3/25/01 Ichabod Crane EDDIE MURPHY RUINED IT!!! WHY ALL THAT COMEDY?!!!! 2 stars
2/27/01 SHARODI SHABNAM well at the first it was preety funky and also funny i especilly like the songs well that's 5 stars
2/11/01 LOOBER A good animated movie, but Princess Mononoke is better 3 stars
11/28/00 The Evil Penguin good movie but the comic relief is UNNECESSARY in such dramatic film. 3 stars
4/03/00 Penny I love Mulan. She is so sweet and brings tears to my ears. 5 stars
9/05/99 BBReBozo I bet is pissed off China but good! Fun movie. 5 stars
8/11/99 Merry One of Disney's best - gorgeous animation and a working plot 5 stars
3/12/99 Ah Dooey Better than Pukahontas and Anastasia 4 stars
1/05/99 demon_shredder Mulan rocks 5 stars
11/02/98 Philip Jan It's a great film with a great story and an excellent score by Goldsmith. 5 stars
10/28/98 zenball licks the bottom of the zenball's sack 1 stars
10/07/98 Korny Island They didn't sing much!! Extra stars for that! 4 stars
9/27/98 Heather Soundtrack wasn't memorable, but the story and emotion were. 4 stars
9/25/98 Geek Master Great one! 5 stars
9/23/98 ShadowStar© Best Disney flick since "The Lion King" but the music could've been much better. 4 stars
9/20/98 MR HOLLYWOOD PURE MAGIC!!!, (though some songs are stupid) 4 stars
9/16/98 Trav Jerry Goldsmith will win an Oscar for this wonderful, sweeping filmscore! 5 stars
9/04/98 pooky the bald Loved this fucking movie. And I thought I was seeing it just for my girlfriend. 5 stars
9/04/98 Jon The only true great Disney animated flick. 5 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball Not real good. One or two good scenes, but I wasn't impressed. 2 stars
8/22/98 Mister Whoopee great scenery, lame songs, some funny bits. 3 stars
8/12/98 {{OZ}} Brilliant. Forget Eddie Murphy is in it. It's good fun. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  05-Jun-1998 (G)
  DVD: 26-Oct-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  03-Sep-1998 (G)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast