Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.32

Awesome: 10.58%
Worth A Look44.23%
Just Average: 19.23%
Pretty Crappy: 18.27%
Sucks: 7.69%

7 reviews, 62 user ratings



Can't Hardly Wait
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"Harmless fun."
4 stars

"I can't feel my legs!" - Charlie Korsmo

It's worth sitting through this movie just to see the kid from Dick Tracy get all shitfaced and start singing a Guns N' Roses song. In actuality, this movie's actually kinda charming.

It's no Breakfast Club, by any means, it's just a sweet little movie that takes you back to those parties of your high school years. It's got a decent cast in Ethan Embry, Seth Green and Lauren Ambrose, plus Jennifer Love Hewitt's cleavage. You can't really go wrong with that, I guess.

It's got some funny bits, too, although the scenes with Jenna Elfman are a bit flat, and you question the wisdom of Embry listening to a Manilow song. And you can tell where the cuts were made to make the PG-13. But God, Seth Green's hilarious. I knew people like that in high school AND college.

It's basically a cute movie, and that's a good thing.

Cleavage? Oh, yes. She acts, too.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=27&reviewer=7
originally posted: 08/19/98 01:10:42
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/21/17 morris campbell typical teen crap 1 stars
10/15/14 Jeff WIlder Cliched script. Ambrose is entertaining. 2 stars
5/14/11 PAUL SHORTT NOISY LOWBROW COMEDY 1 stars
9/26/10 Jennifer kimberly all teens must watch! 4 stars
12/21/08 CTT Disarmingly funny flick, with loads of big stars starting out then 5 stars
7/01/07 johnnyfog Weird mix of truth and stereotype. Seth and Ambrose the only thing worth seeing. 2 stars
2/05/05 Jeff Anderson LAUREN AMBROSE IS THE ONLY ONE WITH ANY REAL PERSONALITY IN THIS SHALLOW, INSULTING DRIVEL! 1 stars
7/11/04 DM A few interesting moments, but generally corny and predictable 2 stars
10/19/03 Samuel Justus I sorta liked this movie, it was sorta lame in alot of places, but it had a decent story... 4 stars
3/21/03 Jack Sommersby Unexpectedly entertaining. Charming cast. 3 stars
9/05/02 Chancey Thunderpants JLH is a terrible actress... this whole movie blows chunks. 1 stars
6/26/02 Thunderfuck The most fun of all these recent teen movies, esp. thanks to Seth Green. He is HILARIOUS 5 stars
5/26/02 Nicole Pretty damn funny if you have lived through high school 4 stars
3/01/02 Alan Smithee I'm surprised JLH tits didn't receive seperate billing. 2 stars
2/15/02 Shelly Howard JLH forgettable this time, but who's this Lauren Ambrose and where can I see more of her?! 4 stars
12/30/01 sarafina Not today folks 2 stars
11/11/01 Jon C. Ericson Another stereotypical teen flick. 3 Stars for J. Hewitt's beauty. 3 stars
6/15/01 MARK to hell with hewitt... id chase ethan for 4 years though... 3 stars
4/09/01 Gary JLH cannot act very well, but it's a good movie and it's funny. 4 stars
4/02/01 Ryan Peithman The Best fucking movie in the world!! 5 stars
2/25/01 Big P. Only teen movie worth seeing. Isn't entirely realistic, but real teen life sucks. 5 stars
1/31/01 BASSee welcome to the 90s, were everything in the movies is even more phony than ever! 1 stars
1/01/01 Emily it wasn't supposed to be amazing. it was just a cool little movie that had some great lines 4 stars
9/02/00 Bender Plays like a 80's greatest teen movie hits. A gulity pleasure. The soundtrack is awesome. 4 stars
5/04/00 TIGGER One of the best movies of the 90's . JLH was good for once. 5 stars
2/11/00 steve layne I liked it better in the theatre, but still in the top 10 of the best teen movies ofthe 90s 4 stars
2/10/00 Kyle Broflovski Too much party...not enough..."whatever whatever"... 3 stars
10/29/99 Bozo only reason its not 'crap' is ethan embry rises above the material occasionally 2 stars
9/22/99 alaina this movie rocks 5 stars
7/30/99 Dr. Worm The best teen cast ever! The best teen movie ever! My 3rd favorite movie of all time 5 stars
7/08/99 jvt yo yo yo this movie was trash yo 1 stars
7/07/99 Freyja I loved it. Seth Green is the best new teen actor by so far it's not funny. 5 stars
5/02/99 Mindy Seth Green is the highlight, the script the lowlight - but what can we really expect? 3 stars
4/10/99 Tristynn another stunning performance by miss boobs herself.Where's your brain Jennifer.between them 3 stars
2/06/99 roxy seth green is cute and reminds me of jeff olive. i hate teenagers. 2 stars
1/03/99 geisele Please do not start the Pretty in Pink cliches all over again!!!!!! 3 stars
12/28/98 Cage Very funny... Hewitt is just gorgeous.... 4 stars
11/09/98 Bluntman Wrong, Vanessa! Seth Green was on WB's BUFFY before this piece of shit! 2 stars
10/07/98 Daddy Rich I enjoyed it thoroughly. A great party movie. Also very funny. 5 stars
9/26/98 katherine it was alright. not much of a ployt though, and not too funny. 3 stars
9/25/98 Pat Flanagan If you're looking for a teen party movie, this is a great one. Class of '98!! 4 stars
9/24/98 MR HOLLYWOOD alcohol,drugs,sex,nerds etc etc, its all be seen before,funny at parts ! 3 stars
9/17/98 Christian I think Seth Green kicked ass, and Hewitt is such a hottie! Very funny movie! 5 stars
9/13/98 Como Erectus I wanted to hate it, but I actually enjoyed myself. Love Hewitt does nothing at all. Boobys 4 stars
9/05/98 J Lyons Funny as hell. Reminded me of my HS graduation. 5 stars
9/03/98 Badass Seth Green has a great scene all by himself. Other than that, the movie sucked. 2 stars
9/01/98 pooky the bald a great reportory movie. matinee, yay. 3 stars
8/30/98 Drasord poor dialgue, cheesy script, average actors 2 stars
8/29/98 J-Guy (The MFC) fuckin' trendy teen crap. fuck this shit. 1 stars
8/24/98 Puppy78 (You know who I am) why do i need to watch high school kids drink, i drink by myself enough thank you 2 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball Charlie Korsmo doing Axel. High point. Ethan Embry doing anything. Low point. 3 stars
8/22/98 Dutch Take me down to a paradise city, where the guys talk crap and the girls show titty. 4 stars
8/22/98 Mister Whoopee Love's breasts defy gravity. 3 stars
8/20/98 Miss Stress none of the parties i went to in high school were like that 2 stars
8/17/98 spork-girl ethan embry is hot, and seth green is cute. not quality filmmaking, though 4 stars
8/15/98 Clam Chowder Y'know, this blew. 1 stars
8/15/98 rotten f. milk God bless Seth Green 4 stars
8/14/98 Schmeekins As an epic drama, it blew chunks 3 stars
8/14/98 VioLenT BoB I Didn't Want My Money Back....as for Halloween I want my LIFE BACK!@ 4 stars
8/13/98 Pythomas It's better than you'd think. My fave: the "Paradise City" performance 4 stars
8/12/98 {{OZ}} It didn't hurt my brain... so it's better than most things I've seen 2 stars
8/12/98 clark decent flick. brings back high school party memories. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  08-Jun-1998 (PG-13)
  DVD: 22-May-2001

UK
  N/A

Australia
  17-Sep-1998 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast